DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/620,189 application filed 28 March 2024, which is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “oxidation zone” in claims 1 and 20; “dry sorbent injection zone” in claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10; “selective catalytic reaction zone” in claims 1 and 11; “wet scrubber zone” in claims 1 and 12; “ion exchange zone” in claims 1 and 16-17; and a filtration zone in claims 9 and 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For example, an oxidation zone has been interpreted as “containing at least one reactor vessel” as recited in paragraph 0030 of the published application; a selective catalytic reaction zone has been interpreted as comprising a reactor as disclosed in paragraph 0066 of the published application [“The reactor in the selective catalytic reaction zone…]; an ion exchange zone has been interpreted as “a medium, typically a resin, that selectively removes ions” as disclosed in paragraph 0055 of the published application]; and a filtration zone has been interpreted as comprising a filter “and/or an electrostatic precipitator (ESP)” as disclosed in paragraph 0063 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the thermal oxidation zone" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Perhaps claim 2 should recite "the thermal oxidation zone in claims 4 and 15.
Claim 2 recites “…between 90 to 99.9999% of the PFAS in the feed stream is thermally oxidized in the thermal oxidation zone.” It is unclear what the basis of the percentage is; consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined.
Claim 10 recites “recycling the residue stream to the dry sorbent injection zone as at least a portion of the reactant.” The residue stream is obtained from the filtration zone, which is part of the dry sorbent injection zone [see claim 9]. Thus, it appears that the residue stream is recycled to the same zone from which it is derived, which raises the question as to whether the residue stream is actually recycled since there is no need to recycle it. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention cannot be determined.
Claim limitations “dry sorbent injection zone” and “wet scrubber zone” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure(s) that perform(s) the function in the claim. Particularly, with respect to the wet scrubber zone, the disclosure states “[t]he treatment zone may include the wet scrubber zone, and the process may also include mixing an aqueous caustic stream with the oxidation effluent to provide the treated effluent…The process may include separating the treated effluent into a liquid stream and a vent gas stream” [paragraph 0014]. It is not clear the extent to which one might infer the necessary structures of the wet scrubber zone based on the processes that may be included that are discussed in the aforementioned paragraph. Therefore, claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman et al (US 11,339,337).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 6, and 9, Newman et al discloses “methods to eliminate PFAS from wastewater biosolids through fluidized bed gasification. The gasifier decomposes the PFAS in the biosolids at temperatures of 900-1800° F. Synthesis gas (syngas) exits the gasifier which is coupled to a thermal oxidizer and is combusted at temperatures of 1600-2600° F. This decomposes PFAS in the syngas and creates flue gas. Heat can be recovered from the flue gas by cooling the flue gas to temperatures of 400-1200° F. in a heat exchanger that is coupled with the thermal oxidizer. Cooled flue gas is mixed with hydrated lime, enhancing PFAS decomposition, with the spent lime filtered from the cooled flue gas using a filter system that may incorporate catalyst impregnated filter elements” [abstract], wherein the cooled flue gas corresponds to the oxidation effluent of the instant application and the hydrated lime and/or filter system corresponds to the dry sorbent [see column 4, lines 10-11: “…with hydrated lime or other calcium-based sorbent.” See, also, column 5, lines 26-27, column 8, lines 2-6: “[i]n the depicted example, lime is injected into the filter unit duct 150 at the exit from the heat exchanger 145. The spent sorbent is removed in the filter unit 155 and the filtered cooled flue gas released through the exhaust 160…” and column 9, lines 57-59: “…a dry sorbent injection system utilizing lime or hydrated lime with a catalyst impregnated filter.”]. The aforementioned lime injected into the filter unit duct corresponds to the dry sorbent injection zone. Additionally, lime may correspond to the reactant of instant claim 6 since the reference teaches “[t]he calcium in the lime will react with the fluorine in the PFAS to break down the more stable chain substances to allow for formation of hydrogenated, rather than fluorinated, alkanes which are much less stable and can be more easily decomposed” [column 6, lines 35-39].
