The amendment filed 6/1/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210153204 A1), hereafter referred to as Takeda.
In regard to Claim 1, Takeda teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B), the method comprising: receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receiving, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 3, Takeda teaches the receiving the SPS grant comprises receiving downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 5, Takeda teaches the receiving the SPS release comprises receiving a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 6, Takeda teaches the receiving the DCI comprises receiving the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 7, Takeda teaches the SPS downlink data resource comprises an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH,” and the like), Para. 37. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 9, Takeda teaches A user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B), comprising: one or more antennas (transmitting/receiving antennas 101 (201) may be implemented by the communication apparatus 1004, Para. 155, FIGS. 6, 8); and a processing system that includes one or more processors (processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8) and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8), the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receive, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 11, Takeda teaches, for the UE to receive the SPS grant, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 13, Takeda teaches, for the UE to receive the SPS release, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 14, Takeda teaches the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 15, Takeda teaches the SPS downlink data resource comprises an SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH,” and the like), Para. 37. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 17, Takeda teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon, wherein the program code is executable by one or more processors (control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001, Para. 152, FIG. 8) of a user equipment (UE) (a UE, Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) to cause the UE to: receive a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (a base station configures semi-static HARQ-ACK codebook and SPS for a UE (Step S101), thereafter performs SPS PDSCH activation (Step S102), Para. 69, FIGS. 2A, 2B) associated with an SPS downlink data resource (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. The mapping section 303 maps the downlink signals generated in the transmission signal generation section 302 to certain radio resources, Para. 113, FIG. 5).
Takeda teaches receive, in a slot (in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1) in the SPS downlink data resource scheduled for an SPS downlink data communication (For the UE, a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIG. 1. SPS for downlink data (which may be referred to as “DL SPS,” a “SPS PDSCH”), Para. 37, FIG. 1. FIG. 1 shows DL Scheduling), an SPS release for the SPS downlink data resource (A user terminal includes a receiving section that receives downlink control information for releasing semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a downlink shared channel, Para. 10. An SPS PDSCH release, Para. 38, FIG. 1), wherein a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is scheduled (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27) for providing a first hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the SPS downlink data communication (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1) and a second HARQ-ACK for the SPS release (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
Takeda teaches transmit, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2, Para. 39, FIG. 1), the second HARQ-ACK (transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs, Para. 64, FIG. 1) in the PUCCH (transmit a generated HARQ-ACK by using an uplink control channel (PUCCH (Physical Uplink Control Channel)), Para. 27), and not the first HARQ-ACK (the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH, Para. 64, FIG. 1).
In regard to Claim 18, Takeda teaches the program code causing the UE to receive the SPS grant comprises program code causing the UE to receive downlink control information (DCI) activating the SPS downlink data resource (a cyclic resource for SPS may be configured through higher layer signaling, and at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be activated by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
In regard to Claim 19, Takeda teaches the program code causing the UE to receive the SPS release comprises program code causing the UE to receive a DCI in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the slot (at least one of transmission and reception using the resource may be deactivated (released) by downlink control information (DCI) reported by using a PDCCH, Para. 34, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B), and wherein the program code causing the UE to receive the DCI comprises program code causing the UE to receive the DCI prior to an end of a last symbol of the SPS downlink data resource (The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2. The UE receives, in slot #2, a PDSCH, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2A, 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200252168 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the SPS grant.
Takeda fails to teach the SPS grant indicates a periodicity.
Kim teaches the SPS grant indicates a periodicity (The RRC message for configuring the DL SPS may include information (e.g., periodicity, subframe offset) indicating time resources in which the SPS PDSCH is allocated, Para. 495, 515).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the SPS grant.
Takeda fails to teach the SPS grant indicates a periodicity.
Kim teaches the SPS grant indicates a periodicity (The RRC message for configuring the DL SPS may include information (e.g., periodicity, subframe offset) indicating time resources in which the SPS PDSCH is allocated, Para. 495, 515).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Takeda teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK.
Takeda fails to teach the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook.
Kim teaches the first HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK are associated with a same HARQ-ACK codebook (One HARQ response codebook including the HARQ response #1 and the HARQ response #2 may be generated, and the one HARQ response codebook may be multiplexed in the UL data channel, Para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Takeda since Kim provides a technique for conveying detailed information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Shin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220123885 A1), hereafter referred to as Shin.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Takeda teaches the SPS release.
