DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application and the subject of this non-final office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: At line 4, “and” should be inserted after “vesicles.”
Claim 14: In (ii), “introduces” should be “introduce”.
Claim 17: The claim contains an extra space before the comma in “of claim 15 , wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,the claim recites “permeabilizing the cells ...” and “introducing a reverse transcriptase into the cells ...”. It is unclear if this refers to just the plurality of cells or also is meant to be applied to the single cell. This is an antecedent basis rejection. Applicant may consider, for example, “permeabilizing the single cell or plurality of cells ”.
Claims 2-14 are indefinite for depending from claim 1 and not rectifying the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by Song (WO 2023/034872 A1; published 03/09/2023) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Song (WO 2023/034872 A1; published 03/09/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a method of in situ reverse transcription (entire document, e.g., Abstract, para [0167-168]), comprising:
fixing a cell or a plurality of cells (para [0007], [0168], [0202-208]; see also para [0170]), wherein the fixing agent may be DTME ([0204]);
permeabilizing the cell(s) (para [0202]: “treatment of the sample with fixing agent(s) ... and... permeabilizing agent(s)”, [0209-2010]]); and
performing in situ transcription by introducing a reverse transcriptase into cells to form first strand cDNAs (para [0158], [0167-169]; [0176]: “the ... contacting step is performed in the presence ... of the extension reagents ... the extension is performed in situ ... the extension reagents comprise ... a reverse transcriptase; claims 3 and 4; see also claim 8 and Abstract).
See also the additional citations of note in claim 15.
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the RNAs may be mRNA (para [0179], [0208]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Song teaches that cells are mammalian, i.e., animal (para [0193], [0135-136], [0007]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Song teaches introducing single cells onto a plurality of microwells of a microwell array block (para [0104], [0122]).
Song also teaches other physical partitions including a droplet, a container (para [0070]), and a gel bead (para [0093]).
Regarding claims 6-8, Song teaches linking partition-specific barcodes to mRNA molecules via the polyA tail (para [0160], which are linked to the cDNA molecules as they are generated from mRNA (para [0159]; instant claim 6). Song teaches further generating a library of barcoded targets by amplifying the single-stranded cDNA molecules to produce double-stranded cDNA molecules and conducting nested PCR to produce labeled amplicons (para [0158]; instant claims 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches that the PCR may be real-time PCR (para [0140]).
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches a plurality of fixed cells (claim 8; see also claim 11), wherein the fixed cells comprise a heterologous reverse transcriptase capable of generating cDNA (claims 3, 4, and claim 38; see also para [0168], [0170], Abstract, Title “In Situ Reverse Transcription”), and wherein the fixing agent use is DTME (para [0204]).
See also the citations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches the plurality of cells may be mammalian (claim 14).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Song teaches that the cells may may be single cells in entrapped in a microwells (claim 59; para [0122]: “a microwell entraps a single cell”; see also para [0104]).
It is noted that Song also teaches emulsion droplets as an alternative partition (para [0070] and [0236]).
Song teaches each and every limitations of claim 1-9 and 15-18 and therefore Song anticipates claims 1-9 and 15-18.
MPEP 2131.02(II) recites that a reference that clearly names the claimed species anticipates the claim no matter how many other species are named. DTME is clearly named as a fixing agent by Song.
Song teaches keeping RNA fixed so it can be used as a template for RT with little to no diffusion risk such that is can be used for in situ analysis of subcellular locations and IF/IHC later (para [0169]).
Therefore, in the alternative, to the extent it may be argued that the disclosure of DTME amongst numerous fixing agents fails to satisfy the “at once envisage” standard for anticipation within the claimed method or as a method of preparing the claimed plurality of cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected DTME as the fixing agent from the genus of fixing agents as named by Song, as it was art-recognized as suitable for the intended purpose of a fixing agent in the context of transcriptomics (see MPEP 2144.07), wherein such would have been predictable as Song teaches it as suitable for the intended purpose.
Claim(s) 1-9, 13 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2023/034872 A1; published 03/09/2023) in view of Ge (Ge DT, et al. The RNA-Binding ATPase, Armitage, Couples piRNA Amplification in Nuage to Phased piRNA Production on Mitochondria. Mol Cell. 2019 Jun 6;74(5):982-995.e6. Epub 2019 May 7).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a method of in situ reverse transcription (entire document, e.g., Abstract, para [0167-168]), comprising:
fixing a cell or a plurality of cells (para [0007], [0168], [0202-208]; see also para [0170]), wherein the fixing agent may be DTME ([0204]);
permeabilizing the cell(s) (para [0202]: “treatment of the sample with fixing agent(s) ... and... permeabilizing agent(s)”, [0209-2010]]); and
performing in situ transcription by introducing a reverse transcriptase into cells to form first strand cDNAs (para [0158], [0167-169]; [0176]: “the ... contacting step is performed in the presence ... of the extension reagents ... the extension is performed in situ ... the extension reagents comprise ... a reverse transcriptase; claims 3 and 4; see also claim 8 and Abstract).
