DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12, 14-15, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS reference to Watson (US 20120301588) of prior record, hereinafter Watson, in view of Ludwig (US 20150132365) of prior record, hereinafter Ludwig.
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14, Watson teaches (as recited in claim 9) a chewable gummy (para 10 discloses "chewable compositions" that are commonly referred to as "jelly, gummy or gummi candies") comprising:
first oligosaccharide (see "LBS /inulin" described in para 53 and TABLE 3; also see para 12-13 that describes inulin as "oligomer"; i.e. an oligosaccharide, with "fructooligosaccharide" being those oligosaccharides that have "smaller amounts of fructose unit"; i.e. lower degree of polymerization);
second oligosaccharide (any one of powdered inulins such as "F97 lnulin" described in para 42; also see 1st sentence of para 53);
pectin (para 18 describes gelling agent may be "pectin"); and
food acid (see "Citric Acid" in TABLE 3 on page 4; also see para 56), as recited in claim 9.
Watson also teaches the chewable gummy comprising gelling agent may be pectin (para 18), comprising from 1% to 15% of the chewable composition (para 19), which overlaps with the range "from 1% by weight to 5% by weight of the pectin"
Watson does not clearly disclose that the first oligosaccharide is a first "fructo-oligosaccharide" and that the second oligosaccharide is a second "fructo-oligosaccharide", with the first "fructo-oligosaccharide" differing from the second "fructo-oligosaccharide" based on a property selected form the group consisting of average degree of polymerization, mode degree of polymerization, mode molecular weight, and combinations thereof (as recited in claim 9), and further (as recited in claim 10) wherein the first "fructo-oligosaccharide" has "an average degree of polymerization no greater than 10", and the second "fructo-oligosaccharide" has "an average degree of polymerization no greater than 20".
Ludwig also teaches a food composition also comprising oligosaccharides (para 95) such as inulin (para 96), further teaching it is known to use a mixture of oligosaccharides which is a mixture of fructo-oligosaccharide with an average DP (i.e. degree of polymerization) below 10, and a fructo-oligosaccharide with an average DP preferably above 11 (para 105), which overlaps with the claimed range in claim 10.
Ludwig also teaches that weight ratio of the short chain fructo-oligosaccharide and long chain fructo-oligosaccharide may be in a weight ratio of from 1/19 to 19/1 (para 99), which overlaps the claimed "the ratio of the first fructo-oligosaccharide to the second fructo-oligosaccharide is from 50:50 to 65:35", as recited in claim 14.The above teachings also meet the requirements of claim 11 by exhibiting a bimodal degree of polymerization (i.e. one mode each for each of the two “degree of polymerization” ranges of claim 10) and also the requirements of claim 12 that requires “first fructo-oligosaccharide has a mode degree of polymerization that is greater than the mode degree of polymerization of the second fructo-oligosaccharide”.
Regarding the overlapping of ranges between the invention and prior art composition described above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watson so that that the first oligosaccharide is a first "fructo-oligosaccharide" and that the second oligosaccharide is a second "fructo-oligosaccharide", with the first "fructo-oligosaccharide" differing from the second "fructo-oligosaccharide" based on a property selected form the group consisting of average degree [AltContent: ]of polymerization, mode degree of polymerization, mode molecular weight, and combinations thereof (as recited in claim 9), and further (as recited in claim 10) wherein the first "fructo-oligosaccharide" has "an average degree of polymerization no greater than 10", and the second "fructo-oligosaccharide" has "an average degree of polymerization no greater than 20", as well as the missing limitations of claims 11-12 (as described above). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Watson for at least the purpose of using an oligosaccharide mixture that is known to synergistically reduces colonic protein fermentation and proteolytic activity (para 105 of Ludwig), which is advantageous for gastrointestinal health (para 2 of Ludwig),
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Watson teaches the chewable gummy of claim 9 comprising a sugar selected from the group consisting of monosaccharides, disaccharides, and combinations thereof (para 20), but does not specify that the quantity of sugar is “less than 250 mg” (as required by claim 15) or that (as required by claim 20) wherein “the chewable gummy is sugar free”. However, it is known in the art that sugar can add calories and that sweetness may be adjusted by not only sugars but also artificial sweeteners. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Watson so that that sugar is used in a limited quantity, such as the quantity of sugar is “less than 250 mg” or not at all. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Watson for at least the purpose of providing natural sweet taste but without exceeding target calorific value of the chewable gummy, or alternatively, making the chewable gummy sugar free, which may be more suitable for people with diabetes.
