Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Miyazaki (US 2008/0301518).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki discloses a retransmission method (fig. 9), wherein the method comprises: obtaining a first bit sequence (fig. 9, C0) and a number E of bits to be retransmitted (fig. 9, C1; note: K+M0 bits in an initial transmission C0 that are retransmitted), wherein the first bit sequence (fig. 9, C0) is obtained by performing first channel encoding based on K information bits (fig. 9, C0 is formed by adding M0 parity bits to K information bits as an encoding to send data on a channel; fig. 7, item 30; fig. 7, item 12; note: input of K information bits to an LDPC encoder that outputs N bits), a length of the first bit sequence is N (fig. 7, item 12; note; output of N bits; fig. 9, C0 with K information bits plus M0 parity bits), and N, E, and K are positive integers; performing second channel encoding based on the first bit sequence to obtain a second bit sequence (fig. 9, C1 is C0 plus APB1 parity bits), wherein the second bit sequence comprises the E bits (fig. 9, K bits are retransmitted within C1; note: E is less than the number of bits of the second bit sequence); and performing retransmission based on the second bit sequence (fig. 9, retransmission of K+M0 bits using C1).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazaki discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing second channel encoding based on the first bit sequence comprises: performing second channel encoding based on the first bit sequence and an extended matrix (fig. 22; figs. 3 and 5, H1; fig. 2, items 11-12 and WOT1), wherein the extended matrix comprises E rows and N columns (figs. 3, 5 and 22; note: the number of rows in H1 is K (i.e., 10), the extended matrix is obtained based on an extended base matrix (figs. 3, 5 and 22, H0; note: the initial matrix in a base matrix that will be extended to be the extended matrix; para. 62), the extended base matrix comprises Eo rows and No columns (K/2 or k/2 or 5 rows, and K+M0 or k+m0 columns), and Eo and No are positive integers.
Regarding claim 3, Miyazaki discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a lifting size Z of the extended base matrix is a prime number or Z=2", wherein n is an integer greater than or equal to 0 (figs. 3, 5 and 22; note: the extended matrix H1 has twice the rows of matrix H0 where Z=2 and 2 is a prime number and n=1).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein Z=N/No, and Z is the lifting size of the extended base matrix (figs. 3, 5 and 22; note: the extended matrix H1 has twice the rows of matrix H0 where 2 is a prime number and n=1).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein a weight of a row of the extended matrix is correlated to N, K, and E (figs. 3 and 5 and para. 128; note: a weight of a row having non-zero elements is correlated to K such that the weight is between 0 and K, where N and E are a function of K and are correlated to the weight (i.e., a larger K allows for a larger weight, N and E).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazaki discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the weight of the row of the extended matrix satisfies one or more of the following relationships: .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0013901).
Miyazaki discloses an expansion matrix (figs. 3, 5 and 22) having a Z of 2 (figs. 3, 5 and 22; note: the extended matrix H1 has twice the rows of matrix H0) but fails to disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein Z=16. Li discloses this feature (paras. 71 and 73; para. 7; note: LPDC code determined by a base matric and lifting size of Z). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Z=16 in the invention of Miyazaki. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing an appropriate LDPC code as is known in the art (Li, paras. 4-7, 71 and 73; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki in view of Choi et al. (US 2008/0082890).
Miyazaki discloses an expansion matrix (figs. 3, 5 and 22; note: lifting size of 2) and a second retransmission (fig. 9) but fails to disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the E rows of the extended matrix are the first E rows of a first matrix retransmission matrices where a subsequent matrix is an expansion of a previous matrix (fig. 3; para. 57-59; note: “are the first rows” in the broadest reasonable interpretation is “including the first rows”; note: a lifting size is related to an encoding rate as noted in para. 56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the E rows of the extended matrix are the first E rows of a first matrix .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jiang et al. (US 2019/0044540) discloses identifying locations of information bits based on a reliability sequence (para. 335).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462