DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 “the first optical path and the second optical path have the same path length from the light source to a surface of the eye” particularly “path length” raises clarity issues. It is unclear if the path lengths of the optical paths are the optical path lengths or distances. In light of the specification, since only “optical path lengths” are discussed and given the interference nature of the invention the former is assumed. The examiner suggests and for purposes of examination will use “the first optical path and the second optical path have the same optical path length from the light source to a surface of the eye.”
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite, since they depend on claim 1 and therefore have the same deficiencies.
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, insofar as it is understood, a first mode where light moves “along a first optical path and then emitted to a first position of the eye” and a second mode where light moves “along a second optical path and then emitted to a second position of the eye” in combination with “the first optical path and the second optical path have the same optical path length from the light source to a surface of the eye” amounts to prohibited new matter. The subject matter set forth in the disclosure is to have an optical system with two sensing arms that focus light to a first position at the retina and a second position at the cornea, i.e. focused at different depths, see inter alia page 3 lines 3-5 & 24-25, page 3 line 29-page 4 line 1, page 4 lines 18 & 24, page 7 lines 14-16, page 8 lines 22-24, page 9 lines 3-4, 12-14 & 18-19, page 9 line 29-page 10 line 1, page 10 line 29-page 11 line 1, page 11 lines 15 and claims 2-3 & 8. Applicant appears to be mixing two embodiments without support in the specification, as originally filed, support for such a mixing is not expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure, see MPEP 2163. It has been held that “it must be shown that a person of ordinary skill would have understood, at the time the patent application was filed, that the description requires that limitation” Hyatt v. Boone, 146 F.3d 1348, 1353, 47 USPQ2d 1128, 1131 (Fed. Cir. 1998) and "examiner was explicit that while each element may be individually described in the specification, the deficiency was lack of adequate description of their combination" Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376-1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007). In this case, applicant appears to mixing the (generally generic) embodiment of figure 1 with the two sensing arms having the same optical path length with any of the embodiments using fixed and switchable mirrors with two sensing arms focusing light in a first mode along a first optical path and then emitted to a first position of the eye (i.e. retina) versus a second mode along a second optical path a second position of the eye (i.e. cornea) but having different optical path lengths, such as seen in (elected) embodiment of figure 3. For purposes of examination the examiner will assume support exists.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing the written description requirement by introducing prohibited new matter, since they depend on claim 1 and therefore have the same deficiencies.
Claim 8 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Regarding claim 8, which requires “a first set of lenses and a second set of lenses” so that “the sensing light is focused at different depths in the eye” cannot be incorporated into a system where “the first optical path and the second optical path have the same optical path length from the light source to a surface of the eye” as required by claim 1. Inserting said first and second lenses into the first and second optical paths, respectively, that results in light being “focused at different depths” inherently causes the optical path lengths to be different. As basic knowledge for one skilled in the art would know that the optical path length (OPL) through a lenses with a thickness (d) with a homogenous refractive index (n) is governed by OPL=n∙d (Wands factor D). To achieve the different focal depths (as required by claim 8) the two lens sets would necessarily have different thicknesses and/or indices (Wands factor A-B & E). Thus, it necessarily flows that the OPL for each sensing arm are inherently different (Wands factor B-C & E). Further, the specification has no instructions or examples to make such a system having all of the features required by claims 1 and 7-8, i.e. claim 8 (Wands factors F-G). Considering all the evidence, as a whole, the examiner concludes that one of ordinary skill in the art would need to engage in undue experimentation to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure (Wands factor H), see MPEP 2164.01(a). For purposes of examination the examiner cannot examine for an impossible combination of elements, i.e. simultaneously having the same and different optical path lengths. To overcome this rejection the examiner respectfully suggests removing the new limitation(s) added to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong US Patent Application Publication 2017/0314908, of record, in view of Iketa foreign patent document JP2000162521, of record.