See also the additional citations of note in claim 15.
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches the RNAs may be mRNA (para [0179], [0208]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Song teaches that cells are mammalian, i.e., animal (para [0193], [0135-136], [0007]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Song teaches introducing single cells onto a plurality of microwells of a microwell array block (para [0104], [0122]).
Song also teaches other physical partitions including a droplet, a container (para [0070]), and a gel bead (para [0093]).
Regarding claims 6-8, Song teaches linking partition-specific barcodes to mRNA molecules via the polyA tail (para [0160], which are linked to the cDNA molecules as they are generated from mRNA (para [0159]; instant claim 6). Song teaches further generating a library of barcoded targets by amplifying the single-stranded cDNA molecules to produce double-stranded cDNA molecules and conducting nested PCR to produce labeled amplicons (para [0158]; instant claims 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches that the PCR may be real-time PCR (para [0140]).
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches a plurality of fixed cells (claim 8; see also claim 11), wherein the fixed cells comprise a heterologous reverse transcriptase capable of generating cDNA (claims 3, 4, and claim 38; see also para [0168], [0170], Abstract, Title “In Situ Reverse Transcription”), and wherein the fixing agent use is DTME (para [0204]).
See also the citations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches the plurality of cells may be mammalian (claim 14).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Song teaches that the cells may may be single cells in entrapped in a microwells (claim 59; para [0122]: “a microwell entraps a single cell”; see also para [0104]).
It is noted that Song also teaches emulsion droplets as an alternative partition (para [0070] and [0236]).
Song teaches keeping RNA fixed so it can be used as a template for RT with little to no diffusion risk such that is can be used for in situ analysis of subcellular locations and IF/IHC later (para [0169]).
Regarding claim 13, Song teaches that RNA will stay fixed and can be used as a template for reverse transcription and subsequently using cells for in situ analysis (para [0169]).
Song teaches that the sample can stay intact after RNA copying is done and that there is not release of the mRNA (para [0169]).
Song teaches use of the sample for IF/IHC later without issue (para [0169]) and teaches fixing/permeabilizing cells for preservation of mRNA (para [0208]).
Song fails to explicitly teach storage after the fixing but before the permeabilizing or the introducing of the RT.
Ge teaches use of multiple fixing agents to stabilize an interaction between two proteins in RNA metabolism and found that DTME best stabilized the interaction between the two proteins for localization analysis, including IF (pg. 984, col 1, para 1, spanning col 2; see also Abstract, Introduction, and Fig. 1)
Therefore, to the extent it may be argued that the disclosure of DTME amongst numerous fixing agents fails to satisfy the “at once envisage” standard for anticipation within the claimed method or as a method of preparing the claimed plurality of cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected DTME as the fixing agent from the genus of fixing agents as named by Song for the reasons discussed above. Further, it would have been so obvious to the POSITA before said date as an obvious species of the genus of fixing agents, motivated by the teachings of Ge that DTME best stabilized proteins of interest in IF experiments. There would have been a strong expectation of success as Song teaches DTME as suitable for transcriptomics and both Ge and Song are directed toward in situ IF experiments in the context of localization, at least in part.
Further, altering the timing of storage to before permeabilizing or introducing would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Song teaches storage and preservation of mRNA and teaches that the sample stays intact with minimal to no diffusion RNA diffusion, wherein such also would have been predictable to the artisan as Song is directed to fixing/permeabilizing for preservation of mRNA, including before contacting with RT. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C), particularly In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results).
Claim(s) 10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2023/034872 A1; published 03/09/2023) in view of Ge (Ge DT, et al. The RNA-Binding ATPase, Armitage, Couples piRNA Amplification in Nuage to Phased piRNA Production on Mitochondria. Mol Cell. 2019 Jun 6;74(5):982-995.e6. Epub 2019 May 7), as applied to claims 1-9, 13 and 15-18 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2021/0222163 A1; published 07/22/2021).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches first strand synthesis of cDNA on mRNA molecules (para [0158]), i.e., forming RNA/DNA hybrids (instant claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches amplifying single-stranded cDNA molecules to produce double-strand labeled cDNA molecules and generating adaptor-labeled amplicons (para [0158]; instant claim 11).
Regarding claim 14, Song teaches partition-specific barcodes (para [0171]; Abstract; Fib. 5). As cited in claims 4-5, Song teaches introducing cells into partitions.
