DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 references “the weights of the submodular function” when no such function has been previously introduced. This antecedent ambiguity renders the scope of the claim indefinite.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Kirke (US Patent Number 11,995,120), referred to as Kirke herein.
Dolhansky et al., “Deep Submodular Functions: Definitions & Learning” https://proceedings.neurips.cc/paper_files/paper/2016/file/7fea637fd6d02b8f0adf6f7dc36aed93-Paper.pdf, referred to as Dolhansky herein.
Modani et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0147544), referred to as Modani herein.
Nacson et al., “Stochastic Gradient Descent on Separable Data: Exact Convergence with a Fixed Learning Rate”, referred to as Nacson herein.
OH (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0307832), referred to as OH herein.
Gil et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0351091), referred to as Gil herein.
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirke in view of Dolhansky.
Regarding claim 1, Kirke discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: generating, by at least one processor utilizing an encoder neural network (Kirke, Abstract and Fig. 1 with 1:22-35 – hardware memory containing instructions executed by computer processor. 13:55-14:34 – neural network),
embedding vectors representing multimodal content of a digital document comprising text and images (Kirke, 29:61-30:11, 31:9-50 – embedding vectors representing input. 4:49-6:4, 29:30-60, 30:12-50, 40:50-41:22 – text and image input. Content data is a written format work that may be used for drafting a paper or literary work for example);
determining, by the at least one processor
generating, utilizing a large language model, a summary of the multimodal content of the digital document from a prompt based on the content subset (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated summary or review. 27:20-29:29 – LLM, summarization);
generating, by the at least one processor and for display at a client device, a digital poster comprising the summary of the multimodal content generated via the large language model (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated poster).
However, Kirke appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dolhansky discloses document summarization and image summarizations (Dolhansky, Page 7-8), including
utilizing a deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Kirke to include deep submodular functions based on the teachings of Dolhansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively capture feature interaction and redundancy (Dolhansky, Page 3), improving summary accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein generating the embedding vectors representing the multimodal content of the digital document comprises: extracting the text and the images of the digital document (Kirke, 4:49-6:4, 29:32-60, 30:12-50, 40:50-41:22 – text and image input. Content data is a written format work that may be used for drafting a paper or literary work for example);
determining text segments from the extracted text of the digital document (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – the user can constrain the data via a parameter such as outreach data. 30:13-50 – attention is limited to a relevant subset of the input data including text and images); and
generating, utilizing the encoder neural network, the embedding vectors representing the text segments and the images in a single embedding space (Kirke, 29:61-30:11, 31:9-50 – embedding vectors representing input. Dolhansky, Page 7 – same feature space for cross-modal learning).
Regarding claim 4, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more embedding vectors that provide diversity of meaning across the content subset by minimizing repetition of meaning across the one or more embedding vectors according to a diversity component of the deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Page 3 - discounted value assigned to redundant features results in less contribution from redundant features. Page 1 – model achieves information diversity).
Regarding claim 5, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more text segment vectors that align with one or more image vectors according to an alignment component of the deep submodular function (Kirke, 30:12-50 – alignment scores. Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5 – Deep submodular function).
Regarding claim 6, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset by utilizing the deep submodular function on the embedding vectors comprises determining at least one of a coverage component, a diversity component, or an alignment component of the deep submodular function by iteratively optimizing a chosen embedding vector subset and weights of the submodular function to maximize the deep submodular function (Kirke, 30:12-31:8 – iterative vector attention weights determination. Dolhansky, Page 7 – deep submodular function selection optimization).
