DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-10, as originally filed, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Although claim 1 is directed to a statutory machine, it recites abstract mathematical concepts and operation such as “determine a region in the input medical image data; and perform the image processing to the determined region in the input medical image data” without integrating them into a practical application, and without additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As to “obtain input medical image data …“ and ”output the output medical image data …” recited in claim 1 essentially involve data arrangement which could be performed manually or with assistance of an ordinary computing machine. The claim 1 therefore does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 9-10 recite similar limitations and are rejected with the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0035338 A1, Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou) in view of US 2015/0145966 A1, Krieger et al. (hereinafter Krieger).
As to claim 1, Zhou discloses a medical image processing apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to: obtain input medical image data having a larger image region than output medical image data as a result of image processing (Fig 7; pars 0015, 0050-0052, 0054-0056),
determine, in the input medical image data, a region that is smaller than the image region of the input medical image data (pars 0078-0079, 0085, 0089, focusing on a region of input image associated with distortion correction and/or quality enhancement) and that is to affect image quality of the output medical image data when the image processing is applied to the input medical image data (Figs 11, 20-21; pars 0005-0006, 0011, 0015, perform image quality enhancement on the region needed; pars 0055, 0071, 0074, correct distortion),
perform the image processing to the determined region in the input medical image data (Figs 11, 20-21; pars 0005-0006, 0011, 0015, perform image quality enhancement on the region needed; pars 0055, 0071, 0074, correct distortion), and output the output medical image data resulting from the image processing performed (Figs 7, 9, 13, 20; pars 0015, 0051-0058, output image after image enhancement).
Zhou does not expressly disclose the relative size of the region in input image with respect to any other region in the input image or the image as a whole, an ordinary skill in the art, however, would understand that the region that requires attention or region of interest is usually a portion of the input image and therefore smaller than the input image.
Nevertheless, Krieger, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches region of interest with specific shape and size in the input image being processed to correct distortion (pars 0015, 0048-0049, 0051, 0057, 0059). In other words, the region that needs correction or deformation is smaller than the input image.
Therefore, consider Zhou and Krieger’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Krieger’s teachings in Zhou’s apparatus to only focus on processing particular region that requires distortion correction or quality enhancement in the input image to reduce unnecessary processing burden.
As to claim 2, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image processing includes at least one of an image-quality enhancement process for enhancing image quality of the input medical image data (Zhou: Figs 11, 20-21; pars 0005-0006, 0011, 0015, 0017-0018, 0076, image enhancement or improvement) and a distortion correction process for correcting image distortion in the input medical image data (Zhou: Fig 5; pars 0054, 0066-0067, distortion correction).
As to claim 3, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine the region according to a parameter defining the image processing or a user input (Zhou: pars 0003, 0134; Krieger: pars 0037, 0048, restricted region based on parameter settings).
As to claim 8, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain mask data of a sensitivity map used in generation of the input medical image data (Zhou: Fig 13; pars 0010-0012, 0081-0082, 0089-0090, 0100-0113, 0115, the mask being utilized to form the region), and determine the region based on the input medical image data having the mask data applied thereto (Zhou: pars 0082, 0089-0090, 0120-0121, the region being structured/determined correlated to the mask).
As to claim 9, it recites an MRI apparatus performing functions of apparatus claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein. It is noted that Zhou as modified also teaches a fast Fourier Transform (FFT) being applied to the input image (Zhou: Fig 20; pars 0050, 0124).
As to claim 10, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Krieger and further in view of US 2008/0183071 A1, Strommer et al. (hereinafter Strommer).
As to claim 4, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein in the image processing including the distortion correction process (Zhou: Fig 5; pars 0054, 0066-0067, distortion correction), and the region that is to affect the image quality of the output medical image data when the distortion correction process is applied to the input medical image data (pars ) but does not expressly teach the parameter defining the image processing is a lookup table showing image distortion in the input medical image data with respect to the image region of the output medical image data), and the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, as a region to be subject to the distortion correction process, with reference to the lookup table.
Strommer, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches the parameter defining the image processing is a lookup table showing image distortion in the input medical image data with respect to the image region of the output medical image data (pars 0026, 0087-0091, look-up table being used for correlate correction to a look-up table), and the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, as a region to be subject to the distortion correction process, with reference to the lookup table, the region that is to affect the image quality of the output medical image data when the distortion correction process is applied to the input medical image data (pars 0026, 0087-0091).
Therefore, consider Zhou as modified and Strommer’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Strommer’s teachings to associate or correlate ROI settings and rotation correction to a look-up table for efficient implementation.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Krieger and further in view of US 2021/0390694 A1, Mao et al. (hereinafter Mao).
As to claim 5, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein in the image processing including the image-quality enhancement process (Zhou: Figs 11, 20-21; pars 0005-0006, 0011, 0015, 0017-0018, 0076, image enhancement or improvement), the region that is to affect the image quality of the output medical image data when the image-quality enhancement process is applied to the input medical image data (Zhou: Figs 11, 20-21; pars 0005-0006, 0011, 0015, 0017-0018, 0076).
Zhou as modified does not expressly teach the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, as a region to be subject to the image-quality enhancement process, based on the kernel size and the region to be subject to the distortion correction process.
Mao, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches the parameter defining the image processing is a kernel size to be used in the image-quality enhancement process (pars 0085, 0088, 0149, the parameter may include a count of convolution kernels, a size of the kernel, etc.), and the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, as a region to be subject to the image-quality enhancement process, based on the kernel size and the region to be subject to the distortion correction process (pars 0085, 0088, 0149).
Therefore, consider Zhou as modified and Mao’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Mao’s teachings in Zhou as modified’s apparatus to utilize CNN kernel to model in order correct the image distortion and enhance image quality.
As to claim 6, Zhou as modified discloses the medical image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the image-quality enhancement process includes at least one of a noise reduction process for reducing noise in the input medical image data and an artifact reduction process for reducing artifacts in the input medical image data (Zhou: pars 0054, 0070, 0133, noise reduction or denoise image; Figs 13-14; pars 0010-0011, 0013, 0032-0033, 0054, 0065, CT metal artifacts reduction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (Zhou, Krieger, Strommer, and Mao) neither discloses alone not teaches in combination functions and features recited in claim 7.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662