DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of typographical and grammatical informalities. Specifically, claim 20 includes: (1) the extraneous letter “w” following “claim 17,”; (2) the grammatically improper phrase “in the a third direction”; (3) the improper punctuation “W2,;”; and (4) a redundant repetition of the limitation defining the third direction as perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. Although the intended scope of the claim is reasonably ascertainable, these informalities render the claim grammatically improper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 101271985 A (CN’985) in view of CN 206976501 U (CN’501).
As to Claim 1:
CN’985 discloses a battery, comprising: a housing forming an accommodation cavity (rechargeable battery 400 includes an electrode assembly 100 received in a housing 200 with an upper end opening 200a arranged to hold the electrode assembly and electrolyte); (CN’985, p. 1; pp. 5–6; claim 1, p. 8) an electrode assembly comprising a body portion, a first metal portion, a second metal portion, a first bonding part (electrode assembly 100 includes an electrode jelly-roll 110, a first electrode tab 116, a second electrode tab 117, and an upper band 140); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 1 and 14–15, pp. 8–9)
wherein, the body portion is accommodated in the accommodation cavity, the body portion comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (electrode jelly-roll 110 is received inside housing 200 and includes a first electrode plate 113, a second electrode plate 115, and a separator 114 interposed between them); (CN’985, p. 5; claim 1, p. 8)
in a first direction, the first electrode plate overlaps with the second electrode plate, or, both edges of the second electrode plate exceed the first electrode plate (the first electrode plate 113, second electrode plate 115, and separator 114 are wound together where the separator is longer than the plates, and the plates overlap); (CN’985, p. 2; pp. 5–6; claim 5, p. 9)
along the first direction, the body portion comprises a first protruding portion, a first portion, and a second protruding portion connected in sequence; the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion are respectively defined by two edges of the separator disposed opposite to each other in the first direction and corresponding edges of the second electrode plate (the wound core body defines an upper end where tabs protrude, a central portion flanked by a pair of long side surfaces, and an opposite lower end); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 12 and 15, p. 9)
a thickness direction of the electrode assembly is defined as a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (the flattened prismatic core body possesses a thickness direction perpendicular to its long side surfaces and winding length axis); (CN’985, pp. 6–7)
the first portion comprises a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other in the second direction (the core includes a pair of long side surfaces 110b disposed opposite to each other across the thickness direction); (CN’985, p. 6)
the first protruding portion comprises a third surface located on a same side as the first surface and a fourth surface disposed opposite to the third surface (the upper end of the core includes peripheral side face boundaries on its opposite front and back sides); (CN’985, pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
the second protruding portion comprises a fifth surface located on the same side as the first surface and a sixth surface disposed opposite to the fifth surface (the lower end of the core includes peripheral side face boundaries on its opposite front and back sides); (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
the first protruding portion comprises a seventh surface in the first direction (the core defines an upper surface 110a forming a distal outer face boundary at the top); (CN’985, p. 6; claim 13, p. 9)
the first metal portion is electrically connected to the body portion and protrudes from the body portion along the first direction; the first metal portion extends out of the housing; in the second direction, the first metal portion is located in a middle position of the electrode assembly or closer to the fifth surface than the sixth surface (the first electrode tab 116 is electrically connected to the first plate, extends parallel to the winding axis out of the housing 200, and is arranged near the center position of the core); (CN’985, p. 3; pp. 5–6; claim 2, p. 8)
a polarity of the second metal portion is opposite to a polarity of the first metal portion, the second metal portion is electrically connected to the body portion and protrudes from the body portion along the first direction; the second metal portion extends out of the housing (the second electrode tab 117 is of opposite polarity, is connected to the second plate, and extends parallel to the winding axis out of the housing package); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 2 and 4, pp. 8–9)
and the first bonding part bonds the first surface, the third surface, the seventh surface, the fourth surface, and the second surface (the upper band 140 is connected to the upper end around the core such that it surrounds a pair of long side faces and a side face on the upper surface, thereby continuously wrapping across the front surface, upper side turn, top end face, opposite upper side turn, and back surface). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part that bonds the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface. CN’985 instead discloses that its lower tape component (lower belt 130) is wrapped symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core, thereby completely covering both opposite surfaces. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure (the core assembly includes a first gummed paper 20 at the tab end and a separate second gummed paper 30 at the opposite end, where the second gummed paper completely covers the end face and at least one peripheral wall or regional face rather than symmetrically surrounding the entire perimeter). (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5; claim 1, p. 8) This tape arrangement targeted bonds a specific face region (the fifth surface) while purposely leaving an alternative face (the sixth surface) entirely unbonded. (CN’501, p. 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