Regarding claim 8, Kirke discloses a system comprising: one or more memory devices; and one or more processors configured to cause the system to (Kirke, Abstract and 1:22-35 – hardware memory containing instructions executed by computer processor. 13:55-14:34 – neural network):
determine, from embedding vectors representing multimodal content of a digital document can constrain the data via a parameter such as outreach data. 30:13-50 – attention is limited to a relevant subset of the input data including text and images);
generate, utilizing a large language model, a summary of the multimodal content of the digital document from a prompt based on the content subset (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated summary or review. 27:20-29:29 – LLM, summarization); and
generate, for display at a client device, a digital poster comprising the summary of the multimodal content generated via the large language model by: determining one or more summary elements of the digital poster based on the summary of the multimodal content (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated poster);
and determining a layout of the one or more summary elements in the digital poster according to attributes of the one or more summary elements (Kirke, 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39 – layout determination).
However, Kirke appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dolhansky discloses document summarization and image summarizations (Dolhansky, Page 7-8), including
utilizing a deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Kirke to include deep submodular functions based on the teachings of Dolhansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively capture feature interaction and redundancy (Dolhansky, Page 3), improving summary accuracy.
Regarding claim 9, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, utilizing one or more machine learning models, one or more design elements comprising one or more fonts or one or more colors of the digital poster based on the summary of the multimodal content (Kirke, 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39, 38:5-39:25 – font, layout determination).
Regarding claim 13, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the layout of the one or more summary elements by: determining, from the summary of the multimodal content, a number of the one or more summary elements (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – populating an editable form with outreach data including the generated summary to generate a poster or flyer. The Examiner is including the phrase “a number of” to include one);
and determining, based on the number of the one or more summary elements and the attributes of the one or more summary elements, a spatial arrangement of the one or more summary elements (Kirke, 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39 – layout determination).
Regarding claim 15, Kirke discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising (Kirke, Abstract and 1:22-35 – hardware memory containing instructions executed by computer processor. 13:55-14:34 – neural network):
generate, by at least one processor utilizing an encoder neural network, embedding vectors representing multimodal content of a digital document comprising text and images; determine, by the at least one processor outreach data. 30:13-50 – attention is limited to a relevant subset of the input data including text and images);
generate, utilizing a large language model, a summary of the multimodal content of the digital document from a prompt based on the content subset (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated summary or review. 27:20-29:29 – LLM, summarization); and
generate, for display at a client device, a digital poster comprising the summary of the multimodal content generated via the large language model by (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – generated poster)
determining a layout and a formatting of one or more summary elements of the digital poster based on the summary of the multimodal content (Kirke, 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39 – layout determination. 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39 – font, layout determination).
However, Kirke appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dolhansky discloses document summarization and image summarizations (Dolhansky, Page 7-8), including
utilizing a deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the machine learning of Kirke to include deep submodular functions based on the teachings of Dolhansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively capture feature interaction and redundancy (Dolhansky, Page 3), improving summary accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more embedding vectors that provide diversity across the content subset by minimizing repetition of meaning across the one or more embedding vectors according to a diversity component of the deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Page 3 - discounted value assigned to redundant features results in less contribution from redundant features. Page 1 – model achieves information diversity).
Regarding claim 18, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more text segment vectors that align with one or more image vectors according to an alignment component of the deep submodular function (Kirke, 30:12-50 – alignment scores. Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5 – Deep submodular function).
Regarding claim 19, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining the layout by: determining, from the summary of the multimodal content, a number of the one or more summary elements (Kirke, 39:26-40:49 – populating an editable form with outreach data including the generated summary to generate a poster or flyer. The Examiner is including the phrase “a number of” to include one);
and determining, by a layout determination model and based on the number of the one or more summary elements and attributes of the one or more summary elements, a spatial arrangement of the one or more summary elements (Kirke, 20:61-21:17, 32:48-33:56, 37:17-39 – layout determination).
Claim(s) 3, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirke in view of Dolhansky in further view of Modani.
