DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0365165) in view of Min et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0247805).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a content display method [see para. 0029-0030; When displaying an interface in the unfold state, the above electronic device displays a larger area and richer content than the other electronic device of a single screen], comprising:
receiving a first input by a user [see para. 0038, 0048,0069; folding the screen or performing a swipe gesture)] in a case of displaying a content in a first object [see para. 0033-0034 and figure 3 showing a video frame; which corresponds to a user interaction with a displayed content item, context panels and related content panels];
and in response to the first input, displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device, wherein the M regions correspond to the M contents one- to-one, M is an integer greater than 1; which corresponds to presenting multiple related content element in response to user’s input and each displaying separate content items in different UI areas, each of the M contents comprises at least one of the following: a first content in the first object and at least one type of additional information associated with the first content in the first object; which corresponds to a first content in the first object associated with the first content [see figures 3, 8; the target interface can be a video playback interface, and the video playback interface is displayed through both the first screen area and the second screen area. When the folding screen of the electronic device is in an unfolded state and the target interface is displayed through at least one of the first screen area or the second screen area, monitor the rotation amplitude between the first screen area and the second screen area. The monitoring device can be a distance sensor, and distance sensors are installed in both the first screen area and the second screen. When the first screen and the second screen are folded, the distance detected by the two distance sensors changes, thereby determining the folding angle of the two screen areas]; and at least part of content in different regions is different [see para. 0127 and figures 8, 11; When the rotation amplitude is within the specified range of amplitude variation, determine the first interface and the second interface based on the target interface. Display the first interface on the first screen area. Display the second interface on the second screen area. The content displayed on the first and second interfaces is the content of different areas within the target interface, so that different areas on the target interface can be displayed in different screen areas showing M regions 701 and 702. Region 701 includes the content in the first object and region 702 displays additional information "bullet screen comments"]; however, Chen fails to explicitly teach at least part of content in different regions is different.
Min discloses at least part of content in different regions is different [see para. 0390 and figure 34; the electronic device may execute the first application and the second application, and may display an execution screen of the first application (e.g., an execution screen of a first video playback application) and an execution screen of the second application (e.g., an execution screen of a second video playback application). In addition, the electronic device may display a plurality of execution screens in different states of the same application (e.g., the first application). The plurality of execution screens displayed together on one display displayed regardless of an area of the display; which corresponds to display multiple content items across multiple regions and organizing different content views].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Min before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, displaying of multiple contextual contents system of Chen to include multi-region presentation of content, as taught by Min.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to increase clarity, usability and organization a GUI optimization and conveniently display the content to be displayed in different regions
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Chen discloses wherein the M contents comprise the first content and N types of additional information, and N is a positive integer; and the displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device comprises: sequentially displaying the M contents in the M regions according to a first priority order of the first content and the N types of additional information [see para. 0105, 0106 and figure 8; displaying the second interface on the second screen area. The content displayed on the first and second interfaces is the content of different areas within the target interface, so that different areas on the target interface can displayed in different screen areas. The barrage data will not obstruct the display of video content, avoiding the barrage data from affecting the user's viewing of the video. It is a common practice in this field to display objects in corresponding areas according to their priority and is a conventional means in this field].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Min discloses wherein in a case that the first object is a
document, before the receiving a first input by a user, the method further comprises: displaying the first content and the N types of additional information on the screen [see para. 0403; the sizes of areas on the display may be changed when hinges, the states of which are changed (e.g., which are rotated), are changed, among the hinges provided between the plurality of housings figure 37]; the sequentially displaying the M contents in the M regions according to a first priority order of the first content and the N types of additional information comprises: splitting the first content and the N types of additional information into the M contents according to the first priority order and M first size ratios, and sequentially displaying the M contents in the M regions; wherein each first size ratio is a ratio of a size of one of the M regions to a size of the screen, and each content comprises the first content, or each content comprises the first content and at least one of the N types of additional information [see para. 0328, 0403, 0404 and figures 