DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-15 filed on 3/28/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW112112061, filed on 3/29/2023.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/8/2024 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 3/28/2024 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reading unit” in claim 1; “error calculating unit”, in claim 1; “temperature controlling unit”, in claim 1; and “lamination unit”, in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshiaki (JP 2011-216833A).
Regarding Claims 1 and 9; Yoshiaki teaches; A method for compensating a manufacturing error in a semiconductor process, the method being implemented using a system that includes at least one temperature controller, the method comprising: (Yoshiaki; at least Abstract; page 9, paragraphs 5-6; disclose a manufacturing system and method for joining substrates (i.e. semiconductors) which incudes a heat source for adjusting temperature of substrates for correcting alignment errors)
generating a reading signal associated with a location of an alignment symbol on a substrate; (Yoshiaki; at least page 10; disclose wherein the system and method includes detecting alignment marks located on the substrates for determining the relative displacement between an upper and lower substrate)
generating a difference signal based on the reading signal, the difference signal indicating a difference between the location of the alignment symbol and a location of a reference alignment symbol that corresponds with the alignment symbol, wherein the reference alignment symbol is on another substrate; and (Yoshiaki; at least page 12; disclose wherein the system and method includes determining a deviation between the two substrates alignment based on the detected alignment marks wherein each substrate includes an alignment mark used when aligning the substrates before joining together)
generating a temperature controlling signal based on the difference signal, the temperature controlling signal controlling operation of the temperature controller in order to control one of a temperature of an affecting part of the substrate, a temperature of an affecting part of the another substrate and a combination thereof; and (Yoshiaki; at least page 13; disclose wherein the system and method includes determining a target temperature difference between the two substrates such that the thermal expansion/contraction will result in the two substrates aligning based on the alignment marks and further, controlling the heating element for each substrate to reach the target temperature)
after controlling the one of a temperature of an affecting part of the substrate, a temperature of an affecting part of the another substrate and a combination thereof, performing a lamination process to bond the substrate and the another substrate together. (Yoshiaki; at least page 8; disclose wherein the system and method includes utilizing a pressurizing device to bond the two substrates together using a lamination process once the substrates have been sufficiently aligned).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the reading signal includes one of an image of the substrate and a set of coordinates indicating a location of the alignment symbol on the substrate. (Yoshiaki; at least page 10; the alignment mark is determined using x and y direction driving units to generate coordinates).
Regarding Claim 3; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, the system including a plurality of temperature controllers that are arranged in concentric circles, wherein the temperature controlling signal includes a plurality of temperature controlling signals for controlling operations of the temperature controllers. (Yoshiaki; page 9).
Regarding Claim 4; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the alignment symbol is located adjacent to the affecting part of the substrate. (Yoshiaki; at least page 10).
Regarding Claim 5; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the substrate is formed using one of a glass material, a semiconductor material, a dielectric material, and a metal material. (Yoshiaki; at least page 7).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, wherein in controlling operation of the temperature controller, one of the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate, the temperature of the affecting part of the another substrate and the combination thereof is adjusted, so as to cause one of the affecting part of the substrate, the affecting part of the another substrate and a combination thereof to deform for compensating the manufacturing error. (Yoshiaki; at least pages 10 and 13).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, further comprising storing the temperature controlling signal for processing a substrate of a next batch in the semiconductor process. (Yoshiaki; at least page 21).
Regarding Claim 8; Yoshiaki teaches; The method as claimed in Claim 1, wherein the temperature controlling signal controls the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate, the method further comprising, after controlling the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate, forming a securing layer on the substrate in order to hold the substrate in a deformed state. (Yoshiaki; at least pages 8 and 13).
Regarding Claim 10; Yoshiaki teaches; The system as claimed in Claim 9, wherein: the temperature controlling unit includes a temperature controller disposed near the substrate and a controlling component connected to the temperature controller; and the controlling component, in response to the receipt of the difference signal, generates the at least one temperature controlling signal and controls operation of the temperature controller for controlling the one of the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate, and the temperature of the affecting part of the another substrate of the next batch in the semiconductor process. (Yoshiaki; at least pages 10-13).
Regarding Claim 12; Yoshiaki teaches; The system as claimed in Claim 9, further comprising a securing unit, wherein: the temperature controlling signal controls the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate; and the securing unit is for securing the substrate after the controlling of the temperature of the affecting part of the substrate is implemented. (Yoshiaki; at least page 13).
Regarding Claim 13; Yoshiaki teaches; The system as claimed in Claim 12, wherein the securing unit is a vacuum holder, and temperature controllers are disposed in the securing unit. (Yoshiaki; at least page 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamauchi (US PGPUB 20230030272): disclose a system and method for detecting a deviation amount in an alignment between two substrates in a bonding operation and in response, adjusting temperatures of the substrates in order to correct the alignment error.
Yamauchi (US PGPUB 20210313211): disclose a chip bonding system and method which utilizes alignment marks for detecting deviations between two substrates and based on the detected deviations, performing corrective actions to address the deviations.
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117