Regarding claim 3, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more embedding vectors that collectively summarize the digital document according to a
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Modani discloses multi-modal document summarization for text and images (Modani, Abstract), including
a coverage component (Modani, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0044-¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the deep submodular function of Kirke as modified to include a coverage component based on the teachings of Modani. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively summarize the document by accounting for a larger portion of the document (Modani, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 14, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 8 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset of the digital document comprises utilizing the deep submodular function to determine one or more embedding vectors that: collectively summarize the digital document
provide diversity of the content subset by minimizing repetition of meaning across the one or more embedding vectors according to a diversity component of the deep submodular function (Dolhansky, Page 3 - discounted value assigned to redundant features results in less contribution from redundant features. Page 1 – model achieves information diversity); and
align one or more text segment vectors with one or more image vectors according to an alignment component of the deep submodular function (Kirke, 30:12-50 – alignment scores. Dolhansky, Abstract and Pages 3-5 – Deep submodular function).
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Modani discloses multi-modal document summarization for text and images (Modani, Abstract), including
a coverage component (Modani, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0044-¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the deep submodular function of Kirke as modified to include a coverage component based on the teachings of Modani. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively summarize the document by accounting for a larger portion of the document (Modani, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 16, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein determining the content subset comprises determining, utilizing the deep submodular function, one or more embedding vectors that collectively summarize the digital document according to a
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations shown in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Modani discloses multi-modal document summarization for text and images (Modani, Abstract), including
a coverage component (Modani, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0044-¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the deep submodular function of Kirke as modified to include a coverage component based on the teachings of Modani. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively summarize the document by accounting for a larger portion of the document (Modani, ¶0052).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirke in view of Dolhansky in further view of Nacson.
Regarding claim 7, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above and further discloses adjusting parameters of the deep submodular function in a framework of a neural network by reducing an output of a loss function utilizing a projected gradient descent algorithm
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Dolhansky discloses a machine learning gradient descent algorithm (Nacson, Abstract), including
a fixed learning rate (Nacson, Abstract with Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the deep submodular function of Kirke as modified to include a coverage component based on the teachings of Modani. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve convergence speed (Nacson, Pages 1-2 and 7).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirke in view of Dolhansky in further view of OH in further view of Gil.
Regarding claim 10, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 9 above and further discloses wherein determining, utilizing the one or more machine learning models, the one or more design elements of the digital poster comprises: determining a title of the digital poster
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, OH discloses AI summarization of text (OH, Abstract with ¶0072-¶0074), including
determining a title from the summary (OH, ¶0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the title determination of Kirke as modified to include determination from the summary based on the teachings of OH. The motivation for doing so would have been to more include additional document information to improve the accuracy and fit of the determined title.
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose determination of the font from the title. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gil discloses machine learning document generation (Gil, Abstract with ¶0020-¶0021), including
determining font from the document tile (Gil, ¶0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the font determination of Kirke as modified to include determination from the title based on the teachings of Gil. The motivation for doing so would have been to more include additional document information to improve the accuracy and fit of the determined font.
Regarding claim 20, Kirke as modified discloses the elements of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining, utilizing one or more machine learning models, one or more design elements of the digital poster based on the summary of the multimodal content by: determining a title of the digital poster
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, OH discloses AI summarization of text (OH, Abstract with ¶0072-¶0074), including
determining a title from the summary (OH, ¶0074).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the title determination of Kirke as modified to include determination from the summary based on the teachings of OH. The motivation for doing so would have been to more include additional document information to improve the accuracy and fit of the determined title.
However, Kirke as modified appears not to expressly disclose determination of the font from the title. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gil discloses machine learning document generation (Gil, Abstract with ¶0020-¶0021), including
determining font from the document tile (Gil, ¶0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the font determination of Kirke as modified to include determination from the title based on the teachings of Gil. The motivation for doing so would have been to more include additional document information to improve the accuracy and fit of the determined font.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References are at least relevant as indicated in the corresponding summary.
Dibia (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0185490) – determining color palette in generation of summarized output.
Xuan etal. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/005822) – extracting color palettes and dominant colors.
Kamarei (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0356447) – machine learning determination of title.
Nahum et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0403545) – machine learning determination of title.
Manjuanth et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0151038)– machine learning determination of title.
Deutch et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0139057) – machine learning determination of title.
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174