DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Publication 2022/0199326).
In re claim 1, Kim discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a capacitor body (110 – Figure 2, ¶38) that includes a dielectric layer (111 – Figure 2, ¶38) and an internal electrode layer (121, 122 – Figure 2, ¶38); and
an external electrode (131, 132 – Figure 2, ¶38) that is disposed outside the capacitor body (110 – Figure 2), wherein the dielectric layer includes a plurality of dielectric grains (10a ,10b, 10c – Figure 5, ¶38), and at least one dielectric grain (10a – Figure 6) among the plurality of dielectric grains includes a core portion (C – Figure 6, ¶38) and a shell portion (S1, S2 – Figure 6, ¶38) surrounding at least a portion of the core portion (Figure 6), wherein the shell portion includes a barium titanate-based primary component including barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) and a secondary component including tin (Sn) (¶49), wherein the shell portion comprises a Sn concentrated region including tin (Sn) and a Sn non-concentrated region including tin (Sn) at an atom% less than an atom% of tin (Sn) in the Sn concentrated region (See TEM-EDS analysis shown in Figure 9, ¶144), and wherein an atomic ratio of tin (Sn) included in the Sn concentrated region to tin (Sn) included in the Sn non-concentrated region is 2.0 to 6.0 (¶53-54, Figure 9; Note that the TEM-EDS analysis measures changes in atomic% of the element Sn and displayed as intensity. There are multiple concentration regions within the shell, including a first concentrated region that has over a double intensity, but less than six times, of a second non-concentrated region.).
In re claim 2, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the shell portion (a portion within S1, S2 – Figure 6) is a region from an outermost portion of the at least one dielectric grain to a depth of 15 nm to 25 nm inside the at least one dielectric grain (Figure 9; See the first 25 nm of the ‘Position’ within the graph displayed in Figure 9.).
In re claim 3, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein, in transmission electron microscope (TEM)-energy dispersion spectroscopy (EDS) line analysis of a straight-line section from one outermost point of the at least one dielectric grain to another outermost point of the at least one dielectric grain across a center of the at least one dielectric grain, the Sn concentrated region has a peak with the highest atom% of tin (Sn) (¶54, Figure 9).
In re claim 5, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein a length of the Sn concentrated region is 40% to 100% of a long axis length of the at least one dielectric grain (Figure 9, Table 1: Test No.4; Note that the Examiner can take the LS1 region to be the Sn concentrated region. This translates into 42.6% of the length of the dielectric grain.).
In re claim 6, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the plurality of dielectric grains includes 30 to 50 dielectric grains, and the Sn concentrated region is included in 30% to 100% of the 30 to 50 dielectric grains (¶78-79; Note that the Examiner is taking the plurality of dielectric grains to be all of the dielectric grains.).
In re claim 8, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the core portion (C – Figure 6) includes the barium titanate-based primary component including barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) (¶48).
In re claim 9, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein tin (Sn) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole based on 100 parts by mole of the barium titanate-based primary component within the shell portion (¶63).
In re claim 10, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the secondary component further includes dysprosium (Dy), terbium (Tb), manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), barium (Ba), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), or a combination thereof (¶47; The secondary component is Ca.).
In re claim 11, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein within the shell portion, based on 100 parts by mole of the barium titanate-based primary component, dysprosium (Dy) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, terbium (Tb) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, manganese (Mn) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, vanadium (V) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, barium (Ba) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, silicon (Si) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, aluminum (Al) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, calcium (Ca) is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, or a combination thereof (¶63).
