DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the preliminary amendment correspondence filed 03/28/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "first communication unit", "second communication unit", and "control unit" in claim 1 and 13.
For claims 1 and 13, the corresponding structure for the “first communication unit” includes the wireless communication module configuration for WLAN communication with the access point and associated output circuitry and antenna ([0046], [0052]-[0053],). The corresponding structure for the “second communication unit” includes the wireless communication module configured for PAN communication and exchange of communication setting information ([0047]-[0051]). The corresponding structure for the “control unit” includes a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) or dedicated integrated circuit including a determination unit and executing the control operations illustrated in the flowcharts and described in [0055]-[0066] and [0072]-[0080] and equivalents thereof. Therefore, the specification provides substantial structure and algorithm support for claims 1 & 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa et al (US8675624B2) in view of Ishioka (EP3132746B1).
Regarding claim 1, Tachikawa teaches a radiation imaging apparatus configured to perform radiation imaging (col 1 lines 9-13, col 3 lines 31-34, col 4 lines 1-3, present invention related to a radiation imaging system…the digitize captured radiation images by A/D conversion and send the digitized radiation image data via a wireless communication apparatus; X-ray sensor generates digital X-ray image data information in response to X-rays), the radiation imaging apparatus comprising:
a first communication unit configured to transmit a radiographic image captured in the radiation imaging, through first wireless communication with an access point included in a radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 58-61, col 6 lines 30-34, a normal wireless communication unit 305, functioning as the first wireless communication unit wirelessly communicates captured image data information…, upon completion…a wireless communication link by the normal wireless communication connection 310 is established between the X-ray sensor apparatus 103 and the access point 115);
a second communication unit configured to perform second wireless communication for transmitting and receiving information for establishing the first wireless communication with a communication device included in the radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 62-64 & lines 44-50 (for establishment sequence), col 9 lines 5-15, a close proximity wireless communication unit 306 functioning as the second wireless communication unit performs close proximity wireless communication; The X-ray sensor apparatus 103 establishes a link with the entry apparatus 116…and sets (configures) the wireless communication unit 114 in the X-ray sensor apparatus by using communication parameters obtained via the link; and
a control unit configured to control the first wireless communication and the second wireless communication (col 4 lines 52-64, CPU initiates close proximity communication, sets parameters in normal wireless communication unit, activates normal wireless communication, manages link detection and disconnection; CPU 301 is a control unit controlling both normal wireless communication unit 305 and close proximity wireless communication unit 306),
wherein the control unit performs control to change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image through the first wireless communication (col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one).
But Tachikawa fails to teach change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image.
However, Ishioka teaches change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image ([0034]-[0035], explicitly defines AP mode STA mode which provides structural support that “communication form” includes wireless operation role and mode, not merely connection parameters, imaging apparatus itself changes its communication role).
Tachikawa discloses a radiation imaging apparatus including a normal wireless communication unit that wirelessly transmits captured X-ray image data to an access point and a close proximity wireless communication unit that exchanges parameter information for establishing the normal wireless LAN connection, under control of a CPU that configures connection parameters, re-sets wireless communication settings, disconnects an existing link, and re-establishes a new wireless link in a response to updated communication information and multi-room interference conditions. Ishioka further teaches that a radiation imaging apparatus can operate in different wireless communication forms including an access-point mode and a slave-station mode and can select and switch operation modes under control of a controller, particularly in environments where communication becomes unstable. It would have been obvious to incorporate Ishioka’s selectable communication form architecture into the radiation imaging system of Tachikawa in order to maintain stable radiographic image transmission under changing wireless conditions by enabling the apparatus to change a communication form of at least one wireless link based on communication state.
Regarding claim 2, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein, in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is being performed through the first wireless communication or in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is performable thorough the first wireless communication (col 9 lines 19-22, col 14 lines 4-7, normal communication link is disconnected and new link established between sensor and access point, shift radiation imaging apparatus currently connected to wireless LAN to power-save mode), the control unit performs control to change the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication (col 9 lines 19-22, col 14 lines 4-7, normal communication link is disconnected and new link established between sensor and access point, shift radiation imaging apparatus currently connected to wireless LAN to power-save mode).
But Tachikawa fails to teach the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication.