With respect to claim 4, Newman et al discloses a residence time of 1-5 seconds [see, e.g., column 3, lines 57-60].
With respect to claim 5, the teaching of cooling the flue gas to temperatures of 400-1200° F. in a heat exchanger corresponds to the cooling step of the instant claim.
With respect to claim 8, see the second heat exchanger 145 downstream of filter 155 [figure 2].
With respect to claims 12 and 13, the hydrated lime (Ca(OH)2), also known as caustic lime, corresponds to the aqueous caustic stream.
With respect to claim 20, see first heat exchanger 145 upstream of hydrated lime addition in figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al (US 11,339,337).
With respect to claim 2, while Newman et al does not appear to explicitly the percentage of PFAS removal in the thermal oxidation zone, it is obvious to remove as much PFAS from wastewater biosolids as economically or financially possible. Additionally, since the thermal oxidizer conditions of Newman et al are the same as or similar to those of the instant application (see, e.g., the combustion temperature discussed above), it is expected that the percentage of PFAS removal in the thermal oxidation zone is the same or similar as well, absent evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10-11, and 14-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 7, the aforementioned spent lime (or sorbent) does not appear to be regenerated, let alone recycled; instead, the reference merely teaches “…spent lime is removed in the filter unit” [see, e.g., claim 1]; Newman et al further discloses “[t]he calcium in the lime will react with the fluorine in the PFAS to break down the more stable chain substances to allow for formation of hydrogenated, rather than fluorinated, alkanes…” and “[t]he mixing of any remaining PFAS compounds in the flue gas and passing through the filter cake of lime in the filter device used to remove the spent lime from the gas stream provides a final polishing step whereby the calcium in the lime can attack the fluorine bonds in the PFAS. This reaction…” Consequently, one may infer that the reaction product of lime and the fluorine in PFAS compounds yields CaF2, which is the principal source of hydrogen fluoride, a commodity chemical used to produce a wide range of materials. Moreover, CaF2 is used to manufacture optical components such as windows and lenses, used in thermal imaging systems, spectroscopy, telescopes, and excimer lasers (used for photolithography in the form of a fused lens); it is not clear that it would be obvious to convert CaF2 to lime (i.e., regenerate lime) and recycle to the process instead of selling CaF2 as a commodity for the production of HF and/or optical components. With respect to claim 11, contact with lime occurs upstream of the filter 155 rather than downstream; thus, if there was an embodiment in which contact with lime corresponds to the selective catalytic reaction zone, the zone does not receive a vent or flue gas from filter 155; with respect to claim 14, the reference does not teach a liquid stream; instead, see, e.g., the teaching in column 10, lines 20-25; with respect to claim 17, Newman et al does not teach the ion exchange zone or carbon bed or sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al in the Journal of Hazardous Materials (2011, vol 192, pp 1067-1071), which discloses “[t]he results of the thermogravimetry and differential scanning calorimetry analyses indicate that PFOS gasified directly during the thermal treatment process when the temperature was increased to around 425 °C. However, the formation of CaF2 at 350 °C suggests that the presence of Ca(OH)2 in the mixture can lead to the decomposition of PFOS at 350 °C, which is lower than the decomposition temperature of PFOS alone (425 °C). The increase of temperature promoted a solid state reaction between PFOS and Ca(OH)2, and also enhanced the interaction between the gaseous products of PFOS and CaO (or Ca(OH)2)…a significant formation of CaF2 was observed at temperatures 350 and 400 °C, which indicates the effective solid state interaction between Ca(OH)2 and PFOS. The formation of CaF2 at these two temperatures suggest that Ca(OH)2 triggered the decomposition of PFOS at a temperature lower than its gasification temperature (425 °C).”
/BRIAN A MCCAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772
28 August 2026