DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 and 31-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harris et al, application no. 2024/0292321, hereinafter known as Harris
As to claim 13, Harris discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Harris, figure 1, UE with memory and processors), configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information that indicates a non-active time for cell discontinuous reception (DRX) (Harris, [0110], receiving configuration by UE; [0055]-[0060], [0074], Cell DTX/DRX and UE DTX/DRX communication method as per 3GPP standards and well known in the art) and that indicates a quantity of repetitions for one of a physical uplink channel or signal (Harris, [0064], [0068], [0081] UE using PUCCH repetition techniques); and transmit one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions outside of the non-active time (Harris, [0064], figure 6A, 6b, [0081]-[0082], UE choosing to send or skip PUCCH during “On duration” or active time as deemed appropriate).
As to claim 15, Harris discloses wherein the one of the physical uplink channel or signal is a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by dynamic grant, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by configured grant, or a sounding reference signal (Harris, [0064], [0074], PUCCH ( physical uplink control channel) uplink communication including with repetition).
As to claim 17, Harris discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Harris, [0057], network node of the art with memory and processor), configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information that indicates a non-active time for cell discontinuous reception (DRX) (Harris, [0110], receiving configuration by UE; [0055]-[0060], [0074], Cell DTX/DRX and UE DTX/DRX communication method as per 3GPP standards and well known in the art) and that indicates a quantity of repetitions for one of a physical uplink channel or signal Harris, [0064], [0068], [0081] UE using PUCCH repetition techniques);; and receive one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more occasions outside of the non-active time (Harris, [0064], figure 6A, 6b, [0081]-[0082], UE choosing to send or skip PUCCH during “On duration” or active time as deemed appropriate).
As to claim 19, Harris discloses wherein the one of the physical uplink channel or signal is a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by dynamic grant, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by configured grant, or a sounding reference signal(Harris, [0064], [0074], PUCCH ( physical uplink control channel) uplink communication including with repetition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14, 16, 18, 20 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris in view of Yang et al, application no. 2016/0135221, hereinafter known as Yang.
As to claim 1, Harris discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Harris, figure 1, UE with memory and processors), configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information that indicates a non-active time for cell discontinuous reception (DRX) (Harris, [0110], receiving configuration by UE; [0055]-[0060], [0074], Cell DTX/DRX and UE DTX/DRX communication method as per 3GPP standards and well known in the art) and that indicates a quantity of repetitions for one of a physical uplink channel or signal (Harris, [0064], [0068], [0081] UE using PUCCH repetition techniques). Harris teaches UE choosing to send or skip PUCCH during “On duration” or active time as deemed appropriate (Harris, [0064]). Harris does not expressly disclose skipping PUCCH during non-active time however Yang discloses and drop transmission of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-[0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of and drop transmission of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claim 2, Harris discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions outside of the non-active time (Harris, [0064], figure 6A, 6b, [0081]-[0082], UE choosing to send or skip PUCCH during “On duration” or active time as deemed appropriate).
As to claim 3, Harris discloses wherein the one or more repetitions in the one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time that are dropped are counted toward the quantity of repetitions (Harris, figure 6C, [0083], maintaining repetition count (rep1-rep4) even when no transmission is made at symbols 676, 677).
As to claim 4, Harris discloses wherein the one or more repetitions in the one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time that are dropped are not counted toward the quantity of repetitions (Harris, figure 6A, [0081], repetition count is paused, not counted, for transmission occasion over symbols 626-629).
As to claim 5, Harris discloses wherein the one of the physical uplink channel or signal is a physical uplink control channel, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by dynamic grant, a physical uplink shared channel scheduled by configured grant, or a sounding reference signal (Harris, [0064], [0074], PUCCH ( physical uplink control channel) uplink communication including with repetition).
As to claim 6, Harris and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Harris does not disclose however Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine transmission occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-]0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of determine transmission occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claim 7, Harris discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Harris, [0057], network node of the art with memory and processor), configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information that indicates a non-active time for cell discontinuous reception (DRX) and that indicates a quantity of repetitions for one of a physical uplink channel or signal (Harris, [0071], gNB determine and indicates to UE communication metrics; [0055]-[0060], [0074], Cell DTX/DRX and UE DTX/DRX communication method as per 3GPP standards and well known in the art; [0064], [0068], [0081] UE using PUCCH repetition techniques). Harris does not expressly disclose skipping PUCCH during non-active time however Yang discloses and drop reception of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more occasions in the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-[0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of and drop reception of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more occasions in the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claims 8-12, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 2-6 respectively above by Harris in view of Yang.
As to claim 14, Harris discloses he apparatus of claim 13, Harris does not disclose however Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: drop transmission of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-[0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: drop transmission of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more transmission occasions in the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claim 16, Harris discloses the apparatus of claim 13, Harris does not disclose however Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine transmission occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-]0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: determine transmission occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claim 18, Harris discloses the apparatus of claim 17, Harris does not disclose however Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: drop reception of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more occasions in the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-[0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: drop reception of one or more repetitions of the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in one or more occasions in the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claim 20, Harris discloses the apparatus of claim 17, Harris does not disclose however Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: determine occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time (Yang, [0059]-]0063], control of uplink signals when in non-active time including not sending uplink signal “the present invention proposes to change the configuration (e.g., transmission time/pattern/band) for transmitting uplink signals so as to perform limited transmission, or not to transmit uplink signals”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Harris to include the limitations of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: determine occasions for the one of the physical uplink channel or signal in accordance with the non-active time as taught by Yang. Forgoing sending of uplink signals during non-active time by UE enables “reduction in battery consumption”(Yang, [0062]).
As to claims 31-36, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-6 respectively above by Harris in view of Yang.
As to claims 37-40, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 7, 8, 11 and 12 respectively above by Harris in view of Yang.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467