DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2024 has been fully considered by the examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Particularly, Claims 1-20 are rejected as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: performing, by the UPF, packet performance measurement based on the received configuration parameter. As recite, the UPF performs no action in response to the message received in Claims 1, 8, and 15, and the UPF cannot possibly perform the reporting as recited in Claims 2, 9, and 16, nor any of the other actions recited in the dependent claims, without actually performing the instructed measurements. For these reasons, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 7 and 14 fail to fully define the following acronyms recited in the limitations: TSCTSF and PCF.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiao et al (US 2019/0215731).
Regarding Claim 1, Qiao teaches a method (Fig. 10) comprising: receiving, by a user plane function (UPF) from a network node ([0084-0085], Fig. 10, the PCF sends to an SMF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise the information received from the AF or NEF. As an example, the message sent to the SMF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the AF or NEF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF),
a message requesting a per packet performance measurement ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). The AF may request a network function (e.g. PCF) who receives the event trigger(s) to report the current value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). As an example, the current value of service performance/QoS may be the value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a second information element indicating requested service performance/QoS value(s), and the second information element may be used to indicate requested service performance/QoS by the AF, which may comprise one or more parameters. In an example, the second information element comprises an end-to-end latency parameter. The end-to-end latency may be the time that takes to transfer a given piece of information from a source to a destination. As an example, the end-to-end latency between the wireless device and the application server/controller of discrete automation-motion control may be 1 ms. In an example, the second information element comprises a jitter parameter. The jitter may be a variation time in the delay of received packets),
the message comprising a parameter indicating configuration of the per packet performance measurement ([0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 2, Qiao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the UPF to the network node, a report comprising: an identification parameter of a single packet of the QoS flow; and performance measurement data of the single packet ([0087], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event . . . the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN . . . In an example action, the UPF sends to the SMF a message (e.g. service performance/QoS measurement report) if the UPF detects at least one service performance/QoS event is triggered (e.g. value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS)) for at least one of: the service data flow; the service/application; the PDU session; and the wireless device. The message sent to the SMF from the UPF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). In an example, the message sent to the SMF from the UPF comprises a second information element indicating measured service performance/QoS value (s), and the measured service performance/QoS value (s) may be used to indicate measured service performance/QoS by network function (e.g. UPF)).
Regarding Claim 3, Qiao teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising receiving by the UPF from a base station a data packet ([0087], Fig. 10, the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN).
Regarding Claim 4, Qiao teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the message comprises a packet filter set comprising the identification parameter of the packet ([0063-0064], QoS flow may be a granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. A QoS Flow ID, QFI, may be employed to identify a QoS flow in the 5G system. User plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU session may receive the same traffic forwarding treatment. The QFI may be carried in an encapsulation header on N3 (and N9) e.g. without any changes to the end-to-end packet header. It may be applied to PDUs with different types of payload. The QFI may be unique within a PDU session, QoS parameters of a QoS flow may be provided to the (R)AN as a QoS profile over N2 at PDU session or at QoS flow establishment and when NG-RAN is used at every time the user plane is activated. A default QoS rule may be required for every PDU session. The SMF 160 may allocate the QFI for a QoS flow and may derive its QoS parameters from the information provided by the PCF. When applicable, the SMF 160 may provide the QFI together with the QoS profile containing the QoS parameters of a QoS flow to the (R)AN 105).
Regarding Claim 5, Qiao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises at least one of: a per QoS flow per UE QoS monitoring information element (IE); or a per packet per UE QoS/delay monitoring IE ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s), [0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 6, Qiao teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the UPF from the network node, an indication to: start monitoring of per packet delay; or stop monitoring of per packet delay ([0085], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF. As an example, the message sent to the UPF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the PCF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), [0087], In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event).
Regarding Claim 7, Qiao teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network node comprises at least one of: a session management function (SMF); a network exposure function (NEF); an application function (AF); a TSCTSF; and a PCF ([0083], Fig. 10, An AF (application server) may send to a network function (e.g. PCF, or NEF) a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or application/service information provision) to subscribe to at least one service performance/QoS event for a service data flow, a service/application, a PDU session, and/or a wireless device. [0084], In response to the message received from the AF or NEF, the PCF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the PCF makes the policy decision based on the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the AF or NEF. In an example action, the PCF sends to an SMF a message, [0085], In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message).