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6 Chong discloses an optical system applied to an optical biometer (title e.g. figure 2 OCT system 200), the optical system comprising: a light source (e.g. light source 210), configured to emit an incident light (e.g. beam 240); a first switchable reflector (e.g. polarization switch 236), disposed corresponding to the light source and selectively switched to a first state or a second state (e.g. paragraph [0035] “capable of switching light between two or more orthogonal polarization states”); a second switchable reflector (e.g. scan mirror 250), disposed corresponding to an eye and selectively switched to the first state or the second state (axiomatic that a scan mirror can be in different states (e.g. paragraph [0039] “may scan different depth ranges and/or areas”); a first fixed reflector (e.g. mirror 246), disposed corresponding to the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector; and a second fixed reflector (e.g. mirror 251), disposed corresponding to the first switchable reflector, the second switchable reflector and the first fixed reflector; wherein in a first mode (e.g. when system has first sample path 280 is used), the first switchable reflector is switched to the first state, and the incident light is emitted to the first fixed reflector and reflected by the first fixed reflector along a first optical path (e.g. paragraph [0036] “236 applies a first polarization state to the beam 240, then the beam 240 is directed to the first sample path 280”) and then emitted to a first position of the eye (e.g. paragraph [0037] “280 enables use of the beam 240 as a collimating beam with a convergent scanning pattern to scan a retinal area 258 of the sample eye 256”); in a second mode (e.g. when system has second sample path 290 is used), the first switchable reflector is switched to the second state, and the incident light is sequentially reflected by the first switchable reflector, the second fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector along a second optical path (e.g. paragraph [0036] “236 applies a second polarization state … to the beam 240, then the beam 240 is directed to the second sample path 290”) and then emitted to a second position of the eye (e.g. paragraph [0038] “290 thereby enables use of the beam 240 as a divergent beam with a lateral scanning pattern perpendicular to the sample to enable imaging of an anterior chamber 259 of the eye 256”).
Chong does not disclose in the first mode the second switchable reflector is switched to the first state and in the second mode the second switchable reflector is switched to the second state, or wherein the first optical path and the second optical path have the same path length from the light source to a surface of the eye, as further required in claim 1; or wherein in the first state, the first switchable reflector is not positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector is not positioned between the first fixed reflector and the eye, as required by claim 4; or wherein in the second state, the first switchable reflector is positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector is positioned between the first fixed reflector and the eye as required by claim 5; or further comprising: a transmission mechanism, coupled to the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector and configured to control position switching of the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector, as required by claim 6.
Iketa teaches a similar optical system (e.g. abstract) for inspection using two different optical paths (e.g. figure 1 optical path switching device 1) including a light source (inter alia paragraph [0021] “a light source (not shown)”); a first switchable reflector (e.g. first movable mirror 5) ; a second switchable reflector (e.g. second movable mirror 6) ; a first fixed reflector (e.g. fixed mirror 3); and a second fixed reflector (e.g. mirror 4), where the switchable reflectors can be in two states (see figures 1a & 1b) resulting in two different optical paths (e.g. C1 reflected by 3 becoming C2 see figure 1a & C1 reflected by 5 becoming L1 reflected by 4 becoming L2 reflected by 6 becoming C2 see figure 1b) for operating in two different modes (inter alia paragraph [0024] defect inspection mode & image acquisition mode, respectively). Iketa further teaches in the first mode (e.g. see figure 1(a)) the second switchable reflector (e.g. 6) is switched to the first state (e.g. see figure 1(a)) and in the second mode (e.g. see figure 1(b)) the second switchable reflector (e.g. 6) is switched to the second state (e.g. see figure 1(b)), the first optical path and the second optical path have the same path length from the light source to a surface of the eye (inherent given paragraph [0014] noting that all mirrors are at 45° to the incident light, and given the law of reflection the first and second path form a rectangle), wherein in the first state (see figure 1a), the first switchable reflector (e.g. 5) is not positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector is not positioned between the first fixed reflector and the inspection subject (see figure 1a); and wherein in the second state (see figure 1b), the first switchable reflector (e.g. 5) is positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector (e.g. 3) and the second switchable reflector (e.g. 6) is positioned between the first fixed reflector (e.g. 3) and the inspection subject for the purpose of reducing detection errors (inter alia paragraph [0010]); and further comprising: a transmission mechanism (e.g. linear guides 7 & cylinders 8), coupled to the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector (e.g. see figures 1a & 1b) and configured to control position switching of the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector (inter alia paragraph [0024] “the first and second