This is in response to the Amendment dated July 24, 2026. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims 1-15 (method) drawn to an invention nonelected with traverse in the reply filed on September 4, 2025 and November 21, 2025 and claim 21 (method) drawn to an invention elected by original presentation in the Final Rejection dated March 25, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dolan (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0061680 A1) in view of Withers et al. (US Patent No. 2,970,090), Powers (US Patent No. 5,186,790), CN 103774146 (‘146), Munisamy (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0178032 A1), WO 2016/022957 (‘957) and Griffin et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0311534 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Dolan teaches a method comprising:
• degreasing (= for example, the article may be chemically degreased by exposure to an
alkaline cleaner) [page 7, [0066] a metal substrate (= the aluminiferous metal article) [page 7,
[0066] and [0068]]; then
• performing a first alkaline cleaning on the metal substrate (= the article was cleaned in
an alkaline cleaner) [page 7, [0068]]; then
• etching the metal substrate with an alkaline etchant solution to form an etched metal substrate (= the article was cleaned in an alkaline etch cleaner) [page 7, [0068]]; then
• deoxidizing the etched metal substrate with a deoxidizing solution to form a processed metal substrate to remove oxides (= cleaning may then, if desired, be followed by etching with an acidic deoxidizer/desmutter) [page 7, [0066] and [0068]]; then
• depositing a coating onto the processed metal substrate to form a coated metal substrate, wherein depositing a coating onto the processed metal substrate comprises electrolytically depositing an inorganic finish thereon (= it is a further object to provide a method wherein the protective coating comprises predominantly oxides of Ti, Zr, Hf, Sn, Ge and/or B) [page 2, [0024]], the electrolytically depositing of an inorganic finish comprising:
۰ attaching the processed metal substrate to a counter electrode;
۰ electrically connecting the processed metal substrate to a power supply,
۰ immersing the processed metal substrate within an inorganic finishing solution,
۰ applying a current density to the processed metal substrate to form a coated metal substrate (= providing a cathode in contact with the anodizing solution; placing an
aluminum, aluminum alloy, titanium or titanium alloy article as an anode in the
anodizing solution; and passing a current between the anode and cathode through the
anodizing solution for a time effective to form a protective oxide coating on at least one
surface of the article) [page 2, [0024]].
Dolan does not explicitly teach the following:
a. Wherein the degreasing is with acetone.
Dolan teaches that before being subjected to anodic treatment, the aluminiferous metal article preferably is subjected to a cleaning and/or degreasing step (page 7, [0066]).
Withers teaches that the degreasing step removes oils and organic contamination on the surface of the aluminum (col. 3, lines 26-27). Degrease the aluminum with trichloroethylene vapors, acetone or any organic solution commonly used for this purpose (col. 4, lines 22-24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degreasing taught by Dolan with wherein the degreasing is with acetone. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Dolan teaches that before being subjected to anodic treatment, the aluminiferous metal article preferably is subjected to a degreasing step in [0066] where acetone is commonly used for this purpose which would have removed oils and organic contamination on the surface of the aluminum as taught by Withers in col. 3, lines 26-27, and col. 4, lines 22-24.
b. Wherein the alkaline etchant solution comprises about 2 vol % to about 6 vol % of triethanolamine, about 2 vol % to about 30 vol % of a sodium sulfide additive, about 10 vol % to about 40 vol % of 50% sodium hydroxide, about 75 g/L or less of dissolved metal content, and
about 6 g/L or less of ethylenediaminetetraacidic acid (EDTA).
Dolan teaches that:
Before being subjected to anodic treatment in accordance with the invention, the aluminiferous metal article preferably is subjected to a cleaning and/or degreasing step. For example,
the article may be chemically degreased by exposure to an alkaline cleaner such as, for example, a diluted solution of PARCO Cleaner 305 (a product of the Henkel Surface Technologies division of Henkel Corporation, Madison Heights, Mich.). After cleaning, the article preferably is rinsed with water. Cleaning may then, if desired, be followed by etching with an acidic deoxidizer/desmutter such as SC592, commercially available from Henkel Corporation, or other deoxidizing solution, followed by additional rinsing prior to anodization. Such pre-anodization treatments are well known in the art (page 7, [0066]).
