DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, the limitation of “b=9.7a-0.07+C, wherein -1.5<C
≤
1.5, and 0<a
≤
0.65” is unclear. The variables of “b” and “C” are not defined.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitation of “b” is unclear, as the variable of “b” is not defined.
Regarding Claim 3, the limitation of “b1/b2” is unclear, the variables of b1 and b2 are not defined.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation of “c/b” are unclear, the variables of “c” and “b” are not defined. Furthermore, claim 5 cites “c” as lowercased, and claim 1 cites “C” as uppercased, it’s not clear if the “c” in claim 5 is the same or different than the “C” in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the value of “d” is unclear as the variable of “d” is not defined.
Regarding Claim 13, the value of “T”, “b” and “X” are unclear as the variables are not defined.
Claims 4, and 7-12 are also rejected since the claims depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Chen (US Pub No. 2023/0026621)
Regarding Claim 1 and 14, Chen et al. teaches electronic apparatus comprising an electrochemical apparatus, comprising: a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate, a separator, and an electrolyte [0036]; wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material [0005], the positive electrode active material comprises element Co, and, based on a total mass of the positive electrode active material [0005], a mass percentage of element Co is a [0005]; and wherein the electrolyte comprises a polynitrile compound, and, based on a total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the polynitrile compound is b% [abstract, polynitrile accounts for 0.2 to 4%]; wherein b=9.7a-0.07+C, wherein 1.5<C
≤
1.5, and 0<a
≤
0.65 [Abstract, 0005].
Regarding Claim 2, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein 0<b≤7 [Abstract, 0005].
Regarding Claim 8, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein the electrolyte comprises at least one of fluoroethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, propylene sulfite, ethylene sulfate, lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate, or lithium bis(oxalato)borate [0021, ethylene carbonate].
Regarding Claim 11, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein the electrolyte further comprises at least one of dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, propylene carbonate, ethyl acetate, ethyl propionate, or propyl propionate [0034, dimethyl carbonate].
Regarding Claim 12, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches all the structural limitations of the claim; therefore, it is the view of the examiner, based on the teaching of Chen et al., has a reasonable basis to believe that the claimed properties are inherently possessed by the apparatus of Chen et al. meeting the limitation of “wherein a differential scanning calorimetry curve of the positive electrode plate comprises at least one main exothermic peak.”
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches all the structural limitations of the claim; therefore, it is the view of the examiner, based on the teaching of Chen et al., has a reasonable basis to believe that the claimed properties are inherently possessed by the apparatus of Chen et al. meeting the limitation of “wherein, in the differential
scanning calorimetry curve, a temperature of the main exothermic peak is T°C, and T = 10b +
267 + X, wherein -20≤X≤20, 0<b≤7, and 200≤T≤360”
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Pub No. 2023/0026621)
Regarding Claim 5, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein the electrolyte further comprises ethylene carbonate [0034], and silent on based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the ethylene carbonate is c%, wherein 0.5≤c/b≤20, and 3≤c≤30
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus are changed, the precise parameters of the electrochemical apparatus would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the ethylene carbonate is c%, wherein 0.5≤c/b≤20, and 3≤c≤30” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein the electrolyte comprises a lithium salt [0020], the lithium salt comprises at least one of an inorganic salt or an organic lithium salt [0020], and, based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the lithium salt is 10 to 20 % overlapping the claimed 7.5% to 25% [0022].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. teaches wherein the lithium salt comprises at least one of lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium perchlorate, lithium bis(fluorosulfony])imide, or lithium bistrifluoromethanesulfonimide [0020, lithium hexafluoroarsenate].
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Pub No. 2023/0026621) in view of Kuwajima (US Pub No. 2022/0328879)
Regarding Claim 3, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. is silent on wherein the polynitrile compound comprises a dinitrile compound and a trinitrile compound; and, based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the dinitrile compound is b1%, and a mass percentage of the trinitrile compound is b2%, wherein 0≤b1/b2≤4.
Kuwajima et al. teaches the use of succinonitrile and 1,3,6-hexanetricarbonitrile [0276-0277] as polynitriles for electrolytes [0263].
Since Chen et al. teaches the use of polynitriles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the polynitriles of Chen et al. with the dinitrile and trinitrile of Kuwajima et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional electrolyte material in the art, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus are changed, the precise parameters of the electrochemical apparatus would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the dinitrile compound is b1%, and a mass percentage of the trinitrile compound is b2%, wherein 0≤b1/b2≤4.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 4, within the combination above, modified Chen et al. teaches wherein the dinitrile compound comprises at least one of succinonitrile, adiponitrile, 1,2-bis(cyanoethoxy)ethane, or 1,4-dicyano-2-butene, and the trinitrile compound comprises at least one of 1,3,6-hexanetricarbonitrile or 1,2,3-tris(2-cyanoethoxy)propane [see claim 3].
Regarding Claim 6, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. is silent on wherein the electrolyte comprises lithium difluorophosphate, and, based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the lithium difluorophosphate is d%, wherein 0.01≤d≤1.
Kuwajima et al. teaches a electrolyte comprising lithium difluorophosphate [0464].
Since Chen et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the electrolyte of Chen et al. with the lithium salt of Kuwajima et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional lithium salt in the art, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus are changed, the precise parameters of the electrochemical apparatus would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the lithium difluorophosphate is d%, wherein 0.01≤d≤1.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Chen et al. is silent on the electrolyte comprises lithium difluorophosphate, and, based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the lithium difluorophosphate is d%, wherein 0.015≤d≤1.
Kuwajima et al. teaches a electrolyte comprising lithium difluorophosphate [0464].
Since Chen et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the electrolyte of Chen et al. with the lithium salt of Kuwajima et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional lithium salt in the art, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus are changed, the precise parameters of the electrochemical apparatus would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “based on the total mass of the electrolyte, a mass percentage of the lithium difluorophosphate is d%, wherein 0.015≤d≤1.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the electrochemical apparatus to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728