Regarding claims 18-19, Watson teaches the chewable gummy of claim 9, wherein the first and second fructo-oligosaccharides (inulins are described for claim 9; see Table 2 which shows all inulin variations contribute 53% + of dietary fiber per batch) contribute at least 20% by weight dietary fiber to the chewable gummy (because the first and second fructo-oligosaccharides may be up to 90% by weight fructo-oligosaccharides, as explained for claim 16, and as explained above, they contribute 53% + of dietary fiber per batch). From the above, it also follows (as recited in claim 19) that “the chewable gummy comprises greater than 20% by weight dietary fiber”.
Regarding claim 21, Watson teaches the chewable gummy of claim 9, wherein the total fructo-oligosaccharides present in the chewable gummy have an average degree of polymerization no greater than 20 (similar to claim 10 which recites “average degree of polymerization” of “no greater than 10” and “no greater than 20” – see rejection of claim 10) and a mode degree of polymerization no greater than 20 (as neither of the two modes of degree of polymerization explained above is greater than 20 – see rejection of claim 10), the fructo-oligo saccharides contributing at least 20% by weight dietary fiber to the chewable gummy (which is substantially similar to limitations of claim 18 - see rejection of claim 18).
Regarding claim 23, is also taught by Watson, as all limitations are addressed in claim 9, except the limitation “at least 20% by weight dietary fiber contributed by the first and second fructo-oligosaccharides”, which is addressed in claim 18; and the limitation “gelling agent and water” which is taught by para 18 of Watson which describes “gelling agent” a substance such as “pectin” which forms a gel by dissolving “in water”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 16, 17, 22 and 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and also fixing the issues raised in the response to arguments, as shown by proposed amendments below). The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 13 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations “comprising from 10 % by weight to 80 % by weight of the first fructo-oligosaccharide, from 10 % by weight to 80 % by weight of the second fructo- oligosaccharide, wherein % by weight is % by total weight of the chewable gummy” (also see response to arguments).
Claim 16 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations “the chewable gummy comprises from 50 % by weight to 90 % by weight fructo-oligosaccharides, wherein % by weight is % by total weight of the chewable gummy” (also see response to arguments)..
Claim 17 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations “the chewable gummy comprises from 75 % by weight to 90 % by weight fructo-oligosaccharides, wherein % by weight is % by total weight of the chewable gummy” (also see response to arguments).
Claim 22 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations “the total fructo- oligosaccharides present in the chewable gummy have an average degree of polymerization no greater than 11 and a mode degree of polymerization no greater than 11”.
Claim 24 is allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations “the first fructo- oligosaccharide is in the form of a liquid, and the second fructo-oligosaccharide is in the form of a powder”.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered and at least some of them are not persuasive.
