DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0274198) in view of Jampani et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0026806) and Roy et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0234743).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a system for scheduling reservable physical facilities (RPFs) (Fig. 1A, element 128, para. [0056]) based on time-bound logical linkages (TBLLs) between meeting rooms and wireless location finders (WLFs) in a built physical environment (BPE) (Fig. 1A, element 130, paras. [0056] and [0061]), the system comprising: a back-end computational environment (CE) comprising: a back-end network interface to communicatively couple with a BPE communication network (Fig. 1A, element 104, para. [0058]), wherein each meeting room has a respective physical location in the BPE and a respective logical location in the BPE communication network (paras. [0086]-[0091]); a scheduler back-end to generate a reservation event for a selected event RPF of the BPE, the reservation event identifying at least an event invitee and an event start time (Fig. 2, paras. [0059]-[0083]); a non-transitory processor-readable reservation events log (Fig. 1B, elements 132 and 154, paras. [0080] and [0081]); and the identified WLF integrated into a client CE determined to have an association with the event invitee (Fig. 1A, elements 102, 104 and 188, paras. [0050]-[0055]), and the event window determined based on the event start time (para. [0058]).
Park does not explicitly disclose wireless location anchors (WLAs), and thus does not disclose that TBLLs are between WLAs and WLFs, nor wherein the BPE communication network is further in communication with a plurality of WLAs, each having a respective physical location in the BPE and a respective logical location in the BPE communication network, nor wherein each RPF is physically locatable based on the respective physical location of at least one of the WLAs, and thus does not disclose a TBLL engine to: generate one or more TBLLs based on the reservation event, each TBLL defining a logical linkage between an identified WLA and an identified WLF to be active during an event window, wherein the identified WLA is one of the plurality of WLAs determined to have a respective physical location corresponding to the selected event RPF, and store the one or more TBLLs as one or more TBLL events in the reservation events log. However, in analogous art, Jampani discloses an indoor positioning system for meeting room occupancy, wherein “ [a] wireless device 50 equipped for wireless communication via the wireless APs 24 is capable of receiving broadcast messages or signals output by the wireless APs 24. In known manner, the wireless device 50 measures the received signal strength (RSSI) of detected signals from the wireless APs 24. The wireless device 50 may include an indoor positioning application 51. The indoor positioning application 51 detects RSSI measurements for wireless AP signals and attempts to correlate them with wireless AP fingerprints that are themselves correlated to a location in the facility. In this manner, the indoor positioning application 51 may determine the current location of the wireless device 50. The wireless AP measurements may be obtained from a chipset, such as a WiFi chip, in some embodiments. The indoor positioning application 51 may include a graphical map interface module for displaying a map of the facility with an indicator of the determined location, so as to communicate current position to the user (para. [0027]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to allow for wireless location anchors (WLAs), wherein TBLLs are between WLAs and WLFs, wherein the BPE communication network is further in communication with a plurality of WLAs, each having a respective physical location in the BPE and a respective logical location in the BPE communication network, wherein each RPF is physically locatable based on the respective physical location of at least one of the WLAs, and a TBLL engine to: generate one or more TBLLs based on the reservation event, each TBLL defining a logical linkage between an identified WLA and an identified WLF to be active during an event window, wherein the identified WLA is one of the plurality of WLAs determined to have a respective physical location corresponding to the selected event RPF, and store the one or more TBLLs as one or more TBLL events in the reservation events log. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system of Park to be improved using well-known wireless access point technology in order to allow for mapping of the building, which could result in an improved user experience.
