DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1). Applicant’s argument – Yang has not been shown to teach or suggest that the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion on a first signal received from a second communication device, much less that the first signal is a signal obtained by adding, by the second communication device, a direct current bias signal to a second signal.
Examiner’s response – First, based on Applicant’s disclosure, the second communication device “may be the access network device in FIG. 13, for example, may be a base station. In an embodiment of this application, the second communication device may be referred to as a transmitter, or may be a device that transmits an information bit stream” ([0091]). The claims do not clearly define what the second communication device is, and where the second communication device is located. Applicant’s Figures 9-10 show that the second communication device is a transmitter, which contains several components and sends electrical signals to LEDs.
And, Applicant’s Specification also discloses that the nodes are just LEDs: [0008], “The first communication device receives optical signals transmitted by a group of (at least three) nodes (such as LEDs)”; [0084], “The first communication device receives optical signals transmitted by a group of (at least three) nodes (such as LEDs)”; [0119], “The first communication device receives optical signals transmitted by a group of (at least three) nodes (such as LEDs)”.
That is, based on Applicant’s disclosure, the nodes are LEDs, and the second communication device can be a transmitter, which includes multiple components and sends electrical signals to LEDs.
As shown in Figure 3 of Yang et al, the nodes are the “multiple white LEDs (three in this embodiment)” ([0037]), and the “transmitter”, which transmits information/”transmitted signal” to LEDs, is the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit. As shown in Figure 3, the downlink transmission processor/driving circuit are separated from the multiple white LEDs. And the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit send electrical signals to the LEDs. Then, based on Applicant’s disclosure/definition, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit, working as a “transmitter”, is a second communication device.
Second, previously cited prior art, Brandt-Pearce et al discloses a first communication device (UE 114), a second communication device (Access Point 110), and N node (108). Also as shown in Figure 1, Ooi et al shows that a transmitter (Tx) sends electrical signal (data) to a node (LD 10); therefore, the Tx is a “second communication device”.
Therefore, the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al teaches/suggests “the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion on a first signal received from a second communication device, … the first signal is a signal obtained by adding, by the second communication device, a direct current bias signal to a second signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN 105301561A. English machine translation was provided in previous Non-Final Action; also refer to the English translation provided with IDS by Applicant) in view of Brandt-Pearce et al (US 2020/0333422) and Broyde et al (US 2008/0063404) and Wang et al (CN 107634797. English machine translation is provided; also refer to the English translation provided with IDS by Applicant) and Ooi et al (US 2018/0062766).
1). With regard to claim 1, Yang et al discloses an optical wireless communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first communication device (“VLC positioning receiver” of Figure 2, and Figure 3), optical signals (optical signals from multiple LEDs, Figures 1-3) separately transmitted by N nodes ([0037], “multiple white LEDs” as shown in Figure 3; Figure 1 shows three nodes: “a”, “b” and “c”. [0008], “multiple LED emitting modules (no fewer than 3)”), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion (LED performs O/E conversion) on a first signal ([0037], output from “a driving circuit”) received from a second communication device (the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit, working as a “transmitter”, [0037] and Figure 3), the first signal is a signal obtained by adding, by the second communication device ([0039], “The driving circuit provides a suitable DC bias for the white LED and modulates the transmitted signal onto the driving current of the white LED”), a direct current bias signal ([0039], “The driving circuit provides a suitable DC bias for the white LED” and modulates the transmitted signal onto the driving current of the white LED”) to a second signal (“the transmitted signal”), different nodes correspond to different frequencies of carriers ([0028], “The invention first applies signals of different frequencies to different LEDs”; [0009], “Apply periodic signals of different frequencies to the driving circuits of different LED emitting modules to modulate the transmitted signal”) used for constant envelope modulation, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ([0013], n >= 3); and
obtaining, by the first communication device based on the received optical signals of the N nodes, a first parameter ([0028] and [0023], frequencies and received signal strength RSS; and then using the equations (1) and (4) in the original Specification, the horizontal distances ra, rb and rc are obtained) of each node of the N nodes, wherein the first parameter comprises a horizontal distance between the node and the first communication device and location information of the node ([0023] and Figures 1-2), and N first parameters of the N nodes are used to determine current location information of the first communication device ([0023]-[0025] and [0042]).
