DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1, 20-25, 27 and 29-39 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 4/23/25.
Claim 21 stands withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1, 21-25, 27 and 29-39 are under consideration in the instant application.
4. Applicant’s submission of IDS filed on 8/11/25 has been acknowledged.
5. The following rejection remains.
8. Claims 1, 21-25, 27 and 29-39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub 2013/0338344 (of record) in view of WO2019/224843 (of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 5/9/25.
The ‘344 publication teaches purification of monoclonal antibody using anion exchange chromatography in addition to cation exchange, protein A affinity chromatography with buffer at pH 7.5 (p. 2-5, 10-12). The protein concentration is about 50 to 500g/L ([0015]) using large batch and claim 22 is included in this rejection. In addition, the wash or elution buffer concentration is about 50mM with conductivity of about 5mS/cm (p. 3, Table 1, 2 p. 12). Further, the ‘344 publication teaches use of anionic exchange column using Poros XQ with linear gradient of buffer (Figures) and the buffer includes NaCl, sodium phosphate with column volume of 5-20CV (Examples).
The disclosure of the ‘344 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use 344 CTLA4-IgG1 fusion protein as inn claims 1 and 23 of the instant application.
The ‘843 publication teaches use of CTLA4-Ig using protein A in addition to any downstream process (p. 11) to improve purity. Given that the CTLA-Ig fusion protein prepared under anion exchange, protein A and additional chromatographic methods, the method would expect to reduce high mannose as in claims 1 and 21 and comprise mannose range of 0.05-0.3% as in claim 3.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of anion and affinity chromatographic method known to various antibody without denaturing protein and known methods/condition for anion/affinity chromatography would be helpful to optimize CTLA4-Ig fusion protein purification improving purity and stability.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 8/11/25 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that the currently amended limitations are not taught by the references. Applicant has further asserted that the ‘344 publication teaches monoclonal antibody but no CTLA4-Ig fusion has not been taught and the ‘843 publication does not teach anion-exchange chromatography. IN addition, Applicant has asserted that the pH range of 7-7.5 has not been taught by the references but pH 8.2-9.0
This is formulated as a new rejection as the claim numbers were not correctly added. Note claims 21-25, 27 and 29-39 are added in this rejection.
However, unlike Applicant’s assertion that the ‘344 publication does not teach pH 8.2-9.1, the ‘344 publication discloses pH between 7-8.2 inclusive of pH 7.5 (p.2, [0013]). Applicant is reminded that the use of patent as reference is not limited to what the patentee described as their own invention or to the problems with which they are concerned. See MPEP2123. In addition, the ‘344 publication discloses antibody to include various fragments (p.4-6) as well as bispecific and DvD-Ig that readable upon fusion including Ig as in instant application (p. 4, [0060]). As such, the reference teachings provide reasonable expectation of success in combining the references.
Applicant is reminded that the rejection is based on the combination of the references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejection is based on the combination of the references. The ‘344 publication teaches anion exchange and the ‘843 publication teaches CTLA4-Ig fusion. Given that the purification is not limited to anion exchange chromatography but allows other purification steps as the transition word “comprises” is used. Further, in lack of specifying experimental conditions, the anion-exchange chromatography is expected to reduce high mannose content and meets the limitations.
As such, the combination of the references remains obvious and the rejection is maintained.
10. Claims 1, 21-25, 27 and 29-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Application No. 17/922,734.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘734 application recites methods of purifying CTLA1-IgG with affinity and anion exchange chromatograph and reduce high mannose content as in claimed method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
As Applicant has requested that this double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter has been identified in the instant application, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
11. No claims are allowed.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
October 28, 2025
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641