DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US10277331B1) in view of Park et al. (Practical Data Communications for Instrumentation and Control, 2003), Horie et al. (US6807396B2), and Stein et al. (US7761094B2).
Regarding claim 1, Au discloses A barrier mounted satellite terminal system (Fig. 3B) comprising:
an outdoor unit (Fig. 3B; the first unit 210) configured to couple to an exterior surface of a transparent or translucent barrier (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 12-14; The first unit 210 is located on an outdoor side of the thermal pane window 202), the outdoor unit comprising:
a remote beam forming antenna (RBFA) unit (Fig. 3B; the antenna 300) for receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal from one or more remote nodes (Fig. 3B; the antenna 300 receives RF signals from the base station 102 as shown); and
a first transducer (Fig. 3B; the laser diode 304. A transducer is a device that converts energy from one form to another. The laser diode converts an electrical signal into an optical signal) in electronic communication (Fig. 3B; the laser diode 304 receives the modulating current from the RF receiver 302), the first transducer to transmit the RF signal as an optical signal (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 44-46; The laser diode 304 provides a modulated laser signal that is transmitted through the glass panes 206 and gas 204 of the thermal pane window 202); and
an indoor unit (Fig. 3B; the second unit 212) configured to couple to an interior surface of the transparent or translucent barrier (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 14-16; the second unit is located on an indoor side of the thermal pane window 202, e.g., within a structure that includes the thermal pane window 202), the indoor unit comprising:
a second transducer (Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 306. A transducer is a device that converts energy from one form to another. The optical receiver 306 converts an optical signal into an electrical signal) physically aligned with the first transducer to receive the optical signal from the first transducer through the transparent or translucent barrier (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 46-50; The second unit 212 includes an optical receiver 306 to receive modulated laser signals, which provides a modulating current to a RF signal source 308 to convert the modulated laser signal back into a modulated RF signal. The laser diode 304 and the optical receiver is physically aligned through the window as shown);
indoor unit to convert the optical signal into electric signals (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 46-50; The second unit 212 includes an optical receiver 306 to receive modulated laser signals, which provides a modulating current to a RF signal source 308 to convert the modulated laser signal back into a modulated RF signal); and
a wireless antenna (Fig. 3B; the antenna 312) to transmit to a user equipment (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 54-55; The antenna 312 provides the RF signal to a UE 104).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a wireless modem in electronic communication, the wireless modem to decode the RF signal.
Park et al. discloses a wireless modem (Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; a typical radio modem is shown) in electronic communication, the wireless modem to decode the RF signal (Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; Page 146, Section, 7.1, first paragraph; the radio signal is received by the antenna. It is subsequently input to the Modem. The demodulated Rx Data is generated as shown. Communications systems, whether they are telephone, landline, or radio, cannot directly transport digital information without some distortion of the signal. This is due to the bandwidth limitation inherent in any of the connecting mediums. A conversion device, called a modem (modulator/demodulator), is required to convert the digital signals generated by the transmitting computer into analogy form suitable for long distance transmission. The demodulator in the modem receives analogue information and converts it back to the original digital information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add radio modems to both the first unit 210 and the second unit 212 of Au. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to enable the communication of digital information. A modem (modulator/demodulator) demodulates a received analog signal--which was originally converted from a digital signal for long distance transmission to reduce the effect of noise—back into its original digital form.
However, the present combination still lacks receiving a RF signal from one or more satellites.
Horie et al. discloses receiving a RF signal from one or more satellites (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 14-19; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the general aspects of a receiving antenna system. The receiving antenna system is configured to receive and process RF signals transmitted from a communications satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive signals from a satellite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because satellites can provide communication services to any location on Earth, making them ideal for connecting remote areas where terrestrial infrastructure is difficult or impossible to deploy. Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a Wi-Fi router in electronic communication with the second transducer.
Stein et al. discloses a Wi-Fi router (Fig. 1; the gateway 22 routes the Wi-Fi signal as shown) in electronic communication with the second transducer (Fig. 1; Column 8, lines 29-32; a computer 20 communicating via a wireless link to a computerized device 22 serving as a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) access point of a wireless local loop system. (The optical signal is received by the access point 22 through the fiber 23. The access point 22 converts the optical signal to electrical signal and transmits Wi-Fi signal via the antenna shown on the access point 22)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Wi-Fi router, as taught by Stein et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to connect various devices, such as phones, tablets, and laptops, to the internet without using wires. Wi-Fi is the invisible radio wave signal that lets your devices share that internet connection.
