DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220353017 A1 to Babaei (hereinafter “Babaei”).
As per claim 1, Babaei discloses an apparatus (Babaei Fig. 15) comprising: at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15); and at least one memory storing instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15 and [0123]), cause the apparatus at least to: determine Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timing information, wherein the DRX timing information is indicative of at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei [0147] In an example, RRC may control DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle); drx-SlotOffset (e.g., the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer); drx-InactivityTimer (e.g., the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL transmission for the MAC entity); drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g. the maximum duration until a DL retransmission is received); drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received); drx-LongCycleStartOffset (e.g., the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which may define the subframe where the Long and Short DRX cycle starts); drx-ShortCycle (e.g., the Short DRX cycle); drx-ShortCycleTimer (e.g., the duration the UE may follow the Short DRX cycle); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g., the minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity). [0163] In an example, when DRX is configured, a DRX group may be in Active Time. If the PDCCH indicates a new transmission (DL or UL) on a Serving Cell in this DRX group: the MAC entity may start or restart drx-InactivityTimer for this DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PDCCH reception.); determine Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource information, wherein the PUCCH resource information is indicative of a PUCCH resource for the apparatus to transmit a Semi-Persistent Scheduling Hybrid Automatic Repeat request Acknowledgment (SPS HARQ-ACK) (Babaei [0127] In an example and for TDD configurations, dropping of SPS HARQ feedback due to collision/overlap of scheduled HARQ feedback transmission via PUCCH with at least one DL or flexible symbol (e.g., determined based on slot format) may be avoided. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a HARQ feedback may be deferred until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a one-shot/Type-3 codebook type may be dynamically triggered. [0129] In an example, SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be jointly configured per PUCCH cell group. Any SPS HARQ-ACK within a PUCCH cell group may be subject to deferral. In an example, the SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be configured per SPS configuration. See also [0086]); and control a transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK based at least in part on the DRX timing information and the PUCCH resource information (Babaei [0127,0129,0147,0163]).
As per claim 2, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH resource is in a first PUCCH slot (Babaei [0127] In an example and for TDD configurations, dropping of SPS HARQ feedback due to collision/overlap of scheduled HARQ feedback transmission via PUCCH with at least one DL or flexible symbol (e.g., determined based on slot format) may be avoided. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a HARQ feedback may be deferred until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a one-shot/Type-3 codebook type may be dynamically triggered. [0128] In an example, deferring of SPS HARQ-ACK dropped due to TDD specific collisions until a next available PUCCH may be based on semi-static configuration of slot format. In an example, semi-statically configured flexible symbols may be considered for PUCCH availability. [0129] In an example, SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be jointly configured per PUCCH cell group. Any SPS HARQ-ACK within a PUCCH cell group may be subject to deferral. In an example, the SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be configured per SPS configuration.), and wherein controlling the transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK comprises at least one selected from a group of: preventing, based at least in part on the DRX timing information and the PUCCH resource information, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK using the PUCCH resource (Babaei [0127] In an example and for TDD configurations, dropping of SPS HARQ feedback due to collision/overlap of scheduled HARQ feedback transmission via PUCCH with at least one DL or flexible symbol (e.g., determined based on slot format) may be avoided. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a HARQ feedback may be deferred until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a one-shot/Type-3 codebook type may be dynamically triggered. [0128] In an example, deferring of SPS HARQ-ACK dropped due to TDD specific collisions until a next available PUCCH may be based on semi-static configuration of slot format. In an example, semi-statically configured flexible symbols may be considered for PUCCH availability. [0129] In an example, SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be jointly configured per PUCCH cell group. Any SPS HARQ-ACK within a PUCCH cell group may be subject to deferral. In an example, the SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be configured per SPS configuration.); preventing, based at least in part on the DRX timing information and the PUCCH resource information, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK during the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei [0127-0129,0163); determining to defer the transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK to a second PUCCH slot based at least in part on determining whether the PUCCH resource at least partially overlaps in time with the at least one time period of cell DRX; deferring the transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK to a second PUCCH slot responsive to determining that the PUCCH resource at least partially overlaps in time with the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity; performing, responsive to determining that the PUCCH resource at least partially overlaps in time with the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity, a procedure to defer the transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK to a second PUCCH slot; and transmitting a deferred transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK in a second PUCCH resource in a second PUCCH slot (Babaei [0127-0129]).
