DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 13, 18-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLENBECK (US 2023/0370863) in view of ELSHAFIE et al (US 2024/0187042)
Regarding claim 1, 20, ELLENBECK (US 2023/0370863) discloses wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a smart node from one of a plurality of user equipment, a first message including control information (ELLENBECK: ¶9, ¶124, ¶118, the UE sends to the RIS and the RIS (smart node) receives from the UE, instructions having control information), wherein the smart node comprises a smart controller and a planar surface (ELLENBECK: Fig. 10, ¶81, controller with a planar substrate surface).
ELLENBECK remains silent regarding the receiving being from a plurality of UEs; and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs.
However, ELSHAFIE et al (US 2024/0187042) discloses the receiving being from a plurality of UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶138, ¶122, plurality of UEs i.e. first device and second device transmit respective messages with control information); and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶146, ¶149, the RIS selects one of the two UEs based on the priorities of the UEs; the UEs are authorized users (¶67, ¶46)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK would have been motivated to use the teachings of ELSHAFIE as it provides a technique to resolve conflicts between devices (¶11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK with teachings of ELSHAFIE in order to improve conflict resolution between contending UEs to take control of the RIS.
Regarding claim 2, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the control information includes at least one of: a plurality of phase and amplitude information of the smart node, valid timing information, on/off information of the smart node, or an operation mode of the smart node (ELLENBECK: ¶82-¶83, ¶114, ¶103, ¶106-107, phase and amplitude/magnitude of the reflected/re-radiated signals are controlled by the UE by controlling the RIS configuration through the control RAT message (instruction to control RIS) ; the control RAT message also indicate operating modes include scattering, absorption, reflection and diffraction, etc).
Regarding claim 3, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of the phase and amplitude information of the smart node can be indicated explicitly or implicitly (ELLENBECK: ¶82-¶83, ¶114, ¶103, ¶106-107, phase and amplitude/magnitude of the reflected/re-radiated signals are controlled by the UE by controlling the RIS configuration through the control RAT message (instruction to control RIS), at least implicitly).
Regarding claim 7, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 2, wherein the operation mode of the smart node comprises at least one of: scatter, absorption, reflection, diffraction, receiving, amplifying, or transmission (ELLENBECK: ¶82, operation mode of the smart node (RIS node) is controlled by the instruction of UE via control RAT message; operating modes include scattering, absorption, reflection and diffraction, etc).
Regarding claim 13, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: setting configuration, by the smart node, based on the control information which corresponds to a first one of the plurality of UEs (ELLENBECK: ¶114, the UE device responsible of controlling the RIS sends control information; the RIS is configured by using the control information; the UE device among more than one UE devices and other devices such as the AP).
Regarding claim 18, 19, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method, comprising: sending, by one of a plurality of UEs to a smart node, a first message including control information (ELLENBECK: ¶9, ¶124, ¶118, the UE sends to the RIS and the RIS (smart node) receives from the UE, instructions having control information), wherein the smart node comprises a smart controller and a planar surface (ELLENBECK: Fig. 10, ¶81, controller with a planar substrate surface).
ELLENBECK remains silent regarding the receiving being from a plurality of UEs; and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs.
However, ELSHAFIE et al (US 2024/0187042) discloses the receiving being from a plurality of UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶138, ¶122, plurality of UEs i.e. first device and second device transmit respective messages with control information); and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶146, ¶149, the RIS selects one of the two UEs based on the priorities of the UEs; the UEs are authorized users (¶67, ¶46)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK would have been motivated to use the teachings of ELSHAFIE as it provides a technique to resolve conflicts between devices (¶11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK with teachings of ELSHAFIE in order to improve conflict resolution between contending UEs to take control of the RIS.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of PAN et al (US 2025/0337459)
Regarding claim 4, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 2,
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding, however, PAN et al (US 2025/0337459) discloses the first message having the valid timing information, wherein the valid timing information is in a first format that has a number of time units (PAN: ¶149, ¶165, validity time period in the control information indicating slots/time units the control information is value).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of PAN as it provides a way to avoid stale control information which might not contain optimal parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of PAN in order to optimum function of the RIS.
Regarding claim 5, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 2,
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding, however, PAN et al (US 2025/0337459) discloses the first message having the valid timing information, the valid timing information is in a second format that has a starting time and a time length (PAN: ¶149, validity time period in the control information indicating, implicitly the starting time and the length of valid time period).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of PAN as it provides a way to avoid stale control information which might not contain optimal parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of PAN in order to optimum function of the RIS.
Regarding claim 6, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 2,
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding, however, PAN et al (US 2025/0337459) discloses the first message having the valid timing information, wherein the valid timing information is in a third format that has a starting time and an ending time (PAN: ¶149, ¶165, validity time period in the control information indicating, implicitly the starting time and the ending time).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of PAN as it provides a way to avoid stale control information which might not contain optimal parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of PAN in order to optimum function of the RIS.
Claim(s) 8 -12, 14, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of WALKER et al (US 2024/0356625).
Regarding claim 8, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the smart node, a second message including first discovery information before receiving the first message (ELLENBECK: ¶99, upon discovering RIS, the AP sends configuration for the RIS (second message)).
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding the second message including first authorized information.