But, Yang et al does not expressly state that the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit is a second communication device, and Yang et al also does not expressly state: the second signal is a signal obtained after constant envelope modulation is performed on an information bit stream to be sent to the first communication device, and the different frequencies of carriers are used for constant envelope modulation, and the first communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes.
Regarding the second communication device, first, as discussed above, in Yang et al, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit works as a transmitter that sends electrical signals to the LEDs; and the downlink transmission processor/driving circuit are separated from the multiple white LEDs. Then, based on Applicant’s disclosure/definition, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit in Yang et al is a type of second communication device. Second, another prior art, Brandt-Pearce et al, discloses a system or an optical communication network for visible light communication and positioning; as shown in Figure 1, the communication system comprises a first communication device (114), N nodes (108), and a second communication device (access point 110. [0021], “the positioning system 100 can also include light sources so as to both receive communication from, and transmit communication to, the UE device 106.”), and “The UE device 106 can also include one or more photodetectors for receiving downlink communication from the access point 110 and a control circuit, such as described below in FIG. 6, for interpreting communication from the access point 110” ([0023]), “the UE device 106 can also perform positioning by similarly exploiting multi-path signals of the downlink communication from the access point 110” ([0025]), and “Light sources, such as white LED fixtures, for example, can be fixed to a ceiling of the indoor area 102 and configured to optically transmit downlink data to the UE device 106, which can be received by the UE device 106 using one or more photodetectors”; that is, Brandt-Pearce et al teaches/suggests that the first communication device (UE) receives optical signals transmitted by Nodes (108), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion on a first signal received from a second communication device (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Brandt-Pearce et al with the system/method of Yang et al so that an access network device or access point can be used to control/manage a plurality of nodes (LEDs), and resource scheduling/management, frequency controlling, and LED controlling can be made easier.
Regarding the constant envelope modulation, the constant-envelope modulation, such as frequency modulation and phase modulation, has been widely used in the free-space optical communication. E.g., Broyde et al discloses “the inverter (8) produces a frequency-modulated lamp current around the frequency of 62 kHz, which produces a frequency-modulated light around the frequency of 124 kHz. This type of constant-envelope modulation has the advantage of not implying a modulation of light perceptible by human observers” ([0037]).
Regarding the information bit stream etc., Wang et al discloses a system/method similar to Yang’s system/method (Figures 1-3), and discloses that the system/method can be used for both visible light positioning and visible light communication, and “simultaneously realizing visible light positioning and visible light communication” ([0019]); that is, the transmitted optical signals from the LEDs contain information bit streams. As shown in Figure 1 of Wang, data signals are input from the input ports at the left side of Figure 1, and the data signals are demodulated/recovered at the receiver side and output at the output ports at the right side of Figure 1. And different LEDs uses different frequencies ([0006], non-overlapping subcarriers), which are used to transmit information ([0008]), and “the receiver performs Fourier transform on the time-domain electrical signals to recover the frequency domain information and calculates the corresponding power of each subcarrier block; by analyzing the frequency band occupied by each subcarrier block, the coordinates of the corresponding transmitters are obtained; by analyzing the corresponding power of each subcarrier block, the transmission distance from the N transmitters to the receiver is estimated according to formula (1)” ([0012]), and “Based on the coordinates of the transmitter and the estimated transmission distance from the transmitter to the receiver, the location of the receiver is estimated using the least squares method” ([0015]) and “the frequency domain information of all transmitters is demodulated to recover the original signal, thereby realizing visible light communication” ([0016]). Wang et al also discloses “uses pulse position coding (PPM) to ensure that the transmission power on each subcarrier is the same” ([0008]-[0009]), “pulse code modulation is performed on the modulation information of the transmitter to make the information power transmitted by each transmitter the same” ([0011], [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0050]); the PPM is a type of constant envelope modulation; that is, Wang et al teaches/suggests the different frequencies of carriers are used for constant envelope modulation, and the receiving communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes. Another prior art, Ooi et al discloses a system/method for free space optical communication (Figures 1-2 etc.), in which a data signal and direct current bias are combined by the bias tee (20) so to drive a laser diode ([0029]), and the digital data is encoded on carrier frequency ([0012] and [0026] etc.); also as shown in Figure 1, Ooi et al shows that a transmitter (Tx) sends electrical signal (data) to a node (LD 10); therefore, the Tx is a “second communication device”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al to the system/method of Yang et al Brandt-Pearce et al so to use a constant envelope modulation for the information bit stream etc. and to reduce signal distortion, and human observers will not percept the power fluctuation, and the system can be used for both optical free-space communications and positioning, and the functions of the system/method are enhanced.