Applicant identifies some disadvantages taught by Watson; for example, on pages 5, applicant argues that "Watson further notes that powdered inulin does not work as well as a liquid inulin for incorporation into a chewable composition" and "is not effective in producing gummy or jelly type chewable compositions". Applicant appears to suggest that this is teaching against use of powdered inulin, which is not persuasive. The above statement does not say that powdered inulin is not used, just that for some properties, liquid inulin may work better. Such tradeoffs are common in formulations. Note that none of those properties are required by the claim 9, and as such, are not relevant. Simply because a product is described as "inferior" in some respects does not by itself constitute a teaching away from using the "inferior" product. In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551,553 (Fed. Cir. 1994). A teaching that a result would be inferior or less desirable is not a teaching away unless the use "would render the result inoperable." In re ICON Health and Fitness, Inc., 496 F.3d 1374, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
In section 1 on pages 7-19 of applicant's response, starting part 7, last paragraph of applicant responses, applicant urges "Ludwig is Non-Analogous Art" because "Ludwig is not directed to a chewable gummy; it is directed to a liquid infant formula" (see section 1 a on page 8). In response to applicants’ argument that Ludwig is non analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor's endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the field of inventor's endeavor is a food product comprising oligosaccharides, and so is the product of Ludwig. In both cases, a goal is to promote digestion and ameliorate digestion related issues; e.g. para 13 of Ludwig explains how digestion is promoted, and para 71 of PGPUB of application proposes digestion promoters like "digestive enzymes". Whereas each specialize for different age groups
(infants vs adults) and as such have some differences and sensivities, the principle of human digestion remains essentially the same. are both in the same field of endeavor. Thus, food for humans that promotes/improves digestion and/or gut health for different age groups do have differences, but they are not unrelated fields of endeavor. Applicant further argues in section 1 b that Ludwig is "not reasonably pertinent" because. Ludwig is directed to "improving protein digestion in infants", the present invention seeks to "forming a chewable gummy that is thermally stable, has increased dietary fiber content, has a relatively low simple sugar content, and can be manufactured on a commercial scale" (see page 8). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (such as", it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. "is thermally stable, has increased dietary fiber content, has a relatively low simple sugar content, and can be manufactured on a commercial scale") are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In section 2 on pages 9-13 of applicant's response, applicant argues that obviousness is not established by combining Ludwig and Watson because "Watson does not teach "including two different fructo-oligosaccharides in the same chewable composition" or "combining two different inulins" (especially see page 9, last paragraph). Applicant further notes that "Tables 1 and 2" do not include "more than one inulin" and "none of the powdered inulins formed a suitable gummy" that is "commercially viable" (see page 10). In response to applicant's above arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981 ); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Watson shows options for multiple first and second oligosaccharide but does not show a composition with both first and second oligosaccharide – for that feature, Ludwig. This is clarified in the rejection of claim 9 on page 4, last paragraph (which continues on page 5) of the office action of 6/3/2026, where the rejection identifies Watson does not clearly disclose that the first oligosaccharide is a first "fructo-oligosaccharide" and that the "second oligosaccharide is a second "fructo-oligosaccharide" based on a property selected from the group consisting of average degree of polymerization, mode degree of polymerization, mode molecular weight, and combinations thereof (as recited in claim 9). Thus, whereas Watson identifies more than one inulin, it is not being used for teaching using two or more inulins together where the inulins are differentiated by the factors listed above - for this teaching, Ludwig is being relied upon.
Applicant's arguments provides examples of several features that are different between Watson and Ludwig, such as those listed on page 11-13. It appears applicant is requiring the two references to teach exactly the same things. In response to applicant's argument that the references have some differences, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981 ).
Applicant's arguments for claim 13 (see section 3 on pages 13-14 of applicant's
response) are persuasive, except that in the currently written form, it is not clear if “% by weight” is based on weight of chewable gummy or some other component. However, this issue can be fixed by simply clarifying the same, such as by adding at the end of claim 13, the following additional language “wherein % by weight is % by total weight of the chewable gummy”. With the proposed clarification, claim 13 will be allowable if written in independent form (see details under “Allowable Subject Matter” section above). Further, as rejection of claim 16 and 17 are similar to that of claim 13, claim 16 and 17 will also be allowable if written in independent form, if they also are amended similar to claim 13.
Applicant's arguments for claim 22 (see section 4 on page 14 of applicant's response) are persuasive and claim 22 will be allowable if written in independent form (see details under “Allowable Subject Matter” section above)..
Applicant's arguments for new claim 24 are also persuasive and claim 24 will be allowable if written in independent form (see details under “Allowable Subject Matter” section above).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTI CHAWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791