DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10-14 and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by James et al WO 2022/046564.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11, James discloses a vertical farm system comprising: at least one enclosure (10), the at least one enclosure separated into a day section (20) and a night section (22) (James, ¶0023) ; a plurality of racks (32) disposed within the at least one enclosure and configured to hold plants, a conveyor system (40) configured to move the plurality of racks individually through the day and night section of the at least one enclosure, the at least one enclosure comprising a closed loop path through which the conveyor system moves the plurality of racks through the day and night sections (James, Figure 1); and irrigation (James, ¶0024), lighting (James, ¶0023) and harvesting systems (James, ¶0022), the systems being stationary relative to the plurality of racks; each of the plurality of racks comprising: a central frame and a plurality of gutters disposed on the central frame (James, ¶0021).
Regarding claim 4, James further discloses each of the plurality of gutters comprising one or more plant holders (James, ¶0021).
Regarding claim 10, James further discloses the conveyor system comprising toggle switches (2614) configured to guide the plurality of racks around turns within the conveyor system.
Regarding claim 12, James further discloses the lighting system comprising components that are positioned between the plurality of gutters of a respective one of the plurality of racks as the plurality of racks are moved by the conveyor system (James, Figure 1).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, James further discloses the lighting system bing located in the day section with the night section being devoid of light fixtures (James, ¶0023).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, James further discloses the system comprising an environmental control system having first and second HVAC units with a first unit associated with the day section and a second unit associated with the night section and a circulation unit (James, ¶0022).
Regarding claim 29, James further discloses the plurality of racks holding strawberry plants (James, ¶0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James WO 2022/046564 in view of Johnson et al US 10,136,587.
Regarding claim 3 and 6-9 James discloses the device of claim 1 but does not disclose details of the claimed racks. Johnson teaches racks having rollers (Johnson, column 2: lines 54-55) on a central frame (Johnson, Figure 1), top mount assemblies (5), a track (4); and a powered (36) overhead conveyor system (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to substitute the racks of Johnson for the racks of James as to provide a vertical grow system, and for the conveyor system of James to be a powered overhead conveyor system as to be able to convey the racks between night and day sections.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James WO 2022/046564 in view of Bateman US 2019/0133063.
Regarding claim 5, James discloses the gutters of claim 2 but fails to disclose a drain opening. Bateman teaches a plurality of gutters comprising a drain opening (Bateman, ¶0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of sucess to modify the gutters of James to comprise a drain opening as to provide appropriate drainage to the gutters.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James WO 2022046564.
Regarding claim 30, James further discloses the plants being flowering or fruiting plants (James, ¶0020) but fails to disclose the plants being tomatoes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the plants to be tomatoes, as tomatoes are flowering fruiting plants.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or suggest the vertical farm system as claimed with an irrigation system having irrigation stations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642