An aluminum alloy substrate in the shape of a cookware pan was the test article for Example 1. The article was cleaned in a diluted solution of PARCO Cleaner 305, an alkaline cleaner and an alkaline etch cleaner, such as Aluminum Etchant 34, both commercially available from Henkel Corporation. The aluminum alloy article was then desmutted in SC592, an iron based acidic deoxidizer commercially available from Henkel Corporation (page 7, [0068]).
Powers teaches milling or etching aluminum alloys (col. 2, line 28).
The chemical milling bath can contain 30 to 110 gms/liter NaOH (= 3 to 11 vol%), 5 to 60 grams/liter Na2S (= 0.5 to 6 vol %) and 30 to 110 gms/liter triethanolamine (TEA) [= 3 to 11 vol %] and 10 to 150 gms/liter aluminum, based on a liter of bath comprised of said compounds in water (col. 2, lines 6-10).
Aluminum alloy parts, particularly aluminum-lithium alloy parts etched or milled in the subject bath, are characterized by having a very smooth surface. Aluminum-lithium alloy parts treated in the bath can have a roughness or roughness height rating (RHR) of 100 microinches or less, e.g., 60 or less microinches. RHR is an arithmetic average in microinches of the surface deviations from absolute smoothness. Standards in the aerospace industry indicate that the surface roughness height rating be either less than 125 microinches or less than 62 microinches, depending upon the use of the part. Thus, it can be seen that the present invention provides a rating which meets the most stringent requirements of the aerospace industry (col. 2, lines 55-68).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alkaline etchant solution taught by
Dolan with wherein the alkaline etchant solution comprises about 2 vol % to about 6 vol % of
triethanolamine, about 2 vol % to about 30 vol % of a sodium sulfide additive, about 10 vol % to
about 40 vol % of 50% sodium hydroxide, about 75 g/L or less of dissolved metal content, and
about 6 g/L or less of ethylenediaminetetraacidic acid (EDTA). The person with ordinary skill in
the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Dolan teaches that
before being subjected to anodic treatment, the aluminiferous metal article preferably is subjected to a cleaning step which treatment is well known in the art in [0066] and [0068] where a bath containing 30 to 110 gms/liter NaOH (= 3 to 11 vol%), 5 to 60 grams/liter Na2S (= 0.5 to 6 vol %) and 30 to 110 gms/liter triethanolamine (TEA) [= 3 to 11 vol %] and 10 to 150 gms/liter aluminum, based on a liter of bath comprised of said compounds in water is an alkaline etchant solution which would have etched aluminum alloys to have a very smooth surface of a roughness or roughness height rating (RHR) of 100 microinches or less as taught by Powers in col. 2, lines 6-10 and 55-68.
As to wherein the NaOH is “50% sodium hydroxide”, it has been held that changes in temperature, concentration or both, is not a patentable modification; however, such changes may impart patentability to a process if the ranges claimed produce new and unexpected results which are different in kind and not merely in degree from results of the prior art, such ranges are termed “critical” ranges and Applicant has the burden of proving such criticality; even though Applicant’s modification results in great improvement and utility over the prior art, it may still not be patentable if the modification was within capabilities of one skilled in the
art; more particularly, where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is
not inventive to discover optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller,
220 F2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) [MPEP § 2144.05].
c. Wherein the deoxidizing solution comprises about 40 vol % to about 60 vol % of
nitric acid and chromated deoxidizing solutions.
Dolan teaches that:
Before being subjected to anodic treatment in accordance with the invention, the aluminiferous metal article preferably is subjected to a cleaning and/or degreasing step. For example, the article may be chemically degreased by exposure to an alkaline cleaner such as, for example, a diluted solution of PARCO Cleaner 305 (a product of the Henkel Surface Technologies division of Henkel Corporation, Madison Heights, Mich.). After cleaning, the article preferably is rinsed with water. Cleaning may then, if desired, be followed by etching with an acidic deoxidizer/desmutter such as SC592, commercially available from Henkel Corporation, or other deoxidizing solution, followed by additional rinsing prior to anodization. Such pre-
anodization treatments are well known in the art (page 7, [0066]).
An aluminum alloy substrate in the shape of a cookware pan was the test article for Example 1. The article was cleaned in a diluted solution of PARCO Cleaner 305, an alkaline cleaner and an alkaline etch cleaner, such as Aluminum Etchant 34, both commercially available from Henkel Corporation. The aluminum alloy article was then desmutted in SC592, an iron based acidic deoxidizer commercially available from Henkel Corporation (page 7, [0068]).