2). With regard to claim 2, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al further discloses wherein for a first node of the N nodes, obtaining, by the first communication device, the first parameter of the first node and the information bit stream corresponding to the first node comprises:
performing, by the first communication device, optical-to-electrical conversion processing (Yang: photodetector in the “VLC positioning receiver” performs the O/E conversion. Wang: photodetector in the receiver) on a received first optical signal to obtain a third signal (the outputs from the photodetector), wherein the third signal is a signal obtained after the first signal is transmitted through a channel (free-space channel), and the first optical signal is any optical signal (from the N nodes) received by the first communication device (also refer to Brandt-Pearce: Figure 1 and [0021], [0023] and [0027]);
comparing, by the first communication device, a center frequency of a spectrum of the third signal with a center frequency of a carrier corresponding to each node of the N nodes (Yang: [0010], step 3, “Based on the actual site and frequency loading conditions, pre-record the LED position information corresponding to each frequency in the processor of the optical receiver module to establish a database. The location information refers to the coordinates of the LED in the field. The origin of the coordinates is the edge position, and the x and y coordinates of each LED are determined according to the distance of each LED from the edge”);
if the center frequency of the spectrum of the third signal is the same as a center frequency of a carrier corresponding to the first node, determining that the first optical signal from the first node is received (Yang: [0010]-[0012], steps 3-5; [0013], step 6, “find the frequency values corresponding to the top n intensities in descending order of intensity (n≥3, n<equal to the number of LEDs), and compare them with the database established in Step 3 to extract the LED position information corresponding to these n intensity values”);
determining, by the first communication device, a power attenuation percentage based on a receive power of the third signal and a transmit power used when the first node transmits the optical signal (Yang: [0012]-[0021], step 7, equation (1));
determining, by the first communication device, the horizontal distance between the first communication device and the first node based on the power attenuation percentage (Yang: [0023]-[0025], equation (4)); and
obtaining, by the first communication device, the location information of the first node according to a stored correspondence between a node and location information of the node (Yang: [0023]-[0025], equation (4). [0006], “Different LEDs are distinguished by frequency, and the location information of the LEDs is obtained using a built-in LED database. The location is then determined by combining the location and intensity information of the different LEDs” and [0010] “Step 3: Based on the actual site and frequency loading conditions, pre-record the LED position information corresponding to each frequency in the processor of the optical receiver module to establish a database”. Wang: [0033]-[0047]).
3). With regard to claim 3, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al further discloses wherein the receiving, by a first communication device, optical signals separately transmitted by N nodes comprises:
receiving, by the first communication device on receive frequencies of the N nodes, the optical signals transmitted by the N nodes, wherein receive frequencies of different nodes are different from each other (refer to claim 1 rejection, and Figure 1 etc. of Yang; and Figure 3 of Wang).
