DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the claims on 3/28/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2013/0307919, Taubin in view of U.S. Patent Application 2022/0061111 Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu) further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2014/0047143 Bateman et al. (hereinafter Bateman).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Taubin discloses A wireless multi-stream video processing device (Fig. 1; [0021], a multi-camera device that facilitates video conferencing using a plurality of video cameras at a location having multiple participants) for connecting with at least one wireless device (via input port(s) 110, see [0021]; according to [0022], the devices connected via ports 110 may be “standard digital video cameras” and “input ports 110 may include…wireless compatible input ports”) and a receiving device (e.g. external computer connected via output port 130, cf [0024]), the wireless multi-stream video processing device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a wireless communication unit for wirelessly connecting with the at least one wireless device to receive at least one video from the at least one wireless device (input port(s) 110, see [0022]); and
an image processing unit (Fig. 6, processor 610, see [0024]: “selection component may be implemented at least in part, by a processor such as a digital signal processor capable of executing software instructions stored in a computer readable storage medium such as memory, as discussed in further detail in connection with Fig. 6”)
performs processing on the at least one video to become at least one output video ([0024]: “Selection component 120 may be configured to perform selection, processing and/or analysis of received audio/video information to achieve various multiple camera video conferencing functionality”),
wherein, the image processing unit processes the at least one video according to a video display mode that is selected ([0043] and figs. 4 and 5), and
Taubin discloses in [0023], that “multi-camera device 100 includes one or more input ports configured to communicate with a respective external video camera in a plug-and-play manner such that standard digital video cameras can be connected to multi-camera device 100 and be operational without or with limited specific customization or special installation procedures”.
Taubin does not disclose details on how the connection with the cameras is set up. Taubi also discloses, as only element with processing power in the multi-camera device 100, the selection component 120 ([0024] and fig. 6). Thus, it is inherent that, from the side of the multi-camera device 100, setting up connections with wireless cameras is controlled from selection component 120 (corresponding to the “image processing unit” of claim 1.) In addition, it is clear that, once the cameras are connected to device 100, the camera returns the at least one video to the multi-camera device 100 (and via input port 110 to selection component 120).
However, Taubin fails to explicitly disclose the wireless multi-stream video processing device provides a plurality of endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video;
for transmitting a connection request signal to the at least one wireless device through the wireless communication unit,
so that the at least one wireless device returns a connection permission signal and the at least one video according to the connection request signal,
the wireless multi-stream video processing device provides a plurality of endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video, so as to simultaneously transmit the at least one output video to the receiving device using the plurality of endpoints.
Liu teaches an image processing unit (fig. 2A: processor 104 and audio-visual processing module 100) for transmitting a connection request signal to the at least one wireless device through the wireless communication unit ([0018]: “The processor 104 of the audio-visual transmission device 10 transmits a connection request signal SR to the camera 11 through the wireless module 101”),
so that the at least one wireless device returns a connection permission signal ([0018]: “the camera 11 transmits a connection permission signal SA through the wireless module 101 according to the connection request signal SR back to the processor 104 of the audio-visual transmission device 10”) and the at least one video according to the connection request signal ([0021]: “when the camera 11 recognizes the audio-visual transmission device 10 through the wireless module 101, the camera 11 provides the audio-visual data D to the audio-visual transmission device 10 through the wireless module 101”; see also claim 1: “the camera transmits a connection acknowledgment signal and the audio-visual data back to the processor via the wireless module according to the connection request signal”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the audio-visual transmission device as taught in Liu with the multiple camera video conferencing apparatus as taught in Taubin to help improve implementation of the process of setting up the connection between wireless multi-stream video processing device and the wireless device.
Liu does not explicitly disclose the wireless multi-stream video processing device provides a plurality of endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video
Further, Bateman teaches the wireless multi-stream video processing device provides a plurality of endpoints ([0106], “A USB device may have one or more logical endpoints, which can be used to communicate with the host…A stream pipe may be used to send any type of data.”) for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video (Fig. 12; separate virtual USB bus per camera), so as to simultaneously transmit ([0046], “the network camera may transmit multiple video streams to one or more destinations at generally the same time…. supervise the outgoing video stream.”) the at least one output video to the receiving device using the plurality of endpoints ([0116], “The virtual USB camera may receive the RTSP stream from the camera and translate it into USB packets and send them as a USB stream pipe to the operating system.” Fig. 11: bus enumerator 1104; Fig. 15: Virtual USB Bus 1510-> host application 1520), see [0119] “developing a bus enumerator 1104 to create virtual Audio/Video USB devices…such as shown in FIG. 11, e.g. UVC 1116, Video PDO 1112, UAC 1115 and Audio PDO 1111.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the plurality of USB endpoints and simultaneous multi-stream transmission architecture as taught in Bateman into the combination of Taubin and Liu, in order to enable the wireless multi-stream video processing device to simultaneously deliver multiple processed output video streams to a receiving device using standard USB Video Device Class endpoints.
3. Regarding Claim 2, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 1,
Taubin discloses wherein the wireless communication unit and the at least one wireless device use a Wi-Fi protocol for wireless connection ([0022], wireless compatible input ports (e.g., IEEE 802.11, infrared, etc.)).
