DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
112(b) Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and Listing of Claims, filed 5/14/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-17 has been withdrawn.
102/103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Applicant asserts without support or analysis that the references cited in the Non-Final Action mailed 2/17/2026 do not teach the limitations. This is merely attorney argument that the prior art does not teach or suggest a collection of claim limitations. It does not include any explanation for why that might be the case. Further, the argument would be true if any one or more of the quoted limitations were not taught or suggested by the prior art. In other words, it is unclear what specifically Applicant is even asserting that the prior art lacks.
As detailed in infra rejections: claims 1-6, 9-11, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected over the combination of Pautsch and Sreenivasan; claims 7-8 are rejected over the combination of Pautsch, Sreenivasan, and Solf; claims 12 and 16 are rejected over the combination of Pautsch, Sreenivasan, and Avisnash; and claim 14 is rejected over the combination of Pautsch, Sreenivasan, and Yanof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautsch et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0205748), hereinafter “Pautsch,” in further view of Sreenivasan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0023901), hereinafter “Sreenivasan.”
Regarding claim 1, Pautsch discloses a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (magnetic resonance imaging system, [0017]) comprising a processor and a program storage device tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable by the processor (computing device includes non-transitory memory containing executable computer-readable instructions to control the imaging system, [0032]-[0034], [0041]-[0045], [0052], [0070]), the magnetic resonance imaging apparatus including the processor performing a method comprising:
conducting breath-holding imaging (imaging during breath holds, [0046], [0062], [0069]) or respiratory synchronization imaging (imaging using respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]), including controlling acquisition of a magnetic resonance signal of a subject disposed in an imaging space and generation of an image (magnetic resonance imaging system to acquire MR images from MR signals, [0017]; patient positioned within the bore for imaging, [0013], [0036], [0059], [0083], claim 17);
controlling detection of body movement of the subject disposed in the imaging space and generation of body movement information corresponding to the detected body movement (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]);
causing to be projected to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]);
causing body movement-related information to be displayed (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]), the body movement-related information associating the body movement information and imaging information representing the generated image with each other (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]); and
determining whether the detected body movement of the subject adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging, and when the body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging, outputting to the visual field of the subject a message indicating that the detected body movement adversely affect the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging (determine that breathing during breath hold adversely impacts the scan and output a message indicating that the motion is impacting scanning including outputting messages to the patient to stop moving/breathing when the scan is affected by the motion/breathing, [0059]-[0063], [0069]; determine that the respiratory/breathing cycle is outside of a particular respiratory phase and not trigger scanning, [0065], [0069]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also determining that breathing is irregular due to anxiety or sleep and outputting a message to the patient to calm and/or wake the patient, [0015], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0078], [0080], [0086], claim 14; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient upon determining body movement adversely affects the scan, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066]-[0067], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086], Figs. 4-6).
However, while Pautsch discloses outputting to the patient projections of images or videos onto the bore ([0076], [0080]), Pautsch does not appear to explictly disclose a projector.
However, in the same field of endeavor of providing patient guidance during a MRI or CT imaging scan, Sreenivasan teaches causing to be projected by a projector to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]); and
outputting through the projector to the visual field of the subject a message indicating the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Sreenivasan’s known technique of employing a projector to project images/videos indicating the progress of the scan in conjunction with notifications for body movement of to the patient within the bore to Pautsch’s known apparatus for projecting images/videos notifying the patient of body movement of the patient within the bore to achieve the predictable result that the workflow may be improved wherein information of the progress of the imaging scan can reduce patient anxiety. See, e.g., Sreenivasan, [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Pautsch discloses the imaging information includes an examination part (anatomy of interest selected by the operator, [0032], [0046], [0053]-[0055], [0059]-[0062]), and
the body movement-related information includes information in which the examination part and body movement information of a part of the subject are associated with each other (body movement detected by the image sensors is related to the imaging protocol and anatomy of interest selected by the operator, [0032], [0046], [0053]-[0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 3, Pautsch discloses the body movement-related information includes allowance of the body movement or a warning based on the body movement detected by the body movement detection device (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 4, Pautsch discloses the method performed by the processor further comprises:
(i) analyzing the body movement (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]); and
(ii) displaying display content corresponding to an allowable limit of body movement preset corresponding to an examination part as the body movement-related information, based on an analysis result of (i) (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level wherein body movement above the acceptable motion severity/level for the examination part is displayed as a notification to the patient, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Pautsch discloses the method performed by the processor further comprises analyzing an allowable limit of body movement for each part, based on a relationship between the examination part and a part where the body movement occurs (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level based on the relationship between the location of motion and the anatomy currently being scanned, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 6, Pautsch discloses the method performed by the processor further comprises
analyzing a degree of the body movement and a position or a part where the body movement occurs (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]; video stream from image sensor, [0033], [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Pautsch discloses the body movement-related information includes prior information indicating an allowable limit of body movement for each part corresponding to an examination part (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level based on the relationship between the location of motion and the anatomy currently being scanned that is previously defined by the imaging protocol, goal of the scan, etc., [0014], [0032], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Pautsch discloses a series of imaging including a plurality of main scans is executed (one or more diagnostic scans as part of imaging protocol, [0057]-[0058], [0060]-[0062], [0072]-[0073]).