CN’985 and CN’501 are analogous arts because they both belong to the same technical field of lithium-ion secondary batteries, specifically focusing on utilizing protective insulating adhesive tape elements secured around an electrode core stack to manage structural stabilization. (CN’985, pp. 2–3 and 6–8; CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7) Furthermore, both references are explicitly directed to solving the identical mechanical engineering problem: mitigating internal core short circuits and separator defects induced by shifting or friction under external drop and mechanical abuse stresses. (CN’985, pp. 2–3 and 6–8; CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, optimize space efficiency, and guarantee structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7)
As to Claim 2:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture and the baseline wrapping of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the first bonding part bonds the first surface, the third surface, the seventh surface, the fourth surface, and the second surface in sequence (the upper band surrounds a pair of long side faces and a side face on the upper surface and extends across them, which establishes a continuous layer tracking sequentially across the front surface, upper side turn, top end face, opposite upper side turn, and back surface). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
As to Claim 3:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture and the general baseline configuration of the core assembly; and CN’985 discloses the general features of an electrode assembly having a separator and finishing tapes. (CN’985, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 12–15, pp. 8–9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part that bonds the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, wherein, in the first direction, edges of the second bonding part do not exceed the edges of the separator. CN’985 instead discloses a lower end tape (lower belt) that is wrapped completely and symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly where the insulation membrane (separator) extends from the anode film and cathode film, and the second adhesive paper serves to reliably limit and lock the cathode membrane, isolating film, and anode membrane to prevent displacement during external stress. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 4–5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to configure the edges of this targeted structural tape so they stay cleanly within the extended margin of the separator to maximize core alignment and avoid manufacturing layout interference past the separator line. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 4–5; claim 1, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further sizing the tape width such that in the first direction, edges of the second bonding part do not exceed the edges of the separator, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, prevent structural tape overhang beyond the protective separator boundaries, and guarantee structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 4–5, and 7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 4:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that a third direction is defined perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (the width direction of the flattened jelly-roll core is perpendicular to its thickness axis and axial winding length axis), and wherein in the third direction, a length of the body portion is W, a length of the first bonding part is W₁, and 0.7 W ≤ W₁ ≤ W (the upper band has a width that spans across the entire width of the upper end of the core body, which teaches an instance where W₁ = W, thereby satisfying the structural range fraction). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein a length of the second bonding part in the third direction is W₂ satisfying 0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W. CN’985 instead teaches a lower band that is wrapped completely and symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the secondary bonding tape sheets (such as the second gummed paper) can be configured to span across the entire length of the opposite side face (W₂ = W), or can alternatively be structured to extend only over a selective localized part of the side length. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to customize the width dimension W₂ of this protective tape component to fall within the claimed fractional boundaries (0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W) depending on the desired scale of drop stabilization and material space constraints. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further optimizing the tape width such that a length of the second bonding part is W₂ satisfying 0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, achieve material space efficiency, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 5:
See the rejection of Claim 4 as to the dimensional length parameters of the body portion, the first bonding part, and the second bonding part along the third direction; and CN’985 discloses that a length of the first bonding part W₁ can be configured relative to the width of the core body W. (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose optimizing the dimensions such that 0.8 W ≤ W₁ ≤ 0.9 W and/or 0.8 W ≤ W₂ ≤ 0.9 W. CN’985 instead discloses an upper band that spans across the entire upper end width of the core body such that W₁ = W. (CN’985, pp. 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses that structural finishing tape sheets (such as the second gummed paper) can be configured to span either across the entire length of a side face or alternatively extend only over a part of the length of each opposite side. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to narrow the width dimensions of the first and second bonding parts to the claimed 0.8 to 0.9 fractional ranges of the total body width in order to accommodate manufacturing process tolerances, provide side clearance, or optimize electrolyte entry while maintaining robust structural restriction against dropping impact stresses. