DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: In line 11, “direction.p” should be “direction.”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (CN 203690386 U).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a secondary battery (Annotated Song Fig. 4, battery cell 1) comprising:
an electrode assembly, comprising a plurality of electrode plates and a separator (Annotated Song Fig. 4 illustrates an electrode assembly that is comprised of a plurality of positive electrodes sheets 11, a plurality of negative electrode plates 12 and a plurality of separators 13.);
in a first direction (Direction perpendicular to W direction in Annotated Song Fig. 4.), the plurality of electrode plates are stacked, and the separator is disposed between two adjacent electrode plates among the plurality of electrode plates (Annotated Song Fig. 4);
the plurality of electrode plates comprise a first outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) and a second outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) located on two opposite sides in the first direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4);
the plurality of electrode plates further comprise a first second-to-outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) adjacent to the first outermost electrode plate and of an opposite polarity than the first outermost plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4), and
a second second-to-outermost electrode plate adjacent to the second outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) and of an opposite polarity than the second outermost electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4); and
the separator comprises a first separator layer (denoted by arrow) located between the first outermost electrode plate and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate, and the separator further comprises a second separator layer (denoted by arrow) located between the second outermost electrode plate and the second second-to-outermost electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4); and
Annotated Song Fig. 4: A secondary battery (battery cell 1) comprising of an electrode assembly which includes a plurality of positive electrode plates (11), a plurality of negative electrode plates (12), and a plurality of separator layers (13).
a pocket (packaging bag 2), accommodating the electrode assembly, wherein the pocket comprises a first sidewall (denoted by arrow) extending in the first direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4A); wherein
in a second direction (W direction) perpendicular to the first direction, the first separator layer comprise a first extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the first outermost electrode plate and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate, and the second separator comprises a second extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the second outermost electrode plate and the second second-to-outermost plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4A);
the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together to form a first composite portion (Annotated Song Fig. 4A illustrates a first composite portion (denoted by arrow and box). Para. [0042] further explains how the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together to form a first composite portion. Colloid 132 is dissolved in acetone to form an adhesive solution. Subsequently, edge 131 (which represents the first extension portion and the second extension portion on first separator layer and second separator layer) of the area of separator 13 that extends beyond the length of negative electrode plate 12 is immersed in the adhesive solution. Then, the colloid 132 is cured under room temperature ventilation conditions so that edges 131 of the separator 13 of adjacent layers are bonded together.); and
in the second direction, the first composite portion is located between the plurality of electrode plates and the first sidewall (Annotated Song Fig. 4A).
Annotated Song Fig. 4A: A secondary battery (battery cell 1) comprising of a pocket (packaging bag 2) which houses a plurality of positive electrode plates (11), a plurality of negative electrode plates (12), and a plurality of separator layers (13). The pocket comprises of a first sidewall (denoted by arrow) and the first separator layer includes a first extension portion (denoted by arrow) and the second separator layer includes a second extension portion (denoted by arrow).