4. Regarding Claim 6, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 4,
Taubin discloses wherein the processing further includes a format processing to convert the format of the received at least one video ([0018], by formatting the composite video such that, when rendered, video information from the target input port is presented in a larger spatial region, portion or location of the composite video and video information from other input ports is presented in smaller spatial regions, portions or locations) into a format that complies with the USB video class (Fig. 2; [0022], input ports 110 may include any one or combination of USB compatible input port(s)), so as to allow the connection port unit to transmit the at least one output video ([0035], external computer 240 may be connected to one or more networks (e.g., via a wireless link to the Internet) and have installed video conferencing software configured to transmit audio/video information received at an input port of external computer 240 and transmit the audio/video information over the one or more networks to the remote location).
5. Regarding Claim 7, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 1,
Liu discloses wherein the processing further includes a resolution processing to convert a resolution of the received at least one video into a resolution consistent with the receiving device ([0021], convert the audio-visual data D from the first resolution to the second resolution, and then the audio-visual processing module 100 outputs the audio-visual processing data D′ with the second resolution to the receiver 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2017/0094222 Tangeland et al. (hereinafter Tangeland).
7. Regarding Claim 4, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
Taubin discloses a USB control unit for receiving the at least one output video ([0025], output port 130 may include a USB port such that multi-camera device 100 can be connected to any external computer having a USB port to exchange audio/video information), reporting an endpoint information to the receiving device according to the at least one output video, and providing the endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video; and
a connection port unit for receiving the at least one output video from the USB control unit (Fig. 2: 110; [0023]-[0025], multi-camera device 100 also includes output port 130 to receive audio/video information from selection component 120 for output when connected to an external computer. Output port 130 may be any output port suitable for outputting audio/video information and may include one or multiple output ports of any type. In particular, output port 130 may include any of the port types described above in connection with input ports 110. For example, output port 130 may include a USB port such that multi-camera device 100 can be connected to any external computer having a USB port to exchange audio/video information), so as to transmit the at least one output video to the receiving device ([0024], hosting video teleconferencing software such that at least some of the audio/video received from multi-camera device 100 may be transmitted to a remote location).
However, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman does not explicitly disclose reporting an endpoint information to the receiving device according to the at least one output video, and providing the endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video;
Further, Tangeland discloses reporting an endpoint information ([0019], a camera system for video conference endpoints and techniques for utilizing the camera system) to the receiving device according to the at least one output video ([0047], the video streams may be output to be displayed together (FIGS. 10A and 10B)), and providing the endpoints for the receiving device according to the number of the at least one output video ([0057], a fixed wide lens camera configured to provide a view of a space and to output a first video signal; a first fixed camera configured to provide a view of a first portion of the space and to output a second video signal);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the combination of Taubin in view of Liu and Bateman further in view of Tangeland to incorporate a neural network processor as taught in Kumar to help improve performance and energy efficiency required in deep learning and often achieving much faster inference times than general purpose CPUs.
8. Regarding Claim 5, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 1,
Furhter, Tangeland discloses wherein the video display mode includes picture-in-picture, side-by-side ([0047], When the two video streams are displayed together, the video streams may be displayed side by side, above each other, in a picture-in-picture arrangement or any other manner), cropping, overlapping ([0058], the second portion overlapping with a first section of the first view and extending beyond the overall view, and to produce a third video signal), zooming in and out ([0058], a zoomed-in view), and original picture (Fig. 8: receive video signals from cameras).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2024/0097927, Kumar.
10. Regarding Claim 3, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman discloses The wireless multi-stream video processing device according to claim 1,
Taubin discloses wherein, the image processing unit includes a video processor, a neural network processor, a memory, and a storage unit (Fig. 6; [0044], Computer system 600 may include one or more processors 610 and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media (e.g., memory 620 and one or more non-volatile storage media 630). The processor 610 may control writing data to and reading data from the memory 620 and the non-volatile storage device 630 in any suitable manner, as the aspects of the invention described herein are not limited in this respect. Processor 610, for example, may be a processor provided as part of an implementation of a multi-camera device), and
However, Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman may not explicitly disclose a neural network processor, wherein, the video processor and the neural network processor use a program stored in the storage unit to perform the processing, and the memory is used to store the at least one video and the at least one output video.
Further Kumar teaches a neural network processor (fig. 2; [0089], The context engine 222 can comprise an artificial neural network), wherein, the video processor (Fig. 2: 207) and the neural network processor (Fig. 2: 222) use a program stored in the storage unit to perform the processing ([0069], A storage device, such as memory 208, can optionally store the executable software code used by the one or more processors 207 during operation), and the memory is used to store the at least one video and the at least one output video (Figs. 2, 9, 12; [0139], electronic device 200 retrieve a previously captured image from the memory (208) of the electronic device 200 to use as the preview image 917 so that the person 909 can see how they normally look in the videoconference or video recording session context 912).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the combination of Taubin in view of Liu further in view of Bateman to incorporate a neural network processor as taught in Kumar to help improve performance and energy efficiency required in deep learning and often achieving much faster inference times than general purpose CPUs.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422