Regarding Claim 8, Qiao teaches a user plane function (UPF) comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ([0150]), cause the UPF (Fig. 10, UPF) to: receive, from a network node ([0084-0085], Fig. 10, the PCF sends to an SMF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise the information received from the AF or NEF. As an example, the message sent to the SMF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the AF or NEF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF),
a message requesting a per packet performance measurement ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). The AF may request a network function (e.g. PCF) who receives the event trigger(s) to report the current value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). As an example, the current value of service performance/QoS may be the value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a second information element indicating requested service performance/QoS value(s), and the second information element may be used to indicate requested service performance/QoS by the AF, which may comprise one or more parameters. In an example, the second information element comprises an end-to-end latency parameter. The end-to-end latency may be the time that takes to transfer a given piece of information from a source to a destination. As an example, the end-to-end latency between the wireless device and the application server/controller of discrete automation-motion control may be 1 ms. In an example, the second information element comprises a jitter parameter. The jitter may be a variation time in the delay of received packets),
the message comprising a parameter indicating configuration of the per packet performance measurement ([0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 9, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to send, to the network node, a report comprising: an identification parameter of a single packet of the QoS flow; and performance measurement data of the single packet ([0087], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event . . . the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN . . . In an example action, the UPF sends to the SMF a message (e.g. service performance/QoS measurement report) if the UPF detects at least one service performance/QoS event is triggered (e.g. value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS)) for at least one of: the service data flow; the service/application; the PDU session; and the wireless device. The message sent to the SMF from the UPF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). In an example, the message sent to the SMF from the UPF comprises a second information element indicating measured service performance/QoS value (s), and the measured service performance/QoS value (s) may be used to indicate measured service performance/QoS by network function (e.g. UPF)).
Regarding Claim 10, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to receive, from a base station, a data packet ([0087], Fig. 10, the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN).
Regarding Claim 11, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 9, wherein the message comprises a packet filter set comprising the identification parameter of the packet ([0063-0064], QoS flow may be a granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. A QoS Flow ID, QFI, may be employed to identify a QoS flow in the 5G system. User plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU session may receive the same traffic forwarding treatment. The QFI may be carried in an encapsulation header on N3 (and N9) e.g. without any changes to the end-to-end packet header. It may be applied to PDUs with different types of payload. The QFI may be unique within a PDU session, QoS parameters of a QoS flow may be provided to the (R)AN as a QoS profile over N2 at PDU session or at QoS flow establishment and when NG-RAN is used at every time the user plane is activated. A default QoS rule may be required for every PDU session. The SMF 160 may allocate the QFI for a QoS flow and may derive its QoS parameters from the information provided by the PCF. When applicable, the SMF 160 may provide the QFI together with the QoS profile containing the QoS parameters of a QoS flow to the (R)AN 105).
Regarding Claim 12, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 8, wherein the message comprises at least one of: a per QoS flow per UE QoS monitoring information element (IE); or a per packet per UE QoS/delay monitoring IE ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s), [0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 13, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to receive, from the network node, an indication to: start monitoring of per packet delay; or stop monitoring of per packet delay ([0085], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF. As an example, the message sent to the UPF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the PCF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), [0087], In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event).
Regarding Claim 14, Qiao teaches the UPF of claim 8, wherein the network node comprises at least one of: a session management function (SMF); a network exposure function (NEF); an application function (AF); a TSCTSF; and a PCF ([0083], Fig. 10, An AF (application server) may send to a network function (e.g. PCF, or NEF) a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or application/service information provision) to subscribe to at least one service performance/QoS event for a service data flow, a service/application, a PDU session, and/or a wireless device. [0084], In response to the message received from the AF or NEF, the PCF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the PCF makes the policy decision based on the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the AF or NEF. In an example action, the PCF sends to an SMF a message, [0085], In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message).
Regarding Claim 15, Qiao teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors ([0150]), cause a user plane function (UPF) (Fig. 10, UPF) to: receive, from a network node ([0084-0085], Fig. 10, the PCF sends to an SMF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise the information received from the AF or NEF. As an example, the message sent to the SMF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the AF or NEF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF),
a message requesting a per packet performance measurement ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). The AF may request a network function (e.g. PCF) who receives the event trigger(s) to report the current value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). As an example, the current value of service performance/QoS may be the value(s) of service performance/QoS if value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS). In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a second information element indicating requested service performance/QoS value(s), and the second information element may be used to indicate requested service performance/QoS by the AF, which may comprise one or more parameters. In an example, the second information element comprises an end-to-end latency parameter. The end-to-end latency may be the time that takes to transfer a given piece of information from a source to a destination. As an example, the end-to-end latency between the wireless device and the application server/controller of discrete automation-motion control may be 1 ms. In an example, the second information element comprises a jitter parameter. The jitter may be a variation time in the delay of received packets),
the message comprising a parameter indicating configuration of the per packet performance measurement ([0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 16, Qiao teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to send, to the network node, a report comprising: an identification parameter of a single packet of the QoS flow; and performance measurement data of the single packet ([0087], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event . . . the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN . . . In an example action, the UPF sends to the SMF a message (e.g. service performance/QoS measurement report) if the UPF detects at least one service performance/QoS event is triggered (e.g. value(s) of service performance/QoS has(have) changed and/or the value(s) is(are) below threshold(s) (e.g. requested service performance/QoS)) for at least one of: the service data flow; the service/application; the PDU session; and the wireless device. The message sent to the SMF from the UPF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s). In an example, the message sent to the SMF from the UPF comprises a second information element indicating measured service performance/QoS value (s), and the measured service performance/QoS value (s) may be used to indicate measured service performance/QoS by a network function (e.g. UPF)).
