DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term “ANDROID” , which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12-15, 17 and 19-20 contains the trademark/trade name ANDROID . Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe ANDROID and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newell et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0145278) in view of Tseng et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0249247).
Regarding claim 1, Newell discloses a message notification method comprising [see abstract and para. 0005; display alerts provided by applications of a guest environment in a notification bar controlled by a host operating system (OS) in a host environment of a mobile device, wherein the guest environment is running in a virtual machine supported by a hypervisor running within the host environment. A hypervisor-aware service in the virtual machine registers with a guest OS to be notified when applications request presentation of alerts in a notification bar controlled by the guest OS (Android)]:
monitoring a message processing process of an ANDROID application running in an
ANDROID operating system (OS) of an ANDROID container [see para. 0060, 0061 and figure 11; a process for receiving and presenting notifications received from applications running in work mobile device in notification bar. The process is executed regardless of whether work mobile device is in the foreground or in the background because, display data for notification bar is controlled and managed by host OS (Android). The process includes steps carried out by an application whose activity is prompting a notification to be displayed in notification bar and a backdoor service, both of work mobile device, and steps carried out by hypervisor and host OS 120 of personal mobile device and some activity at application prompts application to request a notification to be displayed in notification bar (e.g., an email application may have received new email, a calendar application may have an imminent appointment upcoming, a telephone call may have been missed, etc.), backdoor service receives notice of the notification request of application from guest OS; which corresponds to the guest environment operates as a virtual machine running within host environment Android with communication for monitoring];
obtaining, in the ANDROID OS, a notification message of the ANDROID application
while monitoring the message processing process [see para. 0073, 0074; the launcher application of host OS (ANDROID) which manages and controls personal desktop to find and install the widget and to expose information providers in one environment to the other environment, backdoor service and hypervisor communicate (e.g., via RPC, etc.) to exchange information about widgets that displayed by the launcher applications in their respective work and personal environments. For example, upon boot-up of work mobile device, backdoor service provide a list of widgets from guest OS (ANDROID) to hypervisor; which corresponds to the notification details content identifier during launching applications];
determining, based on the notification message, a state of an application window associated with the ANDROID application [see para. 0060-0061 and figure 11; a process for receiving and presenting notifications received from applications running in work mobile device in notification bar. The process is executed regardless of whether work mobile device is in the foreground or in the background because display data for notification bar is controlled and managed by host OS (ANDROID). The process includes steps carried out by an application whose activity is prompting a notification to be displayed in notification bar and a backdoor service, both of work mobile device, and steps carried out by hypervisor and host OS of personal mobile device. Background service generally registers (for example, upon launch) with guest OS (or with its notification management service) to be notified of any requests from other applications or services running on guest OS that request guest OS to present notifications in a notification bar controlled by guest OS; which corresponds to associate with notification such as the guest OS or host OS environment and assesses like active background status]; however, Newell fails to explicitly teach displaying the notification message based on the state of the application window.
Tseng discloses displaying the notification message based on the state of the application window [see para. 0068; various messages received over a network such as a wireless communications network connected to the internet. Information received from the network, such as from one or more remote servers, provided to the applications, and information passed from the applications back to the network. Information passed, after processing, to a notification event manager, which may manage notifications that are presented to a user, through touch screen. For example, the notification event manager receive indications from various applications about new events whose occurrence needs to be communicated to a user of the device. The notification event manager in turn provide information about the messages, such as the type of message, the name of the sender, and a subject line for the message, to status area display module, which in turn pass information for displaying a notification to display manager, which have assigned a certain area of touch screen for display of status indicators and notification information; which corresponds to the notification manager window are displayed scrolling text and icon in a status bar].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Newell and Tseng before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newell’s virtualized notification forwarding with Tseng’s message based window display. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to enhance window analysis from the notification by improving usability in virtualized Android apps operate in varies states as mobile device.