However, Ishioka teaches the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication ([0006], [0034]-[0035], unstable communication state, and switching AP/STA communication mode strengthen communication form—explicitly defines AP mode STA mode which provides structural support that “communication form” includes wireless operation role and mode, not merely connection parameters, imaging apparatus itself changes its communication role).
Tachikawa discloses a radiation imaging apparatus including a normal wireless communication unit that wirelessly transmits captured X-ray image data to an access point and a close proximity wireless communication unit that exchanges parameter information for establishing the normal wireless LAN connection, under control of a CPU that configures connection parameters, re-sets wireless communication settings, disconnects an existing link, and re-establishes a new wireless link in a response to updated communication information and multi-room interference conditions. Ishioka further teaches that a radiation imaging apparatus can operate in different wireless communication forms including an access-point mode and a slave-station mode and can select and switch operation modes under control of a controller, particularly in environments where communication becomes unstable. It would have been obvious to incorporate Ishioka’s selectable communication form architecture into the radiation imaging system of Tachikawa in order to maintain stable radiographic image transmission under changing wireless conditions by enabling the apparatus to change a communication form of at least one wireless link based on communication state.
Regarding claim 3, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein, in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is being performed through the first wireless communication or in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is performable through the first wireless communication (col 4 lines 58-61, col 6 lines 30-34, a normal wireless communication unit 305, functioning as the first wireless communication unit wirelessly communicates captured image data information…, upon completion…a wireless communication link by the normal wireless communication connection 310 is established between the X-ray sensor apparatus 103 and the access point 115), the control unit performs control to change the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication in transmitting, with the second communication unit, information about at least one of a position and an orientation of the radiation imaging apparatus with the communication device (col 4 lines 58-61, col 6 lines 30-34, a normal wireless communication unit 305, functioning as the first wireless communication unit wirelessly communicates captured image data information…, upon completion…a wireless communication link by the normal wireless communication connection 310 is established between the X-ray sensor apparatus 103 and the access point 115).
Regarding claim 4, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein, in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is being performed through the first wireless communication or in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is performable through the first wireless communication, the control unit performs control to change the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication in transmitting (col 5 lines 40-55 exchange identification information (ID information)…serial number unique to the X-ray sensor apparatus; association of identification of X-ray generators and sensor apparatus), with the second communication unit, identification information about an object for linking the radiographic image to information about the object captured in the radiographic image (col 5 lines 40-55 exchange identification information (ID information)…serial number unique to the X-ray sensor apparatus; association of identification of X-ray generators and sensor apparatus).
Regarding claim 5, Tachikawa teach the radiation imaging apparatus wherein, in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is being performed through the first wireless communication or in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is performable through the first wireless communication, the control unit performs control to change the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication in transmitting (col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one), through the second communication unit, information indicating a imaging availability state of the radiation imaging apparatus (col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one).
Regarding claim 6, Tachikawa teach the radiation imaging apparatus further comprising a battery unit configured to supply power to each unit in the radiation imaging apparatus (col 10 lines 6-7, battery supplies power to sensor apparatus, power supply control unit controls power state), wherein, in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is being performed through the first wireless communication or in a case where the transmission of the radiographic image is performable through the first wireless communication (col 10 lines 6-7, battery supplies power to sensor apparatus, power supply control unit controls power state), the control unit performs control to change the communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication in transmitting, with the second communication unit, information indicating a state of the battery unit (col 10 lines 6-7, battery supplies power to sensor apparatus, power supply control unit controls power state).
But Tachikawa fails to teach communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication.
However, Ishioka teaches communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication ([0006], [0034]-[0035], unstable communication state, and switching AP/STA communication mode strengthen communication form—explicitly defines AP mode STA mode which provides structural support that “communication form” includes wireless operation role and mode, not merely connection parameters, imaging apparatus itself changes its communication role).
Tachikawa discloses a radiation imaging apparatus including a normal wireless communication unit that wirelessly transmits captured X-ray image data to an access point and a close proximity wireless communication unit that exchanges parameter information for establishing the normal wireless LAN connection, under control of a CPU that configures connection parameters, re-sets wireless communication settings, disconnects an existing link, and re-establishes a new wireless link in a response to updated communication information and multi-room interference conditions. Ishioka further teaches that a radiation imaging apparatus can operate in different wireless communication forms including an access-point mode and a slave-station mode and can select and switch operation modes under control of a controller, particularly in environments where communication becomes unstable. It would have been obvious to incorporate Ishioka’s selectable communication form architecture into the radiation imaging system of Tachikawa in order to maintain stable radiographic image transmission under changing wireless conditions by enabling the apparatus to change a communication form of at least one wireless link based on communication state.