However, Pautsch does not appear to disclose the body movement-related information includes timing information for allowing body movement in the series of imaging.
However, in the same field of endeavor of providing patient guidance during a MRI or CT imaging scan, Sreenivasan teaches the body movement-related information includes timing information for allowing body movement in the series of imaging (patient feedback includes periods in which movement is allowed, [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Sreenivasan’s known technique of providing feedback to the patient of periods in which movement is allowed to Pautsch’s known apparatus including a plurality of diagnostic scans to achieve the predictable result that patient cooperation is improved by allowing periods of free movement. See, e.g., Sreenivasan, [0007].
Regarding claim 11, Pautsch discloses the body movement-related information includes an evaluation of a stationary duration time of the subject (respiratory phase and breathing cycles including breath hold duration is detected by the image sensor and processor, [0062], [0065], [0069], [0071], [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Pautsch discloses the method performed by the processor further comprises displaying body movement-related information on a video display device (notifications of body movement are output to the patient using a video display, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]).
However, Pautsch does not appear to teach the body movement information processing unit displays progress information of imaging on the video display device together with the body movement-related information.
However, in the same field of endeavor of providing patient guidance during a MRI or CT imaging scan, Sreenivasan teaches a method performed by a processor (computing device includes a processor to execute instructions stored in a memory to control the imaging system and perform method steps, [0047]-[0057]) comprising displaying progress information of imaging on a video display device together with the body movement-related information (progress of the scan and notifications of body movement are output to the patient using a video display, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Sreenivasan’s known technique of indicating the progress of the scan to the patient in conjunction with notifications for body movement of the patient to the patient to Pautsch’s known apparatus for notifying the patient of body movement of the patient to achieve the predictable result that the workflow may be improved wherein information of the progress of the imaging scan can reduce patient anxiety. See, e.g., Sreenivasan, [0005].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan as in claim 4 above, and in further view of Solf et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0299747), hereinafter “Solf.”
Regarding claim 7, Pautsch discloses the method performed by the processor further comprises
storing a message corresponding to a degree of body movement at a part where the body movement occurs and an allowable limit of the body movement for each examination part (storage of imaging protocols and control methods in memory/storage device, [0032], [0041], [0045], [0052], [0070]; body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level wherein body movement above the acceptable motion severity/level for the examination part is displayed as a predetermined notification to the patient, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]), and
selecting the message based on the analysis result (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level wherein body movement above the acceptable motion severity/level for the examination part is displayed as a selected predetermined notification to the patient, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062], [0066], [0075], [0085]-[0086]).
However, while Pautsch disclose storing and selecting a predetermined notification, Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan does not appear to explictly teach storing the predetermined notifications as a table.
However, in solving substantially the same problem of storing a plurality of notifications that correspond to a given event, Solf teaches storing a plurality of notifications and corresponding events in a table and retrieving selected notifications therefrom according to the corresponding event (supplemental information bank stores supplemental data in a look up table, the supplemental information being one of a plurality of messages that are retrieved for display based on the state of the subject, [0035]-[0039]; see also state of the subject corresponding to motion/movement, [0004], [0032], [0036], [0053], [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Solf’s known technique of using a look up table to store and retrieve messages using corresponding subject states to Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan’s known apparatus that stores and retrieves messages that correspond to subject states, e.g., motion severity/level of the subject, to achieve the predictable result that providing for retrievable supplemental information such as messages improves the imaging procedure by allowing for adaptation or change of the protocol for the imaging procedure to correct the image data. See, e.g., Solf, [0023].