Regarding claim 16, Song discloses an electrical device (Claim 8) comprising a secondary battery (Annotated Song Fig. 4, battery cell 1), wherein the secondary battery comprises:
an electrode assembly, comprising a plurality of electrode plates and a separator (Annotated Song Fig. 4 illustrates an electrode assembly that is comprised of a plurality of positive electrodes sheets 11, a plurality of negative electrode plates 12 and a plurality of separators 13.);
in a first direction (Direction perpendicular to W direction in Annotated Song Fig. 4.), the plurality of electrode plates are stacked, and the separator is disposed between two adjacent electrode plates among the plurality of electrode plates (Annotated Song Fig. 4);
the plurality of electrode plates comprise a first outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) and a second outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) located on two opposite sides in the first direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4);
the plurality of electrode plates further comprise a first second-to-outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) adjacent to the first outermost electrode plate and of an opposite polarity than the first outermost plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4), and
a second second-to-outermost electrode plate adjacent to the second outermost electrode plate (denoted by arrow) and of an opposite polarity than the second outermost electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4); and
the separator comprises a first separator layer (denoted by arrow) located between the first outermost electrode plate and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate, and the separator further comprises a second separator layer (denoted by arrow) located between the second outermost electrode plate and the second second-to-outermost electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4); and
a pocket (packaging bag 2), accommodating the electrode assembly, wherein the pocket comprises a first sidewall (denoted by arrow) extending in the first direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4A); wherein
in a second direction (W direction) perpendicular to the first direction, the first separator layer comprise a first extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the first outermost electrode plate and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate, and the second separator comprises a second extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the second outermost electrode plate and the second second-to-outermost plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4A);
the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together to form a first composite portion (Annotated Song Fig. 4A illustrates a first composite portion (denoted by arrow and box).; and
in the second direction, the first composite portion is located between the plurality of electrode plates and the first sidewall (Annotated Song Fig. 4A).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Song discloses the pocket further comprising a second sidewall (denoted by arrow) extending in the first direction, and the second sidewall and the first sidewall are disposed opposite to each other in the second direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4B);
the first separator layer and the second separator layer are configured to be separate separators (Annotated Song Fig. 4);
in the second direction, the first separator layer further comprises a third extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the first outermost electrode plate and the first second-to-outermost, and the third extension portion is disposed opposite to the first extension portion in the second direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4B);
the second separator layer further comprises a fourth extension portion (denoted by arrow) extending beyond the second outermost electrode plate and the second second-to-outermost electrode plate, and the fourth extension portion is disposed opposite to the second extension portion in the second direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4B);
the third extension portion and the fourth extension portion are bonded together to form a second composite portion (Para. [0031] states that all edges 131 of separators 13 extending beyond the negative electrode plate 12 on the same side in the width direction W are bonded together as one piece.); and
in the second direction, the second composite portion (denoted by box and arrow) is located between the plurality of electrode plates and the second sidewall (Annotated Song Fig. 4B).
Annotated Song Fig. 4B: A secondary battery (battery cell 1) comprising of a pocket (packaging bag 2) containing a second sidewall (denoted by arrow) and the first separator layer includes a third extension portion (denoted by arrow) and the second separator layer includes a fourth extension portion (denoted by arrow). A second composite portion (denoted by box and arrow) is located between the plurality of electrode plates and the second sidewall.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Song discloses wherein the pocket comprises a first packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow), a first cavity (denoted by arrow) is provided in the first packaging portion, and the electrode assembly is at least partially accommodated in the first cavity (Annotated Song Fig. 4C);
the first cavity comprises a first wall (denoted by arrow) extending along the first direction (Annotated Song Fig. 4C); and
a projection (denoted by box and arrow) of the first composite portion projected onto the first wall in the second direction is located inside the first wall (Annotated Song Fig. 4C).
Annotated Song Fig. 4C: A secondary battery (battery cell 1) comprising of a pocket (packaging bag 2) which houses a first packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow). The first packaging portion includes a first cavity (denoted by arrow) wherein the first cavity includes a first wall (denoted by arrow). A projection (denoted by box and arrow) projects onto the first wall.
Regarding claim 7, Song discloses wherein the first outermost electrode plate is a single-side-coated electrode plate, and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate is a double-side-coated electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4 illustrates the first outermost electrode plate (positive electrode sheet 11) as a single-side-coated electrode plate, and the first second-to-outermost electrode plate (negative electrode plate 12) as a double-side-coated electrode plate.).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses wherein the pocket is an aluminum laminated film (Para. [0042] states that packaging bag 2 (pocket) is an aluminum-plastic sealed bag.), the first outermost electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (Song Fig. 4, positive electrode sheet 11), the first second-to-outermost electrode plate is a negative electrode plate (Song Fig. 4, negative electrode plate 12); and
in the second direction, the first second-to-outermost plate extends beyond the first outermost electrode plate (Annotated Song Fig. 4 displays a negative electrode plate 12 (first second-to-outermost electrode plate) extending beyond positive electrode sheet 11 (first outermost plate electrode plate).).
Regarding claim 9, Song discloses wherein the separator comprises a substrate layer, and the substrate layer comprises at least one of polyethylene or polypropylene (Para. [0042] states that the separator is a 16 µm thick PE separator.).