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further optimizing the tape dimensional constraints such that 0.8 W ≤ W₁ ≤ 0.9 W and/or 0.8 W ≤ W₂ ≤ 0.9 W, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, leave appropriate alignment clearances on the side walls, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 6:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, direction parameters, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that as viewed from the second direction, the third surface comprises a first arc surface region, a first region, and a second arc surface region that are sequentially connected in a third direction; the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (the flattened prismatic wound jelly-roll core body naturally defines a central flat face section and rounded, curved arc side-turn margins on both lateral ends along the width axis); and the first bonding part is bonded to the first region and bonded to at least one of the first arc surface region or the second arc surface region (the upper band continuously wraps across the main flat face of the upper end and extends down over these curved side-turn boundaries to securely anchor the layers). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
As to Claim 7:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, direction parameters, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that as viewed from the second direction, the fifth surface comprises a third arc surface region, a second region, and a fourth arc surface region sequentially connected in the third direction; the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (the flattened prismatic wound jelly-roll core body naturally defines flat wide face sections and rounded, curved arc side-turn margins on both lateral ends along the width axis). (CN’985, pp. 5–7; claims 14–15, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein the second bonding part is bonded to the second region and bonded to at least one of the third arc surface region or the fourth arc surface region. CN’985 instead teaches that its lower tape component (lower belt) is wrapped completely and symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core body, covering both opposite wide side surfaces. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the separate second adhesive paper component is targetedly placed on a selective edge margin face (the fifth surface) of the core assembly rather than symmetrically surrounding the entire perimeter, and the second adhesive paper is wrapped directly over the flat side walls (the second region) and adjacent curved side turns (at least one of the third or fourth arc surface regions) of the rectangular wound battery core cell. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) This tape arrangement securely anchors the plates and separator where drop forces are most concentrated, while purposely leaving the opposite sixth surface entirely unbonded to limit unnecessary thickness buildup. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further wrapping the second bonding part to the second region and to at least one of the third arc surface region or the fourth arc surface region, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, optimize space efficiency, and guarantee targeted structural alignment across the flat and curved edge sections against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 8:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, direction parameters, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses the general features of an electrode assembly having a separator and an upper finishing tape band that bonds across multiple surfaces. (CN’985, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 12–14, pp. 8–9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein at least one first through-hole is provided on a first part of the first bonding part; the first part of the first bonding part being a part bonded to the seventh surface. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a solid, continuous adhesive tape structure with high heat resistance. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the protective tape sheets are provided with a plurality of meshes or through-holes. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 6; claims 2–3, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that these meshes are distributed on the first adhesive paper, which is arranged at the first end part of the core where the tabs are located, providing a dedicated channel for electrolyte to enter and pass into the electric core to improve the electrolyte infiltration rate. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine engineering optimization based on CN’501 to incorporate these through-holes into the corresponding first part of the upper band that covers the seventh surface at the first end of the core body to facilitate uniform electrolyte soaking and gas release. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further providing at least one first through-hole on a first part of the first bonding part bonded to the seventh surface, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, maximize electrolyte infiltration speed into the core head tab region, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1–3 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 9:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as to the primary battery structural architecture, general layout of the bonding parts, and the provision of through-holes on the first part of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the general features of an electrode assembly and tape parameters where an insulating tape possesses a normal baseline thickness such as 0.01–0.1 mm. (CN’985, pp. 5–7; claims 1 and 12–14, pp. 8–9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein a diameter d₂ of the first through-hole is 0.5 mm to 2 mm, and/or a distance d₃ between adjacent first through-holes is 1 mm to 4 mm. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a solid finishing tape layer. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses that the protective tape sheets are provided with a plurality of meshes or through-holes to establish a liquid channel. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 6; claims 2–3, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that these meshes are uniformly arranged at intervals on the adhesive paper to ensure uniform and balanced electrolyte infiltration into the core. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8) Given the explicit tape thickness rules taught by the art, optimizing the precise mesh sizing parameters to a diameter d₂ of 0.5 mm to 2 mm and a spacing distance d₃ of 1 mm to 4 mm represents a matter of routine engineering design and optimization to ensure smooth fluid permeability and high structural tape strength without tearing. (CN’985, pp. 6–7; CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring the first through-holes such that a diameter d₂ of the first through-hole is 0.5 mm to 2 mm, and/or a distance d₃ between adjacent first through-holes is 1 mm to 4 mm, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, establish a robust and balanced liquid entry channel across the upper end margin, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1–3 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 10:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as to the primary battery structural architecture, the alignment of the bonding parts, and the implementation of through-holes on the first part of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the structural features of an electrode assembly where an upper band covers both wide side surfaces and the top end face of the cell core body. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein at least one second through-hole is provided on a second part of the first bonding part, the second part of the first bonding part being a part bonded to the first surface, and a hole ratio per unit area of the second part of the first bonding part is less than a hole ratio per unit area of the first part of the first bonding part. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a completely solid, uninterrupted adhesive layer spanning across all covered core faces. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the protective tape sheets are provided with a plurality of meshes or through-holes to create electrolyte channels. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 6; claims 2–3, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that these meshes can be distributed across different parts of the tape infrastructure. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to provide at least one second through-hole on the second part of the first bonding part (the segment covering the first surface) while intentionally setting its hole ratio per unit area to be less than the hole ratio per unit area of the first part (the segment covering the terminal seventh surface), in order to preserve maximal adhesive gripping surface area on the main wide face of the core body while simultaneously prioritizing maximum liquid permeability at the entry head face. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring the first bonding part such that at least one second through-hole is provided on a second part of the first bonding part bonded to the first surface, and a hole ratio per unit area of the second part of the first bonding part is less than a hole ratio per unit area of the first part of the first bonding part, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, maintain structural tape adhesion on the wide face while accelerating localized fluid channel entry at the edge, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1–3 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 11:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as to the primary battery structural architecture, the alignment of the bonding parts, and the implementation of through-holes on the first part of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the structural layout of an electrode assembly where an upper band covers both wide side surfaces and the top end face of the cell core body. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein at least one third through-hole is provided on a third part of the first bonding part, the third part of the first bonding part being a part bonded to the second surface, and a hole ratio per unit area of the third part of the first bonding part is less than a hole ratio per unit area of the first part of the first bonding part. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a completely solid, continuous adhesive layer extending across all covered core faces. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the protective tape sheets are provided with a plurality of meshes or through-holes to create electrolyte entry channels. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 6; claims 2–3, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that these meshes can be distributed across different parts of the tape infrastructure. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to provide at least one third through-hole on the third part of the first bonding part (the segment covering the second surface) while intentionally setting its hole ratio per unit area to be less than the hole ratio per unit area of the first part (the segment covering the terminal seventh surface), in order to preserve maximal adhesive gripping surface area on the opposite wide face of the core body while simultaneously prioritizing maximum liquid permeability at the entry head face. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring the first bonding part such that at least one third through-hole is provided on a third part of the first bonding part bonded to the second surface, and a hole ratio per unit area of the third part of the first bonding part is less than a hole ratio per unit area of the first part of the first bonding part, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, maintain structural tape adhesion on the wide face while accelerating localized fluid channel entry at the edge, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1–3 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 12:
See the rejection of Claim 8 as to the primary battery structural architecture, the alignment of the bonding parts, and the implementation of through-holes on the first part of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the structural layout of an electrode assembly where an upper band covers both wide side surfaces and the top end face of the cell core body. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein at least one of a first part of the first bonding part or a second part of the first bonding part is provided without through holes; the first part of the first bonding part being a part bonded to the first surface and the second part of the first bonding part being a part bonded to the second surface. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a completely solid, continuous adhesive layer extending across all covered core faces. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the protective tape sheets are provided with a plurality of meshes or through-holes to create electrolyte entry channels. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 6; claims 2–3, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that these meshes can be placed on at least one or both of the respective tape elements, thereby directly leaving an alternative section or part completely solid and without through-holes. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to leave at least one of the main wide face segments (the first part bonded to the first surface or the second part bonded to the second surface) completely solid and without through-holes in order to maximize the raw adhesive gripping surface area on the sides of the core body while prioritizing porosity at the terminal end face. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring the first bonding part such that at least one of the first part of the first bonding part or the second part of the first bonding part is provided without through holes, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, maintain structural tape adhesion on the wide face while accelerating localized fluid channel entry at the edge, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1–3 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 13:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, direction parameters, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses the general features of an electrode assembly where an upper band covers and wraps across multiple surfaces at the upper end of the cell core body. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein the first bonding part comprises a plurality of first sub-bonding parts spaced apart in a third direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. CN’985 instead teaches that its upper band is a single, continuous, uninterrupted tape layer extending across the top end of the core. (CN’985, pp. 4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein the first gummed paper applied at the upper end can comprise a plurality of first gummed paper elements or sheets spaced apart at intervals along the length direction. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5; claims 4–8, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that using multiple separate sheets spaced apart along the separating direction of the electrode tabs provides discrete, localized paths for fastening the core layers without covering the entire upper profile. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5; claims 4–8, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization based on CN’501 to divide the upper band of CN’985 into a plurality of discrete sub-bonding parts spaced apart along the third direction to allow localized flexibility or clear specific functional areas while maintaining proper structural constraint against drop impacts. (CN’501, pp. 2, 5, and 7; claims 4–8, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring the first bonding part such that it comprises a plurality of first sub-bonding parts spaced apart in a third direction, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, provide localized wrapping flexibilities along the width axis of the core, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 4–9, p. 8)
As to Claim 14:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, surface definitions, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that the first electrode plate comprises a first current collector, and the first surface comprises at least a part of a surface of the first current collector (the first electrode plate 113 includes a first electrode collector 113a made of aluminum foil, and the electrode assembly winding is finished such that a portion of this metallic collector base forms the outermost layer boundary defining the flat side outer surface of the core body). (CN’985, pp. 2 and 5–6; claims 2–3, pp. 8–9)
As to Claim 15:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture and the general layout of the housing and bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that the battery can be configured as a polymer type rechargeable battery. (CN’985, pp. 1–3 and 5–6)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, and CN’985 primarily describes a rigid metal shell housing formed from aluminum or an aluminum alloy rather than explicitly detailing a housing that is a packaging film having a multi-layer structure. (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claim 1, p. 8)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly received in a housing, and specifically teaches that the housing is a packaging bag formed of an aluminum film (which is a flexible laminate packaging film inherently having a multi-layer polymer and metal foil structure) used for packaging the battery core assembly. (CN’501, pp. 5–6; claims 10–11, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further utilizing the multi-layer packaging film housing of CN’501 for the polymer type battery, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, achieve a lightweight and flexible battery pouch enclosure, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9–11, p. 8)
As to Claim 16:
See the rejection of Claim 1 as to the primary battery structural architecture, core dimensions, surface definitions, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that an eighth surface is disposed on the second protruding portion in the first direction (the lower end of the core defines a lower surface 110d forming a distal outer face boundary at the bottom opposite to the upper surface). (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface, wherein a fifth bonding part sequentially bonds the fifth surface, the eighth surface, and the sixth surface, and the fifth bonding part is absent on the body portion. CN’985 instead teaches that its lower belt is connected around the lower surface and a pair of long side surfaces, which wraps completely symmetrically around the lower end perimeter of the core body such that it continuously covers a significant part of the main flat wide body portion on both opposite sides. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure, wherein a secondary adhesive tape component (such as the second gummed paper) can be configured to completely cover only the end face and/or adjacent localized edge portions of the core. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) CN’501 explicitly teaches that this lower tape component serves to restrict the layers at the bottom. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization based on CN’501 to constrain a separate, auxiliary fifth bonding part at the lower end so that it sequentially bonds the bottom edge surfaces (fifth surface, eighth surface, and sixth surface) but is restricted to the second protruding portion and remains absent on the main wide body portion of the core, thereby preventing passive core thickness pileup on the major surfaces of the body portion. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 5–7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further configuring a fifth bonding part at the bottom end to sequentially bond the fifth surface, the eighth surface, and the sixth surface while keeping it absent on the body portion, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical wide surfaces, optimize internal space efficiency, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
As to Claim 17:
CN’985 discloses an electronic device, comprising a battery (cells have been used as a power source for small electronic equipment such as mobile phones, notebook computers, and portable cameras); (CN’985, pp. 1–2) wherein the battery comprises a housing forming an accommodation cavity (rechargeable battery 400 includes an electrode assembly 100 received in a housing 200 with an upper end opening 200a arranged to hold the electrode assembly and electrolyte); (CN’985, p. 1; pp. 5–6; claim 1, p. 8) an electrode assembly comprising a body portion, a first metal portion, a second metal portion, a first bonding part (electrode assembly 100 includes an electrode jelly-roll 110, a first electrode tab 116, a second electrode tab 117, and an upper band 140); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 1 and 14–15, pp. 8–9)
wherein, the body portion is accommodated in the accommodation cavity, the body portion comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (electrode jelly-roll 110 is received inside housing 200 and includes a first electrode plate 113, a second electrode plate 115, and a separator 114 interposed between them); (CN’985, p. 5; claim 1, p. 8)
in a first direction, the first electrode plate overlaps with the second electrode plate, or, both edges of the second electrode plate exceed the first electrode plate (the first electrode plate 113, second electrode plate 115, and separator 114 are wound together where the separator is longer than the plates, and the plates overlap); (CN’985, p. 2; pp. 5–6; claim 5, p. 9)
along the first direction, the body portion comprises a first protruding portion, a first portion, and a second protruding portion connected in sequence; the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion are respectively defined by two edges of the separator disposed opposite to each other in the first direction and corresponding edges of the second electrode plate (the wound core body defines an upper end where tabs protrude, a central portion flanked by a pair of long side surfaces, and an opposite lower end); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 12 and 15, p. 9)
a thickness direction of the electrode assembly is defined as a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (the flattened prismatic core body possesses a thickness direction perpendicular to its long side surfaces and winding length axis); (CN’985, pp. 6–7)
the first portion comprises a first surface and a second surface disposed opposite to each other in the second direction (the core includes a pair of long side surfaces 110b disposed opposite to each other across the thickness direction); (CN’985, p. 6)
the first protruding portion comprises a third surface located on a same side as the first surface and a fourth surface disposed opposite to the third surface (the upper end of the core includes peripheral side face boundaries on its opposite front and back sides); (CN’985, pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
the second protruding portion comprises a fifth surface located on the same side as the first surface and a sixth surface disposed opposite to the fifth surface (the lower end of the core includes peripheral side face boundaries on its opposite front and back sides); (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
the first protruding portion comprises a seventh surface in the first direction (the core defines an upper surface 110a forming a distal outer face boundary at the top); (CN’985, p. 6; claim 13, p. 9)
the first metal portion is electrically connected to the body portion and protrudes from the body portion along the first direction; the first metal portion extends out of the housing; in the second direction, the first metal portion is located in a middle position of the electrode assembly or closer to the fifth surface than the sixth surface (the first electrode tab 116 is electrically connected to the first plate, extends parallel to the winding axis out of the housing 200, and is arranged near the center position of the core); (CN’985, p. 3; pp. 5–6; claim 2, p. 8)
a polarity of the second metal portion is opposite to a polarity of the first metal portion, the second metal portion is electrically connected to the body portion and protrudes from the body portion along the first direction; the second metal portion extends out of the housing (the second electrode tab 117 is of opposite polarity, is connected to the second plate, and extends parallel to the winding axis out of the housing package); (CN’985, pp. 5–6; claims 2 and 4, pp. 8–9)