Regarding claim 2, Tseng discloses further comprising further displaying the
notification message in the application window when the state of the application window is a
display state [see para. 0045, 0046 and figure 2A; The active application area 214 shows a reduced-area view of an application that was running, or active, in the main zone when the user selected to expand the messaging information. The application is a telephone call that the user was conducting when they chose to look at their other outstanding messages. Before the user selected to see more about the messages, the application occupied all of the main zone, and included an extensive amount of information, such as an image of the person with whom the call was occurring; which corresponds to expand main zone integrated with the active app window]. Regarding Claim 3, Newell discloses wherein displaying the notification message comprises inserting a prompting mark on an icon of the ANDROID application on a taskbar when the state of the application window is a minimized state [see para. 0062, 0063; A personal notification indicator helps the user identify the personal notifications, and a work notification indicator helps the user to identify work notifications. A similar filtered notification bar having personal notifications and work notifications that are differentiated by color. All personal notifications are displayed in one color, e.g., green, and all work notifications are displayed in another color, e.g., blue. In certain scenarios, system-level notifications such as network signal strength that are typically displayed on the right side of a notification bar and can shared between the personal and work environments may be different for such environments a filtered notification bar that displays a "persistent" work icon with one or more badges where the badges relate to system-level status information particular to work mobile device; which corresponds to visual indicator on icons notification bar area].
Regarding claim 4, Newell discloses displaying, after inserting the prompting mark, the notification message in a pop-up window on a display interface [see para. 0052; 0059 and figure 10; user interface for such switching, personal mobile device includes a notification bar having a work icon for switching the user to work mobile device. Similarly, a user interface for work mobile device that includes notification bar having a personal icon for switching the user to personal mobile device, for example, swiping down on notification bar to expand it, a user can subsequently select work icon or personal icon to switch to the work environment or personal environment; and a top-to-bottom swipe on notification bar expands notification bar to provide further details regarding displayed notifications (as well as enables the user to further launch applications related to such notifications by selecting the notifications in the expanded view), expanded notification bar provides additional details on the notifications, including whether the notification is generated from the personal or work environments; which corresponds to user interaction with marks icon on the host display interface].
Regarding claim 5, Newell discloses further comprising data filtering the
notification message in the ANDROID container [see para. 0061; a corresponding notification request includes information to associate the notification with hypervisor and a tag uniquely identifying the notification (e.g., name of application in work mobile device, etc.) so that, upon user selection of the notification, hypervisor assists with launching the corresponding application running in work mobile device. The notification management service of host OS (ANDROID) receives the forwarded notification request, the notification management service of host OS displays the requested notification in notification bar. Subsequently, when a user (whether working in the personal or work environment) expands notification bar and selects the displayed notification, host OS (or its notification management service), utilizing the information provided by hypervisor in the corresponding notification request, calls hypervisor and provides it with the unique tag identifying application].
Regarding claim 6, Newell discloses further comprising: receiving a display picture comprising a rendering of the notification message from the ANDROID container; and
displaying the display picture when the state of the application window is a display state [see para. 0032, 0038; serves as a user interface intermediary between personal mobile device 100 and work mobile device by copying contents of virtual framebuffer into hardware framebuffer so that the UI environment of work mobile device and copies or updates contents of virtual framebuffer into a local memory buffer available from host OS. Then, UI proxy requests composite window manager to copy contents of the local buffer into hardware framebuffer to display contents of the local buffer which includes work desktop on touch screen].
Regarding claim 7, Newell discloses further comprising: determining, in the ANDROID OS, indication information based on the state of the application window; and
inserting a prompting mark on an icon of the ANDROID application on a taskbar based on
the indication information when the state of the application window is a minimized state, wherein the indication information indicates the notification message in the ANDROID application [see para. 0062, 0063; A personal notification indicator helps the user identify the personal notifications, and a work notification indicator helps the user to identify work notifications. A similar filtered notification bar having personal notifications and work notifications that are differentiated by color. All personal notifications are displayed in one color, e.g., green, and all work notifications are displayed in another color, e.g., blue. In certain scenarios, system-level notifications such as network signal strength that are typically displayed on the right side of a notification bar and can shared between the personal and work environments may be different for such environments a filtered notification bar that displays a "persistent" work icon with one or more badges where the badges relate to system-level status information particular to work mobile device; which corresponds to visual indicator on icons notification bar area].
