Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant associated with an SPS downlink data resource; receiving, in a slot in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication, an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource, wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release; and transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH, and not the first HARQ-ACK.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA), also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 in view of Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153204 A1), hereafter referred to as Takeda. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; wherein the UE is configured to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant associated with an SPS downlink data resource; receive, in a slot in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication, an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource, wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release; and transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH, and not the first HARQ-ACK.
Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 fails to recite one or more memories in communication with the one or more processors.
Takeda teaches one or more memories in communication with the one or more processors (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the limitations of claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 since Takeda provides a technique for utilizing memory to store programs for operating on processors, which can be introduced into the limitations in claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 to permit memory to contain programs for operations of processors.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 in view of Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153204 A1), hereafter referred to as Takeda. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both conflicting claims recite a user equipment (UE) to cause the UE to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant associated with an SPS downlink data resource; receive, in a slot in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication, an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource, wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release; and transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH, and not the first HARQ-ACK.
Claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 fails to recite A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, wherein the program code is executable by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE).
Takeda teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, wherein the program code is executable by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takeda with the limitations of claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 since Takeda provides a technique for utilizing memory to store programs for operating on processors, which can be introduced into the limitations in claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,209 to permit memory to contain programs for operations of processors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 4, Claim 4 recites: “the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication” (emphasis added). It is unclear how user equipment performs expectations. In other words, it is unclear how user equipment can have the mental capacity to expect, or to not expect, an occurrence. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate: the UE does not store a communication schedule to receive the SPS downlink data communication.
In regard to Claim 12, Claim 12 recites: “the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication” (emphasis added). It is unclear how user equipment performs expectations. In other words, it is unclear how user equipment can have the mental capacity to expect, or to not expect, an occurrence. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate: the UE does not store a communication schedule to receive the SPS downlink data communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153204 A1), hereafter referred to as Takeda.
In regard to Claim 1, Takeda teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B), the method comprising: receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receiving, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 3, Takeda teaches the receiving the SPS grant comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 5, Takeda teaches the receiving the SPS release comprises receiving a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 6, Takeda teaches the receiving the DCI comprises receiving the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 7, Takeda teaches the SPS downlink data resource comprises an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH,” and the like), Para. 37. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 9, Takeda teaches A user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B), comprising: one or more processors (processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8); and one or more memories in communication with the one or more processors (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8), wherein the UE is configured to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receive, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 11, Takeda teaches the UE configured to receive the SPS grant comprises the UE configured to receive downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 13, Takeda teaches the UE configured to receive the SPS release comprises the UE configured to receive a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 14, Takeda teaches the UE is configured to receive the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 15, Takeda teaches the SPS downlink data resource comprises an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH,” and the like), Para. 37. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 17, Takeda teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, wherein the program code is executable by one or more processors (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8) of a user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) to cause the UE to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receive, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 18, Takeda teaches the program code causing the UE to receive the SPS grant comprises program code causing the UE to receive downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 19, Takeda teaches the program code causing the UE to receive the SPS release comprises program code causing the UE to receive a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B), and wherein the program code causing the UE to receive the DCI comprises program code causing the UE to receive the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 10, 12, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200252168 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the SPS grant.
Takeda fails to teach the SPS grant indicates a periodicity.
Kim teaches the SPS grant indicates a periodicity (The RRC message for configuring the DL SPS may include information (e.g., periodicity, subframe offset) indicating time resources in which the SPS PDSCH is allocated, Para. 495, 515).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the SPS release.
Takeda fails to teach in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication.
Kim teaches in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication (the release of the SPS DL data channel (e.g., semi-statically assigned DL data channel). When the DL control channel indicating the release of the SPS DL data channel is received, the terminal may generate the HARQ response based on a resource for receiving the SPS DL data channel, Para. 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the SPS grant.
Takeda fails to teach the SPS grant indicates a periodicity.
Kim teaches the SPS grant indicates a periodicity (The RRC message for configuring the DL SPS may include information (e.g., periodicity, subframe offset) indicating time resources in which the SPS PDSCH is allocated, Para. 495, 515).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the SPS release.
Takeda fails to teach in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication.
Kim teaches in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE does not expect to receive the SPS downlink data communication (the release of the SPS DL data channel (e.g., semi-statically assigned DL data channel). When the DL control channel indicating the release of the SPS DL data channel is received, the terminal may generate the HARQ response based on a resource for receiving the SPS DL data channel, Para. 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220191900 A1) teaches the SPS grant indicates a periodicity of Claim 3 (Each piece of SPS configuration information may include information indicating a periodicity shorter than one slot, Para. 82), and teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook of Claim 8 (In NR, one or more HARQ-ACKs may be mapped to a HARQ-ACK codebook, and the HARQ-ACK codebook may be transmitted on a PUCCH resource instructed by predetermined DCI, Para. 69).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
2-21-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477