36-37; the size of the first area and the size of the third area may be different from each other, and the size of the second area and the size of the fourth area may be different from each other. The sizes of areas on the display may vary when hinges, the states of which are changed (e.g., which are rotated), are changed, among the hinges provided between the plurality of housings. For example, depending on the number of hinges, the states of which are changed, among the plurality of hinges, the display include display areas, the number of which is larger than the number of hinges by one. As an example, when the state of a first hinge is changed among the plurality of hinges, the display of the electronic device include a first area and a second area, and when the states of a first hinge and a second hinge are changed, among the plurality of hinges, the display of the electronic device include first to third areas. In addition, the sizes and the number of areas into which the display is divided may vary when hinges, the states of which are changed (e.g., which are rotated), are changed, among the hinges provided between the plurality of housings; which corresponds to the wherein each first size ratio is a ratio of a size of one of the M regions to a size of the screen, and each content comprises the first content]
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Chen discloses wherein after the displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving a second input by the user on a first region in the M regions; and in response to the second input, splitting a content in the first region into at least two first sub-contents according to a priority of the content in the first region, dividing the first region into at least two first sub-regions, and displaying one of the first sub-contents in each of the first sub-regions; wherein each first sub-content comprises at least one of the following: the first content, or at least one type of additional information associated with the first content [see para. 0322, 0335and figures 24-25; the electronic device identify attributes (e.g., first to fifth attributes) for each of a plurality of elements (e.g., E1 to E7) included in the first execution screen and the electronic device gradually perform the operation of reconfiguring a plurality of elements. For example, when reconfiguring at least some of a plurality of elements E1 to E7 included in the first execution screen (e.g., position shift or visual attribute change) the electronic device gradually shift the positions of the elements or may gradually change the visual characteristics (e.g., shapes or colors) of the elements].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Chen discloses wherein the M regions comprise a third region and a fourth region, and a number of types of additional information comprised in the third region is greater than a number of types of additional information comprised in the fourth region; after the displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving a fifth input by the user; and in response to the fifth input, in a case that feature information of the fifth input matches feature information of the first input, displaying, in the fourth region, part of a content in the third region, and canceling the display of the part of the content in the third region [see para. 0028, 0090; the display area of the third screen area can be equal to or greater than the sum of the display area of the first screen area and the second screen area. When the foldable screen is folded, the first screen area and the second screen area can both be folded to fit into the third screen area. The third housing and the third screen area on it can be positioned in other locations. For example, the third housing may be rotatably connected to a side of the first bearing part away from the second bearing part, or the third housing may be rotatably connected to a side of the second bearing part away from the first bearing part, the electronic device also include a fourth housing and a fourth screen area corresponding to the fourth housing, or the electronic device also include a fifth housing and a fifth screen area corresponding to the fifth housing, so that the electronic device can be an electronic device with a multiple fold structure; which corresponds to the amount of content displayed in multiple partitions may vary. It is a common design in this field to move the specified content from the area with more content to the area with less content].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Chen discloses wherein after the displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device, the method further comprises: receiving a sixth input by the user; and in response to the sixth input, in a case that an input position of the sixth input matches an input position of the first input and an input direction of the sixth input is different from an input direction of the first input, displaying the content in the first object in a display manner used before receiving the first input [see para. 0088, 0094, 0173 and figure 6; a split-screen display implemented according to the number of angle changes between the first screen area and the second screen area during the statistical period, the statistical period is a length of time during which the amplitude of rotation changes from an initial angle to a final angle and an apparatus of performing a split-screen display, the apparatus includes a monitoring module, configured to monitor the amplitude of rotation between the first screen area and the second screen area while the foldable screen is in an unfolded state and a target interface is displayed on at least one of the first screen area and the second screen area; a determining module, configured to determine a first interface and a second interface according to the target interface when the amplitude of rotation is within a specified amplitude range; and a controlling module, configured to display the first interface on the first screen area, and display the second interface on the second screen area; which corresponds to dividing the screen into multiple regions based on user operations and displaying the content displayed on the original screen in each region separately. In the relevant field, it is a common design for users to return the split screen display content to its original display state without the need for split screen display].