The combination of Park and Jampani does not explicitly disclose wherein the TBLL engine will determine, during the event window and prior to the event start time, whether the event invitee is heading towards the RPF based at least in part on a relative physical location of the identified WLF and the identified WLA; and responsive to determining that the event invitee is not heading towards the RPF, transmit a message to the client CE. However, in analogous art, Roy discloses a system for navigating an indoor transit system using a mobile device, wherein “[t]he navigational display 18 may be used to display various features and/or functionalities of the mobile application 10, some of which are depicted in FIGS. 4-25 within a context of a skyway system. Examples of the functionalities of the mobile application 10 that may be depicted via the navigational display 18 may include, but are not limited to: dynamic (e.g., updated) routing based on the hours which the entries, exits, and/or doors of the skyway system are open and closed, usage reports, safety incidents, traffic reports, weather reports, news reports, and/or other suitable attributes or information received from external sources and/or from facility managers of the one or more structures over time; a save-and-share feature that may be used to locate friends, family, and/or other acquaintances of the user of the mobile device; routing based on wheelchair accessibility and/or the location of elevators and/or restrooms (e.g., by detecting and providing a route to the nearest elevator or restroom); an emergency request feature, which a user may use to raise an emergency request with the user's current location; a route to the user's car currently parked in a parking facility; features to change (e.g., hand off) to an outdoor map or third-party mapping application if the user moves outside of the indoor area or interior of the one or more structures, and can be changed back to the navigational display 18 if the user returns to the indoor area or interior of the one or more structures; features to track family, friends, or other acquaintances; features to set up tours; an indication (e.g., alert or warning) to the user if it is detected that the user is going the wrong way (e.g., based on the distance between the user and the destination increasing rather than decreasing); and/or the displaying one or more other functions and/or features of the mobile application 10 (para. [0052]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park and Jampani to allow for the TBLL engine to determine, during the event window and prior to the event start time, whether the event invitee is heading towards the RPF based at least in part on a relative physical location of the identified WLF and the identified WLA; and responsive to determining that the event invitee is not heading towards the RPF, transmit a message to the client CE. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would assist users of the system by alerting them if they were heading in the wrong direction from their desired destination, which could improve user satisfaction with the system, as well as improving the chances that users would arrive on time to the reservable physical facilities.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the scheduler back-end is further to receive a reservation event update and to notify the TBLL engine of the reservation event update; and the TBLL engine is further to automatically update the one or more TBLL events in response to and in accordance with the reservation event update (Park, Fig. 6C, para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the back-end CE further comprises: a mapper back-end to interface with a mapper front-end running in the client CE to automatically perform wireless mapping of the identified WLF to the respective physical location of the identified WLA during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events, the wireless mapping based on monitoring signal strength measurements between the identified WLF and one or more of the WLAs (Jampani, Fig. 1, elements 51 and 40, paras. [0027]-[0030]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the back-end CE further comprises: a BPE infrastructure back-end to automatically control one or more physical displays associated with the event RPF during the event window to display information relating to the reservation event, the event invitee, and/or the event RPF based on the one or more TBLL events (Park, Figs. 6A-6D, paras. [0102]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the back-end CE further comprises: a tracker back-end to monitor whether the event invitee is presently located at the event RPF during the event window based on tracking relative physical locations of the identified WLF and the identified WLA during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events (Jampani, Fig. 2, element 104, para. [0042]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein: the client CE is one of a plurality of client CEs (Park, paras. [0082] and [0083]); and the scheduler back-end is further to receive a reservation request from a scheduler front-end running on one of the plurality of client CEs, the reservation request identifying at least the event invitee and the event start time, and to generate the reservation event responsive to and in accordance with receiving the reservation request (Park, Fig. 1A, elements 124 and 134; Fig. 2, paras. [0059]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: a non-transitory RPF