DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0187315 to Perry (hereinafter Perry).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 14, 15, and 17, Perry teaches a computing system, method, and computer-readable medium therefor, comprising:
one or more processors (see Fig. 1A); and
one or more memories (see Fig. 1A) having stored therein instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising:
authenticating, by a video game streaming service, a customer to allow the customer to access features of an interface provided by the video game streaming service (e.g., the user interface may include a user authentication module to validate a user before servicing a request for providing access to the games from the game network. In response to the request, the game server identifies a plurality of video games, populates a graphical user interface (GUI) with the identified set of plurality of video games and returns the user interface to a client for rendering at the display 132 in ¶ 50; see also ¶¶ 64 and 65 discussing available game titles and video clips);
receiving, by the video game streaming service, from the customer, via the interface, a first link request to link a first video game to a host computing instance group for hosting execution of at least the first video game, wherein the host computing instance group includes one or more host computing instances operated by the video game streaming service on behalf of the customer (e.g., a user U0 may access a game posted in one of social media providers 140 by selecting a link on a page, stream, news-feed, or post of the social media provider, and then playing or viewing the game from user device 100 in ¶ 63);
receiving, by the video game streaming service, from the customer, via the interface, a first stream request to initiate streaming of the first video game (e.g., after a user chooses an available game title to play, a game session for the chosen game title may be initiated by the user through game session manager 185, wherein after a game session is initiated, game session manager 185 may pass the game video frames 135 (i.e., streaming video data), via network interface 190 to a user device, e.g., user device 100 in ¶ 69);
executing, by the video game streaming service, a first video game instance of the first video game on a first host computing instance of the host computing instance group (e.g., playing the game session selected by the user, as discussed above); and
providing, by the video game streaming service, to the customer, via the interface, a first video stream captured from the first video game instance, wherein the first video stream is displayed in the interface, wherein the interface allows the customer to interact with the first video stream, and wherein the first video stream allows the customer to preview streaming of the first video game using resources of the video game streaming service before the customer makes the first video game publicly available (e.g., While the users play the game, a video recording of the game is created, capturing the game play activity from the game play session of the respective users. In one embodiment, a user is allowed to select a portion of the video recording in ¶ 36; In another embodiment, users can post links to the mini-games and/or video clips on one or more social networks. As a result of the sharing, other users in the game network or social network will be allowed access to the mini-games and/or the video clips. in ¶ 40; see also discussion of shared video clips at ¶ 47).
Regarding claim 2, 7, and 16, Perry teaches wherein the interface is a console interface (e.g., a given video game may be developed for a specific platform and a specific associated controller device in ¶ 167; see also the user interface in Fig. 5B).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 19, Perry teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, by the video game streaming service, from the customer, via the interface, a second link request to link a second video game to the host computing instance group (e.g., selecting a different link from a social stream or internal link, as discussed in ¶ 63);
receiving, by the video game streaming service, from the customer, via the interface, a second stream request to initiate streaming of the second video game (selecting a different video game from the list of games, as discussed in ¶¶ 50, 64, and 65);
executing, by the video game streaming service, a second video game instance of the second video game on the first host computing instance or another host computing instance of the host computing instance group (e.g., playing the game session selected by the user, as discussed above); and
providing, by the video game streaming service, to the customer, via the interface, a second video stream captured from the second video game instance, wherein the second video stream is displayed in the interface (e.g., the captured video discussed above with respect to at least ¶¶ 36, 40, and 47).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 20, Perry teaches wherein the operations further comprise: providing, by the video game streaming service, to the customer, via the interface, an audio stream captured from the first video game instance (e.g., captured video or audio from the game environment that may be processed by the client device before sending to the cloud game server in ¶ 170).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Perry teaches providing, by the application streaming service, to users that are authenticated by an authentication service operating on behalf of the customer, additional video streams corresponding to additional application instances of the first application executing on additional host computing instances of the host computing instance group (e.g., the user interface may include a user authentication module to validate a user before servicing a request for providing access to the games from the game network. In response to the request, the game server identifies a plurality of video games, populates a graphical user interface (GUI) with the identified set of plurality of video games and returns the user interface to a client for rendering at the display 132 in ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 11, Perry teaches wherein the second application is a different application title than the first application (e.g., the user interface may include a user authentication module to validate a user before servicing a request for providing access to the games from the game network. In response to the request, the game server identifies a plurality of video games, populates a graphical user interface (GUI) with the identified set of plurality of video games and returns the user interface to a client for rendering at the display 132 in ¶ 50; see also ¶¶ 64 and 65 discussing available game titles and video clips and ¶¶ 94 and 95 discussing game titles).
Regarding claim 12, Perry teaches wherein the second application and the first application are a same application title, and wherein the second application (e.g., a mini-game based on an original title) is an updated version of the first application (e.g., the original title for which the mini-game is an updated version; see at least ¶ 95).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715