movable mirrors 5 and 6 are advanced toward the galvanometer mirror 4 along the direction of movement F by the cylinder 8” e.g. see figures 1a & 1b) for the purpose of switching between modes (inter alia paragraphs [0023-24]), further, this would be simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optical path changing means in the optical system as disclosed by Chong to be substituted for a similar system that has in the first state, the first switchable reflector is not positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector is not positioned between the first fixed reflector and the inspection subject; and in the second state, the first switchable reflector is positioned between the light source and the first fixed reflector and the second switchable reflector is positioned between the first fixed reflector and the inspection subject; and to have a transmission mechanism, coupled to the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector and configured to control position switching of the first switchable reflector and the second switchable reflector as taught by Iketa to reduce errors and since this would be simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Chong as modified by Iketa teaches the optical system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chong further discloses wherein the first position of the eye is retina (e.g. 258) and the first mode is retina mode (e.g. paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Chong as modified by Iketa teaches the optical system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chong further discloses wherein the second position of the eye is cornea (e.g. 259) and the second mode is corneal mode (e.g. paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Chong as modified by Iketa teaches the optical system of claim 1, as set forth above. Chong further discloses wherein the optical biometer is an optical coherent interference biometer (e.g. abstract “OCT system includes a light source configured to emit a beam and an interferometer”), comprising: an optical splitter (e.g. mirror 225 paragraph [0034] “225 is a half-mirror that reflects some of the light that hits it, but allows other light to pass through”), configured to divide the incident light emitted by the light source (e.g. 240) into a reference light (e.g. along reference path 228) and a sensing light (e.g. light along first and second sample path 280 & 290); a reference arm (e.g. 228), configured to reflect the reference light to generate a first reflected light (e.g. light reflected by mirror 272); a sensing arm (e.g. elements to the right of 225), configured to emit the sensing light to the eye (see figure 2) and receive a second reflected light from the eye (inter alia paragraphs [0037-38] “Light from the beam 240 that is reflected or backscattered passes back through the first sample path to the interferometer and the photodetector 220”); and a sensor (e.g.220), configured to receive the first reflected light (inter alia paragraph [0037]) and the second reflected light (inter alia paragraph [0038]) respectively (paragraph [0039] “both the first sample path 280 and the second sample path 290 of the system 200 are arranged to eventually direct the beam 240 onto the common axis 243 so that the beam 240 may scan different depth ranges and/or areas of the same sample (here the eye 256)”) and generate a sensing result (axiomatic e.g. paragraph [0049] “a processing system in communication with the photo-detector can generate a first image and a second image based on the alternating signals 415 and 420 received at the photo-receptor and output to the processing system. For example the two images may be of different image zones or depth ranges of a sample”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed July 29, 2026, with respect to claim rejections under 112 have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are persuasive. The claim rejections under 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments centered on Chong and Iketa failing to disclose or teach “the first optical path and the second optical path have the same path length from the light source to a surface of the eye” as no recited in claim 1, the examiner is unpersuaded. The examiner agrees that Chong fails to disclose this feature. However, Iketa does have this feature. Particularly, paragraph [0014] notes that all mirrors are at 45° to the incident light. The law of reflection states that the angle of incidence equals the angle of reflection. Thus, the light on the first and second path form a rectangle. Therefore, light travelling the path seen in figure 1(a) has the same optical path length as light travelling the path seen in figure 1(b).
Regarding applicant’s arguments centered on Chong failing to disclose "a first fixed reflector disposed corresponding to ... the second switchable reflector ... a second fixed reflector disposed corresponding to ... the second switchable reflector" as in claim 1, the examiner is unpersuaded. Chong figure 2 clearly shows all of the elements “disposed” in the system and inherently all of the elements are “disposed corresponding” to each other in some manner, as set forth above. Further first switchable reflector (e.g. polarization switch 236) selectively switches between a first state or a second state as disclosed in paragraph [0035] “capable of switching light between two or more orthogonal polarization states”, as set forth above.
Regarding applicant’s arguments centered on Chong failing to disclose “in a first mode ... the second switchable reflector are switched to the first state ... in a second mode ... the second switchable reflector are switched to the second state” as in claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, this feature is taught in the modifying reference Iketa, as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 October 1, 2026