DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claim 8) in the reply filed on 10 June 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 March 2024, 09 September 2024, 22 January 2025, 18 July 2025 and 21 April 2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examined claim is not directed to anti-BMP10 antibodies.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see [0052]). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the term Sigma Adjuvant System®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application (see at least page 79 at [0288]). The use of the terms NanoGlo® and GloMax®, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted at page 82 of the specification (at [0299]). The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be
properly capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as TM, SM or R following the term. Applicant was aware that Sigma Adjuvant System® was a registered trademark due to the text "(registered trademark)" in the same paragraph. However, use of the proper symbol is required. The trade names and marks noted above is not to be considered an exhaustive list of possible trade names and marks in the specification. Applicant should review the entire specification and make any appropriate corrections in this regard. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The specification at [0008] is unclear because the first sentence is grammatically incorrect. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to a method comprising the use of an antagonist in a diagnostic method or an immunological detection method or measurement method without setting forth any steps involved in the method.
Claim 8 is essentially a “use” claim as it recites a “use” of an antagonist for a given purpose but fails to recite any steps involved in the process or necessary to achieve the stated process. MPEP 2173.05 (q) states:
"Use" claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C. 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 709, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961)("one cannot claim a new use per se, because it is not among the categories of patentable inventions specified in 35 U.S.C. § 101 "). In Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd. App. 1967), the Board held the following claim to be an improper definition of a process: "The use of a high carbon austenitic iron alloy having a proportion of free carbon as a vehicle brake part subject to stress by sliding friction." In Clinical Products Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966), the district court held the following claim was definite, but that it was not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101: "The use of a sustained release therapeutic agent in the body of ephedrine absorbed upon polystyrene sulfonic acid." [AltContent: rect]
Although a claim should be interpreted in light of the specification disclosure, it is generally considered improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims. See In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969) and In re Winkhaus, 527 F.2d 637, 188 USPQ 129 (CCPA 1975), which discuss the premise that one cannot rely on the specification to impart limitations to the claim that are not recited in the claim.
Because the instant claim recites a “use” in a method, wherein the methods do not have any steps, the claim does not rise to the level of a “method” and the claim is therefore not directed to one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claim is directed to a method comprising a “use of an antagonist for at least one of BMP10 and a BMP9/BMP10 heterodimer” wherein the method is (a) a diagnostic method and (b) an immunological detection method or a measurement method wherein both (a) and (b) relate to BMP10.
The instant specification defines an antagonist as “a substance that inhibits the activation of a receptor by inhibiting the binding of a ligand to its receptor protein” (see [0058]). However, while the specification provides a written description for an antagonist which is a monoclonal antibody (antibody 18C1) which has the ability to be used in a method which could be diagnostic or provide measurement or immunological detection, the specification fails to provide an adequate written description for any and all antagonists which could be useful in the claimed methods recited in claim 8.
Claim 8 recites uses for the antagonist which appear to materially limit the antagonist to one that would bind to BMP10 (or a BMP9/BMP10 heterodimer) such that BMP10 could be detected and/or measured. Additionally, part (b) of claim 8 necessarily requires the antagonist to be immunological in nature as the method recites “immunological detection”. However, the claim fails to limit the antagonist by any structural recitation at all and therefore, merely relies on a function as defined in the specification (see [0058]).
The structure of the antagonist to be used in the claimed method(s) is not adequately described. In AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., Ill USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014) AbbVie had claims to functionally claimed antibodies and Centocor presented evidence that the antibodies described in AbbVie's patents were not representative of other members of the functionally claimed genus. The decision states, “When a patent claims a genus using functional language to define a desired result, ‘the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus.’ Id. at 1349. We have held that 'a sufficient description of a genus ... requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus.’ Id. at 1350 (quoting Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69). Here, the claimed invention is a class of fully human antibodies that are defined by their high affinity and neutralizing activity to human IL-12, a known antigen. AbbVie's expert conceded that the '128 and '485 patents do not disclose structural features common to the members of the claimed genus.”