In re claim 13, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
preparing a dielectric slurry by mixing a barium titanate-based primary component powder and a secondary component powder including a tin (Sn)-containing compound (¶75-76, ¶107);
manufacturing a dielectric green sheet from the dielectric slurry and forming a conductive paste layer on a surface of the dielectric green sheet (¶107, ¶109);
manufacturing a dielectric green sheet laminate by laminating a plurality of the dielectric green sheets on which the conductive paste layer is formed (¶94, Figure 4);
manufacturing a capacitor body including a dielectric layer and an internal electrode layer (121, 122 – Figure 4) by firing the dielectric green sheet laminate (¶107);
and forming an external electrode (131, 132 – Figure 2) on one surface of the capacitor body (110 – Figure 2) (¶122),
wherein the dielectric layer (111 – Figure 2) includes a plurality of dielectric grains (10a, 10b, 10c – Figure 5), and at least one of the dielectric grains includes a core portion (C – Figure 5) and a shell portion (portion of S1, S1 – Figure 6) surrounding at least a portion of the core portion (Figure 6), wherein the shell portion includes a barium titanate-based primary component including barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) and a secondary component including tin (Sn) (¶49), wherein the shell portion comprises a Sn concentrated region including tin (Sn) and a Sn non-concentrated region including tin (Sn) at an atom% less than an atom% of tin (Sn) in the Sn concentrated region, and wherein an atomic ratio of tin (Sn) included in the Sn concentrated region to tin (Sn) included in the Sn non-concentrated region is 2.0 to 6.0 (¶53-54, Figure 9; Note that the TEM-EDS analysis measures changes in atomic% of the element Sn and displayed as intensity. There are multiple concentration regions within the shell, including a first concentrated region that has over a double intensity, but less than six times, of a second non-concentrated region.).
In re claim 14, Kim discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the tin (Sn)-containing compound is mixed in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole based on 100 parts by mole of the barium titanate-based primary component powder (¶63).
In re claim 15, Kim discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein the secondary component powder further includes dysprosium (Dy), terbium (Tb), manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), barium (Ba), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), or a combination thereof (¶47; The secondary component is Ca.).
In re claim 16, Kim discloses the method of claim 15, as explained above. Kim further discloses wherein, based on 100 parts by mole of the barium titanate-based primary component powder, the dysprosium (Dy)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the terbium (Tb)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the manganese (Mn)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the vanadium (V)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the barium (Ba)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the silicon (Si)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the aluminum (Al)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, the calcium (Ca)-containing compound is included in an amount of 0.01 parts by mole to 5 parts by mole, or a combination thereof (¶63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication 2022/0199326).
In re claim 7, Kim does not disclose wherein an average grain size of the at least one dielectric grain is 80 nm to 160 nm. However, Kim discloses adjusting the average grain size of the dielectric grain is a balance between a change in dielectric constant and risk of capacitance change rate (¶80-81: Kim). It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the average dielectric grain size to obtain a device having a desired balance between change in dielectric constant and risk of capacitance change rate according toa temperature and DC voltage increase, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication 2022/0199326) in view of Jeon et al. (US Publication 2023/0207212).
In re claim 12, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Kim does not disclose wherein the secondary component further includes dysprosium (Dy).
Jeon discloses wherein the secondary component further includes dysprosium (Dy) (¶73).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the secondary component of Dy as described by Jeon to improve moisture reliability and electrical characteristics of the electronic component (¶71: Jeon).
In re claim 19, Kim discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Kim does not disclose wherein the secondary component powder further includes a dysprosium (Dy)-containing compound.
Jeon discloses wherein the secondary component further includes dysprosium (Dy) (¶73).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the secondary component of Dy as described by Jeon to improve moisture reliability and electrical characteristics of the electronic component (¶71: Jeon).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Publication 2022/0199326) in view of Taniguchi (US Publication 2009/0073635).
In re claim 17, Kim discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Kim does not disclose wherein the dielectric green sheet laminate is fired at a firing temperature of more than 1160 °C to 1220 °C or less.
Taniguchi discloses wherein the dielectric green sheet laminate is fired at a firing temperature of more than 1160 °C to 1220 °C or less (¶73).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the firing conditions of Taniguchi to simultaneously fire the chip to a desired densification.
In re claim 19, Kim discloses the method of claim 13, as explained above. Kim does not disclose wherein the dielectric green sheet laminate is fired in an atmosphere having a hydrogen (H2) concentration of 1.0% or less.
Taniguchi discloses wherein the dielectric green sheet laminate is fired in an atmosphere having a hydrogen (H2) concentration of 1.0% or less (¶73).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the firing conditions of Taniguchi to simultaneously fire the chip to a desired densification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) wherein the Sn non-concentrated region includes tin (Sn) in an amount of 0.8 atom% or less based on a total amount of elements in the shell portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al. (US Publication 2022/0375688) Figure 5, Figure 7
Kim et al. (US Publication 2018/0130601) [¶61]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848