Regarding claim 7, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein the control unit performs control to stop the second wireless communication (col 6 lines 41-43, sensor sends disconnection request to terminate close proximity wireless communication connection).
Regarding claim 8, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging wherein the control unit performs control to change a radio frequency to be used in the first wireless communication to a radio frequency that is not used in the second wireless communication (col 1 lines 23-25, & 32-33, avoid interference by changing frequency band used for wireless communication; scanning while dynamically switching operating frequency bands).
Regarding claim 9, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein the control unit performs control to prioritize the first wireless communication over the second wireless communication (col 6 lines 41-43, sensor sends disconnection request to terminate close proximity wireless communication connection).
Regarding claim 10, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein the control unit performs control to further change the changed communication form of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication to the communication form before the change in response to detection of completion of the transmission of the radiographic image through the first wireless communication ( col 6 lines 41-43, col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, sensor sends disconnection request to terminate close proximity wireless communication connection; X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one).
Regarding claim 11, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein the first communication unit is a local area network (LAN) (col 1 lines 28-30, wireless LAN based on IEEE802.11 standard).
Regarding claim 12, Tachikawa teaches the radiation imaging apparatus wherein the second communication unit is a personal area network (PAN) (col 5 lines 4-6, close proximity wireless communication includes IrDA, TransferJet, UWB—PAN technologies).
Regarding claim 13, Tachikawa teaches a radiation imaging system comprising: a radiation imaging apparatus configured to perform radiation imaging (col 1 lines 9-13, col 3 lines 31-34, col 4 lines 1-3, present invention related to a radiation imaging system…the digitize captured radiation images by A/D conversion and send the digitized radiation image data via a wireless communication apparatus; X-ray sensor generates digital X-ray image data information in response to X-rays), the radiation imaging system comprising:
a first communication unit configured to transmit a radiographic image captured in the radiation imaging, through first wireless communication with an access point included in a radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 58-61, col 6 lines 30-34, a normal wireless communication unit 305, functioning as the first wireless communication unit wirelessly communicates captured image data information…, upon completion…a wireless communication link by the normal wireless communication connection 310 is established between the X-ray sensor apparatus 103 and the access point 115);
a second communication unit configured to perform second wireless communication for transmitting and receiving information for establishing the first wireless communication with a communication device included in the radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 62-64 & lines 44-50 (for establishment sequence), col 9 lines 5-15, a close proximity wireless communication unit 306 functioning as the second wireless communication unit performs close proximity wireless communication; The X-ray sensor apparatus 103 establishes a link with the entry apparatus 116…and sets (configures) the wireless communication unit 114 in the X-ray sensor apparatus by using communication parameters obtained via the link); and
a control unit configured to control the first wireless communication and the second wireless communication (col 4 lines 52-64, CPU initiates close proximity communication, sets parameters in normal wireless communication unit, activates normal wireless communication, manages link detection and disconnection; CPU 301 is a control unit controlling both normal wireless communication unit 305 and close proximity wireless communication unit 306),
wherein the control unit performs control to change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image through the first wireless communication wherein the control unit performs control to change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image through the first wireless communication (col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one).
the access point (col 4 lines 14-16, col 11, lines 61-54, synchronous access point 115, additionally provided with a wireless communication function communicates with X-ray sensor apparatus, wireless communication link established between X-ray sensor apparatus and access point 115); and
the communication device (col 4 lines 62-64 & lines 44-50 (for establishment sequence), col 9 lines 5-15, a close proximity wireless communication unit 306 functioning as the second wireless communication unit performs close proximity wireless communication; The X-ray sensor apparatus 103 establishes a link with the entry apparatus 116…and sets (configures) the wireless communication unit 114 in the X-ray sensor apparatus by using communication parameters obtained via the link).
But Tachikawa fails to teach change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image.
However, Ishioka teaches change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image ([0034]-[0035], explicitly defines AP mode STA mode which provides structural support that “communication form” includes wireless operation role and mode, not merely connection parameters, imaging apparatus itself changes its communication role).