The AbbVie decision considers how large of a genus is involved and what species of the genus are described in the patent. With the written description of a genus, however, merely drawing a fence around a perceived genus is not a description of the genus. One needs to show that one has truly invented the genus, i.e., that one has conceived and described sufficient representative species encompassing the breadth of the genus. Otherwise, one has only a research plan, leaving it to others to explore the unknown contours of the claimed genus. See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353 (The written description requirement guards against claims that “merely recite a description of the problem to be solved while claiming all solutions to it and ... cover any compound later actually invented and determined to fall within the claim's functional boundaries.”).
In the instant application, the specification and claims draw a fence around a perceived genus but the genus is not adequately described. While the specification discloses an antibody (18C1) which has the ability to neutralize BMP10 or BMP9/BMP10 heterodimer and therefore is an antagonist, the claims are not so limited and the structural variability of the claimed genus (antagonist) is large as the claims encompass any molecule which inhibits the activation of the receptor by inhibiting the binding of at least one of BMP10 and a BMP9/BMP10 heterodimer to their receptor protein with no recitation of structure. No reasonable structure-function correlation has been established that is commensurate in scope with the claims. The specification does not describe representative examples to support the full scope of the claims.
In the absence of sufficient direction and guidance, the disclosure of 18C1 which is an antagonist and comprises the CDRs of SEQ ID NO:29-34 does not provide sufficient written description for the entire genus of antagonists encompassed by the claim.
Vas-Cath Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, states that Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention, for purposes of the written description inquiry, is whatever is now claimed (see page 1117). A review of the language of the claim indicates that these claims are drawn to antibodies which have specific functional characteristics.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(1), the court states, “An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention.”
Thus, given the level of skill and knowledge and predictability in the art, those of skill in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genera of antagonists based on disclosures set forth above. "A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004). For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly.
Further, it is not sufficient to define the genus solely by its principal biological property, because an alleged conception having no more specificity than that is simply a wish to know the identity of any material with that biological property. Per the Enzo court's example, (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 63 USPQ2d 1609 (CA FC 2002) at 1616) of a description of an anti-inflammatory steroid, i.e., a steroid (a generic structural term) couched "in terms of its function of lessening inflammation of tissues" which, the court stated, "fails to distinguish any steroid from others having the same activity or function" and the expression "an antibiotic penicillin" fails to distinguish a particular penicillin molecule from others possessing the same activity and which therefore, fails to satisfy the written description requirement. Applicant has not disclosed any relevant, identifying characteristics, such as structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, sufficient to show possession of the claimed genus. Mere idea or function is insufficient for written description; isolation and characterization at a minimum are required. A description of what a material does, rather than what it is, usually does not suffice. (Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406).
In the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the genus of antagonists to be used in the claimed methods. One of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the genus. The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is directed to a method “comprising the use of an antagonist” wherein the method is (a) a diagnostic method for a disease and (b) an immunological detection method or a measurement method. However, the claim fails to recite any steps in said method(s). According to MPEP 2173.05 (q):
Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: "[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
The instant claim does not recite any active, positive steps delimiting how the “use” of an antagonist is actually practiced, therefore, the claim is indefinite. Furthermore, as the nature of the “antagonist” is not defined in the claim, the use of such in (b) “immunological detection method or a measurement method” is unclear as an “antagonist” is not necessarily an immunological agent or an agent for measuring a given protein. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (PNAS, 110(29): 11887-11892, 2013; cited by Applicant).
Chen et al. disclose an anti-BMP10 antibody, which is an antagonist for BMP10 (see page 11888, first column, last paragraph regarding neutralizing antibodies as well as pages 11891-11892 under “Neutralizing Antibodies”). Chen et al. also disclose use of anti-BMP10 antibodies in an ELISA to measure protein levels of BMP10 (see page 11888, second column, second paragraph). Therefore, Chen et al. anticipate the instant claim.
Prior Art Made of Record
U.S. Pat. No. 9,452,197 (Seehra et al.)
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Christine J Saoud/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645