Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1 and 5
Cancelled: None
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-8 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the office has to respectfully disagree with the argument that Hashimoto does not disclose the limitation “the one light emission cycle corresponding to single video signal which indicates an intensity of the light emitted by the light emitting element”. Hashimoto discloses displaying a image signal (video signal) during a display frame (Fig. 5 element Tf). The light emitting element are turned on and off during the display frame period. The display period is interpreted to read on one light emission cycle. The image signal displayed during the display frame period is interpreted to read on “single video signal”. The light emission intensity is set to the state to be constant in one frame (Para. 0061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto (US 2003/0076338 A1, hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
As to claim 1, Hashimoto (Fig. 4) discloses a driving method for a display device having a plurality of light emitting elements arranged in a matrix (28R, 28G, 28B; Para. 0047, 0054), wherein
one or more non-light emission periods (Fig. 6 element Tf), in which the light emitting element does not emit (Tsf1, TSf2, Tsf4, Tsf5…), are inserted in one light emission cycle of the light emitting element (Para. 0057, one display frame is interpreted to read on one light emission cycle), the one light emission cycle corresponding to single video signal which indicates an intensity of the light emitted by the light emitting element (Para. 0062, the light emission intensity of frame is light emitted by the light emitting element. Furthermore, the image formed by combining the sub-frames in a display frame is interpreted to read on single video signal),
in a luminance change of the light emitting element at the emission cycle of T≡2π/ω (Tf; Para. 0057, 0076, Equation 10, display period frequency when ꞷ = pi), 1 is a largest natural number to satisfy 1ω≦ωth for a given threshold frequency ωth/2π (Para. 0076, it should hold true as the equation of the light distribution is similar to the equation in the instant application), the following holds:
where n is an integer and cn is a complex Fourier coefficient of luminance L(t) of the light emitting element in a section 0≦t<T (Tsf3; Para. 000057-0058, 0076, Equation 10).
As to claim 2, Hashimoto discloses the driving method according to claim 1, wherein the following holds:
(Para. 0076, Equation 10, it should hold true as the equation of the light distribution is similar to the equation in the instant application)
As to claim 4, Hashimoto discloses the driving method according to claim 1, wherein timing for inserting the non-light emission period depends on a luminance level of the light emitting element (Para. 0056-0062, The gradation level is achieved by setting luminance levels of each color for emission periods. Therefore, it is interpreted to read on the limitation “timing for inserting the non-light emission period depends on a luminance level of the light emitting element” as it is the result).
As to claim 5, Hashimoto (Fig. 6) discloses t driving method for a display device comprising the steps of:
controlling a light emitting element of the display device to operate a light emitting cycle (Tf) including k (1≦k) non-light emitting periods (Tsf1, TSf2, Tsf4, Tsf5…);
defining that the emission cycle of the light emitting element is T≡2π/ω (Tf; Para. 0057, 0076, Equation 10, display period frequency when ꞷ = pi);
defining luminance of the light emitting element in one emission cycle (0≦t<T) when the non-light emission period is not inserted is L0(t) (Para. 0057, when the light is turned off);
defining a start time of m-th non-light emission period (Tsf2) is tim (start time of Tsf2) and an end time is tfm (end time of Tsf2) where 1≦m≦k and 0<ti1<tf1<ti2<tf2<…<tik<tfk<T (Para. 0057);
defining the luminance L(t) of the light emitting element in one emission cycle as:
representing L(t) by Fourier series expansion as:
(Para. 0076; Equation 10)
determining the start time tim and the end time tfm of the non-light emission period to satisfy:
(
where for a given threshold frequency ωth/2π, l is a largest natural number to satisfy lω≦ωth, j is a natural number where 1≦j≦l, and εaj and εbj are threshold values (Para. 0068, 0077, the above equation will satisfy when a =2 and Ꜫ = 3. Furthermore, the claim does not define the threshold values).
As to claim 6, Hashimoto discloses the driving method according to claim 5, wherein
εaj and εbj are defined so as to satisfy:
(Para. 0077)
As to claim 7, Hashimoto discloses the driving method according to claim 6, wherein
εaj and εbj are defined so as to satisfy:
(Para. 0077)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0142733 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
As to claim 3, Hashimoto does not disclose the driving method according to claim 1, wherein the threshold frequency ωth/2π is 45Hz or more and 120Hz or less.
However, Kim teaches wherein the threshold frequency ωth/2π is 45Hz or more and 120Hz or less (Para. 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kim to drive a pixel at a low frequency in the device disclosed by Hashimoto. The motivation would have been to display a still image (Kim; Para. 0073).
As to claim 8, Hashimoto does not disclose the driving method according to claim 5, wherein
the threshold frequency ωth/2π is 45Hz or more and 120Hz or less.
However, Kim teaches wherein the threshold frequency ωth/2π is 45Hz or more and 120Hz or less (Para. 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kim to drive a pixel at a low frequency in the device disclosed by Hashimoto. The motivation would have been to display a still image (Kim; Para. 0073).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Dai et al. (US 2015/0129749 A1) discloses performing Fourier transformation to digital luminance signals (Abstract).
Tamaru (US 2016/0232857 A1) discloses performing Fourier transformation of emission signal (Fig. 9).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Examiner, Art Unit 2625