resource data store indicating a list of the RPFs of the BPE (Park, Fig. 1B, elements 126, 128 and 130, paras. [0086]-[0094]), each RPF stored in association with the respective physical location and respective resource characteristics (Park, Fig. 6B, para. [0108]), wherein the reservation event indicates one or more event characteristics including a number of event invitees, the event invitee being one of the number of event invitees (Jampani, Fig. 1, element 32, para. [0026]), and wherein the scheduler back-end is further to automatically select the event RPF from the list of RPFs in the RPF resource data store so that the respective resource characteristics of the event RPF satisfy the event characteristics indicated by the reservation request (Park, para. [0086]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: the BPE communication network (Park, Fig. 1A, elements 124 and 134, para. [0118]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising: the plurality of WLAs (Jampani, Fig. 1, element 24, para. [0027]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses a method for scheduling reservable physical facilities (RPFs) (Fig. 1A, element 128, para. [0056]) based on time-bound logical linkages (TBLLs) between meeting rooms and wireless location finders (WLFs) in a built physical environment (BPE) (Fig. 1A, element 130, paras. [0056] and [0061]), the method comprising: generating, in a back-end computational environment (CE), a reservation event for a selected event RPF of the BPE, the reservation event identifying at least an event invitee and an event start time (Fig. 2, paras. [0059]-[0083]), wherein the back-end CE is communicatively coupled with a BPE communication network (Fig. 1A, element 104, para. [0058]), determining an identified WLF as integrated into a client CE determined to have an association with the event invitee (Fig. 1A, elements 102, 104 and 188, paras. [0050]-[0055]), and an event window based on the event start time (para. [0058]).
Park does not explicitly disclose wireless location anchors (WLAs), and thus does not disclose that TBLLs are between WLAs and WLFs, nor wherein the BPE communication network is further in communication with a plurality of WLAs, each having a respective physical location in the BPE and a respective logical location in the BPE communication network, nor wherein each RPF is physically locatable based on the respective physical location of at least one of the WLAs, and thus does not disclose determining, by the back-end CE, an identified WLA as one of the plurality of WLAs determined to have a respective physical location corresponding to a selected event RPF, an identified WLF as integrated into a client CE determined to have an association with the event invitee, and an event window based on the event start time; nor generating a TBLL by the back-end CE for the reservation event, the TBLL defining a logical linkage between the identified WLA and the identified WLF to be active during the event window; and storing the TBLL as a TBLL event in a non-transitory reservation events log. However, in analogous art, Jampani discloses an indoor positioning system for meeting room occupancy, wherein “ [a] wireless device 50 equipped for wireless communication via the wireless APs 24 is capable of receiving broadcast messages or signals output by the wireless APs 24. In known manner, the wireless device 50 measures the received signal strength (RSSI) of detected signals from the wireless APs 24. The wireless device 50 may include an indoor positioning application 51. The indoor positioning application 51 detects RSSI measurements for wireless AP signals and attempts to correlate them with wireless AP fingerprints that are themselves correlated to a location in the facility. In this manner, the indoor positioning application 51 may determine the current location of the wireless device 50. The wireless AP measurements may be obtained from a chipset, such as a WiFi chip, in some embodiments. The indoor positioning application 51 may include a graphical map interface module for displaying a map of the facility with an indicator of the determined location, so as to communicate current position to the user (para. [0027]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to allow for wireless location anchors (WLAs), wherein TBLLs are between WLAs and WLFs, wherein the BPE communication network is further in communication with a plurality of WLAs, each having a respective physical location in the BPE and a respective logical location in the BPE communication network, wherein each RPF is physically locatable based on the respective physical location of at least one of the WLAs, and thus does not disclose determining, by the back-end CE, an identified WLA as one of the plurality of WLAs determined to have a respective physical location corresponding to a selected event RPF, an identified WLF as integrated into a client CE determined to have an association with the event invitee, and an event window based on the event start time, and generating a TBLL by the back-end CE for the reservation event, the TBLL defining a logical linkage between the identified WLA and the identified WLF to be active during the event window; and storing the TBLL as a TBLL event in a non-transitory reservation events log. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for the system of Park to be improved using well-known wireless access point technology in order to allow for mapping of the building, which could result in an improved user experience.
