CTFR 18/620,114 CTFR 89701 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is in response to the filling of the Amendment on 03/05/2026. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-35 Claim s 1-3, 5, 6, 10-13 and 16 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-2, 7, 8, 11, 12 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/899,228 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because : Regarding claim 1, the copending Application discloses a circuit comprising: a power electronics converter disposed in a vehicle, the power electronics converter to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source and to provide AC electrical power to an AC load external to the vehicle; and an on-board charging module electrically connected to the power electronics converter and a battery disposed in the vehicle, the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle, wherein the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality by providing, to the AC load, AC electric power as an output of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (see claim 1) ; Regarding claim 2, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality based at least in part on an operating mode of the vehicle (see claim 2) ; Regarding claim 3, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter (see claim 1) ; Regarding claim 5, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter comprises a relay matrix (see claim 7) ; Regarding claim 6, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter and a relay matrix (see claims 1 and 7) ; Regarding claim 10, the copending Application discloses the output is a split-phase output offering access to both 120 Vac and 240 Vac (see claim 8) ; Regarding claim 11, the copending Application discloses a vehicle comprising: a battery; a power electronics converter disposed in the vehicle, the power electronics converter to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source and to provide AC electrical power to an AC load external to the vehicle and to the battery; and an on-board charging module electrically connected to the power electronics converter and the battery disposed in the vehicle, the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle, wherein the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality by providing, to the AC load, AC electric power as an output of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (see claim 11) ; Regarding claim 12, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality based at least in part on an operating mode of the vehicle (see claim 12) ; Regarding claim 13, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter (see claim 11) ; Regarding claim 16, the copending Application discloses the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter and a relay matrix (see claims 11 and 16) . This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-13 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat et al. (US 2020/0122585), hereinafter Bhat, in view of Sahoo et al. (US 2023/0089299), hereinafter Sahoo . Regarding claim 1, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) a circuit (figure 1) comprising: a power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) disposed in a vehicle (figures 1 and 2, part 112) (paragraph [0018]; FIG. 1 depicts an electrified vehicle 112 that may be referred to as a plug-in hybrid-electric vehicle (PHEV)) , the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source (figure 1, part AC from 136) (paragraph [0021]; The external power source 136 may be an electrical power distribution network or grid as provided by an electric utility company) and to provide AC electrical power (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) to an AC load external (figure 1, part 166) to the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) (paragraph [0025]; The vehicle 112 may be configured to provide electrical power for external devices. The vehicle 112 may further include a microgrid system 160. The microgrid system 160 may be a vehicle system that is configured to provide electrical power to one or more external devices 166) ; and an on-board charging module (figure 1, part on-board charging module generated by 132) electrically connected to the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and a battery (figure 1, part 124) disposed in the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) (paragraph [0021]; an on-board power conversion module or charger 132. The charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124) , wherein the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) provides vehicle-to-load functionality (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) by providing, to the AC load (figure 1, part 166) , AC electric power as an output (figures 1 and 2, part output from 160) (figure 3, parts 310-316) of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (paragraph [0036]; Industrial and household systems generally use commonly available power connections. For example, household applications typically utilize 120VAC electrical power. Other household applications may use 240VAC electrical power. Industrial applications may utilize 240V three-phase AC electrical power. The outlet panel 210 may be designed to support a variety of power connections. Standards may be defined to identify particular plugs and connectors for each type of electrical power connection. The outlet panel 210 may be configured with a variety of outlets that provide power with different characterizing parameters) . Bhat does not expressly disclose the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the on-board charging module (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406; applicable to electric vehicle) providing galvanic isolation (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction… Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) between the battery (figure 4A, part 402) and the AC load external (figure 4A, part 404) to the vehicle (paragraph [0038]; electrical system 101 may include various power conversion circuitry, described in greater detail below, for converting electrical energy received from one or more of the “sources” to a level suitable for another of the “sources.” For example, electrical system 101 may include circuitry for converting the voltage from AC grid 105 into a suitable voltage for charging high voltage battery 102 and/or low voltage battery 103. This arrangement may be included in applications such as electric vehicles) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the on-board charging module of Bhat with the on-board charging module features as taught Sahoo and obtain a circuit comprising: a power electronics converter disposed in a vehicle, the power electronics