4). With regard to claim 9, Yang et al discloses a communication device (“VLC positioning receiver” of Figure 2, and Figure 3), wherein the communication device is a first communication device (“VLC positioning receiver” of Figure 2, and Figure 3) and comprises:
a receiver (photodetector in the “VLC positioning receiver”), the receiver configured to receive optical signals separately transmitted by N nodes ([0037], “multiple white LEDs” as shown in Figure 3; optical signals from multiple LEDs, Figures 1-3), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes (([0037], “multiple white LEDs” as shown in Figure 3; Figure 1 shows three nodes: “a”, “b” and “c”. [0008], “multiple LED emitting modules (no fewer than 3)”) by performing electrical-to-optical conversion (LED performs O/E conversion) on a first signal ([0037], driving signal by “a driving circuit”) received from a second communication device (the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit, working as a “transmitter”, [0037] and Figure 3), the first signal is a signal obtained by adding, by the second communication device ([0039]), a direct current bias signal ([0039], “The driving circuit provides a suitable DC bias for the white LED” and modulates the transmitted signal onto the driving current of the white LED”) to a second signal (“the transmitted signal”), different nodes correspond to different frequencies of carriers ([0028], “The invention first applies signals of different frequencies to different LEDs”; [0009], “Apply periodic signals of different frequencies to the driving circuits of different LED emitting modules to modulate the transmitted signal”) used for constant envelope modulation, and Nis an integer greater than or equal to 3 ([0013], n >= 3);
at least one processor ([0008], “the visible light receiving module includes a photodetector, an amplifier circuit, an analog-to-digital converter, and a processor, which are connected sequentially”, and [0010]-[0012] etc.); and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions ([0010]-[0012] and [0041]-0042], since processor/computer is used, it is inherent that a memory is in the computer or associated with the processor, so to calculate or obtain the desire position information etc.) for execution by the at least one processor to obtain, based on the received optical signals of the N nodes, a first parameter ([0028] and [0023], frequencies and received signal strength RSS; and then using the equations (1) and (4) in the original Specification, the horizontal distances ra, rb and rc are obtained) of each node of the N nodes, wherein the first parameter comprises a horizontal distance between the node and the first communication device and location information of the node ([0023] and Figures 1-2), and first parameters of the N nodes are used to determine current location information of the first communication device ([0023]-[0025] and [0042]).
But, Yang et al does not expressly state: the communication device comprises a transceiver, and the second signal is a signal obtained after constant envelope modulation is performed on an information bit stream to be sent to the first communication device, the communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes. Yang et al also does not expressly state that the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit is a second communication device.
Regarding the transceiver and second communication device, first, as discussed above, in Yang et al, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit works as a transmitter that sends electrical signals to the LEDs; and the downlink transmission processor/driving circuit are separated from the multiple white LEDs. Then, based on Applicant’s disclosure/definition, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit in Yang et al is a type of second communication device. Second, another prior art, Brandt-Pearce et al, discloses a system or an optical communication network for visible light communication and positioning; as shown in Figure 1, the communication system comprises a first communication device (114), N nodes (108), and a second communication device (access point 110. [0021], “the positioning system 100 can also include light sources so as to both receive communication from, and transmit communication to, the UE device 106.”), and “The UE device 106 can also include one or more photodetectors for receiving downlink communication from the access point 110 and a control circuit, such as described below in FIG. 6, for interpreting communication from the access point 110” ([0023]), “the UE device 106 can also perform positioning by similarly exploiting multi-path signals of the downlink communication from the access point 110” ([0025]), and “Light sources, such as white LED fixtures, for example, can be fixed to a ceiling of the indoor area 102 and configured to optically transmit downlink data to the UE device 106, which can be received by the UE device 106 using one or more photodetectors”; that is, Brandt-Pearce et al teaches/suggests that the first communication device (UE) receives optical signals transmitted by Nodes (108), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion on a first signal received from a second communication device (110). Third, it is common in the free-space optical communications that transceivers (having a receiving function and sending function) are used in two terminals (or nodes) so to realize a bi-directional communication. As shown in Figure 1, and disclosed by Brandt-Pearce et al, “The network-side system 104 includes photodetectors 108, access point 110, and a control and memory circuit 112. In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the positioning system 100 can also include light sources so as to both receive communication from, and transmit communication to, the UE device 106” ([0021]), “The UE device 106 includes a transmitter 114 configured to emit a signal to communicate with the access point 110. … . The UE device 106 can also include one or more photodetectors for receiving downlink communication from the access point 110 and a control circuit, such as described below in FIG. 6, for interpreting communication from the access point 110” ([0023]), and “the positioning system 100 can be used for data communication, acting as a visible light communication (VLC) or other optical communication system, for example. Light sources, such as white LED fixtures, for example, can be fixed to a ceiling of the indoor area 102 and configured to optically transmit downlink data to the UE device 106, which can be received by the UE device 106 using one or more photodetectors”; that is, Brandt-Pearce et al teaches/discloses that the first communication device (UE) comprises a transceiver (having a receiving function and a sending function) having a transmitter and photodetectors.
