DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM (Pub. No.: US 2022/0183173 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
KIM discloses an electronic device comprising a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part movably coupled to the first housing part (abstract and parag. 0006); a wireless communication circuit disposed within the housing (parag. 0146 discloses circuit disposed in the housing); and a display including a first display area, and a second display area extending from the first display area and at least partially rollable into the first housing part based on a movement of the second housing part (abstract and parag. 0006 discloses first and second display area), wherein the first housing part comprises: a first surface facing a direction of the first display area (abstract and parag. 0006), a second surface opposite to the first surface (fig. parag. 0110), and a third surface between the first surface and the second surface (parag. 0110 discloses in-between first and second surface), a first non-conductive portion disposed between a first edge of the third surface in contact with the first surface (fig. 9, item 912 is the first non-conductive portion on one edge as in parag. 0144) and a second edge of the third surface in contact with the second surface (fig. 9, item 912 is on the other side edge), a first conductive portion disposed between the first edge and the first non-conductive portion (fig. 9, item 911 is the first conductive portion on one edge as in parag. 0144), and a second conductive portion disposed between the second edge and the first non-conductive portion (fig. 9, item 911 is the second conductive portion on the other edge as in parag. 0144), and wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to communicate with an external electronic device through the second conductive portion (parag. 0148 discloses that conductive part may be utilized as an antenna to communicate with other devices).
With respect to claims 8, 19:
KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a connecting structure connected to an inner surface of the first conductive portion and an inner surface of the second conductive portion by extending from the first non-conductive portion to the inner surface of the first housing part, wherein the connecting structure fixes the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion (parag. 0155 and fig. 9).
With respect to claim 13:
KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second housing part is movably coupled to the first housing part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction, wherein the second display area is rolled into the first housing part in a first state in which the second housing part is movable only in the first direction of the first direction and the second direction, and wherein the second display area is at least partially exposed to the outside of the first housing part in a second state in which the second housing part is movable only in the second direction of the first direction and the second direction (Parag. 0087).
With respect to claim 14:
KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the second display area is covered by the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface in the first state (fig. 9, parag. 0087 and 0155).
With respect to claim 15:
KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first display area is located closer to the first conductive portion than to the second conductive portion (fig. 9).
With respect to claim 16:
KIM discloses an electronic device comprising a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part movably coupled to the first housing part in a first direction and in a second direction opposite to the first direction (abstract and parag. 0006); a wireless communication circuit disposed within the housing (parag. 0146 discloses circuit disposed in the housing); and a display at least partially rollable into the first housing part based on a movement of the second housing part (abstract and parag. 0006 discloses first and second display area),, wherein the first housing part comprises a first surface facing a direction of the display exposed to the outside of the first housing part (abstract and parag. 0006), a second surface opposite to the first surface, and a third surface facing the second direction, wherein at least a portion of the display is expanded as the second housing part moves in the first direction (fig. 9, parag. 0087 and 0155), is contracted as the second housing part moves in the second direction, and is covered by the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface (abstract and parag. 0006), wherein the first housing part comprises: a first non-conductive portion disposed between a first edge of the third surface in contact with the first surface (fig. 9, item 912 which is a non-conductive portion) and a second edge of the third surface in contact with the second surface (fig. 9 with edge of the surface as in parag. 0090) and parallel to the first edge and the second edge (fig. 9), a first conductive portion disposed between the first edge and the first non-conductive portion (fig. 9, item 911 represents first conductive portion), and a second conductive portion disposed between the second edge and the first non-conductive portion (fig. 9, item 911 represents second conductive portion on the other edge), and wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to communicate with an external electronic device through the second conductive portion (parag. 0148 discloses that conductive part may be utilized as an antenna to communicate with other devices).
With respect to claim 17:
KIM discloses the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the first conductive portion extends from a third edge of the first surface opposite to the first edge to the first non-conductive portion in the second surface, and wherein the first housing part further comprises: a second non-conductive portion in contact with one end of the first non-conductive portion and extending from the third edge to the second edge, and a third non-conductive portion in contact with the other end of the first non-conductive portion opposite to the one end and extending from the third edge to the second edge. (Parag. 0087)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649