DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both support wheels and main frame. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,10-12,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pollklas et al. 7721515.
Referring to claim 1, Pollkas discloses (see fig. 1) a control system for an agricultural harvester, the harvester comprising: a crop inlet for collecting crop from a pickup assembly connected to the harvester; and a lift assembly for moving the pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration, the control system comprising: a detector (20) for detecting a foreign object in the collected crop; and one or more controllers (25) configured to: receive a signal from the detector that is indicative of a foreign object in the collected crop while the pickup assembly is in the operational configuration; and control the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration, in dependence on the received signal (see col. 7, lines 52-63, and claims 12 and 15, after receiving signal that object is detected the pickup is automatically raised from operational to turnaround position see figure 1D, although lift device is not shown would inherently need some type of device in order to lift pickup off the ground).
Referring to claim 2,Pollkas discloses the detector (20) is a metal detector (21) for detecting metallic foreign objects ( see col. 5, line 20-21).
Referring to claim 3, Pollkas discloses the detector (20) is disposed at the crop inlet (9) of the harvester (see col. 5, lines 20-22).
Referring to claim 4, Pollkas discloses the harvester further comprises a plurality of infeed rollers (10,11) for collecting the crop at the crop inlet; and wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to stop rotation of the infeed rollers in a collection direction in dependence on the received signal (see col. 5, lines 36-45).
Referring to claim 5, Pollkas discloses the one or more controllers (25) are configured to stop rotation of the infeed rollers by operating a driver of the infeed rollers ( see col. 5, lines 35-45, rollers are driven so for quick stop to happen device driving the rollers needs to be stopped).
Referring to claim 6, Pollkas discloses the one or more controllers ( 25) are further configured to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration at the same time as, or prior to, stopping rotation of the infeed rollers ( see col. 7, lines 52-col. 8, line 7).
Referring to claim 7, Pollkas discloses the control system is connectable to the pickup assembly, and the one or more controllers are further configured to control the pickup assembly to stop conveying the picked-up crop toward the crop inlet of the harvester in dependence on the received signal ( see col. 5, lines 36-45) .
Referring to claim 10, Pollkas discloses the one or more controllers (25) are configured to control the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration by lifting or tilting the pickup assembly out of contact with the crop on the ground (see fig. 1d).
Referring to claim 11, Pollkas discloses an agricultural harvester (see fig. 1) comprising: a crop inlet (9) for collecting crop from a pickup assembly connected to the harvester; a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration ( although lift device is not shown but inherently need some device to lift the pickup 4 from operational to turnaround position see claim 12); and a control system according to claim 1 ( see above discussion of claim 1).
Referring to claim 12, Pollkas discloses a harvesting system comprising: an agricultural harvester ( 1) comprising: a crop inlet (9) for collecting crop from a pickup assembly connected to the harvester; a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration (although lift device is not shown but inherently need some device to lift the pickup 4 from operational to turnaround position see claim 12); and a control system according to claim 1( see above discussion of claim 1); and a pickup assembly ( 4) attached to the agricultural harvester.
Referring to claim 14, Pollkas discloses a method of controlling an agricultural harvester while harvesting, the agricultural harvester comprising: a crop inlet (9) for collecting crop from a pickup assembly (4) connected to the harvester; and a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration (although lift device is not shown but inherently need some device to lift the pickup 4 from operational to turnaround position see claim 12); the method comprising the steps of: detecting a foreign object in the collected crop (with detector 20) ; and controlling the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration, away from the crop on the ground, in dependence on detecting the foreign object (see claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-10,12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Depestel et al. 20160302360 in view of Pollkas et al. 7721515.
Referring to claim 1, Depestel discloses a control system for an agricultural harvester, the harvester comprising: a crop inlet for collecting crop from a pickup assembly connected to the harvester; and a lift assembly for moving the pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration, the control system comprising: a detector (27) for detecting a foreign object in the collected crop; and one or more controllers (80) configured to: receive a signal from the detector that is indicative of a foreign object in the collected crop while the pickup assembly is in the operational configuration. Depetel does not disclose the controller is configured to control a lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration, in dependence on the received signal. Pollkas teaches a harvester with a controller (25) configured to control the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration, in dependence on the received signal (see col. 7, lines 52-63, and claims 12 and 15, after receiving signal that object is detected the pickup is automatically raised from operational to turnaround position see figure 1D, although lift device is not shown would inherently need some type of device to lift pickup off the ground). Pollkas further teaches the lifting helps to prevent crop material does not pile up (see col. 7, lines 52-60). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control system disclosed by Depestel to have the controller to control a lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration, in dependence on the received signal in view of the teachings of Pollkas with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure crop material does not pile up.
Referring to claim 2, Depestel discloses the detector (27) is a metal detector for detecting metallic foreign objects ( see paragraph 0034).