converter to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source and to provide AC electrical power to an AC load external to the vehicle; and an on-board charging module electrically connected to the power electronics converter and a battery disposed in the vehicle, the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle, wherein the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality by providing, to the AC load, AC electric power as an output of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output, because it provides more isolation protection between power stages in order to obtain more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 2, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) provides vehicle-to-load functionality (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) based at least in part on an operating mode of the vehicle (figure 1, part operating mode of 112; through 148) (paragraph [0025]; The vehicle 112 may be configured to provide electrical power for external devices. The vehicle 112 may further include a microgrid system 160. The microgrid system 160 may be a vehicle system that is configured to provide electrical power to one or more external devices 166) . Regarding claim 3, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprises a converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) . However, Bhat does not expressly disclose an AC-AC converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the power electronics converter (figure 4A, part 407) comprises an AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo and obtain the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter, because it provides more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 5, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprises a relay matrix (figure 3, part 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) . Regarding claim 6, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprises a converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and a relay matrix (figures 1-3, part 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) . However, Bhat does not expressly disclose an AC-AC converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the power electronics converter (figure 4A, part 407) comprises an AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo and obtain the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter and a relay matrix, because it provides more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 7, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprising a first relay (figures 1 and 2, part 142) and a plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and the relay matrix (figures 1-3, part 322) comprising a plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) . However, Bhat does not expressly disclose an AC-AC converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) comprising a plurality of switches (figure 4A, part plurality of switches at 407) (figures 8-9) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo and obtain the AC-AC converter comprises a first relay and a plurality of switches and the relay matrix comprises a plurality of relays, because it provides more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 8, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the first relay (figures 1 and 2, part 142) , the plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part 322) , and the plurality of switches are selectively enabled or disabled (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160; enabled or disabled) based on an input to the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part input to the power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and based on whether the AC electric power (figures 1 and 2, part output from 160) (figure 3, parts 310-316) is a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (paragraph [0036]; Industrial and household systems generally use commonly available power connections. For example, household applications typically utilize 120VAC electrical power. Other household applications may use 240VAC electrical power. Industrial applications may utilize 240V three-phase AC electrical power. The outlet panel 210 may be designed to support a variety of power connections. Standards may be defined to identify particular plugs and connectors for each type of electrical power connection. The outlet panel 210 may be configured with a variety of outlets that provide power with different characterizing parameters) . Regarding claim 9, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) two of the plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part two of the plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) are controlled to provide a high frequency pulse width modulation (figures 1 and 2, part 208) (paragraph [0030]; The controller 208 may operate the switching devices with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) gate signal) . Regarding claim 10, Bhat and Sahoo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the output (figures 1 and 2, part output from 160) (figure 3, parts 310-316) is a split-phase output offering access to both 120 Vac and 240 Vac (paragraph [0036]; Industrial and household systems generally use commonly available power connections. For example, household applications typically utilize 120VAC electrical power. Other household applications may use 240VAC electrical power. Industrial applications may utilize 240V three-phase AC electrical power. The outlet panel 210 may be designed to support a variety of power connections. Standards may be defined to identify particular plugs and connectors for each type of electrical power connection. The outlet panel 210 may be configured with a variety of outlets that provide power with different characterizing parameters) . Regarding claim 11, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) a vehicle (figure 1, part 112) (paragraph [0018]; FIG. 1 depicts an electrified vehicle 112 that may be referred to as a plug-in hybrid-electric vehicle (PHEV)) comprising: a battery (figure 1, part 124) ; a power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) disposed in the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) , the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source (figure 1, part AC from 136) (paragraph [0021]; The external power source 136 may be an electrical power distribution network or grid as provided by an electric utility company) and to provide AC electrical power (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) to an AC load external (figure 1, part 166) to the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) (paragraph [0025]; The vehicle 112 may be configured to provide electrical power for