DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings were received on 9/11/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “at least one of the at least two wheel axle” (Lines 6-7). The word “axle” should be changed to –axles--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 2,638,232) in view of Heidrich et al (DE 102019203068).
As per claim 1, Perkins discloses mobile equipment (Title), comprising a mobile under-carriage (3) with at least one wheel axle (15), of which at least one wheel axle is steerable (15), an upper-carriage (2) which is rotatably mounted on the under-carriage (12; Col. 2, lines 34-37) and comprises an upper-carriage driver's cab (10) in which at least one operating unit (92) for operating a working function (Col. 2, lines 37-42) of the mobile equipment is arranged, a steering system (17; Col. 2, lines 50-55) for steering the at least one steerable wheel axle (Col. 2, lines 43-55) and a brake system (Col. 5, lines 21-37) with brake devices (82; Col. 7, lines 29-32) for braking, wherein
the at least one operating unit operates a working function of a crane or lifting mechanism (Col. 2 ,lines 37-42), and
the brake system comprises a brake valve (87) for setting a brake pressure for the brake devices (Col. 5, lines 38-49), which is electrically connected to the at least one operating unit of the upper-carriage driver's cab and can be controlled via the at least one operating unit for braking the under-carriage (92; Col. 5, lines 21-37). Perkins does not disclose two wheel axles, braking the wheel axles or the placement of the brake valve.
Heidrich et al discloses a mobile crane with at least two wheel axles (9), brake devices (34, 35) for braking at least one of the at least two wheel axle (9; Abstract); the brake system comprises a brake valve (30; Abstract) arranged in the under-carriage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wheels of Perkins by mounting them on brakable axles as taught by Heidrich et al in order to provide adequate vehicle support. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pneumatic system of Perkins by installing it entirely within the undercarriage as taught by Heidrich et al in order to improve responsiveness by reducing the fluid displacement needed for braking.
As per claim 2, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein there is no accelerator pedal and/or no brake pedal in the upper-carriage driver's cab (The only pedal 93 is located in the main cabin, Fig. 2; Col. 5, lines 38-40), but acceleration and/or braking of the under-carriage can be carried out exclusively via the at least one operating unit of the upper-carriage driver's cab (82; Braking: Col. 7, lines 29-32; Acceleration: Col. 6, lines 15-34).
As per claim 3, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Heidrich et al further discloses wherein the brake system does not comprise any hydraulic or pneumatic connection between the under-carriage and the upper-carriage (Abstract).
As per claim 4, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein each of the at least one operating unit is a master switch (92).
As per claim 6, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein the under-carriage comprises a drive motor (6) which is electrically connected to the at least one operating unit and can be controlled via the at least one operating unit to control a traveling speed of the under-carriage (Col. 6, lines 15-34).
As per claim 7, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein the steering system comprises a steering drive (17) which is arranged in the under-carriage, is electrically connected to the at least one operating unit and can be actuated via the at least one operating unit for controlling the steering of the at least one steerable wheel axle (33, 40; Col. 3, lines 22-45).
As per claim 13, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein the under-carriage can be both braked and accelerated via the at least one operating unit (Braking: Col. 7, lines 29-32; Acceleration: Col. 6, lines 15-34).
As per claim 14, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein a gear for a forward travel (Col. 4, lines 55-63) or a reverse travel (Col. 4, lines 55-63) of the under-carriage can be selected by actuating the at least one operating unit (51; Col. 4, lines 55-63).
As per claim 15, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein the mobile equipment is a mobile crane (Col. 2, lines 18-32).
6. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 2,638,232) in view of Heidrich et al (DE 102019203068) and further in view of Iserman (US 2,761,569).
As per claim 5, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein the at least one operating unit comprises two master switches (92, 50) provided in the upper-carriage driver's cab, wherein a speed and/or acceleration of the under-carriage can be controlled (Col. 6, lines 15-34) and braking of the under-carriage can be controlled by actuating a second master switch (92; Col. 7, lines 29-32). Perkins does not disclose wherein a first master switch that controls the vehicle acceleration.
Iserman discloses a remote control unit for a truck-mounted crane wherein the at least one operating unit comprises two master switches (84, 86) provided in the upper-carriage driver's cab, wherein a speed and/or acceleration of the under-carriage can be controlled by actuating a first master switch (84; Col. 6, line 66—Col. 7, line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control panel of Perkins by providing a vehicle acceleration switch as taught by Iserman in order to control vehicle movement from the crane cab.
7. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 2,638,232) in view of Heidrich et al (DE 102019203068), Iserman (US 2,761,569) and Pilz (EP 1306278).
As per claim 8, Perkins, Heidrich et al and Iserman disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 5. Perkins discloses actuation of the brake valve (87, 92; Col. 5, lines 30-37), but does not disclose a control unit and wireless remote-control.
Pilz discloses a control device for a driving school vehicle wherein the brake valve is electrically connected to a control unit (20), which in turn is electrically connected to at least one receiving unit (22) and is configured to obtain wirelessly transmitted control signals from a mobile operating unit (12) for remote-controlled actuation of the brake valve ([0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control system of Perkins by integrating wireless control capabilities into the vehicle as taught by Pilz in order to permit enhanced in-vehicle training (Pilz: [0005])
As per claim 9, Perkins, Heidrich et al, Iserman and Pilz disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 8. Pilz further discloses wherein the control unit is electrically connected to a steering drive (31) arranged in the under-carriage and/or to a drive motor (31) arranged in the under-carriage and is configured to obtain wirelessly-transmitted control signals ([0048]) for controlling the drive motor and/or the steering drive via the at least one receiving unit (20; [0048]).
8. Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 2,638,232) in view of Heidrich et al (DE 102019203068) and further in view of Lu et al (CN 111056454).
As per claim 10, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses a drive motor (6) arranged in the under-carriage, but does not disclose wherein the drive motor is arranged in the under-carriage for providing power for the working function of the mobile equipment, and a control unit which is configured to automatically adjust a rotational speed of the drive motor to a power requested by at least one actuator of the mobile equipment for performing the working function.
Lu et al discloses a system for controlling on-load driving postures of a crane comprising a drive motor ([0018]) arranged in the under-carriage for providing power for the working function of the mobile equipment ([0017], [0018]), and a control unit (300; [0025]) which is configured to automatically adjust a rotational speed ([0018]) of the drive motor to a power requested ([0018]) by at least one actuator ([0017]) of the mobile equipment for performing the working function ([0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle controller of Perkins by adding a drive motor having a low-speed mode as taught by Lu et al in order to permit safe vehicle movement while the crane is angularly offset from the driving direction.
As per claim 12, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Perkins further discloses wherein a speed of the under-carriage can be controlled (Col. 6, lines 15-34) and/or the under-carriage can be steered (33, 40; Col. 3, lines 22-45) via the at least one operating unit, but does not disclose wherein a control unit connected to the at least one operating unit is configured to adapt at least one operating input required to achieve a specific speed adjustment and/or steering effect to a current position of the mobile equipment, wherein the current position of the mobile equipment is a current angle of rotation of the upper-carriage relative to the under-carriage.
Lu et al discloses a system for controlling on-load driving postures of a crane wherein a speed of the under-carriage can be controlled ([0047]) and/or the under-carriage can be steered via the at least one operating unit, wherein a control unit (300; [0025]) connected to the at least one operating unit is configured to adapt at least one operating input ([0047]) required to achieve a specific speed adjustment ([0047]) and/or steering effect to a current position ([0047]) of the mobile equipment, wherein the current position of the mobile equipment is a current angle of rotation of the upper-carriage relative to the under-carriage ([0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle controller of Perkins by adding a drive motor having a low-speed mode as taught by Lu et al in order to permit safe vehicle movement while the crane is angularly offset from the driving direction.
9. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 2,638,232) in view of Heidrich et al (DE 102019203068) and further in view of Nakada et al (JP 2019-055880).
Italic text denotes alternative claim limitations that are not rejected under prior art.
As per claim 11, Perkins and Heidrich et al disclose the mobile equipment according to claim 1. Although Perkins discloses a control panel (34) arranged in the upper-carriage driver's cab, he does not disclose wherein a display unit is arranged in the upper-carriage driver's cab, on which a parameter relating to a current braking process and/or a current acceleration process of the under-carriage can be displayed.
Nakada et al discloses a winch control device wherein a display unit (263a; [0056]) is arranged in the upper-carriage driver's cab, on which a parameter relating to a current braking process ([0056]) and/or a current acceleration process of the under-carriage can be displayed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the remote controls of Perkins by integrating their functions into an interactive display as taught by Nakada et al in order to improve the user experience and permit the display of additional information.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN M. BOWES IV
Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/STEPHEN M BOWES/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616