DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI (Pub. No.: US 2023/0284183A1).
With respect to claim 1:
LI discloses a method for transmitting a paging early indication (PEI), comprising: receiving, by a terminal, a first PEI from a network device, the first PEI being configured to indicate whether the terminal receives paging indication information on a first paging occasion (PO) in a first PO group (parag. 0006-0013 and 0017 discloses terminal obtains PEI information where the PEI information is used to determine and indicate first content).
With respect to claims 2:
LI discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the terminal, a first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI; wherein receiving, by the terminal, the first PEI from the network device comprises: receiving, by the terminal, the first PEI from the network device on the first time domain resource; wherein determining, by the terminal, the first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI comprises: determining, by the terminal, the first time domain resource based on time domain resources occupied by the first PO group and a positional relationship between time domain resources occupied by PO groups and time domain resources occupied by transmitting PEIs (parag. 0064 and 0079).
With respect to claims 5, 18:
LI discloses the method wherein the first PO group comprises part or all of POs within a first paging frame (PF) in which the first PO is located; or the first PO group comprises part or all of POs within a transmission cycle of a first SSB burst set in which the first PO is located; or the first PO group comprises part or all of POs within a first paging cycle in which the first PO is located; or the first PO group comprises part or all of POs within a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle in which the first PO is located (parag. 0037, 0059-0060 discloses POs within a transmission cycle of a first SSB burst set in which the first PO is located).
With respect to claims 6, 19:
LI discloses the method wherein a number of PFs in which a PO in the first PO group is located is M, and M is a positive integer; or a number of SSB burst sets in which the PO in the first PO group is located is P, and P is a positive integer; or a number of paging cycles in which the PO in the first PO group is located is Q, and Q is a positive integer; or a number of DRX cycles in which the PO in the first PO group is located is K, and K is a positive integer (parag. 0033, 0038 and 0075).
With respect to claim 7:
LI discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first PO group comprises one or more Pos (parag. 0035 and 0039).
With respect to claim 8:
LI discloses a method for transmitting a paging early indication (PEI), comprising: sending, by a network device, a first PEI to a terminal, the first PEI being configured to indicate whether the terminal receives paging indication information on a first paging occasion (PO) in a first PO group (parag. 0006-0013 and 0017 discloses terminal obtains PEI information where the PEI information is used to determine and indicate first content).
With respect to claim 9:
LI discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining, by the network device, a first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI; wherein sending, by the network device, the first PEI to the terminal comprises: sending, by the network device, the first PEI to the terminal on the first time domain resource; wherein determining, by the network device, the first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI comprises: determining, by the network device, the first time domain resource based on time domain resources occupied by the first PO group and a positional relationship between time domain resources occupied by PO groups and time domain resources occupied by transmitting PEIs (parag. 0064 and 0079).
With respect to claim 11:
LI discloses a terminal, comprising: a memory (fig. 7, item 1202), a processor (fig. 7, item 1204) and a communication interface (parag. 0016 discloses interface), wherein the memory is configured to store a program (parag. 0127) and the processor is configured to call the program in the memory to cause the terminal to: receive a first paging early indication (PEI) from a network device, the first PEI being configured to indicate whether the terminal receives paging indication information on a first paging occasion (PO) in a first PO group (parag. 0006-0013 and 0017 discloses terminal obtains PEI information where the PEI information is used to determine and indicate first content).
With respect to claim 12:
LI discloses the terminal wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI; and receive the first PEI from the network device on the first time domain resource; wherein the processor is configured to determine the first time domain resource based on time domain resources occupied by the first PO group and a positional relationship between time domain resources occupied by PO groups and time domain resources occupied by transmitting PEIs (parag. 0137).
With respect to claim 15:
LI discloses a network device, comprising: a memory (fig. 7, item 1202), a processor (fig. 7, item 1204) and a communication interface (parag. 0016), wherein the memory is configured to store a program (parag. 0127), and the processor is configured to call the program in the memory to cause the network device to: send a first PEI to a terminal, the first PEI being configured to indicate whether the terminal receives paging indication information on a first paging occasion (PO) in a PO group (parag. 0006-0013 and 0017 discloses terminal obtains PEI information where the PEI information is used to determine and indicate first content).
With respect to claim 16:
LI discloses the network device of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a first time domain resource occupied by transmitting the first PEI; and send the first PEI to the terminal on the first time domain resource; wherein the processor is configured to determine the first time domain resource based on time domain resources occupied by the first PO group and a positional relationship between time domain resources occupied by PO groups and time domain resources occupied by transmitting PEIs (parag. 0064 and 0079).
With respect to claim 20:
LI discloses the network device of claim 15, wherein the first PO group comprises one or more Pos (parag. 0048-0049).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649