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein: the wireless antenna is configured to receive an additional Wi-Fi signal from the user equipment (Au, Fig. 3B; the antenna 312 receives RF signal from UE 104 as shown); the Wi-Fi router is configured to further decode the additional Wi-Fi signal (Stein et al., Fig. 1; the computers 20 communicates with the computerized device 22); the indoor unit further comprises a third transducer (Au, Fig. 3B; The laser diode 316) to transmit the decoded additional Wi-Fi signal as an additional optical signal (Park, Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; Page 146, Section, 7.1, first paragraph; the radio signal is received by the antenna. It is subsequently demodulated to Rx Data as shown. Communications systems, whether they are telephone, landline, or radio, cannot directly transport digital information without some distortion of the signal. This is due to the bandwidth limitation inherent in any of the connecting mediums. A conversion device, called a modem (modulator/demodulator), is required to convert the digital signals generated by the transmitting computer into analogy form suitable for long distance transmission. The demodulator in the modem receives analogue information and converts it back to the original digital information); the outdoor unit further comprises a fourth transducer (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 318) physically aligned with the third transducer to receive the additional optical signal from the third transducer through the transparent or translucent barrier (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 318 receives the modulated laser signal from the laser diode 316. The optical receiver 318 and the optical receiver are physically aligned through the window as shown); the wireless modem to further convert the additional optical signal into an additional RF signal (Park, Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; Page 146, Section, 7.1, first paragraph; the radio signal is received by the antenna. It is subsequently demodulated to Rx Data as shown. Communications systems, whether they are telephone, landline, or radio, cannot directly transport digital information without some distortion of the signal. This is due to the bandwidth limitation inherent in any of the connecting mediums. A conversion device, called a modem (modulator/demodulator), is required to convert the digital signals generated by the transmitting computer into analogy form suitable for long distance transmission. The demodulator in the modem receives analogue information and converts it back to the original digital information); and the RBFA unit to transmit the additional RF signal to the one or more satellites (Au, Fig. 3B; the antenna 300 transmits RF signal to base station 102 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the indoor unit further comprises: a power supply (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 332) electronically coupled to a power source (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 332 is plugged into AC outlet); and a wireless power transmitter to output a wireless charging signal (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; the indoor unit, e.g., the second unit 212, of the penetrator device 200 may include an inductive charging mechanism 328 to provide energy to an inductive charging mechanism 330 included within the first unit 210 so that plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating).
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 3, as described and applied above, wherein the outdoor unit further comprises: a wireless power receiver (Au, Fig. 3B; the inductive charging mechanism 330) to capture power from the wireless charging signal (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; the indoor unit, e.g., the second unit 212, of the penetrator device 200 may include an inductive charging mechanism 328 to provide energy to an inductive charging mechanism 330 included within the first unit 210 so that plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating); and a second power supply (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 334) coupled to the wireless power receiver to store the power (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating).
Regarding claim 8, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above, wherein the first transducer is a first optical coupler (Au, Fig. 3B; the laser diode 304 optically connects to the second unit 212 as shown) and the second transducer is a second optical coupler (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 306 optical connects to the first unit 210).
Regarding claim 9, Au discloses An outdoor unit of a barrier mounted terminal system (Fig. 3B; the first unit 210) comprising:
a remote beam forming antenna unit (RBFA) (Fig. 3B; the antenna 300) for sending and receiving radio frequency signals (Fig. 3B; the antenna 300 sends/receives RF signals to/from the base station 102 as shown) associated with a remote node (Fig. 3B; the base station 102); and
a first transducer (Fig. 3B; the laser diode 304. A transducer is a device that converts energy from one form to another. The laser diode converts an electrical signal into an optical signal) in electronic communication (Fig. 3B; the laser diode 304 receives the modulating current from the RF receiver 302) and optical communication with an indoor unit of the barrier mounted terminal system (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 44-46; The laser diode 304 provides a modulated laser signal that is transmitted through the glass panes 206 and gas 204 of the thermal pane window 202), the indoor unit to convert optical signals into electrical signal (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 46-50; The second unit 212 includes an optical receiver 306 to receive modulated laser signals, which provides a modulating current to a RF signal source 308 to convert the modulated laser signal back into a modulated RF signal).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a wireless modem in electronic communication with the RBFA unit, the wireless modem to decode the RF signals; a first transducer in electronic communication with the wireless modem.
