DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 – 13 are drawn to a method for quantifying a target protein, however fails to claim active steps for quantifying the protein. Rather, the claims appear drawn to preparing a sample for quantification. Although the claims recite a step c, “quantifying the target protein,” the step recites “using a mass spectroscopy method” and fails to clearly delineate steps required for quantification. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3 and 6 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li et al. (2019, IDS 06.18.2024 NPL #2).
Regarding claims 1 – 3 and 13, Li teaches methods for quantifying a fusion protein (target protein) in a serum sample, the method comprising incubating the sample with PNGaseF (amidase) and Asp-N (protease) for a period of time followed by chromatography and mass spectrometry (title, abstract, page 3).
Regarding claims 6 – 8, Li teaches quantification perform on Acquity UPLC system coupled to an AB Sciex API; or Agilent 1200 PHLC coupled to API 6500 QTrap mass spectrometer equipped with electrospray ionization (p.3) which are ion exchange systems coupled with UV detection (see Waters product summaries).
Regarding claims 9 – 11, the samples are incubated with enzymes for 1 – 2 hours (60 – 120 minutes) at 37°C (p.3).
Regarding claim 12, the method further comprises a change in buffers, which occurs prior to mass spectrometry (p.3).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Magnelli et al. (US 2015/0346194, IDS 06.18.2024 USPD #1).
Regarding claims 1 – 4, Magnelli teaches methods for quantifying glycosylated antibodies (target protein) in a sample, the method comprising incubating the sample with PNGaseF (amidase) and trypsin (protease) for a period of time followed by chromatography and mass spectrometry (example 21, figure 20). Other amidases are disclosed useful in the methods to include PNGaseA, exoglycosidase, endoglycosidase F and H (0010, 0092); while other proteases are disclosed to include Lys-C, Lys-N, Arg-C, Glu-C, Asp-N and chymotrypsin (0009).
Regarding claim 6, Magnelli teaches various methods of mass spectrometry can be used to include MALDI-TOF and ESI (0080).
Regarding claims 7 – 8, Magnelli teaches various methods of chromatography can be used to include HPLC (affinity separation with UV detection) and anion-exchange (0080).
Regarding claims 9 – 11, the samples are incubated with enzymes for 30 minutes to 3 hours (30 – 180 minutes) at 37°C or 5 – 30 minutes at 50°C (example 21).
Regarding claim 13, the sample may be serum, plasma, blood, body fluids or derivatives thereof (0084).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (2019, IDS 06.18.2024 NPL #2) OR Magnelli et al. (US 2015/0346194, IDS 06.18.2024 USPD #1), in view of Zhang et al., (2014, IDS 06.18.2024 NPL #3).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches methods for quantifying a fusion protein (target protein) in a serum sample, the method comprising incubating the sample with PNGaseF (amidase) and Asp-N (protease) for a period of time followed by chromatography and mass spectrometry (title, abstract, page 3). Li teaches the digestion approach for measuring proteins proves more sensitive than whole protein quantification (abstract).
Magnelli teaches methods for quantifying glycosylated antibodies (target protein) in a sample, the method comprising incubating the sample with PNGaseF (amidase) and trypsin (protease) for a period of time followed by chromatography and mass spectrometry (example 21, figure 20).
Regarding claim 5, the references do not teach the methods wherein the target protein is cancer antigen 125 or carcinoembryonic antigen. However, at the time the claims were filed, cancer antigen 125 (CA125) and carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA) were known clinical biomarkers for various cancers. In support, Zhang teaches that glycosylated proteins such as CA125 and CEA were clinical biomarkers (abstract, p.1) that are advantageously digested with trypsin and PNGase F for quantification with mass spectrometry and chromatography (p.2-3, 5, 10). Specifically, Zhang teaches the combination of proteomics and glycomics allows for “unique contributions to the discovery of biomarkers of cancer” (p.1-2) which is accomplished by tryptic digestion to remove non-glycosylated peptides and PNGaseF to remove glycosylated peptides (p.5). At the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to practice the methods of Li or Magnelli to quantify CA125 and/or CEA because of their known status as cancer biomarkers, for their glycosylated structure which was known to benefit from the combined treatment with protease and amidase and with a reasonable expectation for successfully quantifying the target proteins.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699