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses wherein the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together to form the first composite portion (Annotated Song Fig. 4A illustrates a first composite portion (denoted by arrow and box). Para. [0042] further explains how the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together to form a first composite portion. Colloid 132 is dissolved in acetone to form an adhesive solution. Subsequently, edge 131 (which represents the first extension portion and the second extension portion on first separator layer and second separator layer) of the area of separator 13 that extends beyond the length of negative electrode plate 12 is immersed in the adhesive solution. Then, the colloid 132 is cured under room temperature ventilation conditions so that edges 131 of the separator 13 of adjacent layers are bonded together.).
Regarding claim 13, Song discloses wherein the secondary battery further comprises a second binder, and the first extension portion and the second extension portion are bonded together by the second binder (Annotated Song Fig. 4 illustrates and claim 1 states that the edges 131 of separator 13 extending beyond the negative electrode plate 12 in the width direction (W) is coated with colloid 132 (second binder) to bond the plurality of edges 131 of the separators 13 together.); and
the second binder comprises at least one of polyacrylate ester, epoxy resin, rubber, hot-melt adhesive, or organosilicone (Para. [0033] explains that colloid 132 (second binder) may be comprised of at least one of various material where one of them is epoxy resin.).
Regarding claim 14, Song discloses wherein no winding adhesive tape configured to bond and fix the first outermost electrode plate and the second outermost electrode plate is disposed in the secondary battery (Annotated Song Fig. 4 fails to display a winding adhesive tape that is configured to bond and fix the first outermost electrode plate and the second outermost electrode plate to one another.).
Regarding claim 15, Song discloses wherein the pocket comprises a first packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow) and a second packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow), the first packaging portion contains a cavity (denoted by arrow) accommodating at least a part of the electrode assembly, the first packaging portion and the second packaging portion are connected together to form a sealing portion (denoted by box and arrow) to accommodate a body portion (denoted by arrow) of the electrode assembly and seal the body portion, the body portion comprises a first surface (denoted by arrow) and a second surface (denoted by arrow) extending along the second direction, the first surface and the second surface are disposed opposite to each other in the first direction, the first surface is located in the first packaging portion, the second surface is located in the second packaging portion, and a start end (denoted by arrow) of the first composite portion is closer to the first surface than the second surface (Annotated Song Fig. 4D).
Annotated Song Fig. 4D: A secondary battery (battery cell 1) comprising of a first packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow) and a second packaging portion (denoted by box and arrow). The first packaging portion comprises of a cavity (denoted by arrow) and a first surface (denoted by arrow) whereas the second packaging portion comprises of a second surface (denoted by arrow). The first packaging portion and the second packaging portion connect to form a sealing portion (denoted by box and arrow).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and in further view of Cheng et al. (CN 107204415 A).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Song discloses the secondary battery as applied to claims 1 and 16.
Song fails to disclose wherein the first separator layer and the second separator layer are configured to be a one-piece separator, and the separator is a Z-shaped folded structure.
However, Cheng teaches wherein the first separator layer and the second separator layer are configured to be a one-piece separator, and the separator is a Z-shaped folded structure (Claim 2 states and annotated Cheng Fig. 5 illustrates a first separator layer (denoted by arrow) and a second separator layer (denoted by arrow) wherein the first separator layer and the second separator layer are integrated as a one-piece separator. Furthermore, claim 4 explains and annotated Cheng Fig. 5 depicts the one-piece separator has a Z-folded structure.).
Annotated Cheng Fig. 5: An electrode assembly comprising of a first separator layer (denoted by arrow) and a second separator layer (denoted by arrow) wherein separator 1 is a Z-folded structure.
Song and Cheng are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries that prevent the separator from shrinking at high temperatures, increasing the chance of a battery short circuiting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Song to include a one-piece separator comprising of multiple layers formed in a Z-shaped folded structure because Cheng teaches that due to bonding the at least one separator layers together, the separator (also referred to as diaphragm in the specification of Cheng) is fixed in a stacked structure thermal shrinkage of the diaphragm is reduced, thus further reducing the possibility of an internal short circuit of a battery (para. [0016]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and in further view of Akizuki et al. (WO 2020203534 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Song discloses the secondary battery as applied to claims 1 and 16.
Song fails to disclose wherein the first composite portion is a folded structure.