Regarding claim 8, Pautsch discloses the imaging information includes a type of an imaging sequence (imaging information includes a selection of the imaging protocol, [0046], [0059]-[0062], [0064]), and
the allowable limit of the body movement is set in accordance with the imaging sequence (acceptable motion severity/level is set in accordance with the selected imaging protocol, [0046], [0059]-[0062]).
However, while Pautsch discloses storing the method and instructions in a memory/storage device to perform the method of displaying a predetermined notification corresponding to the body movement severity/level for the examination part, Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan does not appear to explictly teach that the stored predetermined notifications are stored as a table.
However, in solving substantially the same problem of storing a plurality of notifications that correspond to a given event, Solf teaches storing a plurality of notifications and corresponding events in a table and retrieving selected notifications therefrom according to the corresponding event (supplemental information bank stores supplemental data in a look up table, the supplemental information being one of a plurality of messages that are retrieved for display based on the state of the subject, [0035]-[0039]; see also state of the subject corresponding to motion/movement, [0004], [0032], [0036], [0053], [0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Solf’s known technique of using a look up table to store and retrieve messages using corresponding subject states to Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan’s known apparatus that stores and retrieves messages that correspond to subject states, e.g., motion severity/level of the subject, to achieve the predictable result that providing for retrievable supplemental information such as messages improves the imaging procedure by allowing for adaptation or change of the protocol for the imaging procedure to correct the image data. See, e.g., Solf, [0023].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan as in claim 11 above, and in further view of Avinash et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0113673), hereinafter “Avinash.”
Regarding claim 12, while Pautsch discloses the body movement-related information includes an evaluation of a stationary duration time of the subject (respiratory phase and breathing cycles including breath hold duration is detected by the image sensor and processor, [0062], [0065], [0069], [0071], [0075]), Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan does not appear to teach the body movement-related information includes a drawing pattern or image information that is changed in accordance with the stationary duration time of the subject.
However, in the same field of endeavor of respiratory motion in MR imaging, Avinash teaches the body movement-related information includes a drawing pattern or image information that is changed in accordance with the stationary duration time of the subject (a visual indicator such as a light, text, or symbol is used to provide motion information indicative that the breath holding is acceptable or unacceptable to the patient or operator, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Avinash’s known technique of indicating acceptable or unacceptable breath holding using a visual indicator to Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan’s known apparatus that evaluates the breath hold duration to achieve the predictable result that a sufficiently long breath hold improves the effectiveness of respiration gating to reduce respiratory motion. See, e.g., Avinash, [0014].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan as in claim 1 above, and in further view of Yanof et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0188757), hereinafter “Yanof.”
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan as in claim 1 above, and in further view of Yanof et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0188757), hereinafter “Yanof.”
Regarding claim 14, Pautsch discloses processing information from the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]; determine that breathing during breath hold adversely impacts the scan and output a message indicating that the motion is impacting scanning including outputting messages to stop moving/breathing when the scan is affected by the motion/breathing, [0059]-[0063], [0069]; determine that the respiratory/breathing cycle is outside of a particular respiratory phase and not trigger scanning, [0065], [0069]; respiratory phase and breathing cycles including breath hold duration is detected by the image sensor and processor, [0062], [0065], [0069], [0071], [0075]; see also determining that breathing is irregular due to anxiety or sleep and outputting a message to calm and/or wake the patient, [0015], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0078], [0080], [0086], claim 14; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient upon determining body movement adversely affects the scan, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066]-[0067], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086], Figs. 4-6), and
displaying the body movement-related information (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]).
However, Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan does not appear to teach displaying as the body movement-related information an image indicating a cycle of respiratory movement.
However, in the same field of endeavor of MR imaging, Yanof teaches displaying as the body movement-related information an image indicating a cycle of respiratory movement (breath hold range and patient breathing image is displayed to indicate the cycle of respiratory movement and whether the patient’s breathing is within the range, [0041], [0045], [0049]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Yanof’s known technique of displaying an image of the cycle of respiratory movement and evaluating the breathing range in the image to Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan’s known technique of detecting and evaluating the respiratory phase and breathing cycles for breath hold and/or respiratory gated imaging to achieve the predictable result that displaying the respiratory waveform and the breathing range provides an intuitive and relaxing means of showing breath hold levels that allows for easy training of patients to properly breathe for image scanning. See, e.g., Yanof, [0019].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan.