Referring to claim 3, Depestel discloses the detector (27) is disposed at the crop inlet (21) of the harvester.
Referring to claim 4, Depestel discloses the harvester further comprises a plurality of infeed rollers (22) for collecting the crop at the crop inlet; and wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to stop rotation of the infeed rollers in a collection direction in dependence on the received signal (see paragraph 0037).
Referring to claim 6, Pollkas teaches the one or more controllers ( 85) are further configured to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration at the same time as, or prior to, stopping rotation of the infeed rollers ( see col. 7, lines 52-col. 8, line 7).
Referring to claim 7, Depestal discloses the control system is connectable to the pickup assembly, and the one or more controllers are further configured to control the pickup assembly to stop conveying the picked-up crop toward the crop inlet of the harvester in dependence on the received signal (see paragraph 0037-0038).
Referring to claim 8, Depestal discloses the pickup assembly includes: a reel (11) with pickup tines operable to pick up crop from the ground during active rotation of the reel; and an auger (12) operable to transport the picked-up crop to the crop inlet, wherein the infeed rollers (22) collect the picked-up crop. Pollkas teaches the control system is configured to control the lift assembly to raise the reel of the pickup assembly out of contact with the crop on the ground in the non-operational configuration (see col. 7, lines 52-63 and claim 12).
Referring to claim 9, Depestel discloses the pickup assembly further includes a driver (60) operable to rotate the reel in a pick-up direction and the auger in a collection direction for picking up and transporting the crop; and wherein the one or more controllers are further to stop conveying the collected crop toward the crop inlet by controlling the driver to stop rotation of the reel in the pickup direction or the auger in the collection direction (see paragraph 0038).
Referring to claim 10, Pollkas teaches the one or more controllers (25) are configured to control the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly away from the crop on the ground to the non-operational configuration by lifting or tilting the pickup assembly out of contact with the crop on the ground (see fig. 1d).
Referring to claim 12, Depestel discloses a harvesting system comprising: an agricultural harvester comprising: a crop inlet (21) for collecting crop from a pickup assembly connected to the harvester and a pickup assembly (10) attached to the agricultural harvester. Depestal does not disclose a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration; and a control system according to claim 1. Pollkas teaches a harvesting system comprising: an agricultural harvester ( 1) having a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration (although lift device is not shown but inherently need some device to lift the pickup 4 from operational to turnaround position see claim 12); and a control system according to claim 1( see above discussion of claim 1). Pollkas further teaches use a lift assembly attached to a pickup assembly helps to prevent crop material does not pile up (see col. 7, lines 52-60). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to modify the system disclosed by Depestel to have a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration; and a control system according to claim 1 in view of the teachings of Pollkas, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure crop material does not pile up.
Referring to claim 13, Depestel discloses the pickup assembly comprises: a pickup assembly frame; a reel (11) carried by the pickup assembly frame and configured to pick up crop from the ground; and a feeding auger (12) configured to receive the crop from the reel and to convey the crop towards a crop inlet of the agricultural harvester.
Referring to claim 14, Depestel discloses a method of controlling an agricultural harvester while harvesting, the agricultural harvester comprising: a crop inlet (21) for collecting crop from a pickup assembly (10) connected to the harvester; and the method comprising the steps of: detecting a foreign object in the collected crop ( with detector 27). Depestel does not disclose a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration; and controlling the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration, away from the crop on the ground, in dependence on detecting the foreign object. Pollkas teaches a harvesting system comprising: an agricultural harvester ( 1) having a lift assembly for moving the connected pickup assembly from an operational configuration, in which the pickup assembly is operable to pick up crop from the ground and to convey the picked-up crop to the crop inlet of the harvester, to a non-operational configuration (although lift device is not shown but inherently need some device to lift the pickup 4 from operational to turnaround position see claim 12); and controlling the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration, away from the crop on the ground, in dependence on detecting the foreign object (see col. 7, lines 52-63 and claim 12). Pollkas further teaches use a lift assembly attached to a pickup assembly helps to prevent crop material does not pile up (see col. 7, lines 52-60). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify to modify the method disclosed by Depestel to have a lift assembly and controlling the lift assembly to raise the pickup assembly to the non-operational configuration, away from the crop on the ground, in dependence on detecting the foreign object in view of the teachings of Pollkas, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure crop material does not pile up.
Referring to claim 15, Depestel discloses the steps of: picking up the crop from the ground by a reel ( 11) of the pickup assembly with pick-up tines; transporting the picked-up crop by an auger (12) of the pickup assembly to the crop inlet of the agricultural harvester; collecting the transported crop by infeed rollers (22) of the agricultural harvester; and in dependence on detecting the foreign object, stopping one or more of: collecting the transported crop by the infeed rollers; picking up crop from the ground by the reel; and transporting the picked-up crop by the auger to the crop inlet (see paragraph 0037-0038).
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672