Regarding claim 9; Chen discloses an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to perform [see para. 0144 and figure 13; the electronic device include one or more of the following components: a processor, a memory, a foldable screen and one or more application programs. The one or more application programs may be stored in the memory and configured to be executed by one or more processors]:
receiving a first input by a user [see para. 0038, 0048,0069; folding the screen or performing a swipe gesture)] in a case of displaying a content in a first object [see para. 0033-0034 and figure 3 showing a video frame; which corresponds to a user interaction with a displayed content item, context panels and related content panels];
and in response to the first input, displaying M contents in M regions of a screen of an electronic device, wherein the M regions correspond to the M contents one- to-one, M is an integer greater than 1; which corresponds to presenting multiple related content element in response to user’s input and each displaying separate content items in different UI areas, each of the M contents comprises at least one of the following: a first content in the first object and at least one type of additional information associated with the first content in the first object; which corresponds to a first content in the first object associated with the first content [see figures 3, 8; the target interface can be a video playback interface, and the video playback interface is displayed through both the first screen area and the second screen area. When the folding screen of the electronic device is in an unfolded state and the target interface is displayed through at least one of the first screen area or the second screen area, monitor the rotation amplitude between the first screen area and the second screen area. The monitoring device can be a distance sensor, and distance sensors are installed in both the first screen area and the second screen. When the first screen and the second screen are folded, the distance detected by the two distance sensors changes, thereby determining the folding angle of the two screen areas]; and at least part of content in different regions is different [see para. 0127 and figures 8, 11; When the rotation amplitude is within the specified range of amplitude variation, determine the first interface and the second interface based on the target interface. Display the first interface on the first screen area. Display the second interface on the second screen area. The content displayed on the first and second interfaces is the content of different areas within the target interface, so that different areas on the target interface can be displayed in different screen areas showing M regions 701 and 702. Region 701 includes the content in the first object and region 702 displays additional information "bullet screen comments"] ; however, Chen fails to explicitly teach at least part of content in different regions is different.
Min discloses at least part of content in different regions is different [see para. 0390 and figure 34; the electronic device may execute the first application and the second application, and may display an execution screen of the first application (e.g., an execution screen of a first video playback application) and an execution screen of the second application (e.g., an execution screen of a second video playback application). In addition, the electronic device may display a plurality of execution screens in different states of the same application (e.g., the first application). The plurality of execution screens displayed together on one display displayed regardless of an area of the display; which corresponds to display multiple content items across multiple regions and organizing different content views].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Min before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, displaying of multiple contextual contents system of Chen to include multi-region presentation of content, as taught by Min.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to increase clarity, usability and organization a GUI optimization and conveniently display the content to be displayed in different regions.
Regarding claims 10-11, 13 and 15-16, directly or indirectly dependent on claim 9, essentially correspond to those of claims 10-11, 13 and 15-16 respectively. Accordingly, the same reasoning as in claims 2-3 and 5-8 applies to claims 10-11, 13 and 15-16.
Regarding claim 17 is an independent claim and relates to a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, causes the electronic device to perform. Since the features of claim 17 are substantially the same as those of claim 9 except for the category of invention, the same reasoning as in claim 9 applies to claim 17.
Regarding claims 18-19, directly or indirectly dependent on claim 17, essentially correspond to those of claims 18-19 respectively. Accordingly, the same reasoning as in claims 2-3 applies to claims 18-19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Kim et al. (US 2014/0101535) discloses a multi-display apparatus includes a first body configured to have a first display placed therein, a second body configured to have a second display placed therein, a hinge configured to connect the first body and the second body and to rotatably support the first body and the second body, a communicator configured to communicate with a web server when a web browser is executed, a storage configured to store web page data received from the web server, and a controller configured to display, on the first display, a first web browsing screen based on the web page data, and to display, on the second display, when a first object is selected on the first web browsing screen, a second web browsing screen, which is linked with the first object.
Opara et al. (US 2023/0236720) discloses Introduced here are split-screen implementation techniques that can allow a user to view and interact with the user interfaces of two or more applications simultaneously. Each of the two or more applications can be displayed within its own portion of two or more portions. A split-screen mode can be activated by a user by opening a split-screen application and selecting the applications to be used. Once within the split-screen mode, the user can customize the layout by adjusting the size of each portion and/or moving the application between the portions.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171