Park et al. discloses a wireless modem (Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; a typical radio modem is shown) in electronic communication with the RBFA unit (Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; the modem integrated circuit is in electronic communication with the antenna as shown), the wireless modem configured to decode the RF signals (Fig. 7.13; Fig. 7.14; Page 146, Section, 7.1, first paragraph; the radio signal is received by the antenna. It is subsequently input to the Modem. The demodulated Rx Data is generated as shown. Communications systems, whether they are telephone, landline, or radio, cannot directly transport digital information without some distortion of the signal. This is due to the bandwidth limitation inherent in any of the connecting mediums. A conversion device, called a modem (modulator/demodulator), is required to convert the digital signals generated by the transmitting computer into analogy form suitable for long distance transmission. The demodulator in the modem receives analogue information and converts it back to the original digital information); a first transducer in electronic communication with the wireless modem (Fig. 7.13; since the modem is placed after the radio transmitter/receiver as shown in the figure, in combination with Au, the modem would be placed between RF receiver 302 and laser diode 304 of Au).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add radio modems to both the first unit 210 and the second unit 212 of Au. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to enable the communication of digital information. A modem (modulator/demodulator) demodulates a received analog signal--which was originally converted from a digital signal for long distance transmission to reduce the effect of noise—back into its original digital form.
However, the present combination still lacks receiving RF signals associated with one or more satellites.
Horie et al. discloses receiving RF signals associated with one or more satellites (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 14-19; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the general aspects of a receiving antenna system. The receiving antenna system is configured to receive and process RF signals transmitted from a communications satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive signals from a satellite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because satellites can provide communication services to any location on Earth, making them ideal for connecting remote areas where terrestrial infrastructure is difficult or impossible to deploy. Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a Wi-Fi router.
Stein et al. discloses a Wi-Fi router (Fig. 1; Column 8, lines 29-32; the gateway 22 routes the Wi-Fi signal as shown. A computer 20 communicating via a wireless link to a computerized device 22 serving as a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) access point of a wireless local loop system. (The optical signal is received by the access point 22 through the fiber 23. The access point 22 converts the optical signal to electrical signal and transmits Wi-Fi signal via the antenna shown on the access point 22)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Wi-Fi router, as taught by Stein et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to connect various devices, such as phones, tablets, and laptops, to the internet without using wires. Wi-Fi is the invisible radio wave signal that lets your devices share that internet connection.
Regarding claim 10, the present combination The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above, further comprising a wireless power receiver (Au, Fig. 3B; the inductive charging mechanism 330) to capture power from a wireless charging signal (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; the indoor unit, e.g., the second unit 212, of the penetrator device 200 may include an inductive charging mechanism 328 to provide energy to an inductive charging mechanism 330 included within the first unit 210 so that plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating).
Regarding claim 11, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 10, as described and applied above, further comprising a power supply (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 334) coupled to the wireless power receiver (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating).
Regarding claim 15, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above, further comprising an adhesive for coupling the outdoor unit to an exterior surface of a transparent or translucent barrier (Au, Fig. 2A; Column 7, lines 9-12; a first unit 210 and a second unit 212 of the penetrator device 200 are affixed to opposite sides, e.g., planes of glass 206, 208, of the thermal pane window 202 using an adhesive 214).
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above, further comprising a second transducer (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 318) in electronic communication with the wireless modem (Park et al., Page 163; Fig. 7.14; the modem integrated circuit receives Tx Data) and optical communication with the indoor unit of the barrier mounted satellite terminal system (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 318 receives the modulated laser signal as shown).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US10277331B1), Park et al. (Practical Data Communications for Instrumentation and Control, 2003), Horie et al. (US6807396B2), and Stein et al. (US7761094B2) in view of Choi et al. (US20040091270A1).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a heater.