Tachikawa discloses a radiation imaging apparatus including a normal wireless communication unit that wirelessly transmits captured X-ray image data to an access point and a close proximity wireless communication unit that exchanges parameter information for establishing the normal wireless LAN connection, under control of a CPU that configures connection parameters, re-sets wireless communication settings, disconnects an existing link, and re-establishes a new wireless link in a response to updated communication information and multi-room interference conditions. Ishioka further teaches that a radiation imaging apparatus can operate in different wireless communication forms including an access-point mode and a slave-station mode and can select and switch operation modes under control of a controller, particularly in environments where communication becomes unstable. It would have been obvious to incorporate Ishioka’s selectable communication form architecture into the radiation imaging system of Tachikawa in order to maintain stable radiographic image transmission under changing wireless conditions by enabling the apparatus to change a communication form of at least one wireless link based on communication state.
Regarding claim 14, Tachikawa teaches a method for controlling a radiation imaging apparatus configured to perform radiation imaging and including a first communication unit configured to transmit a radiographic image through first wireless communication with an access point included in a radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 58-61, col 6 lines 30-34, a normal wireless communication unit 305, functioning as the first wireless communication unit wirelessly communicates captured image data information…, upon completion…a wireless communication link by the normal wireless communication connection 310 is established between the X-ray sensor apparatus 103 and the access point 115),
a second communication unit configured to perform second wireless communication for transmitting and receiving information for establishing the first wireless communication with a communication device included in the radiation imaging system (col 4 lines 62-64 & lines 44-50 (for establishment sequence), col 9 lines 5-15, a close proximity wireless communication unit 306 functioning as the second wireless communication unit performs close proximity wireless communication; The X-ray sensor apparatus 103 establishes a link with the entry apparatus 116…and sets (configures) the wireless communication unit 114 in the X-ray sensor apparatus by using communication parameters obtained via the link), and
a control unit configured to control the first wireless communication and the second wireless communication, the method comprising (col 4 lines 52-64, CPU initiates close proximity communication, sets parameters in normal wireless communication unit, activates normal wireless communication, manages link detection and disconnection; CPU 301 is a control unit controlling both normal wireless communication unit 305 and close proximity wireless communication unit 306),
performing control to change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image through the first wireless communication (col 9 lines 8-11 & 19-23, col 13 lines 63-64, col 14 lines 4-8, X-ray sensor apparatus 103 re-sets the set value of normal wireless communication unit 305 in accordance with the updated normal wireless connection related information (parameter information), “the normal communication link…is disconnected and a state like that shown in Fig 7 is set; perform control to shift the radiation imaging apparatus which is currently to the wireless LAN to a power save mode…and to synchronize…a different one).
But Tachikawa fails to teach change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image.
However, Ishioka teaches change a communication form of at least one of the first wireless communication or the second wireless communication based on a communication state in transmission of the radiographic image ([0034]-[0035], explicitly defines AP mode STA mode which provides structural support that “communication form” includes wireless operation role and mode, not merely connection parameters, imaging apparatus itself changes its communication role).
Tachikawa discloses a radiation imaging apparatus including a normal wireless communication unit that wirelessly transmits captured X-ray image data to an access point and a close proximity wireless communication unit that exchanges parameter information for establishing the normal wireless LAN connection, under control of a CPU that configures connection parameters, re-sets wireless communication settings, disconnects an existing link, and re-establishes a new wireless link in a response to updated communication information and multi-room interference conditions. Ishioka further teaches that a radiation imaging apparatus can operate in different wireless communication forms including an access-point mode and a slave-station mode and can select and switch operation modes under control of a controller, particularly in environments where communication becomes unstable. It would have been obvious to incorporate Ishioka’s selectable communication form architecture into the radiation imaging system of Tachikawa in order to maintain stable radiographic image transmission under changing wireless conditions by enabling the apparatus to change a communication form of at least one wireless link based on communication state.
Regarding claim 15, Tachikawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the control method according to claim 14 (col 12 lines 58-62, col 13 lines 1-2, aspects of the invention can be realized by a computer that reads out and executes a program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the embodiments, program provided via network or recording medium serving as memory device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pelissier et al (US9763644B2) discloses system and method for connecting and controlling wireless ultrasound imaging system from electronic device.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419