external devices. The vehicle 112 may further include a microgrid system 160. The microgrid system 160 may be a vehicle system that is configured to provide electrical power to one or more external devices 166) and to the battery (figure 1, part 124; through 132) ; and an on-board charging module (figure 1, part on-board charging module generated by 132) electrically connected to the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and the battery (figure 1, part 124) disposed in the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) (paragraph [0021]; an on-board power conversion module or charger 132. The charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124) , wherein the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) provides vehicle-to-load functionality (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) by providing, to the AC load (figure 1, part 166) , AC electric power as an output (figures 1 and 2, part output from 160) (figure 3, parts 310-316) of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (paragraph [0036]; Industrial and household systems generally use commonly available power connections. For example, household applications typically utilize 120VAC electrical power. Other household applications may use 240VAC electrical power. Industrial applications may utilize 240V three-phase AC electrical power. The outlet panel 210 may be designed to support a variety of power connections. Standards may be defined to identify particular plugs and connectors for each type of electrical power connection. The outlet panel 210 may be configured with a variety of outlets that provide power with different characterizing parameters) . Bhat does not expressly disclose the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the on-board charging module (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406; applicable to electric vehicle) providing galvanic isolation (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction… Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) between the battery (figure 4A, part 402) and the AC load external (figure 4A, part 404) to the vehicle (paragraph [0038]; electrical system 101 may include various power conversion circuitry, described in greater detail below, for converting electrical energy received from one or more of the “sources” to a level suitable for another of the “sources.” For example, electrical system 101 may include circuitry for converting the voltage from AC grid 105 into a suitable voltage for charging high voltage battery 102 and/or low voltage battery 103. This arrangement may be included in applications such as electric vehicles) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the on-board charging module of Bhat with the on-board charging module features as taught Sahoo and obtain a vehicle comprising: a battery; a power electronics converter disposed in the vehicle, the power electronics converter to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source and to provide AC electrical power to an AC load external to the vehicle and to the battery; and an on-board charging module electrically connected to the power electronics converter and the battery disposed in the vehicle, the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle, wherein the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality by providing, to the AC load, AC electric power as an output of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output, because it provides more isolation protection between power stages in order to obtain more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 12, claim 2 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 13, claim 3 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 16, claim 6 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 17, claim 7 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 18, claim 8 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 19, claim 9 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons. Regarding claim 20, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) a method (figure 1) for providing vehicle-to-load functionality (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) , the method (figure 1) comprising: configuring a plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and a plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part plurality of relays generated by 142 and 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) of a power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) of a vehicle based on an operating mode of the vehicle (figure 1, part operating mode of 112) (paragraph [0018]; FIG. 1 depicts an electrified vehicle 112 that may be referred to as a plug-in hybrid-electric vehicle (PHEV)) ; and providing vehicle-to-load functionality (figures 1 and 2, part through 160) by directing alternating current (AC) electrical power (figure 1, part AC from 136) (paragraph [0021]; The external power source 136 may be an electrical power distribution network or grid as provided by an electric utility company) to an AC load (figure 1, part 166) electrically connected to the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) based on the configuration of the plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and the plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part plurality of relays generated by 142 and 322) (paragraph [0025]; The vehicle 112 may be configured to provide electrical power for external devices. The vehicle 112 may further include a microgrid system 160. The microgrid system 160 may be a vehicle system that is configured to provide electrical power to one or more external devices 166) , wherein the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) comprises an on-board charging module (figure 1, part on-board charging module generated by 132) and a battery (figure 1, part 124) of the vehicle (figure 1, part 112) and the AC load (figure 1, part 166) (paragraph [0021]; an on-board power conversion module or charger 132. The charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124) , wherein the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprises a converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and a relay matrix (figures 1-3, part 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) , the converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprising a first relay (figures 1 and 2, part 142) and a plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) , the relay matrix (figures 1-3, part 322) comprising a plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part 322) , and wherein the first relay (figures 1 and 2, part 142) , the plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part 322) , and the plurality of switches are selectively enabled or