DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 6/11/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0121803 (Pan) in view of US 2025/0254101 (Qiao et al.).
As to claims 1 and 11, Pan teaches a first user equipment (UE) (250, fig 2) comprising:
at least one transceiver (254a, fig 2);
at least one processor (260/270, fig 2) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and
at least one memory (272, fig 2), communicatively coupled to the at least one
processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the first UE to:
generate a discovery message for a sidelink positioning, wherein the discovery message comprises information on a role among a list of roles associated with the discovery message, wherein the list of roles include at least one of a sidelink anchor UE, a sidelink server UE, or a sidelink target UE (see paragraphs 514 and 523, Target or Reference UE sends an Announcement or Solicitation message comprising Role Indication), and
transmit, to a second UE associated with the sidelink positioning, the discovery message (see paragraphs 515 and 524, Reference or Target UE receives said Announcement or Solicitation message);
wherein the discovery message further comprises information indicating that a location of the first UE is known in case that the location of the first UE is known (see paragraphs 448, 514 and 523, target UE indication~location not known, reference UE indication~location known).
What is explicitly lacking is the information on a role among a list of roles associated with the discovery message comprising a bitmap for indicating the list of roles wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a role of the list of roles.
In analogous art, Qiao teaches the use of a bitmap for conveying a given tasks from a list of tasks (~role from a list of roles) such that each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a task in the list of tasks (see Qiao, paragraphs 308 and 373).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching into Pan so as to efficiently convey information pertaining to the role.
As to claims 6 and 16, Pan teaches a second user equipment (UE) (250, fig 2) comprising:
at least one transceiver (254a, fig 2);
at least one processor (260/270, fig 2) communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver: and
at least one memory (272, fig 2), communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the second UE to:
receive, from a first UE associated with a sidelink positioning, a discovery message for the sidelink positioning (see paragraphs 514 and 523, Target or Reference UE sends an Announcement or Solicitation message comprising Role Indication), and
identify, based on the discovery message, information on a role among a list of roles associated with the discovery message, wherein the list of roles include at least one of a sidelink anchor UE, a sidelink server UE, or a sidelink target UE (see paragraphs 515 and 524, Reference or Target UE receives said Announcement or Solicitation message with the information comprised within it);
wherein the discovery message further comprises information indicating that a location of the first UE is known in case that the location of the first UE is known (see paragraphs 448, 514 and 523, target UE indication~location not known, reference UE indication~location known).
What is explicitly lacking is the information on a role among a list of roles associated with the discovery message comprising a bitmap for indicating the list of roles wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a role of the list of roles.
In analogous art, Qiao teaches the use of a bitmap for conveying a given tasks from a list of tasks (~role from a list of roles) such that each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a task in the list of tasks (see Qiao, paragraphs 308 and 373).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching into Pan so as to efficiently convey information pertaining to the role.
As to claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Pan in view of Qiao’s cited teachings further teach wherein, if the discovery message is a sidelink positioning announcement message, the each bit of the bitmap indicates whether the first UE supports the role of the list of roles (see paragraph 514).
As to claims 5 and 15, Pan in view of Qiao’s cited teachings further teach wherein, if the discovery message is a sidelink positioning solicit message, the each bit of the bitmap indicates whether the role of the list of roles is requested by the first UE (see paragraphs 523 and 524).
As to claims 10 and 20, Pan in view of Qiao’s cited teachings further teach wherein, if the discovery message is a sidelink positioning solicit message, the each bit of the bitmap indicates whether the role of the list of roles is requested by the first UE, and wherein the instructions further cause the second UE to transmit a response message for the discovery message to the first UE (see paragraphs 523 and 524).
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Qiao, as applied to claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of US 2025/0184879 (Paladugu et al.).
As to claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, what is lacking from Pan wherein the discovery message further includes information on a public land mobile network (PLMN) of the first UE.
In analogous art, Paladugu teaches a discovery message between UEs comprising a PLMN ID and TAI (~located UE) (see Paladugu, paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Pan, so as to inform the other UE of the current tracking area and serving network of the transmitting UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641