Brandt-Pearce et al discloses an optical communication network for visible light communication and positioning, and teaches that the user element (or first communication device) has a transceiver, and N nodes receives signals from a second communication device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Brandt-Pearce et al to the system/method of Yang et al so that a bi-directional free-space optical communication system can be obtained, and an access network device or access point can be used to control/manage a plurality of nodes (LEDs), and resource scheduling/management, frequency controlling, and LED controlling can be made easier.
Regarding the constant envelope modulation, the constant-envelope modulation, such as frequency modulation and phase modulation, has been widely used in the free-space optical communication. E.g., Broyde et al discloses “the inverter (8) produces a frequency-modulated lamp current around the frequency of 62 kHz, which produces a frequency-modulated light around the frequency of 124 kHz. This type of constant-envelope modulation has the advantage of not implying a modulation of light perceptible by human observers” ([0037]).
Regarding the information bit stream etc., Wang et al discloses a system/method similar to Yang’s system/method (Figures 1-3), and discloses that the system/method can be used for both visible light positioning and visible light communication, and “simultaneously realizing visible light positioning and visible light communication” ([0019]); that is, the transmitted optical signals from the LEDs contain information bit streams. As shown in Figure 1 of Wang, data signals are input from the input ports at the left side of Figure 1, and the data signals are demodulated/recovered at the receiver side and output at the output ports at the right side of Figure 1. And different LEDs uses different frequencies ([0006], non-overlapping subcarriers), which are used to transmit information ([0008]), and “the receiver performs Fourier transform on the time-domain electrical signals to recover the frequency domain information and calculates the corresponding power of each subcarrier block; by analyzing the frequency band occupied by each subcarrier block, the coordinates of the corresponding transmitters are obtained; by analyzing the corresponding power of each subcarrier block, the transmission distance from the N transmitters to the receiver is estimated according to formula (1)” ([0012]), and “Based on the coordinates of the transmitter and the estimated transmission distance from the transmitter to the receiver, the location of the receiver is estimated using the least squares method” ([0015]) and “the frequency domain information of all transmitters is demodulated to recover the original signal, thereby realizing visible light communication” ([0016]). Wang et al also discloses “uses pulse position coding (PPM) to ensure that the transmission power on each subcarrier is the same” ([0008]-[0009]), “pulse code modulation is performed on the modulation information of the transmitter to make the information power transmitted by each transmitter the same” ([0011], [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0050]); the PPM is a type of constant envelope modulation; that is, Wang et al teaches/suggests the different frequencies of carriers are used for constant envelope modulation, and the receiving communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes. Another prior art, Ooi et al discloses a system/method for free space optical communication (Figures 1-2 etc.), in which a data signal and direct current bias are combined by the bias tee (20) so to drive a laser diode ([0029]), and the digital data is encoded on carrier frequency ([0012] and [0026] etc.); also as shown in Figure 1, Ooi et al shows that a transmitter (Tx) sends electrical signal (data) to a node (LD 10); therefore, the Tx is a “second communication device”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al to the system/method of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al so to use a constant envelope modulation for the information bit stream etc. and to reduce signal distortion, and human observers will not percept the power fluctuation, and the system can be used for both optical free-space communications and positioning, and the functions of the system/method are enhanced.