Takeda fails to teach in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE will not detect the SPS downlink data communication.
Shin teaches in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE will not detect the SPS downlink data communication (after receiving the SPS release DCI (with SPS-C-RNTI), the terminal may not detect the SPS activation, Para. 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with the teachings of Takeda since Shin provides a technique involving receptions of information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 9, Takeda teaches the SPS release.
Takeda fails to teach in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE will not receive the SPS downlink data communication.
Shin teaches in response to receiving the SPS release in the slot, the UE will not receive the SPS downlink data communication (after receiving the SPS release DCI (with SPS-C-RNTI), the terminal may not detect the SPS activation, Para. 435).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin with the teachings of Takeda since Shin provides a technique involving receptions of information related to semi-persistent scheduling, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Takeda to permit detailed information of semi-persistent scheduling channels to be intercommunicated between base stations and user equipment.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 6/1/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting Rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Double Patenting Rejections have been withdrawn.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 6/1/2026, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been withdrawn.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that TAKEDA does not disclose each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, TAKEDA does not disclose "transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH, and not the first HARQ-ACK," as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Takeda teaches in Para. 64 and FIG. 1: “In other words, the UE may normally transmit one HARQ-ACK bit for a unicast PDSCH while transmitting two HARQ-ACK bits when an SPS PDSCH release occurs” (emphasis added). A transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda is substantively the same as a first HARQ-ACK of Claim 1. A transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda is substantively the same as a second HARQ-ACK of Claim 1. A transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda is different from a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda, and as a result, a UE of Takeda performing a transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits instead of a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit, is substantively the same as a transmitting the second HARQ-ACK, and not the first HARQ-ACK of Claim 1.
Takeda teaches in Para. 39 and FIG. 1: “The UE receives a PDCCH for an SPS PDSCH release in slot #2” (emphasis added). Takeda shows this in FIG. 1 as a PDCCH FOR SPS PDSCH RELEASE, and that this occurs in SLOT #2. As a result, a UE of Takeda transmitting, when an SPS PDSCH release occurs in slot #2, a two HARQ-ACK bits transmission, and not a one HARQ-ACK bit transmission, is substantively the same as a transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQ-ACK in the PUCCH, and not the first HARQ-ACK of Claim 1.
Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that Therefore, TAKEDA, as cited, discloses, when receiving both a downlink data communication (i.e., PDSCH) and an SPS release (i.e., SPS PDSCH release) in the same slot, transmitting both a first HARQ-ACK bit for downlink data communication (i.e., one of the two HARQ-ACK bits for the unicast PDSCH) and a second HARQ-ACK bit for SPS release (i.e., the other of the two HARQ-ACK bits for the SPS PD SCH release). This argument is not persuasive. Takeda does not teach that a transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits is two different HARQ-ACK transmissions, and Takeda does not separate a transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits into two different HARQ-ACK transmissions. The fact that a HARQ-ACK transmission comprises two bits does not require that that the HARQ-ACK transmission is two separate HARQ-ACK transmissions. A transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda is substantively the same as a first HARQ-ACK of Claim 1, and a transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda, which is made only after an SPS PDSCH release occurs, is substantively the same as a second HARQ-ACK of Claim 1. If there features in the Specification of the Application that require each bit in a HARQ-ACK transmission to be a separate HARQ-ACK, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Although TAKEDA contemplates HARQ-ACK response after receiving a downlink data communication and an SPS release in the same slot, transmitting both a first HARQ-ACK bit for downlink data communication and a second HARQ-ACK bit for SPS release in TAKEDA does not disclose "transmitting, based on receiving the SPS release in the slot, the second HARQACK in the PUCCH," the second HARQ ACK being for the SPS release, "and not the first HARQ-ACK," the first HARQ ACK being for the SPS downlink data communication, as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. A transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda is different from a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda. A transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda carrying information that can also be in a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda, does not preclude that fact that the transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda carries additional information not in the transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda. A transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda provides HARQ-ACK information for an SPS PDSCH release occurrence, which is not provided from a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda. As a result, a transmission of two HARQ-ACK bits of Takeda is substantively the same as a second HARQ-ACK of Claim 1, and a transmission of one HARQ-ACK bit of Takeda is substantively the same as a first HARQ-ACK of Claim 1. If there features in the Specification of the Application that require each bit in a HARQ-ACK transmission to be a separate HARQ-ACK, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
7-24-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477