Regarding Claim 17, Qiao teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to receive, from a base station, a data packet ([0087], Fig. 10, the UPF may send to the wireless device ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response from the wireless device. In an example way, the UPF monitors service performance/QoS between the UPF and (R)AN based on the ICMP echo function. As an example, the UPF may send to the (R)AN ping packet(s) and calculate the service performance/QoS value (s) (e.g. end-to-end latency, jitter) after receiving the response(s) from the (R)AN).
Regarding Claim 18, Qiao teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the message comprises a packet filter set comprising the identification parameter of the packet ([0063-0064], QoS flow may be a granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. A QoS Flow ID, QFI, may be employed to identify a QoS flow in the 5G system. User plane traffic with the same QFI within a PDU session may receive the same traffic forwarding treatment. The QFI may be carried in an encapsulation header on N3 (and N9) e.g. without any changes to the end-to-end packet header. It may be applied to PDUs with different types of payload. The QFI may be unique within a PDU session, QoS parameters of a QoS flow may be provided to the (R)AN as a QoS profile over N2 at PDU session or at QoS flow establishment and when NG-RAN is used at every time the user plane is activated. A default QoS rule may be required for every PDU session. The SMF 160 may allocate the QFI for a QoS flow and may derive its QoS parameters from the information provided by the PCF. When applicable, the SMF 160 may provide the QFI together with the QoS profile containing the QoS parameters of a QoS flow to the (R)AN 105).
Regarding Claim 19, Qiao teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the message comprises at least one of: a per QoS flow per UE QoS monitoring information element (IE); or a per packet per UE QoS/delay monitoring IE ([0083], Fig. 10, The message sent to the PCF from the AF may comprise one or more information elements. In an example, the message sent to the PCF comprises a first information element indicating service performance/QoS event trigger(s), [0066], A 5G QoS indicator may be a scalar that is employed as a reference to a specific QoS forwarding behavior (e.g. packet loss rate, packet delay budget) to be provided to a 5G QoS flow. This may be implemented in the access network by the 5QI referencing node specific parameters that control the QoS forwarding treatment (e.g. scheduling weights, admission thresholds, queue management thresholds, link layer protocol configuration, and/or the like).
Regarding Claim 20, Qiao teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the UPF to receive, from the network node, an indication to: start monitoring of per packet delay; or stop monitoring of per packet delay ([0085], Fig. 10, In response to the message received from the PCF, the SMF may send to a UPF a message (e.g. subscribe service performance/QoS event, or N4 session establishment/modification request) to subscribe event trigger(s) and/or provision the policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy(s)). The message may comprise one or more information elements received from the PCF. As an example, the message sent to the UPF may comprise the information (e.g. requested service performance/QoS value (s)) received from the PCF and/or policy(s) (e.g. QoS policy), [0087], In response to the message received from the SMF, the UPF may take one or more actions. In an example action, the UPF monitors the service performance/QoS for the service data flow(s), the service/application, the PDU session, and/or the wireless device to measure/detect the at least one service performance/QoS event).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim (US 2023/0362305) discloses a method by a session management function (SMF) in a wireless communication system may comprise receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a first message including information indicating that a dynamic satellite backhaul is used; transmitting a second message indicating that the dynamic satellite backhaul is used, based on receiving the first message to a policy control function (PCF) which triggers quality of service (QoS) monitoring for the dynamic satellite backhaul based on the second message ([0011]);
Liu et al (US 2024/0414063) discloses a method and an apparatus for subscribing to an analytics of model transfer status in a network, and a readable storage medium, the method includes: an application function AF sending a first message to a network data analytic function NWDAF directly or through a network exposure function NEF; the AF receiving, directly or through the NEF, analytics information of AI/ML model transfer status sent by the NWDAF, the analytics information being determined by the NWDAF according to received data of the AI/ML model transfer status sent by other network function(s) 5GC NF(s); the analytics information being used to adjust a network policy parameter and/or information of an application layer model (Abstract);
Talebi Fard et al (US 2019/0159227) discloses access and mobility management function (AMF) may receive a plurality of data notifications from one or more session management functions. The plurality of data notifications may be for activation of user plane connections for a plurality of wireless devices. The AMF may determine a first time duration based on a traffic of the plurality of data notifications. The first time duration may be a data notification delay value. The AMF may send at least one first message to the one or more session management functions. The at least one first message may be to delay sending a plurality of data notifications to the AMF. The at least one first message may comprise the first time duration (Abstract)
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641