However, WALKER et al (US 2024/0356625) discloses the second message including first authorized information (WALKER: ¶190, ¶121, the discover/registration message includes a list of UEs identifiers (Identities); this message is a message before any control message (e.g. claimed first message)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Regarding claim 9, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE modified by WALKER discloses wireless communication method of claim 8, wherein the second message is received by the smart node from a wireless communication node or an operations administration and maintenance (OAM) unit (ELLENBECK: ¶99, ¶102, upon discovering RIS, the AP sends configuration for the RIS (second message); AP being the wireless communication node).
Regarding claim 10, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE modified by WALKER discloses wireless communication method of claim 8, wherein the first authorized information includes at least one of:
a sequence of identification of a plurality of UEs, a sequence of time resource grant information that corresponds to the one or the plurality UEs, a sequence of frequency resource grant information that corresponds to the one or the plurality of UEs, or priorities of the plurality of UEs (WALKER: ¶190, ¶121, the priority list of the controller devices (UEs e.g. BSs) are received by the RIS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Regarding claim 11, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the one or the plurality of UEs receive, from wireless communication nodes or an OAM unit, a third message including a discovery information before transmitting the first message to a plurality of smart nodes including the smart node (ELLENBECK: ¶99, Fig. 11, upon discovering RIS, the AP sends configuration for the RIS (second message); this is before any control information/instruction sent to the RIS from the controlling UE; ELSHAFIE: ¶45, a plurality of RISs).
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding the second message including second authorized information.
However, WALKER et al (US 2024/0356625) discloses the second message including first authorized information (WALKER: ¶190, ¶121, the discover/registeration message includes a list of UEs identifiers (Identities); this message is a message before any control message (e.g. claimed first message)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Regarding claim 12, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE modified by WALKER discloses wireless communication method of claim 11, wherein the second authorized information includes at least one of: a sequence of identification of the plurality of smart nodes, a sequence of frequency resource information that corresponds to the plurality of smart nodes, or a sequence of time resource information that corresponds to the plurality of smart nodes (WALKER: ¶190, ¶121, the priority list of the controller devices (UEs e.g. BSs) are received by the RIS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Regarding claim 14, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication of claim 13, wherein the first UE is an UE with established communication link (ELLENBECK: ¶91, Fig. 12, Fig. 10, Fig. 8, the first communication device (UE) is part of the communication network Fig. 10 and Fig. 8).
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding the device being authorized.
However, WALKER discloses the device being authorized (WALKER: ¶120, authentication of the sender of the control signal is performed making the controller of the RIS an authorized device).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Regarding claim 17, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 13, further comprising: the first UE resending the control information (ELLENBECK: ¶126, ¶118, an update control instruction is sent again (subsequent period) by the UE device 10 controlling the RIS to update the set of beams); and determining, by the smart node, to update the control information (ELLENBECK: ¶126, ¶118, an update control instruction is sent again (subsequent period) by the UE device 10 controlling the RIS to update the set of beams).
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding checking an authorization validity of the first UE.
However, WALKER discloses checking an authorization validity of the first UE (WALKER: ¶120, any device that sends a control signal, the validation of that device is checked by using the identity information in the control signal).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of WALKER as it provides a way to improve authentication by securing use of resources for authorized operators only, thereby improving security of the network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of WALKER in order to improve security
Claim(s) 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of SAHRAEI et al (US 2024/0235622).
Regarding claim 16, ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE discloses wireless communication method of claim 13, as above.
ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE remains silent regarding, sending, by the smart node to the first UE, a fourth message including feedback information.
SAHRAEI et al (US 2024/0235622) discloses regarding, sending, by the smart node to the first UE, a fourth message including feedback information (SAHRAEI: ¶130, ¶133, feedback signal sent by RIS).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SAHRAEI as it provides a closed loop control operation of the RIS to perform optimally. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK modified by ELSHAFIE with teachings of SAHRAEI in order to use RIS optimally (¶105).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that ELLENBECK or WALKER does not disclose … “a smart node selecting a first UE”… “based on priorities of authorized UE…”. Examiner respectfully submits that ELLENBECK expressly discloses that a smart node (RIS with a controller and planar surface, see Fig. 10 below)
[0030] FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an illustrative communications system 4 (sometimes referred to herein as communications network 4) for conveying wireless data between communications terminals. Communications system 4 may include network nodes (e.g., communications terminals). The network nodes may include user equipment (UE) such as one or more UE devices 10…
This smart node receives messages from the UE. There is a plurality of UEs
ELLENBECK remains silent regarding the receiving being from a plurality of UEs; and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs.
However, newly cited reference, ELSHAFIE et al (US 2024/0187042), discloses the receiving being from a plurality of UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶138, ¶122, plurality of UEs i.e. first device and second device transmit respective messages with control information); and selecting, by the smart node, a first UE based on priorities of a plurality of authorized UEs (ELSHAFIE: ¶146, ¶149, the RIS selects one of the two UEs based on the priorities of the UEs; the UEs are authorized users (¶67, ¶46)).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ELLENBECK would have been motivated to use the teachings of ELSHAFIE as it provides a technique to resolve conflicts between devices (¶11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ELLENBECK with teachings of ELSHAFIE in order to improve conflict resolution between contending UEs to take control of the RIS.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461