Choi et al. discloses a heater (Fig. 10; Para. 54; The transmitter is installed outdoors. A heater to confront the change of humidity or temperature can be provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known that condensation forms when warm, moist air inside an enclosure cools rapidly (during rapid weather changes). This moisture can damage the communication system. A heater can prevent this.
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one of a heater or a defroster.
Choi et al. discloses at least one of a heater or a defroster (Fig. 10; Para. 54; The transmitter is installed outdoors. A heater to confront the change of humidity or temperature can be provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known that condensation forms when warm, moist air inside an enclosure cools rapidly (during rapid weather changes). This moisture can damage the communication system. A heater can prevent this.
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a heater.
Choi et al. discloses a heater (Fig. 10; Para. 54; The transmitter is installed outdoors. A heater to confront the change of humidity or temperature can be provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known that condensation forms when warm, moist air inside an enclosure cools rapidly (during rapid weather changes). This moisture can damage the communication system. A heater can prevent this.
Regarding claim 14, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one of a heater or a defroster.
Choi et al. discloses at least one of a heater or a defroster (Fig. 10; Para. 54; The transmitter is installed outdoors. A heater to confront the change of humidity or temperature can be provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a heater. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it is well-known that condensation forms when warm, moist air inside an enclosure cools rapidly (during rapid weather changes). This moisture can damage the communication system. A heater can prevent this.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US10277331B1), Park et al. (Practical Data Communications for Instrumentation and Control, 2003), Horie et al. (US6807396B2), and Stein et al. (US7761094B2) in view of Rajapaksa (US10505909B2).
Regarding claim 7, the present combination discloses The barrier mounted satellite terminal system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose an auxiliary unit for encoding and decoding communication signals with an internet of things device in wireless communication.
Rajapaksa discloses an auxiliary unit for encoding and decoding communication signals with an internet of things device in wireless communication (Fig. 1; Column 3, lines 51-63; Both the user device 110 and IoT device 150 include BLUETOOTH hardware, firmware, and software to enable BLUETOOTH connectivity. The user device 110 includes a BLUETOOTH radio 113 controlled by BLUETOOTH firmware 114 and BLUETOOTH host 115. Similarly, the IoT device 150 includes a BLUETOOTH radio 153 controlled by BLUETOOTH firmware 154 and BLUETOOTH host 155. Operating systems 116 and 156 interface with the respective controllers 112 and 152, and BLUETOOTH hosts 115 and 155. The IoT device 150 may connect with the user device 110 over BLUETOOTH according to the IEEE 802.15 family of standards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the BLUETOOTH communication components to the second unit 212 of Au in order to implement IoT technology to minimizes human effort by allowing devices to communicate and perform tasks automatically without manual intervention.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US10277331B1), Park et al. (Practical Data Communications for Instrumentation and Control, 2003), Horie et al. (US6807396B2), and Stein et al. (US7761094B2) in view of Wikipedia (Phased array, 2017).
Regarding claim 12, the present combination discloses The outdoor unit of claim 9, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the RBFA unit comprises two or more antennas and wherein the two or more antennas are configured to utilize beamforming with respect to sending and receiving the radio frequency signals.
Wikipedia discloses the RBFA unit comprises two or more antennas and wherein the two or more antennas are configured to utilize beamforming with respect to sending and receiving the radio frequency signals (Page 1, Figure on the right column; Page 1, left column, first paragraph; a computer-controlled array of antennas which creates a beam of radio waves which can be electronically steered to point in different directions, without moving the antennas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the phased array antenna in order to electronically steer the RF beams toward the desired target without physically moving the antennas.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Au (US10277331B1) in view of Horie et al. (US6807396B2), and Stein et al. (US7761094B2).