As per claim 3, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine, based at least in part on the DRX timing information, a second PUCCH resource in a second PUCCH slot for the apparatus to transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK (Babaei [0127-0129]).
As per claim 4, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein determining the second PUCCH resource comprises at least one selected from a group of: determining the second PUCCH slot such that the second PUCCH resource in the second PUCCH slot does not coincide in time with the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei [0127-0129,0147,0163]); and determining the second PUCCH slot such that a time difference between a first PUCCH slot that the PUCCH resource is in and the second PUCCH slot does not exceed a threshold deferral time, and optionally wherein the threshold deferral time is based at least in part on a received maximum deferral time related to cell DRX inactive periods.
As per claim 5, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the apparatus is further caused to transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK using the second PUCCH resource in the second PUCCH slot (Babaei [0127-0129,0147,0163]).
As per claim 6, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK is deferred (Babaei [0127-0129]) and the deferred transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK is multiplexed with at least one selected from a group of: a HARQ-ACK (Babaei [0064,0088,0127-0129]); at least one further SPS HARQ-ACK (Babaei [0127-0129]); and an Uplink Control Information, UCI (Babaei [0064,0088,0127-0129]).
As per claim 7, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive configuration information for configuring the apparatus to perform an SPS HARQ-ACK DRX deferral procedure for deferring transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK based at least in part on the DRX timing information (Babaei [0064,0088,0117,0127-0129,0147,0163]).
As per claim 8, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PUCCH resource information is received by at least one from a group of: dedicated PUCCH resource configuration received from the RAN node (Babaei Fig. 11B and [0088]); PUCCH-ResourceSet (Babaei Fig. 11B and [0088]); and SPS-PUCCH-AN-List in PUCCH-Config, or by n1PUCCH-AN in SPS-Config (Babaei [0166]).
As per claim 9, Babaei discloses an apparatus (Babaei Fig. 15) comprising: at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15); and at least one memory storing instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15 and [0123]), cause the apparatus at least to: transmit, to a User Equipment (UE) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timing information, wherein the DRX timing information is indicative of at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei [0147] In an example, RRC may control DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle); drx-SlotOffset (e.g., the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer); drx-InactivityTimer (e.g., the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL transmission for the MAC entity); drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g. the maximum duration until a DL retransmission is received); drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received); drx-LongCycleStartOffset (e.g., the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which may define the subframe where the Long and Short DRX cycle starts); drx-ShortCycle (e.g., the Short DRX cycle); drx-ShortCycleTimer (e.g., the duration the UE may follow the Short DRX cycle); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g., the minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity). [0163] In an example, when DRX is configured, a DRX group may be in Active Time. If the PDCCH indicates a new transmission (DL or UL) on a Serving Cell in this DRX group: the MAC entity may start or restart drx-InactivityTimer for this DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PDCCH reception.); transmit, to the UE, Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource information, wherein the PUCCH resource information is indicative of a PUCCH resource for the UE to transmit a Semi-Persistent Scheduling Hybrid Automatic Repeat request Acknowledgment (SPS HARQ-ACK) (Babaei [0127] In an example and for TDD configurations, dropping of SPS HARQ feedback due to collision/overlap of scheduled HARQ feedback transmission via PUCCH with at least one DL or flexible symbol (e.g., determined based on slot format) may be avoided. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a HARQ feedback may be deferred until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH. In an example, to address SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD systems, a one-shot/Type-3 codebook type may be dynamically triggered. [0129] In an example, SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be jointly configured per PUCCH cell group. Any SPS HARQ-ACK within a PUCCH cell group may be subject to deferral. In an example, the SPS HARQ-ACK deferral may be configured per SPS configuration. See also [0086]); and control, based at least in part on the DRX timing information and the PCCH resource information, a reception of the SPS HARQ-ACK from the UE (Babaei [0127,0129,0147,0163]).