Song teaches further processing reactions performed within the microwells (para [0134]) and performing subcellular analysis (para [0169]).
Song teaches obtaining sequencing data comprising sequencing reads of the plurality of barcoded nucleic acid molecules or products thereof, wherein each comprises a partial table sequence (para [0004]). Song is directed to multiomics (Title).
Song fails to teach:
contacting RNA/DNA hybrids of double-stranded cDNA with transposases that introduce heterologous end adapter oligos into the respective nucleic acid to form fragments comprising the heterologous end adapter oligos (claims 10-11); and
introducing transposases into the cells and cell nuclei, wherein the transposases introduce heterologous end adapter oligos into gDNA in the nuclei to form gDNA fragments comprising the HEA oligos and HEA oligos into RNA/DNA hybrids to form cDNA fragments comprising the HEA oligos (claim 14);
in the partitions of claim 14, attaching partition-specific barcode oligos to the gDNA fragments comprising the HEA oligos and the cDNA fragments comprising the HEA oligos (claim 14).
Wu teaches a method of reverse transcription and tagmentation of full length mRNA and genomic DNA from a single cell (para [0107]), which allows for obtaining mRNA and genomic DNA in a single step, a shorter extension time during pre-amplification, and full length coverage of mRNA(para [0102], [0107]; Fig. 2). Wu teaches that the method may be performed on fixed tissues (para [0047]).
Wu teaches that the mRNA from the cell is subjected to reverse transcription to form a mRNA-cDNA hybrid molecule, which undergoes a tagmentation reaction by a transposome in the same reaction chamber, wherein the transposome comprises a transposase and a nucleic acid molecule comprises a heterologous end adaptor oligonucleotide (para [0107]; Fig. 5; instant claims 10 and 14).
Wu teaches that the mRNA-cDNA hybrid molecule is contacted by a TSO that hybridizes to the 3’ end of the cDNA, wherein the TSO allows for capture of full length mRNA molecules (para [0107]; Fig. 5). Wu teaches that reaction chamber comprises the partially fragmented TSO-cDNA undergoes PCR (Fig. 5; see also para [0107]), wherein the TSO serves as a primer for second strand synthesis to form double-stranded DNA (Fig. 5; para [0110]). Wu teaches that the reaction chamber undergoes a second tagmentation reaction using a second transposome comprising Tn5 and a second heterologous end adapter oligonucleotide (para [0107]; Fig. 5; instant claim 11).
Wu teaches that the tagmentation of the gDNA introduces heterologous end adaptor oligonucleotides (Fig. 2; instant claim 14).
Wu teaches that the reverse transcription and tagmentation can be performed in a single chamber such as a well, droplet, or other compartment (para [0028]) and subjecting fragments to further nucleic acid processing in preparation for sequencing analysis, including attaching and/or appending barcoding sequences to the fragments, for example by ligation, amplification, or a combination thereof (para [0085]). Wu teaches that the nucleic acid barcodes may be cell barcodes (para [0014], [0072], [0151]), i.e., “partition-specific” barcodes.
Wu teaches that transposase-mediated fragmentation and tagging of nucleic acid molecules can be used in the preparation of sequencing libraries, and that tagmentation offers the advantages of simplified sample preparation (para [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the method of Wu as part of the sequencing preparation of Song and/or Song in view of Ge (i.e., fragmentation to allow for, for example, short read sequencing), motivated by the teachings of Wu that its methods allow for single step analysis of mRNA and gDNA and full length coverage of mRNA by use of the TSO method. It further would have been obvious to the POSITA before said EFD to have attached partition-specific barcodes to the fragments as both Wu and Song teaches attachment of such barcodes to the product of the respective method. While the order may differ in the respective methods, such is obvious as a change in the sequence of adding ingredients and/or as a rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C) and (VI)(C), particularly In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice) . Such would have been predictable as both are directed to multiomics methods applicable to single cells, and Wu teaches that such may be performed on fixed tissues and Song teaches subcellular analysis such that transposomes of Wu would be expected reach the permeabilized nuclei of the cell(s) of Song and/or Song in view of Ge.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fan (US 2019/0338357 A1) teaches fixing a cell comprising a nucleus, permeabilizing a nucleus, and performing a sample analysis (para [0014), wherein the sample analysis comprises contacting dsDNA from the cell with a transposome to induce a dsDNA break to generate a plurality of overhand dsDNA fragments comprising copies of and adaptor, and barcoding the plurality of overhand DNA fragments to generate a plurality of barcoded DNA fragments, wherein each of the plurality of barcodes comprises a cell label sequence (claim 1).
/EMMA R HOPPE/Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636