Detail Action
This office action is in response to the application filed on 3/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the above claims similarly recite the limitation of “wherein the deployment operation differs from operations comprising processing, on the computing device, workloads for one or more clients”. Appropriate correction is required. The term “operations comprising processing, on the computing device, workloads for one or more clients, because the “comprising” clause, the stated operations can further include deployment operation and therefore they are not different from the deployment operation. Specification [0004], for example, discloses “The deployment operation differs from operations that include processing, on the computing device, workloads for one or more clients.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 11-12, and 20 are rejection because claims 2, 11, and 20 similarly recites the limitation " the one or more operational thresholds altered" in “resetting the one or more operational thresholds altered during the deployment operation.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims of the above claims inherit the limitation and deficiency of respective parent claim(s) and are rejected for similar reason.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The determining steps recites “a deployment operation” and “operations on the computing device” in “determining initiation of a deployment operation for a computing device, wherein the deployment operation differs from operations comprising processing, on the computing device, workloads for one or more clients;” Independent claims 1, 10 and 19 respectively recite the limitation of “one or more operational thresholds” in “adjusting one or more operational thresholds conflicting with the deployment operation”. Deployment operation is an operation. Therefore, the one or more operational thresholds” in “adjusting one or more operational thresholds” can be interpreted as adjusting “deployment thresholds” or “thresholds associated with operations on the computing device. Such language appears to be indefinite or fail to recite essential elements of the invention.
Dependent claims of the above independent claims inherit the limitation and deficiency of the above independent claims and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-10, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pathak et al. (US 12,405,785 Bl)
Per claim 1,
Pathak discloses
determining initiation of a deployment operation for a computing device, wherein the deployment operation differs from operations comprising processing, on the computing device, workloads for one or more clients; (c5: 15-30, discloses receiving input specifying a time window for deployment of new version of software, where deployment is different from executing deployed. See c5:25-28, begin deployment at 5:00pm. C5: 45-50, discloses execute the new version of the software application component corresponds to operation on the computing device.)
receiving one or more deployment thresholds associated with the deployment operation;(c33: 37- 67, see Metric thresholds corresponding to deployment threshold…optionally change metric threshold criteria associated with runtime execution)
implementing the one or more deployment thresholds; (see above)
adjusting one or more operational thresholds conflicting with the deployment operation; (c33:50-67, discloses user can change metric threshold, for example, a number of allowable errors) and
transmitting an alert in response to detection of a metric associated with a deployment threshold of the one or more deployment thresholds exceeding the deployment threshold. (c34: 17-42, see not satisfying corresponding to exceeding threshold and issue a warning corresponding to transmitting an alert)
Per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Pathak discloses
wherein the deployment operation is initiated through a management network separate from a computer network servicing execution of the workloads for the one or more clients. (c7:5-32, discloses network corresponding to a management network connecting devices and equipment in a remote location.)
Per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Pathak discloses
wherein the alert is transmitted to a user interface of a datacenter monitoring system and/or a management server connected to a management network. (c14: 1-20, issue alert to developer computing device)
Per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Pathak discloses
wherein the deployment operation is initiated via a management network. (c14: 28-45, Fig. 2 discloses software repository coupled to a network.)
Per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Pathak discloses
wherein determining the initiation of the deployment operation for the computing device comprises one of:
detecting the initiation of the deployment operation; and receiving a notification of the initiation of the deployment operation. (c5:43-50, see respond to requests corresponding to notification)
Per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Pathak discloses
wherein the deployment operation comprises an operation to install, update, configure, commission, and/or remove an operating system, an application, and/or firmware. (c8:56-60, see upload, update…)
Per claims 10, 13-15 and 17-18, see rejections of claims 1, 4-6 and 8-9 above.
Per claim 19, see rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 12,405,785 Bl) and further in view of Blumenau et al. (US 20060106884 A1).
Per claim 7,
Pathak does not, however, Blumenau discloses
wherein the deployment operation interrupts processing of the workloads for the one or more clients on the computing device. ([0082], during installation…suspending operation of client software)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Blumenau into the teachings of Pathak to include the limitation disclosed by Blumenau. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to suspend and records to generate audit log for the client as suggested by Blumenau ([0082])
Per claim 16, see rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199