As per claim 10, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein controlling the reception of the SPS HARQ-ACK comprises: determining, based at least in part on the DRX timing information, a second PUCCH resource for receiving the SPS HARQ-ACK from the UE (Babaei [0127-0129]).
As per claim 11, Babaei discloses an apparatus (Babaei Fig. 15) comprising: at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15); and at least one memory storing instruction that, when executed by the at least one processor (Babaei Fig. 15 and [0123]), cause the apparatus at least to: determine Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timing information, wherein the DRX timing information is indicative of at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei [0147] In an example, RRC may control DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer (e.g., the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle); drx-SlotOffset (e.g., the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer); drx-InactivityTimer (e.g., the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new UL or DL transmission for the MAC entity); drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g. the maximum duration until a DL retransmission is received); drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received); drx-LongCycleStartOffset (e.g., the Long DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which may define the subframe where the Long and Short DRX cycle starts); drx-ShortCycle (e.g., the Short DRX cycle); drx-ShortCycleTimer (e.g., the duration the UE may follow the Short DRX cycle); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process, e.g., the minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity); drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process, e.g., the minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity). [0163] In an example, when DRX is configured, a DRX group may be in Active Time. If the PDCCH indicates a new transmission (DL or UL) on a Serving Cell in this DRX group: the MAC entity may start or restart drx-InactivityTimer for this DRX group in the first symbol after the end of the PDCCH reception.); and control a repetition of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) transmission based at least in part on the DRX timing information (Babaei [0127,0129,0139,0147,0163]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei as applied to claims 1-11 above, and further in view of US 2022/0321277 A1 to Babaei (hereinafter “Babaei2”).
As per claim 12, Babaei discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein controlling repetition of the PUCCH transmission comprises: determining a plurality of PUCCH slots for the repetition of the PUCCH transmission such that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of PUCCH slots is not contemporaneous with the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity, and repeating transmission of the PUCCH transmission using the plurality of PUCCH slots.
Babaei may not explicitly disclose, but Babaei2, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein controlling repetition of the PUCCH transmission comprises: determining a plurality of PUCCH slots for the repetition of the PUCCH transmission such that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of PUCCH slots is not contemporaneous with the at least one time period of cell DRX inactivity (Babaei2 [0274]), and repeating transmission of the PUCCH transmission using the plurality of PUCCH slots (Babaei2 [0274]). The purpose of Babaei is to enhance processes for a wireless device and/or one or more base stations in particular related to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or configured grants (Babaei2 [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei2 with Babaei, to enhance processes for a wireless device and/or one or more base stations in particular related to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or configured grants (Babaei2 [0062]).
As per claim 13, Babaei and Babaei2 disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein determining the plurality of PUCCH slots further comprises determining the plurality of PUCCH slots such that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of PUCCH slots is not contemporaneous with semi-static DL or SSB symbols.
Babaei may not explicitly disclose, but Babaei2, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses determining the plurality of PUCCH slots further comprises determining the plurality of PUCCH slots such that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of PUCCH slots is not contemporaneous with semi-static DL or SSB symbols (Babaei2 [0274], Fig. 11B and Fig. 32). The purpose of Babaei is to enhance processes for a wireless device and/or one or more base stations in particular related to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or configured grants (Babaei2 [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei2 with Babaei, to enhance processes for a wireless device and/or one or more base stations in particular related to hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) and/or discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or configured grants (Babaei2 [0062]).
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476