The combination of Park and Jampani does not explicitly disclose determining, during the event window and prior to the event start time, whether the event invitee is heading towards the RPF based at least in part on a relative physical location of the identified WLF and the identified WLA; and responsive to determining that the event invitee is not heading towards the RPF, transmit a message to the client CE. However, in analogous art, Roy discloses a system for navigating an indoor transit system using a mobile device, wherein “[t]he navigational display 18 may be used to display various features and/or functionalities of the mobile application 10, some of which are depicted in FIGS. 4-25 within a context of a skyway system. Examples of the functionalities of the mobile application 10 that may be depicted via the navigational display 18 may include, but are not limited to: dynamic (e.g., updated) routing based on the hours which the entries, exits, and/or doors of the skyway system are open and closed, usage reports, safety incidents, traffic reports, weather reports, news reports, and/or other suitable attributes or information received from external sources and/or from facility managers of the one or more structures over time; a save-and-share feature that may be used to locate friends, family, and/or other acquaintances of the user of the mobile device; routing based on wheelchair accessibility and/or the location of elevators and/or restrooms (e.g., by detecting and providing a route to the nearest elevator or restroom); an emergency request feature, which a user may use to raise an emergency request with the user's current location; a route to the user's car currently parked in a parking facility; features to change (e.g., hand off) to an outdoor map or third-party mapping application if the user moves outside of the indoor area or interior of the one or more structures, and can be changed back to the navigational display 18 if the user returns to the indoor area or interior of the one or more structures; features to track family, friends, or other acquaintances; features to set up tours; an indication (e.g., alert or warning) to the user if it is detected that the user is going the wrong way (e.g., based on the distance between the user and the destination increasing rather than decreasing); and/or the displaying one or more other functions and/or features of the mobile application 10 (para. [0052]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park and Jampani to allow for the TBLL engine to determine, during the event window and prior to the event start time, whether the event invitee is heading towards the RPF based at least in part on a relative physical location of the identified WLF and the identified WLA; and responsive to determining that the event invitee is not heading towards the RPF, transmit a message to the client CE. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would assist users of the system by alerting them if they were heading in the wrong direction from their desired destination, which could improve user satisfaction with the system, as well as improving the chances that users would arrive on time to the reservable physical facilities.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a reservation event update; and automatically updating the TBLL event in response to and in accordance with the reservation event update (Park, Fig. 6C, para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses further comprising: interfacing, by the back-end CE, with the client CE to automatically perform wireless mapping of the identified WLF to the respective physical location of the identified WLA during the event window based on the TBLL event, the wireless mapping based on monitoring signal strength measurements between the identified WLF and one or more of the WLAs (Jampani, Fig. 1, elements 51 and 40, paras. [0027]-[0030]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses further comprising: monitoring, by the back-end CE, whether the event invitee is presently located at the event RPF during the event window based on tracking relative physical locations of the identified WLF and the identified WLA during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events (Jampani, Fig. 2, element 104, para. [0042]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses further comprising: receiving a reservation request from one of a plurality of client CEs including the client CE (Park, paras. [0082] and [0083]), the reservation request identifying at least the event invitee and the event start time, wherein the generating the reservation event is responsive to and in accordance with the receiving the reservation request (Park, Fig. 1A, elements 124 and 134; Fig. 2, paras. [0059]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses wherein: the reservation request indicates one or more event characteristics (Jampani, Fig. 1, element 32, para. [0026]); each RPF of the BPE has respective resource characteristics stored in a RPF resource data store (Park, Fig. 1B, elements 126, 128 and 130, paras. [0086]-[0094]); and the generating the reservation event further comprises automatically selecting the event RPF from the RPF resource data store so that the respective resource characteristics of the event RPF satisfy the event characteristics indicated by the reservation request (Park, para. [0086]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses wherein the message comprises at least one of an invitation to the RPF or directions to the RPF (Roy, para. [0052]; an alert that informs a user that they are going the wrong way is axiomatically directions, as such an alert directs the user to go a different direction.).