Regarding claim 15, Pautsch discloses a body movement information presentation method of presenting, to a subject disposed in an imaging space and being examined, body movement information of the subject (a method for obtaining movement information, [0003], [0013], [0016], [0045], [0052], [0070]; magnetic resonance imaging system to acquire MR images from MR signals, [0017]; patient positioned within the bore for imaging, [0013], [0036], [0059], [0083], claim 17; notifications of body movement are output to the patient using a video display, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0076]), the method comprising:
detecting body movement of the subject disposed in the imaging space (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]), while conducting breath-holding imaging (imaging during breath holds, [0046], [0062], [0069]) or respiratory synchronization imaging (imaging using respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]), and generating body movement information corresponding to the detected body movement (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]);
causing to be projected to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]);
displaying body movement-related information (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]) in which the body movement information and imaging information representing an acquired image are associated with each other (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]);
analyzing a magnitude of body movement of the subject and determining whether or not the body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging (determine that breathing during breath hold adversely impacts the scan and output a message indicating that the motion is impacting scanning including outputting messages to stop moving/breathing when the scan is affected by the motion/breathing, [0059]-[0063], [0069]; determine that the respiratory/breathing cycle is outside of a particular respiratory phase and not trigger scanning, [0065], [0069]; see also determining that breathing is irregular due to anxiety or sleep and outputting a message to calm and/or wake the patient, [0015], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0078], [0080], [0086], claim 14; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient upon determining body movement adversely affects the scan, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066]-[0067], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086], Figs. 4-6); and
presenting, to the visual field of the subject, when it is determined that the body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging, a message indicating that the detected body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging (determine that breathing during breath hold adversely impacts the scan and output a message indicating that the motion is impacting scanning including outputting messages to the patient to stop moving/breathing when the scan is affected by the motion/breathing, [0059]-[0063], [0069]; determine that the respiratory/breathing cycle is outside of a particular respiratory phase and not trigger scanning, [0065], [0069]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also determining that breathing is irregular due to anxiety or sleep and outputting a message to the patient to calm and/or wake the patient, [0015], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0078], [0080], [0086], claim 14; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient upon determining body movement adversely affects the scan, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066]-[0067], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086], Figs. 4-6).
However, while Pautsch discloses outputting to the patient projections of images or videos onto the bore ([0076], [0080]), Pautsch does not appear to explictly disclose a projector.
However, in the same field of endeavor of providing patient guidance during a MRI or CT imaging scan, Sreenivasan teaches causing to be projected by a projector to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]); and
presenting through the projector to the visual field of the subject a message indicating the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Sreenivasan’s known technique of employing a projector to project images/videos indicating the progress of the scan in conjunction with notifications for body movement of to the patient within the bore to Pautsch’s known process of projecting images/videos notifying the patient of body movement of the patient within the bore to achieve the predictable result that the workflow may be improved wherein information of the progress of the imaging scan can reduce patient anxiety. See, e.g., Sreenivasan, [0005].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan as in claim 15 above, and in further view of Avinash.
Regarding claim 16, Pautsch discloses monitoring the body movement of the subject (body movement detected by the image sensors provides a motion severity/level and acceptable motion severity/level based on the relationship between the location of motion and the anatomy currently being scanned, [0014], [0046], [0049], [0055], [0059]-[0062]) and a duration time of a stationary state (respiratory phase and breathing cycles including breath hold duration is detected by the image sensor and processor, [0062], [0065], [0069], [0071], [0075]); and
displaying a video that changes (notifications of body movement are output to the patient using a video display or projection, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0080], [0085]-[0086]) and evaluating a duration time of the stationary state (respiratory phase and breathing cycles including breath hold duration is detected by the image sensor and processor, [0062], [0065], [0069], [0071], [0075]).
However, Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan does not appear to teach displaying a video that changes in accordance with the duration time of the stationary state.