However, Akizuki teaches wherein the first composite portion is a folded structure (Akizuki Fig. 9 illustrates and para. [0070] explains that separator 3 has a bent shape and bottom extension portion 30’ (first composite portion) constitutes a flexible molded body.).
Song and Akizuki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with less risk to internal battery short-circuiting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Song to include a first composite portion that is a folded structure because Akizuki teaches that because of the flexibility of bottom extension portion 30’, insulating tape may be applied more reliably to various internal battery components, thus reducing the risk of an internal battery short circuit (para. [0084]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song.
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses the secondary battery as applied to claim 2, and wherein the first and second composite portions are less than or equal to a thickness of the electrode assembly along a first direction (Song Fig. 4).
Song fails to disclose a length of the first composite portion or the second composite portion along the first direction is greater than or equal to 1 mm.
However, Song discloses a length of an individual edge coated with colloid within a first composite portion and a second composite portion (colloid 132 coated on the edge 131 of the separator layer) which is 0.1 to 0.5 mm (Claim 7). Furthermore, Annotated Song Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate first and second composite portions, each composite portion being comprised of six edges 131 protruding from six separator layers. An exemplary length within the disclosed range of 0.1 to 0.5 mm may be that each edge is coated with colloid over a length of 0.2 mm. Over the length of six edges with each edge being coated with colloid over a 0.2 mm length would result in a total length of both the first and second composite portion along the first direction of 1.2 mm, thus being greater than the claimed limitation of 1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select applicants claimed range of a length of the first composite portion or the second composite portion along the first direction is greater than or equal to 1 mm because Song teaches overlapping ranges for the length of the colloid coated on the edge of the separator layer is 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm (Claim 7) and wherein Song Fig. 4 illustrates a totality of six edges protruding from six separator layers with each individual edge from each individual separator layer coated with colloid to form an integral first composite portion and an integral second composite portion each with a length greater than or equal to 1 mm in the first direction, and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Lin et al. (US 2019/0393466 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Song discloses the secondary battery as applied to claim 9.
Song fails to disclose wherein the separator further comprises a first layer disposed on the substrate layer, the first layer comprises a first binder, and the first binder comprises at least one of polyvinylidene difluoride or polyacrylate ester.
However, Lin teaches wherein the separator comprises a first layer disposed on the substrate layer, the first layer comprises a first binder, and the first binder comprises at least one of polyvinylidene difluoride or polyacrylate ester (Para. [0080] explains of the separator which includes a porous layer on a surface of the separator. The porous layer is comprised of inorganic particles and a binder wherein the binder may be made from polyacrylate ester.).
Song and Lin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with reduced risk of internal short circuiting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Song to include a separator comprised of a first layer on said substrate layer comprising of a first binder wherein the first binder is made of polyvinylidene difluoride or polyacrylate ester because Lin teaches disposing a polymer layer between an anode active material layer and a separator prevents short circuiting between a cathode current collector and an anode active material layer, thereby making the short-circuit process safe (para. [0054]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Lee (US 2018/0040865 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Song, as modified by Park, discloses the secondary battery as applied to claim 11.
Song, as modified by Park, fails to disclose wherein the first composite portion comprises an indentation, and the indentation comprises a patterned protrusion structure.
However, Lee teaches wherein the first composite portion comprises an indentation, and the indentation comprises a patterned protrusion structure (A second roller possesses a micro pattern on a surface of the second roller to further enhance traveling characteristic of a porous separator. The projections on the surface of the second roller may be a patterned straight line shape, a lattice shape, a polygon shape, or a circular shape which will be imprinted on to a porous separator (paras. [0046-0050]).).
Song, Park, and Lee are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing batteries with reduced risk of internal short circuiting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Song, as modified by Park, to include a first composite portion with an indentation wherein the indentation comprises a patterned protrusion structure because Lee teaches that inorganic particles on a separator prevent a short circuit due to lack of contact between a positive electrode and a negative electrode (para. [0069]) and applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dan et al. (CN 214477790 U) discloses a battery cell wherein a separator is comprised of a first separator layer and a second separator layer which extends beyond the plurality of outermost electrode plates and a plurality of second-to-outermost electrode plates. The separator layers come together to form a composite portion.
Contact Information
/SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713