Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 2024/0121803 (Pan).
As to claims 1 and 11, Pan teaches a first user equipment (UE) (250, fig 2) comprising:
at least one transceiver (254a, fig 2);
at least one processor (260/270, fig 2) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (272, fig 2), communicatively coupled to the at least one
processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the first UE to:
generate a discovery message for a sidelink positioning, wherein the discovery message comprises information on a role associated with the discovery message (see paragraphs 514 and 523, Target or Reference UE sends an Announcement or Solicitation message comprising Role Indication), and
transmit, to a second UE associated with the sidelink positioning, the discovery message (see paragraphs 515 and 524, Reference or Target UE receives said Announcement or Solicitation message).
As to claims 6 and 16, Pan teaches a second user equipment (UE) (250, fig 2) comprising:
at least one transceiver (254a, fig 2);
at least one processor (260/270, fig 2) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver: and
at least one memory (272, fig 2), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the second UE to:
receive, from a first UE associated with a sidelink positioning, a discovery message for the sidelink positioning (see paragraphs 514 and 523, Target or Reference UE sends an Announcement or Solicitation message comprising Role Indication), and
identify, based on the discovery message,information on associated with the discovery message (see paragraphs 515 and 524, Reference or Target UE receives said Announcement or Solicitation message with the information comprised within it).
As to claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Pan further teaches wherein if the discovery message is a sidelink positioning announcement message, the information indicates that the role is supported for the first UE and the role includes at least one of a sidelink anchor UE, a sidelink server UE, or a sidelink target UE (see paragraph 514).
As to claims 5 and 15, Pan further teaches wherein see paragraphs 523 and 524).
As to claims 10 and 20, Pan further teaches wherein if the discovery message is a sidelink positioning solicit message, the information indicates that the role is requested for the second UE and the role includes at least one of a sidelink anchor UE, a sidelink server UE, or a sidelink target UE, and wherein the instructions further cause the second UE to transmit a response message for the discovery message to the first UE (see paragraphs 523 and 524).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of US 2025/0168808 (Ramachandran et al.).
As to claims 2, 7, 12 and 17, what is lacking from Pan wherein the discovery message further includes metadata information on a role to be discovered.
In analogous art, Ramachandran teaches information in a discovery message between anchor and target UEs being sent in the form of metadata information (see Ramachandran, paragraphs 175 and 287).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pan, so as to utilize a widely used format for information transmission.
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of US 2025/0184879 (Paladugu et al.).
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, what is lacking from Pan wherein the first UE is a located UE, and wherein the discovery message further includes information on a public land mobile network (PLMN) of the first UE.
In analogous art, Paladugu teaches a discovery message between UEs comprising a PLMN ID and TAI (~located UE) (see Paladugu, paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pan, so as to inform the other UE of the current tracking area and serving network of the transmitting UE.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641