DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the second optical element comprises a first area and a second area; a plurality of first microstructures are formed on the first area; a plurality of second microstructures are formed on the second area” and “wherein the first microstructures and the second microstructures are different” and “the lens is a convex lens or a concave lens” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Examiner’s Comments
In regards to optical elements having “microstructures” – applicant does not prove a definition for a “microstructure.” However, paragraph [0052] discloses a sole example that a microstructure may be “columnar periodic structures, and the pitches between the microstructures may be close to the wavelength of visible light (400nm to 700nm)” (a.k.a. a metalens). And paragraph [0053] notes the height of a microstructure may be “less than 100μm” and “less than 1μm”. Thus, in light of the specification an optical elements having “microstructures” is interpreted to include, but is not limited to: metalenses, gratings, subwavelength gratings and Fresnel lenses in the diffractive regime. This interpretation is reasonable and well within the grasp of the ordinarily skilled and consistent the broadest reasonable interpretation as is required be the MPEP §2111.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it lacks any inventive content. The content of a patent abstract should be such as to enable the reader thereof, regardless of his or her degree of familiarity with patent documents, to determine quickly from a cursory inspection of the nature and gist of the technical disclosure and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. In the instant application the examiner respectfully suggests including details the use of moving metalenses at the incoupling and outcoupling portions of the displays waveguide to adjust the light path. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01 (b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “A Near-to-Eye Waveguide Display with Movable Incoupling and Outcoupling Optical Elements with a Plurality of Microstructures”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a light path adjusting assembly … used for adjusting a path of the light” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0178939.
Regarding claim 1 Bradski discloses an optical system (title e.g. figure 13H), comprising: an image source assembly used for providing light (inherent that the display in 13H has a light source); a light-guiding element used for transmitting the light (e.g. waveguide 370); and a light path adjusting assembly disposed between the image source assembly and the light-guiding element and used for adjusting a path of the light (e.g. combination of multicore fiber 362 scanned by a piezoelectric actuator 368).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0178939.
Regarding claim 2 Bradski figure 13H discloses the optical system as claimed in claim 1, as set forth above. Bradski figure 13H does not disclose it is further comprising: a first optical element disposed on the light-guiding element; a second optical element disposed on the light-guiding element; and a driving assembly used for driving the second optical element to move relative to the light-guiding element.
Bradski figure 7A teaches a similar optical system including a light-guiding element (e.g. waveguide 164) and an image source (e.g. display 160); and further teaches a first optical element disposed on the light-guiding element (e.g. world side variable focus lens element 166); a second optical element disposed on the light-guiding element (e.g. eye side variable focus lens element 166); and a driving assembly used for driving the second optical element to move relative to the light-guiding element (paragraph [0064] “(166) may be … a conventional refractive lens with moving elements”) for the purpose of incorporating variable focus (paragraph [0064]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical system as disclosed by Bradski figure 13H to have a first optical element disposed on the light-guiding element; a second optical element disposed on the light-guiding element; and a driving assembly used for driving the second optical element to move relative to the light-guiding element as taught by Bradski figure 7A for the purpose of incorporating variable focus.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0178939 in view of Tseng et al. “Metalenses: Advances and Applications” Adv. Optical Mater. 2018, 6, 1800554.
Regarding claims 3-4 Bradski figure 13H discloses the optical system as claimed in claim 2, as set forth above. Bradski does not disclose or teach the second optical element comprises a first area and a second area; a plurality of first microstructures are formed on the first area; a plurality of second microstructures are formed on the second area, as required by claim 3; or wherein the first microstructures and the second microstructures are different, as required by claim 4.
Tseng teaches substituting metalenses for conventional lenses (abstract) in virtual reality headsets (last paragraph first sentence) where the metalens includes a first area and a second area; a plurality of first microstructures are formed on the first area; a plurality of second microstructures are formed on the second area, wherein the first microstructures and the second microstructures are different (e.g. see figure 1(e)) for the purpose of using truly flat and compact optical element with superior performance (abstract). Further, this would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain improved predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical system as disclosed by Bradski to substitute the conventional lens with a metalens including a first area and a second area; a plurality of first microstructures are formed on the first area; a plurality of second microstructures are formed on the second area, wherein the first microstructures and the second microstructures are different as taught by Tseng for the purpose of using truly flat and compact optical element with superior performance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0178939 in view of Tseng et al. “Metalenses: Advances and Applications” Adv. Optical Mater. 2018, 6, 1800554, and in further view of Smith et al. US Patent 11,665,550 with evidence of certain facts provided by Hiemstra et al. “Performance Tradeoffs Posed by Moving Magnet Actuators in Flexure-Based Nanopositioning” IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics ( Volume: 19, Issue: 1, February 2014).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Bradski and Tseng discloses the optical system as claimed in claim 4 including a driving assembly used for driving the second optical element to move relative to the light-guiding element, as set forth above. Bradski and Tseng do not disclose and teach said driving assembly comprises a first holder, a first movable portion, a first driving coil, and a first magnetic element, wherein: the second optical element is disposed on the first holder; the first holder is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element and the first driving coil are used for driving the first movable portion to move relative to the first driving coil.