5). With regard to claim 10, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 9 above. And the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al further discloses wherein for a first node of the N nodes, the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to:
perform optical-to-electrical conversion processing (Yang: photodetector in the “VLC positioning receiver” performs the O/E conversion. Wang: photodetector in the receiver) on a received first optical signal to obtain a third signal (the outputs from the photodetector), wherein the third signal is a signal obtained after the first signal is transmitted through a channel (free-space channel), and the first optical signal is any optical signal (from the N nodes) received by the first communication device (also refer to Brandt-Pearce: Figure 1 and [0021], [0023] and [0027]);
compare a center frequency of a spectrum of the third signal with a center frequency of a carrier corresponding to each node of the N nodes (Yang: [0010], step 3, “Based on the actual site and frequency loading conditions, pre-record the LED position information corresponding to each frequency in the processor of the optical receiver module to establish a database. The location information refers to the coordinates of the LED in the field. The origin of the coordinates is the edge position, and the x and y coordinates of each LED are determined according to the distance of each LED from the edge”);
if the center frequency of the spectrum of the third signal is the same as a center frequency of a carrier corresponding to the first node, determine that the first optical signal from the first node is received (Yang: [0010]-[0012], steps 3-5; [0013], step 6, “find the frequency values corresponding to the top n intensities in descending order of intensity (n≥3, n<equal to the number of LEDs), and compare them with the database established in Step 3 to extract the LED position information corresponding to these n intensity values”);
determine a power attenuation percentage based on a receive power of the third signal and a transmit power used when the first node transmits the optical signal (Yang: [0012]-[0021], step 7, equation (1));
determine the horizontal distance between the first communication device and the first node based on the power attenuation percentage (Yang: [0023]-[0025], equation (4)); and
obtain the location information of the first node according to a stored correspondence between a node and location information of the node (Yang: [0023]-[0025], equation (4). [0006], “Different LEDs are distinguished by frequency, and the location information of the LEDs is obtained using a built-in LED database. The location is then determined by combining the location and intensity information of the different LEDs” and [0010] “Step 3: Based on the actual site and frequency loading conditions, pre-record the LED position information corresponding to each frequency in the processor of the optical receiver module to establish a database”. Wang: [0033]-[0047]).
6). With regard to claim 11, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 9 above. And the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al further discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to receive, on receive frequencies of the N nodes, the optical signals transmitted by the N nodes, and wherein receive frequencies of different nodes are different from each other (refer to claim 9 rejection, and Figure 1 etc. of Yang; and Figure 3 of Wang).
7). With regard to claim 17, Yang et al discloses a communication system (Figures 1-4), comprising:
a first communication device (“VLC positioning receiver” of Figure 2, and Figure 3), N nodes ([0037], “multiple white LEDs” as shown in Figure 3; Figure 1 shows three nodes: “a”, “b” and “c”. [0008], “multiple LED emitting modules (no fewer than 3)”), a second communication device (the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit, working as a “transmitter”, [0037] and Figure 3), wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ([0013], n >= 3);
wherein the first communication device is configured to receive optical signals (optical signals from multiple LEDs, Figures 1-3) separately transmitted by the N nodes (Figure 1 shows three nodes: “a”, “b” and “c”. [0008], “multiple LED emitting modules (no fewer than 3)”), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion (LED performs O/E conversion) on a first signal ([0037], driving signal by “a driving circuit”) received from a second communication device (the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit, working as a “transmitter”, [0037] and Figure 3), the first signal is a signal obtained by adding, by the second communication device ([0039], “The driving circuit provides a suitable DC bias for the white LED and modulates the transmitted signal onto the driving current of the white LED”), a direct current bias signal ([0039], “The driving circuit provides a suitable DC bias for the white LED” and modulates the transmitted signal onto the driving current of the white LED”) to a second signal (“the transmitted signal”), frequencies of carriers used by each node are different ([0028], “The invention first applies signals of different frequencies to different LEDs”; [0009], “Apply periodic signals of different frequencies to the driving circuits of different LED emitting modules to modulate the transmitted signal”), and N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 ([0013], n >= 3); and
wherein the first communication device is further configured to obtain, based on the received optical signals of the N nodes, a first parameter ([0028] and [0023], frequencies and received signal strength RSS; and then using the equations (1) and (4) in the original Specification, the horizontal distances ra, rb and rc are obtained) of each node of the N nodes, wherein the first parameter comprises a horizontal distance between the node and the first communication device and location information of the node ([0023] and Figures 1-2), and N first parameters of the N nodes are used to determine current location information of the first communication device ([0023]-[0025] and [0042]).
