DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20190131703 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 US 20190131703 A1 teaches
1, 12, 18. One or more computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of enhancing 5G coverage optimization, the method comprising:
receiving, at an optimization engine[0005](network planning tool), an antenna model name corresponding to an antenna supported by a node;[0005]
identifying, at the optimization engine[0005], a remote electrical tilt (RET) angle(pointing direction is iterated for different antenna models and according to [0008] pointing direction obtained from RET unit ) value corresponding to the antenna;[0008]
dynamically associating the antenna model name and the RET angle value in a data store; and[0005](implicit for each antenna model the pointing direction from RET was set for coverage estimate)
based on the antenna model and the RET angle value, predicting, at the optimization engine, real-time coverage provided by the antenna.[0005](simulated predicted coverage based on antenna model and pointing direction)
Although D1 does not explicitly teach receiving from a node
D1 teaches nodes (130 RET unit +120 tilt sensor+ 110 antenna) transmits data to optimization engine (140 controller) [0022] which optimizes the system (130+120+110)
And hence It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 also to transmit an antenna model name corresponding to an antenna supported by a node as required for optimization [0005] in order to automatize the optimization procedure and eliminate the human error during setting the parameters.
3. The media of claim 1, further comprising, recommending, by the optimization engine an adjustment to the RET angle value.[0027]
4, 14. The media of claim 3, further comprising, communicating, to the node, instructions to make an adjustment to the RET angle value.[0026-0027]
6. The media of claim 1, wherein the receiving is caused by the antenna being installed at the node.(fig. 5 )
8. The media of claim 1, further comprising receiving an indication a new antenna has been added to the node or a neighboring node. [0005](implicit )
9. The media of claim 1, further comprising receiving an indication when a new node is added within a configurable radius of the node. [0005](implicit “generate instructions as to which antennas get installed on which tower, the azimuth angles to which each antenna should be pointing, and the downtilt in the elevation plane (if any) for each antenna” everything is done to “to achieve the best possible predicted coverage area for the base station” )
11, 17. The media of claim 1, wherein the RET angle value is automatically provided to the optimization engine by the node.[0005](pointing directions are iterated or adjusted by ret and provided to controller[0008-0009], [0022])
Regarding claim 2 D1 teaches providing the model number to simulation tool but does not explicitly teach that
2, 13, 19. The media of claim 1, wherein the antenna model name is detected by the node.
D1 also teaches automatic adjustment of the RET angle during wind [0022-0023]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 in order to automatically estimate the coverage and adjust the RET angle in windy condition for different antennas.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
5, 15, 20. The media of claim 3, further comprising, communicating, to a market engineer, instructions to make an adjustment to the RET angle value.
D1 teaches performing adjustment to the RET angle and also network operators which plan the optimal coverage of the multiple antennas [0005]
And therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 to provide market engineer, instructions to make an adjustment to the RET angle value in order to manually adjust the coverage in case of failure of automatic adjustment.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
7. The media of claim 1, wherein the receiving, detecting, updating, and predicting is initiated by the optimization engine based on a schedule.
D1 teaches adjusting RET angle during the wind and therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 to operate optimization engine based on a schedule, wherein the schedule will be the meteoritical prediction of the wind or do periodic scheduled optimization in order to constantly monitor and calibrate the coverage which can occur due to the beam bending/tilting due to the winds.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
10, 16. The media of claim 1, wherein the RET angle value is provided to the optimization engine in a configuration file.
Choice of the way iterations of the angle in [0005] are performed is completely arbitrary and using configuration file as guidance to iteration is design choice.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 to use configuration file for RET iteration in order to set desired step between different angels in iteration or perform specific angles which can correspond to specific wind speeds instead of using all possible values.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648