Smith teaches a similar optical system (title e.g. figure 31 augmented-reality system 3100) including a movable optical element (inter alia abstract “a first lens that is movably coupled”); and further teaches driving assembly comprises a first holder, a first movable portion, a first driving coil, and a first magnetic element, wherein: the second optical element is disposed on the first holder (inter alia column 17 lines 60-64 “the first lens may be moved by actuating a voice coil actuator that is coupled between the first lens (e.g., via a mounting bracket) and the frame”); the first holder is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element and the first driving coil are used for driving the first movable portion to move relative to the first driving coil (inter alia column 26 lines 19-22 & 65-68 “a voice coil actuator mounted to the frame and configured to move the first lens along the first optical axis”) for the purpose of using a linear actuators that provide frictionless and backlash-free motion (as evidenced by Hiemstra inter alia abstract). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical system including a driving assembly as disclosed by the combination of Bradski and Tseng to have said driving assembly comprises a first holder, a first movable portion, a first driving coil, and a first magnetic element, wherein: the second optical element is disposed on the first holder; the first holder is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element is disposed on the first movable portion; the first magnetic element and the first driving coil are used for driving the first movable portion to move relative to the first driving coil as taught by Smith for the purpose of using a linear actuators that provide frictionless and backlash-free motion as evidenced by Hiemstra.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0178939 in view of Tseng et al. “Metalenses: Advances and Applications” Adv. Optical Mater. 2018, 6, 1800554 and Smith et al. US Patent 11,665,550 in further view of Itsumi et al. US Patent 5,101,278.
Regarding claims 6-7 the combination of Bradski, Tseng and Smith discloses the optical system as claimed in claim 5, as set forth above. Bradski, Tseng and Smith do not disclose or teach wherein the driving assembly further comprises a first track, a second track, and a first connecting portion; wherein: the first movable portion is movably disposed on the first track; the first connecting portion connects to the first holder; the first connecting portion is movably disposed on the second track, as required by claim 6; and wherein: the first track and the second track are parallel; the first track and the second track extend in a first movement direction, as required by claim 7.
Itsumi teaches a similar means for moving a lens (e.g. see figure 7A actuator 60 moving lens 14 in holder 56), and further teaches a first track (e.g. upper guide 58), a second track (e.g. lower guide 58), and a first connecting portion (e.g. lower 56); wherein: the first movable portion is movably disposed on the first track (e.g. see figure 7A); the first connecting portion connects to the first holder (e.g. see figure 7A); the first connecting portion is movably disposed on the second track (e.g. see figure 7A) and the first track and the second track are parallel (e.g. see figure 7A); the first track and the second track extend in a first movement direction (e.g. see figure 7A), for the purpose of supporting the optical element and its holder such that they can be moved in parallel (column 7 lines 23-30). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical system as disclosed by the combination of Bradski, Tseng and Smith to have the driving assembly further comprises a first track, a second track, and a first connecting portion; wherein: the first movable portion is movably disposed on the first track; the first connecting portion connects to the first holder; the first connecting portion is movably disposed on the second track, and the first track and the second track being parallel; the first track and the second track extend in a first movement direction as taught by Itsumi for the purpose of the purpose of supporting the optical element and its holder such that it can be moved in parallel.
Regarding claims 8-10, claims 8-10 duplicate the elements of claims 5-7. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977); and further it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), see MPEP 2144.04. In this case, no new or unexpected result is produced. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical system as disclosed by the combination of Bradski, Tseng and Smith to duplicate the elements of claims 5-7 since there are no new or unexpected result produced and duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103. Specifically, with respect to claim 11 (and therefore 12-20) none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed optical system specifically including, as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations, the third track and the fourth track extend in a second movement direction; the first movement direction and the second movement direction are different.
Particularly, the motion taught Bradski, alone or in combination with Tseng, Smith and Itsumi, is moving the lens/metalens along an optical axis for focusing. Moving the lens/metalens in a different direction with a duplicate driving assembly would not be an obvious modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akkaya et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0346918; in regards to a similar optical system (title, e.g. figure 5 HMD device 500), comprising: an image source assembly used for providing light (e.g. microdisplay 518); a light-guiding element used for transmitting the light (e.g. waveguide combiner 524); and a light path adjusting assembly disposed between the image source assembly and the light-guiding element and used for adjusting a path of the light (e.g. world-side focus-tunable lens 504).
Engelberg et al. "The advantages of metalenses over diffractive lenses" Nature Communications (2020) 11:1991; in regards to substituting metalenses for conventional lenses.
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 27, 2026