But, Yang et al does not expressly state that the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit is a second communication device, and Yang et al also does not expressly state: the second signal is a signal obtained after constant envelope modulation is performed on an information bit stream to be sent to the first communication device; frequencies of carriers are used by each node to perform constant envelope modulation; and the first communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes.
Regarding the second communication device, first, as discussed above, in Yang et al, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit works as a transmitter that sends electrical signals to the LEDs; and the downlink transmission processor/driving circuit are separated from the multiple white LEDs. Then, based on Applicant’s disclosure/definition, the combination of the downlink transmission processor and the driving circuit in Yang et al is a type of second communication device. Second, another prior art, Brandt-Pearce et al, discloses a system or an optical communication network for visible light communication and positioning; as shown in Figure 1, the communication system comprises a first communication device (114), N nodes (108), and a second communication device (access point 110. [0021], “the positioning system 100 can also include light sources so as to both receive communication from, and transmit communication to, the UE device 106.”), and “The UE device 106 can also include one or more photodetectors for receiving downlink communication from the access point 110 and a control circuit, such as described below in FIG. 6, for interpreting communication from the access point 110” ([0023]), “the UE device 106 can also perform positioning by similarly exploiting multi-path signals of the downlink communication from the access point 110” ([0025]), and “Light sources, such as white LED fixtures, for example, can be fixed to a ceiling of the indoor area 102 and configured to optically transmit downlink data to the UE device 106, which can be received by the UE device 106 using one or more photodetectors”; that is, Brandt-Pearce et al teaches/suggests that the first communication device (UE) receives optical signals transmitted by Nodes (108), wherein the optical signals are obtained by the N nodes by performing electrical-to-optical conversion on a first signal received from a second communication device (110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Brandt-Pearce et al with the system/method of Yang et al so that the first communication device can communicate with a second communication device (e.g., an access network device, access point/node) and transmit/receive signals to/from the second communication device, and one access network device or access point can be used to control/manage a plurality of nodes (LEDs), and resource scheduling/management, frequency controlling, and LED controlling can be made easier.
Regarding the constant envelope modulation, the constant-envelope modulation, such as frequency modulation and phase modulation, has been widely used in the free-space optical communication. E.g., Broyde et al discloses “the inverter (8) produces a frequency-modulated lamp current around the frequency of 62 kHz, which produces a frequency-modulated light around the frequency of 124 kHz. This type of constant-envelope modulation has the advantage of not implying a modulation of light perceptible by human observers” ([0037]).
Regarding the information bit stream etc., Wang et al discloses a system/method similar to Yang’s system/method (Figures 1-3), and discloses that the system/method can be used for both visible light positioning and visible light communication, and “simultaneously realizing visible light positioning and visible light communication” ([0019]); that is, the transmitted optical signals from the LEDs contain information bit streams. As shown in Figure 1 of Wang, data signals are input from the input ports at the left side of Figure 1, and the data signals are demodulated/recovered at the receiver side and output at the output ports at the right side of Figure 1. And different LEDs uses different frequencies ([0006], non-overlapping subcarriers), which are used to transmit information ([0008]), and “the receiver performs Fourier transform on the time-domain electrical signals to recover the frequency domain information and calculates the corresponding power of each subcarrier block; by analyzing the frequency band occupied by each subcarrier block, the coordinates of the corresponding transmitters are obtained; by analyzing the corresponding power of each subcarrier block, the transmission distance from the N transmitters to the receiver is estimated according to formula (1)” ([0012]), and “Based on the coordinates of the transmitter and the estimated transmission distance from the transmitter to the receiver, the location of the receiver is estimated using the least squares method” ([0015]) and “the frequency domain information of all transmitters is demodulated to recover the original signal, thereby realizing visible light communication” ([0016]). Wang et al also discloses “uses pulse position coding (PPM) to ensure that the transmission power on each subcarrier is the same” ([0008]-[0009]), “pulse code modulation is performed on the modulation information of the transmitter to make the information power transmitted by each transmitter the same” ([0011], [0028]-[0029], [0032] and [0050]); the PPM is a type of constant envelope modulation; that is, Wang et al teaches/suggests the different frequencies of carriers are used for constant envelope modulation, and the receiving communication device obtains an information bit stream corresponding to each node of the N nodes. Another prior art, Ooi et al discloses a system/method for free space optical communication (Figures 1-2 etc.), in which a data signal and direct current bias are combined by the bias tee (20) so to drive a laser diode ([0029]), and the digital data is encoded on carrier frequency ([0012] and [0026] etc.); also as shown in Figure 1, Ooi et al shows that a transmitter (Tx) sends electrical signal (data) to a node (LD 10); therefore, the Tx is a “second communication device”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al to the system/method of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al so to use a constant envelope modulation for the information bit stream etc. and to reduce signal distortion, and human observers will not percept the power fluctuation, and the system can be used for both optical free-space communications and positioning, and the functions of the system/method are enhanced.
