DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered. The Examiner proceeds below with a response.
Regarding Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. § :
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. § :
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to reference combinations being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over (), hereinafter “” in view of (JP 2011091899), and further in view of (), hereinafter “”.
Regarding Claim ,
discloses:
A method comprising:
determining, based on first status information of a vehicle, the vehicle is to perform a steering return process See at least ¶¶; Claim 1, wherein the information comprises first information indicating that an initial turning angle of a turning wheel of the vehicle is greater than a first threshold; See at least ¶¶
determining, based on status change information of the vehicle, a user is to park the vehicle for a time longer than a second threshold, wherein the status change information comprises a charging state of the vehicle;
However,
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of in order to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by to the of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
The combination of references fail to explicitly disclose:
performing, in response to determining the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold, the steering return process in a first preset time period to change the initial turning angle.
However, the combination of references disclose:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of the combination of references. Namely, the technique of in order to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked)
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim to the of the combination of references would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in the combination of references to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked). See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the status change information further comprises change information of a key switch of the vehicle and a one-button start switch of the vehicle, and wherein the charging state comprises an alternating current charging state of the vehicle, a direct current charging state of the vehicle, or a wireless charging state of the vehicle. See at least : ¶¶; Anegawa ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein determining the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold comprises:
identifying that the key switch is switched from an on position to an off position, the one-button start switch is switched from an on state to an off state, and the vehicle is in the at least one of the alternating current charging state, the direct current charging state, or the wireless charging state; See at least : ¶¶; : ¶¶and
determining, in response to identifying that the key switch is switched from the on position to the off position, the one-button start switch is switched from the on state to the off state, and the vehicle is in the at least one of the alternating current charging state, the direct current charging state, or the wireless charging state, that the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold. See at least : ¶¶; : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
4. The method of claim 1,
wherein before performing the steering return process, the method further comprises determining third status information of the vehicle, and wherein the third status information indicates that the vehicle is currently capable of steering assistance and comprises: first working status information of a steering system, second working status information of a direct current-direct current converter, or third working status information of a main power source of the vehicle. See at least : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein performing the steering return process comprises performing, based on a first function in the first preset time period, the steering return process, wherein the first function represents a kinematic characteristic of the turning wheel, and wherein first-order differentials of the first function at a start point of the first preset time period and an end point of the first preset time period are 0 or approach 0. See at least : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
further disclose:
wherein before performing the steering return process, the method further comprises requesting a vehicle controller to cut off a main power source of the vehicle after a second preset time period, and wherein a second duration of the second preset time period is greater than or equal to a first duration of the first preset time period. See at least : ¶¶; Kim: ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
An apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
determine, based on first status information of a vehicle, the vehicle is to perform a steering return process See at least ¶¶; Claim 1, wherein the status information comprises first information indicating that an initial turning angle of a turning wheel of the vehicle is greater than a first threshold; See at least ¶¶
determine, based on status change information of the vehicle, a user is to park the vehicle for a time longer than a second threshold, wherein the status change information comprises a charging state of the vehicle;
However,
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of in order to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by to the system of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
The combination of references fail to explicitly disclose:
perform, in response to determining the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold, the steering return process in a first preset time period to change the initial turning angle.
However, the combination of references disclose:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of the combination of references. Namely, the technique of in order to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked)
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim to the of the combination of references would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in the combination of references to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked). See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the status change information comprises change information of a key switch of the vehicle, a one-button start switch of the vehicle, and at least one of an alternating current charging state of the vehicle, a direct current charging state of the vehicle, or a wireless charging state of the vehicle. See at least : ¶¶; Anegawa ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to further determine the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold by:
identifying that the key switch is switched from an on position to an off position, the one-button start switch is switched from an on state to an off state, and the vehicle is in the at least one of the alternating current charging state, the direct current charging state, or the wireless charging state; See at least : ¶¶; :¶¶ and
determining, in response to identifying that the key switch is switched from the on position to the off position, the one-button start switch is switched from the on state to the off state, and the vehicle is in the at least one of the alternating current charging state, the direct current charging state, or the wireless charging state, that the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold. See at least : ¶¶; : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to determine before performing the steering return process, third status information of the vehicle, and wherein the third status information indicates that the vehicle is currently capable of steering assistance and comprises: first working status information of a steering system, second working status information of a direct current-direct current converter, or third working status information of a main power source of the vehicle. See at least : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
further disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform, based on a first function in the first preset time period, the steering return process, wherein the first function represents a kinematic characteristic of the turning wheel, and wherein first-order differentials of the first function at a start point of the first preset time period and an end point of the first preset time period are 0 or approach 0. See at least : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
further disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to request, before performing the steering return process, a vehicle controller to cut off a main power source of the vehicle after a second preset time period, and wherein a second duration of the second preset time period is greater than or equal to a first duration of the first preset time period. See at least : ¶¶; Kim: ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
16. The apparatus of claim 10,
wherein a main power source of the vehicle comprises a drive apparatus and an energy source of the vehicle. See at least : ¶¶0023-0030 : ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
A computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by a one or more processors, cause an apparatus to:
determine, based on status information of a vehicle, that the vehicle is to perform a steering return process See at least ¶¶; Claim 1, wherein the status information comprises first information indicating that an initial turning angle of a turning wheel of the vehicle is greater than a first threshold wherein the steering return process changes the initial turning angle; See at least ¶¶
determine, based on status change information of the vehicle, a user is to park the vehicle for a time longer than a second threshold, wherein the status change information comprises a charging state of the vehicle;
However,
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of . Namely, the technique of in order to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶.
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by to the system of would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in to increase battery efficiency and health. See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
The combination of references fail to explicitly disclose:
perform, in response to determining the user is to park the vehicle for the time longer than the second threshold, the steering return process in a first preset time period to change the initial turning angle.
However, the combination of references disclose:
a prior art upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement.
teaches:
a prior art utilizing a known technique applicable to the of the combination of references. Namely, the technique of in order to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked)
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Kim to the of the combination of references would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved . Namely, a that would in the combination of references to enhance driver convenience. See at least ¶¶0006, (the preset time period is interpreted as the time period after the activation switch 10 is activated and the vehicle is deemed to be parked). See at least ¶¶; MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to request, before performing the steering return process, a vehicle controller to cut off a main power source of the vehicle after a second preset time period, and wherein a second duration of the second preset time period is greater than or equal to a first duration of the first preset time period. See at least : ¶¶; Kim: ¶¶
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(III)-(IV)
No special definitions are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given the plain meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (See MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01).
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring them to the attention of the Examiner and the prosecution history in the next response.
To date, Applicant has provided no indication of special definitions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entirety of identified prior art references as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is noted that any citations to specific pages, paragraph numbers, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references presented and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2123. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT A REINBOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747