CN ‘146 teaches a deoxygenation treatment method for aluminum alloys (ρ [0002]).
The purpose of this invention is to provide a deoxidation treatment method in the pre-milling process of aluminum alloys. Using this method, a smooth surface can be obtained after removing oxides from the surface of aluminum alloys such as LY12 through alkaline etching. After the protective adhesive is coated and dried, it is easy to peel off and does not adhere to the aluminum alloy surface during the shaping process (ρ [0007]).
Deoxygenation treatment: Prepare 1L of deoxygenation solution by mixing 150-200mL of nitric acid (65% concentrated nitric acid), 40-60g of chromium trioxide, 10-15mL of hydrofluoric acid (47% HF), 5-10g of thiourea, 0.5-1.0g of Triton X-10 and an appropriate amount of water. Immerse the sample in the deoxygenation solution at room temperature for 2-3 minutes (ρ [0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deoxidizing solution taught by Dolan
with wherein the deoxidizing solution comprises about 40 vol % to about 60 vol % of nitric acid and chromated deoxidizing solutions. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Dolan teaches that cleaning may then, if desired, be followed by etching with an acidic deoxidizer/desmutter which treatment is well known in the art in [0066] and [0068] where a solution of 150-200mL of nitric acid (65% concentrated nitric acid), 40-60g of chromium trioxide, 10-15mL of hydrofluoric acid (47% HF), 5-10g of thiourea, 0.5-1.0g of Triton X-10 and an appropriate amount of water is a deoxygenation solution for aluminum alloys which would have removed oxides from the surface of aluminum alloys in that a bright, clean and smooth surface is obtained as taught by CN ‘146 in [0007], [0010] and abstract.
d. Performing a second alkaline cleaning on the processed metal substrate.
Munisamy teaches that:
With reference to FIG. 2, an alternate embodiment of the ALSC process 20A involves an additional high alkaline treatment (step 30) followed by a deoxidizer treatment (step 32) prior to the high alkaline treatment immersion (step 24). The high alkaline treatment (step 30) may be equivalent to the high alkaline treatment immersion (step 24). The additional high alkaline treatment (step 30) and deoxidizer treatment (step 32) are used to provide a fresh bulk-like composition on the surface before ALSC coating formation (page 3, [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Dolan by performing a second alkaline cleaning on the processed metal substrate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because
performing an additional high alkaline treatment followed by a deoxidizer treatment prior to
the high alkaline treatment immersion would have provided a fresh bulk-like composition on the surface for a coating formation as taught by Munisamy in [0040].
e. Wherein the counter electrode is two or more counter electrodes.
Dolan teaches:
An article of manufacture and a process for making the article by generating corrosion-, heat- and abrasion-resistant ceramic coatings comprising titanium and/or zirconium dioxide using
direct and alternating current on anodes comprising aluminum and/or titanium. Optionally, the article is coated with additional layers, such as paint, after deposition of the ceramic coating (abstract).
WO ‘957 teaches an electroceramic coating 48 on an aluminum or aluminum alloy wire 40 (ρ [0025]).
In another embodiment, the emissivity of the coating is modified by changes in the identity of the electroceramic coating precursors in the electrolytic bath, e.g. precursor elements may
include Ti, Zr, Zn, Hf, Sn, B, Al, Ge, Fe, Cu, Ce, Y, Bi, P, V, Nb, Mo, Mn, W and Co. In one embodiment, features of the coating are adjusted by changing aluminum and/or zirconium concentration of the aqueous solution. The inclusion of aluminum oxide and/or zirconium oxide advantageously allows the adjustment of coating features, e.g. the color and/or abrasion resistance of the high emissivity coating (ρ [0048]).
Coating system 210 also includes at least one electrical power supply 222 electrically connected to a cathode 224 located within coating bath container 218, and to an electrification device 226 (dry
anode) which electrifies uncoated wire 212 such that the wire 212 acts as an anode in the electrolyte composition E, during operation (ρ [0083]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the counter electrode taught by Dolan with wherein the counter electrode is two or more counter electrodes. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because an
apparatus where at least one electrical power supply 222 is electrically connected to two
cathodes 224:
would have continuously coated an electroceramic coating on an aluminum or aluminum alloy
wire as taught by WO ‘957 in [0025], [0048], [0083] and Fig. 5.
MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
e. Rinsing the coated metal substrate.
Griffin teaches:
A surface treatment method for aluminum parts to improve adhesion of organic finishes to be applied to the aluminum parts, said method comprising: cleaning the aluminum part; deoxidizing the aluminum part; applying a conversion coating to the part; and rinsing the part in hot de-ionized water (page 2, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Dolan by rinsing
the coated metal substrate. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because rinsing the part in hot de-ionized water in a
surface treatment method for aluminum parts would have improved adhesion.
Regarding claim 17, the method of Dolan differs from the instant invention because
Dolan does not disclose wherein the current density applied to the processed metal substrate is about 0.2 mA/cm2 to about 0.5 mA/cm2.
Dolan teaches that direct current is preferably used, although alternating current may
also be utilized (under some conditions, however, the rate of coating formation may be lower using AC) [page 4, [0042]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the current density described by Dolan
with wherein the current density applied to the processed metal substrate is about 0.2 mA/cm2 to about 0.5 mA/cm2. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because:
(i) Dolan teaches the current density in general. Hence, it could vary in a wide range. It
would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the current density through routine experimentation for best results.
MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)) states that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
(ii) Dolan teaches that in one embodiment, direct current (DC) is used at 10
Amps/square foot (= 10.76 mA/cm2) [page 4, [0042]]. This is close to the “about 0.5 mA/cm2” that is claimed.
MPEP § 2144.05 states that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”
Regarding claim 18, Dolan teaches wherein the current density is applied to the
processed metal substrate for about 2 minutes to about 5 minutes (= 3 minutes) [page 5,
[0053]].
Regarding claim 19, Dolan teaches wherein the current density is applied to the processed metal substrate as a constant current (= direct current (DC) is used) [page 4, [0042]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The standing prior art rejection has been maintained for the following reasons:
• Applicant traverses the withdrawal of claim 21 (and also claims 1-15) in the previous office action because the inventions are not separate because claim 21 recites all the elements of claim 16.
In response, claim 21, withdrawn from consideration as a result of a restriction requirement, would be rejoined and fully examined for patentability pursuant to the procedures set forth in MPEP § 821.04.
• Applicant states that for instance, the claims as amended require deoxidizing with a deoxidizing solution comprising chromated deoxidizing solutions. The Dolan, Withers, Powers, CN103774146, Munisamy, WO 2016022957 and/or Griffin references do not disclose or suggest deoxidizing with a deoxidizing solution comprising chromated deoxidizing solutions. The Office Action does not disagree. None of these 7 (seven) references disclose or suggest a deoxidizing solution comprising chromated deoxidizing solutions. There is no other applied reference. Consequently, the Dolan, Powers, Golru, Munisamy, WO 2016022957 and/or Griffin references do not disclose or suggest the claimed invention because Dolan, Withers, Powers, CN103774146, Munisamy, WO 2016022957 and/or Griffin, alone or in combination with one another, do not disclose or suggest the claimed elements of deoxidizing with a deoxidizing solution comprising chromated deoxidizing solutions.
In response, Dolan teaches that cleaning may then, if desired, be followed by other deoxidizing solution (page 7, [0066]) where CN ‘146 teaches a deoxygenation solution by mixing 150-200mL of nitric acid (65% concentrated nitric acid), 40-60g of chromium trioxide, 10-15mL of hydrofluoric acid (47% HF), 5-10g of thiourea, 0.5-1.0g of Triton X-10 and an appropriate amount of water (ρ [0010]).
The deoxygenation solution of CN ‘146 is a chromated deoxidizing solution because it contains chromium trioxide.
It is well settled that unpatented claims are given the broadest, most reasonable interpretation and that limitations are not read into the claims without a proper claim basis therefor. In re Prater 415 F. 2d 1393, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969); In re Zeltz 893 F. 2d 319, 13
USPQ 1320.
Furthermore, as evidenced by Halpert (US Patent No. 2,883,311), Halpert teaches a
deoxidizing solution comprising 8 to 98% nitric acid (70% concentrate) and containing fluoride and chromate ions in concentrations corresponding to that obtained in a solution containing 1 to 45 grams of sodium fluoride per liter of solution and 1 to 400 grams of anhydrous chromic acid per liter of solution (cols. 3-4, claim 1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795