Claims 5, 6, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0274198) in view of Jampani et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0026806), Roy et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0234743) and Buckman (Pub. No.: US 2017/0088397).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the back-end CE further comprises: a BPE infrastructure back-end to grant the event invitee with physical access to the event RPF and/or to a physical resource of the event RPF during the event window by automatically controlling one or more physical access controls of the event RPF during the event window (Jampani, para. [0024]), however, it could be argued that the combination does not do so based on the one or more TBLL events. However, in analogous art, Buckman discloses that “the system can automatically determine whether a user is authorized to enter an area or take some other action based on the data from the user's mobile device. For example, the system can grant access to a conference room to a user based on the user having a calendar invite to a meeting in the conference room (para. [0063]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Jampani and Roy to allow for granting the event invitee with physical access to the event RPF and/or to a physical resource of the event RPF during the event window by automatically controlling one or more physical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for improving security in the buildings by preventing unauthorized access to certain areas.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the back-end CE further comprises: a BPE infrastructure back-end to grant the event invitee with logical access to a computational resource, a communication resource, and/or an audiovisual resource of the event RPF during the event window by automatically controlling one or more logical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events. However, in analogous art, Buckman discloses that “the system can automatically determine whether a user is authorized to enter an area or take some other action based on the data from the user's mobile device. For example, the system can grant access to a conference room to a user based on the user having a calendar invite to a meeting in the conference room (para. [0063]),” and Park discloses that “[i]nformation about the proposed meeting room 636 is displayed, such as the capacity of the proposed meeting room 636 and what audiovisual equipment the proposed meeting room 636 has (e.g., whether the proposed meeting room 636 has videoconferencing capability) (para. [0108]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Jampani and Roy to allow for the back-end CE to further comprise a BPE infrastructure back-end to grant the event invitee with logical access to a computational resource, a communication resource, and/or an audiovisual resource of the event RPF during the event window by automatically controlling one or more logical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for improving security in the buildings by preventing unauthorized access to certain resources.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, and further discloses further comprising: automatically controlling, by the back-end CE, one or more physical access controls of the event RPF during the event window to grant the event invitee with physical access to the event RPF and/or to a physical resource of the event RPF during the event window (Jampani, para. [0024]), however, it could be argued that the combination does not do so based on the TBLL event. However, in analogous art, Buckman discloses that “the system can automatically determine whether a user is authorized to enter an area or take some other action based on the data from the user's mobile device. For example, the system can grant access to a conference room to a user based on the user having a calendar invite to a meeting in the conference room (para. [0063]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Jampani and Roy to allow for granting the event invitee with physical access to the event RPF and/or to a physical resource of the event RPF during the event window by automatically controlling one or more physical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the one or more TBLL events. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for improving security in the buildings by preventing unauthorized access to certain areas.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Park, Jampani and Roy discloses the method of claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: automatically controlling, by the back-end CE, one or more logical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the TBLL event to grant the event invitee with logical access to a computational resource, a communication resource, and/or an audiovisual resource of the event RPF during the event window. However, in analogous art, Buckman discloses that “the system can automatically determine whether a user is authorized to enter an area or take some other action based on the data from the user's mobile device. For example, the system can grant access to a conference room to a user based on the user having a calendar invite to a meeting in the conference room (para. [0063]),” and Park discloses that “[i]nformation about the proposed meeting room 636 is displayed, such as the capacity of the proposed meeting room 636 and what audiovisual equipment the proposed meeting room 636 has (e.g., whether the proposed meeting room 636 has videoconferencing capability) (para. [0108]).” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Jampani and Roy to allow for automatically controlling, by the back-end CE, one or more logical access controls of the event RPF during the event window based on the TBLL event to grant the event invitee with logical access to a computational resource, a communication resource, and/or an audiovisual resource of the event RPF during the event window. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for improving security in the buildings by preventing unauthorized access to certain resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in view of Roy.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected.
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 August 6, 2026