Regarding claim 17, Au discloses An indoor unit of a barrier mounted satellite terminal system (Fig. 3B; the second unit 212) comprising:
an antenna (Fig. 3B; the antenna 312) for sending and receiving wireless signals associated with a user equipment (Fig. 3B; The antenna 312 sends/receives the RF signal to/from a UE 104), wherein the wireless signals are based at least in part on radio frequency (RF) signals from a remote beam forming antenna unit (RBFA) of an outdoor unit of the barrier mounted terminal system (Fig. 3B; the RF signal received from the base station 102 is relayed through optical signal communicated between the laser diode 304 and the optical receiver 306 to the antenna 312 and to the UE 104 as shown);
the indoor unit to convert the wireless signals into optical signals (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 62-65; The modulated RF signal is fed into a RF receiver 314 of the second unit 212 that converts the data payload of the RF signal into a modulating current, which directly modulates an optical signal source 316 of the second unit 212); and
a first transducer in electronic communication (Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 306. A transducer is a device that converts energy from one form to another. The optical receiver 306 converts an optical signal into an electrical signal) and optical communication with a second transducer of the outdoor unit of the barrier mounted terminal system, the first transducer to at least one of receive or send the optical signals with respect to the second transducer (Fig. 3B; Column 7, lines 46-50; The second unit 212 includes an optical receiver 306 to receive modulated laser signals, which provides a modulating current to a RF signal source 308 to convert the modulated laser signal back into a modulated RF signal. The laser diode 304 and the optical receiver is physically aligned through the window as shown).
However, the present combination still lacks satellite terminal.
Horie et al. discloses satellite terminal (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 14-19; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing the general aspects of a receiving antenna system. The receiving antenna system is configured to receive and process RF signals transmitted from a communications satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive signals from a satellite. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because satellites can provide communication services to any location on Earth, making them ideal for connecting remote areas where terrestrial infrastructure is difficult or impossible to deploy. Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose Wi-Fi signal and a Wi-Fi router in electronic communication with the second transducer.
Stein et al. discloses Wi-Fi signal and a Wi-Fi router (Fig. 1; the gateway 22 routes the Wi-Fi signal as shown) in electronic communication with the second transducer (Fig. 1; Column 8, lines 29-32; a computer 20 communicating via a wireless link to a computerized device 22 serving as a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) access point of a wireless local loop system. (The optical signal is received by the access point 22 through the fiber 23. The access point 22 converts the optical signal to electrical signal and transmits Wi-Fi signal via the antenna shown on the access point 22)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Wi-Fi router, as taught by Stein et al., in the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to connect various devices, such as phones, tablets, and laptops, to the internet without using wires. Wi-Fi is the invisible radio wave signal that lets your devices share that internet connection.
Regarding claim 18, the present combination discloses The indoor unit of claim 17, as described and applied above, further comprising a power supply (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 332) coupled to a power source (Au, Fig. 3B; the power supply 332 is plugged into AC outlet) and a wireless power transmitter (Au, Fig. 3B; the inductive charging mechanism 328), the wireless power transmitter to generate a wireless charging signal (Au, Fig. 3B; Column 9, line 9-16; the indoor unit, e.g., the second unit 212, of the penetrator device 200 may include an inductive charging mechanism 328 to provide energy to an inductive charging mechanism 330 included within the first unit 210 so that plugging in a power supply 332 of the first unit 210 into an AC power outlet will also provide power to a power supply 334, e.g., a battery, of the first unit 210 to thereby keep both units 210, 212 operating).
Regarding claim 19, the present combination discloses The indoor unit of claim 17, as described and applied above, further comprising an adhesive for coupling the indoor unit to an interior surface of a transparent or translucent barrier (Au, Fig. 2A; Column 7, lines 9-12; a first unit 210 and a second unit 212 of the penetrator device 200 are affixed to opposite sides, e.g., planes of glass 206, 208, of the thermal pane window 202 using an adhesive 214).
Regarding claim 20, the present combination discloses The indoor unit of claim 17, as described and applied above, wherein the second transducer (Au, Fig. 3B; the laser diode 316) is in electronic communication with the Wi-Fi router (Stein, Fig. 1; Column 8, lines 29-32; a computer 20 communicating via a wireless link to a computerized device 22 serving as a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) access point of a wireless local loop system) and optical communication with the outdoor unit of the barrier mounted satellite terminal system (Au, Fig. 3B; the optical receiver 318 receives the modulated laser signal as shown).
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634