and the first bonding part bonds the first surface, the third surface, the seventh surface, the fourth surface, and the second surface (the upper band 140 is connected to the upper end around the core such that it surrounds a pair of long side faces and a side face on the upper surface, thereby continuously wrapping across the front surface, upper side turn, top end face, opposite upper side turn, and back surface). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part that bonds the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface within the battery structure inside the electronic device. CN’985 instead discloses that its lower tape component (lower belt 130) is wrapped symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core, thereby completely covering both opposite wide side surfaces. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure in a mobile terminal or electronic device (the core assembly includes a first gummed paper 20 at the tab end and a separate second gummed paper 30 at the opposite end, where the second gummed paper completely covers the end face and at least one peripheral wall or regional face rather than symmetrically surrounding the entire perimeter). (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1 and 12, p. 8) This tape arrangement targetedly bonds a specific face region (the fifth surface) while purposely leaving an alternative face (the sixth surface) entirely unbonded. (CN’501, p. 5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, optimize space efficiency, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts within an electronic device as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8)
As to Claim 18:
See the rejection of Claim 17 as to the primary electronic device system, the battery architecture, and the baseline wrapping of the first bonding part; and CN’985 discloses the first bonding part bonds the first surface, the third surface, the seventh surface, the fourth surface, and the second surface in sequence (the upper band surrounds a pair of long side faces and a side face on the upper surface and extends across them, which establishes a continuous layer tracking sequentially across the front surface, upper side turn, top end face, opposite upper side turn, and back surface). (CN’985, p. 4; pp. 6–7; claims 12–13, p. 9)
As to Claim 19:
See the rejection of Claim 17 as to the primary electronic device system, the battery architecture, and the general configuration of the core assembly; and CN’985 discloses the general features of an electrode assembly having a separator and finishing tapes inside a battery for an electronic device. (CN’985, pp. 2–3 and 5–7; claims 1 and 12–15, pp. 8–9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a second bonding part that bonds the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, wherein, in the first direction, edges of the second bonding part do not exceed the edges of the separator within the battery of the electronic device. CN’985 instead discloses a lower end tape (lower belt) that is wrapped completely and symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly where the insulation membrane (separator) extends from the anode film and cathode film, and the second adhesive paper serves to reliably limit and lock the cathode membrane, isolating film, and anode membrane to prevent displacement during external stress. (CN’501, pp. 1–2 and 4–5; claims 1 and 9, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to configure the edges of this targeted structural tape so they stay cleanly within the extended margin of the separator to maximize core alignment and avoid manufacturing layout interference past the separator line within the electronic device. (CN’501, pp. 2, 4–5, and 7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further sizing the tape width such that in the first direction, edges of the second bonding part do not exceed the edges of the separator, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, prevent structural tape overhang beyond the protective separator boundaries, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts within an electronic device as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 4–5, and 7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8)
As to Claim 20:
See the rejection of Claim 17 as to the primary electronic device system, the battery architecture, core dimensions, and the general layout of the first and second bonding parts; and CN’985 discloses that a third direction is defined perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (the width direction of the flattened jelly-roll core is perpendicular to its thickness axis and axial winding length axis), and wherein in the third direction, a length of the body portion is W, a length of the first bonding part is W₁, and 0.7 W ≤ W₁ ≤ W (the upper band has a width that spans across the entire width of the upper end of the core body, which teaches an instance where W₁ = W, thereby satisfying the structural range fraction). (CN’985, pp. 2–4 and 6–7; claims 12–14, p. 9)
However, CN’985 does not explicitly disclose a separate second bonding part bonding the first surface and the fifth surface but not bonding the sixth surface within the battery of the electronic device, wherein a length of the second bonding part in the third direction is W₂ satisfying 0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W. CN’985 instead teaches a lower band that is wrapped completely and symmetrically around the entire lower end perimeter of the core. (CN’985, p. 6; claim 15, p. 9)
CN’501 discloses an adhesive tape structure for an electrode assembly to prevent drop or impact failure within a terminal device, wherein the secondary bonding tape sheets (such as the second gummed paper) can be configured to span across the entire length of the opposite side face (W₂ = W), or can alternatively be structured to extend only over a selective localized part of the side length. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8) It represents a matter of routine optimization to customize the width dimension W₂ of this protective tape component to fall within the claimed fractional boundaries (0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W) depending on the desired scale of drop stabilization and material space constraints within the electronic device. (CN’501, pp. 2 and 5–7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery of CN’985 by configuring the lower band based on the targeted, single-sided anti-drop taping layout of CN’501 so that the lower band bonds only the first surface and the fifth surface but does not bond the sixth surface, and further optimizing the tape width such that a length of the second bonding part is W₂ satisfying 0.7 W ≤ W₂ ≤ W, in order to limit passive thickness pileup on non-critical surfaces, achieve material space efficiency, and guarantee targeted structural alignment against mechanical drop impacts within an electronic device as taught by CN’501. (CN’501, pp. 1–2, 5, and 7; claims 1, 9, and 12, p. 8)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 102479978 B discloses a lithium-ion battery and a lithium ion battery thereof.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723