However, in the same field of endeavor of respiratory motion in MR imaging, Avinash teaches the body movement-related information includes a drawing pattern or image information that is changed in accordance with the stationary duration time of the subject (a visual indicator such as a light, text, or symbol is used to provide motion information indicative that the breath holding is acceptable or unacceptable to the patient or operator, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Avinash’s known technique of indicating acceptable or unacceptable breath holding using a visual indicator to Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan’s known process that evaluates the breath hold duration to achieve the predictable result that a sufficiently long breath hold improves the effectiveness of respiration gating to reduce respiratory motion. See, e.g., Avinash, [0014].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pautsch in further view of Sreenivasan.
Regarding claim 17, Pautsch discloses a medical image diagnosis apparatus (magnetic resonance imaging system, [0017]) comprising a processor and a program storage device tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable by the processor (computing device includes non-transitory memory containing executable computer-readable instructions to control the imaging system, [0032]-[0034], [0041]-[0045], [0052], [0070]), the medical image diagnosis apparatus including the processor performing a method comprising:
conducting breath-holding imaging (imaging during breath holds, [0046], [0062], [0069]) or respiratory synchronization imaging (imaging using respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]), including controlling acquisition of an image of a subject disposed in an imaging space (magnetic resonance imaging system to acquire MR images from MR signals, [0017]; patient positioned within the bore for imaging, [0013], [0036], [0059], [0083], claim 17);
detecting body movement of the subject disposed in the imaging space and generating body movement information corresponding to the detected body movement (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]);
causing to be projected to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]);
processing the body movement of the subject being imaged and causing body movement-related information to be displayed (image sensor data processor processes information from the image sensors to detect and display patient motion, [0033]-[0034]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086]), the body movement-related information associating the body movement information and imaging information representing the acquired image with each other (image sensors detect patient motion related to the selected imaging acquisition, [0014], [0019], [0033]-[0040], [0046]-[0049], [0053]-0056, [0059]-[0069]; detecting breathing movement for breath hold imaging, [0046], [0062], [0069]; detecting breathing movement for respiratory gating, [0065], [0069]); and
determining whether the body movement of the subject adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging, and when the body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging, outputting to the visual field of the subject a message indicating that the detected body movement adversely affects the breath-holding imaging or respiratory synchronization imaging (determine that breathing during breath hold adversely impacts the scan and output a message indicating that the motion is impacting scanning including outputting messages to the patient to stop moving/breathing when the scan is affected by the motion/breathing, [0059]-[0063], [0069]; determine that the respiratory/breathing cycle is outside of a particular respiratory phase and not trigger scanning, [0065], [0069]; images or videos can be projected onto the bore for viewing by the patient, [0076], [0080]; display breathing/respiratory information to the patient, [0062], [0065], [0069]; see also determining that breathing is irregular due to anxiety or sleep and outputting a message to the patient to calm and/or wake the patient, [0015], [0069], [0071]-[0072], [0074], [0078], [0080], [0086], claim 14; see also various images/videos including notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient upon determining body movement adversely affects the scan, [0014]-[0015], [0033], [0035], [0056], [0062], [0066]-[0067], [0075], [0076], [0085]-[0086], Figs. 4-6).
However, while Pautsch discloses outputting to the patient projections of images or videos onto the bore ([0076], [0080]), Pautsch does not appear to explictly disclose a projector.
However, in the same field of endeavor of providing patient guidance during a MRI or CT imaging scan, Sreenivasan teaches causing to be projected by a projector to a visual field of the subject disposed in the imaging space a video showing the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]); and
outputting through the projector to the visual field of the subject a message indicating the detected body movement (projection module is configured to generate images for display to the patient by the display system which comprises an optical projection system to display images via projection to the patient whilst the patient is in the bore, [0028], [0038]; projection module is a component of the control circuitry, [0035]; see also various images/videos including progress of the scan and notifications of body movement that can be output to the patient, Abstract, [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0009]-[0017], [0020], [0028], [0033], [0035]-[0036], [0038]-[0040], [0042]-[0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have applied Sreenivasan’s known technique of employing a projector to project images/videos indicating the progress of the scan in conjunction with notifications for body movement of to the patient within the bore to Pautsch’s known apparatus for projecting images/videos notifying the patient of body movement of the patient within the bore to achieve the predictable result that the workflow may be improved wherein information of the progress of the imaging scan can reduce patient anxiety. See, e.g., Sreenivasan, [0005].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798