Regarding claim 8, Newell discloses a computer device, comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium configured to store computer-executable instructions; and
a processor coupled to the non-transitory storage medium and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the computer device to [see para. 0077; one or more computer programs or as one or more computer program modules embodied in one or more computer readable media. The term computer readable medium refers to any data storage device and 5; display alerts provided by applications of a guest environment in a notification bar controlled by a host operating system (OS) ANDROID in a host environment of a mobile device]:
monitoring a message processing process of an ANDROID application running in an
ANDROID operating system (OS) of an ANDROID container [see para. 0060, 0061 and figure 11; a process for receiving and presenting notifications received from applications running in work mobile device in notification bar. The process is executed regardless of whether work mobile device is in the foreground or in the background because, display data for notification bar is controlled and managed by host OS (Android). The process includes steps carried out by an application whose activity is prompting a notification to be displayed in notification bar and a backdoor service, both of work mobile device, and steps carried out by hypervisor and host OS 120 of personal mobile device and some activity at application prompts application to request a notification to be displayed in notification bar (e.g., an email application may have received new email, a calendar application may have an imminent appointment upcoming, a telephone call may have been missed, etc.), backdoor service receives notice of the notification request of application from guest OS; which corresponds to the guest environment operates as a virtual machine running within host environment Android with communication for monitoring];
obtaining, in the ANDROID OS, a notification message of the ANDROID application
while monitoring the message processing process [see para. 0073, 0074; the launcher application of host OS (ANDROID) which manages and controls personal desktop to find and install the widget and to expose information providers in one environment to the other environment, backdoor service and hypervisor communicate (e.g., via RPC, etc.) to exchange information about widgets that displayed by the launcher applications in their respective work and personal environments. For example, upon boot-up of work mobile device, backdoor service provide a list of widgets from guest OS (ANDROID) to hypervisor; which corresponds to the notification details content identifier during launching applications];
determining, based on the notification message, a state of an application window associated with the ANDROID application [see para. 0060-0061 and figure 11; a process for receiving and presenting notifications received from applications running in work mobile device in notification bar. The process is executed regardless of whether work mobile device is in the foreground or in the background because display data for notification bar is controlled and managed by host OS (ANDROID). The process includes steps carried out by an application whose activity is prompting a notification to be displayed in notification bar and a backdoor service, both of work mobile device, and steps carried out by hypervisor and host OS of personal mobile device. Background service generally registers (for example, upon launch) with guest OS (or with its notification management service) to be notified of any requests from other applications or services running on guest OS that request guest OS to present notifications in a notification bar controlled by guest OS; which corresponds to associate with notification such as the guest OS or host OS environment and assesses like active background status]; however, Newell fails to explicitly teach displaying the notification message based on the state of the application window.
Tseng discloses displaying the notification message based on the state of the application window [see para. 0068; various messages received over a network such as a wireless communications network connected to the internet. Information received from the network, such as from one or more remote servers, provided to the applications, and information passed from the applications back to the network. Information passed, after processing, to a notification event manager, which may manage notifications that are presented to a user, through touch screen. For example, the notification event manager receive indications from various applications about new events whose occurrence needs to be communicated to a user of the device. The notification event manager in turn provide information about the messages, such as the type of message, the name of the sender, and a subject line for the message, to status area display module, which in turn pass information for displaying a notification to display manager, which have assigned a certain area of touch screen for display of status indicators and notification information; which corresponds to the notification manager window are displayed scrolling text and icon in a status bar].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Newell and Tseng before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newell’s virtualized notification forwarding with Tseng’s message based window display. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to enhance window analysis from the notification by improving usability in virtualized Android apps operate in varies states as mobile device.
Regarding claims 9-14, directly or indirectly dependent on claim 8, essentially correspond to those of claims 2-7 respectively. Accordingly, the same reasoning as in claims 2-7 applies to claims 9-14.
Regarding claim 15 is an independent claim and relates to a computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer device. Since the features of claim 15 are substantially the same as those of claim 8 except for the category of invention, the same reasoning as in claim 8 applies to claim 15.
Regarding claims 16-20, directly or indirectly dependent on claim 15, essentially correspond to those of claims 2-7 respectively. Accordingly, the same reasoning as in claims 2-7 applies to claims 16-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Chen et al. (US 8,887,152) discloses the behavior of an installed application within the Android device is modified. The program code is modified to allow a security application to load and run the application within its own context. The modified program code is repacked into a modified APK file, executed within the context of the security application. A component within a target application includes APIs for starting other components. These APIs are modified to use a new intent object which points to a proxy component. A modified target application is executed. The security application loads the target application into memory without installing it.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171