disabled (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160; enabled or disabled) based on an input to the power electronics converter (figures 1 and 2, part input to the power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) and based on whether the AC electric power (figures 1 and 2, part output from 160) (figure 3, parts 310-316) is a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output (paragraph [0036]; Industrial and household systems generally use commonly available power connections. For example, household applications typically utilize 120VAC electrical power. Other household applications may use 240VAC electrical power. Industrial applications may utilize 240V three-phase AC electrical power. The outlet panel 210 may be designed to support a variety of power connections. Standards may be defined to identify particular plugs and connectors for each type of electrical power connection. The outlet panel 210 may be configured with a variety of outlets that provide power with different characterizing parameters) . Bhat does not expressly disclose an on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between a battery of the vehicle and the AC load; and an AC-AC converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) a power electronics converter (figure 4A, part 407) of a vehicle (paragraph [0038]; electrical system 101 may include various power conversion circuitry, described in greater detail below, for converting electrical energy received from one or more of the “sources” to a level suitable for another of the “sources.” For example, electrical system 101 may include circuitry for converting the voltage from AC grid 105 into a suitable voltage for charging high voltage battery 102 and/or low voltage battery 103. This arrangement may be included in applications such as electric vehicles) ; and providing vehicle-to-load functionality (figure 4A, part V2L 410 OR 420) by directing alternating current (AC) electrical power (figure 4A, part AC from 405) to an AC load electrically connected to the vehicle (figure 4A, part 404) based on the configuration of the plurality of switches (figure 4A, part plurality of switches at 407) (figures 8-9) , wherein the vehicle (paragraph [0038]; electrical system 101 may include various power conversion circuitry, described in greater detail below, for converting electrical energy received from one or more of the “sources” to a level suitable for another of the “sources.” For example, electrical system 101 may include circuitry for converting the voltage from AC grid 105 into a suitable voltage for charging high voltage battery 102 and/or low voltage battery 103. This arrangement may be included in applications such as electric vehicles) comprises an on-board charging module (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406; applicable to electric vehicle) providing galvanic isolation (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction… Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404 between a battery of the vehicle (figure 4A, part 402) and the AC load (figure 4A, part 404) , wherein the power electronics converter (figure 4A, part 407) comprises an AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) , the AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) comprising a plurality of switches (figure 4A, part plurality of switches at 407) (figures 8-9) and the plurality of switches are selectively enabled or disabled (figure 4A, part plurality of switches at 407; enabled or disabled) (figures 8-9) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the on-board charging module and the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo and obtain a method for providing vehicle-to-load functionality, the method comprising: configuring a plurality of switches and a plurality of relays of a power electronics converter of a vehicle based on an operating mode of the vehicle; and providing vehicle-to-load functionality by directing alternating current (AC) electrical power to an AC load electrically connected to the vehicle based on the configuration of the plurality of switches and the plurality of relays, wherein the vehicle comprises an on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between a battery of the vehicle and the AC load, wherein the power electronics converter comprises an AC-AC converter and a relay matrix, the AC-AC converter comprising a first relay and a plurality of switches, the relay matrix comprising a plurality of relays, and wherein the first relay, the plurality of relays, and the plurality of switches are selectively enabled or disabled based on an input to the power electronics converter and based on whether the AC electric power is a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output, because it provides more isolation protection between power stages in order to obtain more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Regarding claim 21, Bhat and Sahoo discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) comprises a first relay (figures 1 and 2, part 142) and a plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part plurality of switches inside of 132, 202 and 204) and the relay matrix (figures 1-3, part 322) comprises a plurality of relays (figures 1-3, part 322) (paragraph [0054]; A switch matrix 322 may include a plurality of contactor groups that may selectively couple one or more outlets with selected power connections 320. Each contactor group may include one or more individual contactors) , and wherein two of the plurality of switches (figures 1 and 2, part two of the plurality of switches at 132 and converter stages inside of 160) are controlled to provide a high frequency pulse width modulation (figure 2, part through 208) (paragraph [0030]; The controller 208 may operate the switching devices with a pulse-width modulated (PWM) gate signal) . However, Bhat does not expressly disclose the AC-AC converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo and obtain the AC-AC converter comprises a first relay and a plurality of switches and the relay matrix comprises a plurality of relays, and wherein two of the plurality of switches are controlled to provide a high frequency pulse width modulation, because it provides more isolation protection between power stages in order to obtain more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat et al. (US 2020/0122585), hereinafter Bhat, in view of Sahoo et al. (US 2023/0089299), hereinafter Sahoo, and further in view of Wade (US 6,515,883) . Regarding claim 4, Bhat and Sahoo teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Bhat discloses (see figures 1-8) the converter (figures 1 and 2, part power electronics converter generated by 132 and converter stages inside of 160) . However, Bhat does not expressly disclose the AC-AC converter comprises a buck converter and a Ćuk converter. Sahoo teaches (see figures 1-9) the AC-AC converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction. In some embodiments, isolated charger stage 406 may also be operated as a DC-DC converter, as described in greater detail below. Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) comprises a buck converter (figure 4A, part 407) (paragraph [0053]; AC converter 407 will perform a step-down) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the power electronics converter of Bhat with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Sahoo, because it provides more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]) . Wade teaches (see figures 1-5) the AC-AC converter (figure 2) (column 7; lines 53-61; the converter 200 utilizes an AC input voltage source 202 and generates an output AC voltage for the load 228) comprises a buck converter (figure 2, part buck converter at 200) (column 2; lines 7-8; As will be recognized by those skilled in the art, this converter may be operated in a boost or buck fashion) and a Ćuk converter (figure 2, part Ćuk converter at 200) (column 8; lines 1-3; As will be recognized by those skilled in the art, this configuration approximates a Cuk converter topology with the addition of diode 206 and SCR 222) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Bhat and Sahoo with the AC-AC converter features as taught by Wade and obtain the AC-AC converter comprises a buck converter and a Ćuk converter, because it improves power efficiency and reduced cost (column 8; lines 43-44) . Regarding claim 14, claim 4 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argues on pages 7-10 of the Applicant's Response (“Applicant submits that Bhat fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "the on board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle" as claimed. Regarding claim 11, Applicant submits that Bhat fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least "the on board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle" as claimed… Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection for at least the reason that Bhat, Sahoo, and/or Wade, individually or together in any combination, fail to disclose, teach, or suggest all of the claimed features of claims 3, 4, 6-9, 13, 14, and 16-20”). The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because the new 103 rejection between Bhat and Sahoo (based on the new proposed amendment) meet with the claimed limitation. The primary reference Bhat discloses the circuit (figure 1) with the on-board charging module (figure 1, part on-board charging module generated by 132) (paragraph [0021]; an on-board power conversion module or charger 132. The charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124). Sahoo teaches the on-board charging module (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406; applicable to electric vehicle) providing galvanic isolation (figure 4A, part on-board charging module generated by 406) (paragraph [0046]; a battery based electrical system 400 using a high voltage battery 402. Electrical system 400 includes a single isolated AC-DC charger stage 406. Charger stage 406 may be a bidirectional charger, allowing for power delivery in either direction, i.e., either as an AC-DC converter in the forward direction or DC-AC converter in the reverse direction… Additionally, a non-isolated AC-AC converter 407 may be provided, which can convert the voltage appearing at the AC side of converter 406 to a suitable level for convenience outlet 404) between the battery (figure 4A, part 402) and the AC load external (figure 4A, part 404) to the vehicle (paragraph [0038]; electrical system 101 may include various power conversion circuitry, described in greater detail below, for converting electrical energy received from one or more of the “sources” to a level suitable for another of the “sources.” For example, electrical system 101 may include circuitry for converting the voltage from AC grid 105 into a suitable voltage for charging high voltage battery 102 and/or low voltage battery 103. This arrangement may be included in applications such as electric vehicles). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the on-board charging module of Bhat with the on-board charging module features as taught Sahoo and obtain a circuit comprising: a power electronics converter disposed in a vehicle, the power electronics converter to receive alternating current (AC) electrical power from an AC grid source and to provide AC electrical power to an AC load external to the vehicle; and an on-board charging module electrically connected to the power electronics converter and a battery disposed in the vehicle, the on-board charging module providing galvanic isolation between the battery and the AC load external to the vehicle, wherein the power electronics converter provides vehicle-to-load functionality by providing, to the AC load, AC electric power as an output of at least one of a 120 Vac output or a 240 Vac output, because it provides more isolation protection between power stages in order to obtain more efficient power converter with reduction in power device components, cost, and weight of the battery-based DC power system (paragraph [0003]). Therefore, the 103 combination between Bhat and Sahoo result in the claimed limitation . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Carlos O. Rivera-Pérez, whose telephone number is (571) 272-2432 and fax is (571) 273-2432. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thienvu V. Tran can be reached on (571) 270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.O.R. / Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 11 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 12 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 13 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 14 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 15 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 16 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 17 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 18 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 19 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 20 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 21 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 22 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 23 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 24 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 25 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 26 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 27 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 28 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/620,114 Page 29 Art Unit: 2838