Regarding the second communication device, the combination of Yang et al Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al discloses a system/method that can be used for both visible light positioning and visible light communication, and “simultaneously realizing visible light positioning and visible light communication”. And in Figure 1 of Wang, data are input from input ports at the left side of Figure 1, then it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the device (or terminal) that sends the data to the device of Figure 1 (or the LED in Figure 3) is a second communication device. Also, another prior art, Brandt-Pearce et al, discloses a system or an optical communication network for visible light communication and positioning. As shown in Figure 1, the communication system comprises a first communication device (114), N nodes (108), and a second communication device (access point 110. [0021], “the positioning system 100 can also include light sources so as to both receive communication from, and transmit communication to, the UE device 106.”), and “The UE device 106 includes a transmitter 114 configured to emit a signal to communicate with the access point 110. The UE device 106 can be any device configured to emit an electromagnetic signal in the visual, infrared, or other band (e.g., a quasi-optical band such as encompassing a millimeter-range of wavelengths), for example. The UE device 106 can be a manufacturing or navigating robot, a mobile device such as a tablet or phone, or any other mobile user device. The UE device 106 can also include one or more photodetectors for receiving downlink communication from the access point 110 and a control circuit, such as described below in FIG. 6, for interpreting communication from the access point 110”.
8). With regard to claim 18, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 17 above. And the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al further discloses wherein the first communication device is configured to receive the optical signals on receive frequencies of the N nodes, and receive frequencies of different nodes are different from each other (refer to claim 17 rejection, and Figure 1 etc. of Yang; and Figure 3 of Wang).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Breuer et al (US 2018/0331757).
Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 17 above. But, Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al do not expressly disclose wherein the first communication device is configured to send, on an access channel, an access request to the second communication device, and wherein the access request comprises the current location information of the first communication device and an identifier of the first communication device.
However, as discussed in claim 17 rejection above, the combination of Yang et al and Brandt-Pearce et al and Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al discloses that the system can be used for both visible light positioning and visible light communication, and “simultaneously realizing visible light positioning and visible light communication”. And Brandt-Pearce et al discloses that a user equipment (UE 106) can communicate with an access node/point (110) for data communication ([0027]); therefore, the system is a type of access network. It is common in the art that for a UE to obtain data from an access node in an access network, the UE needs to send an access request to the access node, and get an acknowledgement or granted access/permission from the access node. Regarding the current location and an identifier of the first communication device or user equipment, it is normal that an UE sends its identifier or ID to identify itself. Also, another prior art, Breuer et al, discloses that in a visible light communication, identifier and position information etc. can be communicated between a user equipment and another node ([0002], “password or other security credentials normally must be provided in order to gain network access”, and [0076], “The communication signals may contain a variety of information, for example protocol information, data packets, navigational system access request and status information, encoding scheme, encoding scheme identifier, luminaire identifier, and luminaire position information. In an example case, the mobile computing device 200 may transmit an identification of an encoding scheme and a luminaire identifier to the server 1004”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the access mechanism as taught by Breuer et al to the system/method of Brandt-Pearce et al to the system/method of Yang et al Broyde et al and Wang et al and Ooi et al and Brandt-Pearce et al so that a dedicated secure connection is established.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 August 26, 2026