DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1, 4-8, 18 and 19, in the reply filed on 07/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-17, and 20, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/07/2025.
Response to Amendment
The previous rejection of Claims 4, and 6, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1-8, 18 and 19, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al., “Development of Cationic Polymer Coatings to Regulate Foreign-Body Responses,” Advanced Materials, vol. 23, issue. 24, page H189-H194, (2011), (hereinafter Ma) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 18, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0042037 A1 to Thorseth et al. (hereinafter Thorseth) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The previous rejection of Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, and 18, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104744693 A to Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang) is/are withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites chemical formulas with the following structure,
. However, this does not appear to be a standard chemical drawing for representing bonding points, such as
or brackets such as
. It appears that the claimed chemical structures are not correct.
Claim 6 recites chemical formulas
with the same issues cited above such as
. However, this does not appear to be a standard chemical drawing for representing bonding points, such as
or brackets such as
. It appears that the claimed chemical structures are not correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para 15 and 74, the specification states the chemical formula of the nitrogen-containing group recites chemical formulas with the following structure,
. However, this does not appear to be a standard chemical drawing for representing bonding points, such as
or brackets such as
. It appears that the claimed chemical structures are not correct.
In para 18 and 79, the specification states the binary epoxy residual group has the formulae,
with the same issues cited above such as
. However, this does not appear to be a standard chemical drawing for representing bonding points, such as
or brackets such as
. It appears that the claimed chemical structures are not correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a nitrogen-containing group comprising…a tertiary amino group…wherein the tertiary amino group…” and Claim 5 recites “the tertiary amino group.” However, nowhere in the Applicant’s specification is a “tertiary amino group” mentioned or described for the nitrogen-containing group. The only term described in the Applicant’s specification is a “dimethylamine group,” for which the Applicant is appearing to replace in the claims.
Thus, since there is no support and/or description of the broader limitation of “tertiary amino” in the Applicant’s specification, it is considered new matter.
Claims 4, 6-8, 18, and 19, are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,520,829 A to Kapuscinski et al. (hereinafter Kapuscinski).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 18, Kapuscinski teaches an ethylene-propylene copolymer with moieties derived from a reaction product of allyl glycidyl ether and N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine (See abstract), specifically, the reaction product of allyl glycidyl ether and N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine (Example 1) is grafted upon a ethylene-propylene copolymer (Mn 80,000), (Examples XIV-XXVII, col 11, l n 30 to col 12, ln 3), which meets the claimed polymer of claims 1, and 4. Kapuscinski further teaches that the reaction product may also be obtained from N-(3-aminopropyl)pyrrolidone (Table, col 4, ln 18).
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 18, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP S60-231734 A to Tada et al. (hereinafter Tada).
Regarding claims 1, 4-8, 18, and 19, Tada teaches an additive of a reaction product of formula I obtained from a reaction of formula II and formula III (See abstract), wherein the reaction product is specifically obtained compounds (2) and compounds (3)
, such as from N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine and limonene dioxide, (See example 8, Table 1) which meets the nitrogen-containing group of claims 1 and 4, and the limonene dioxide meets the epoxy compound residual that contains two epoxy residue groups of claim 5. The above reaction product has a molecular weight of up to 5,000 (See specification, page 2), which meets the claimed repeating units of the polymer. Tada further teaches that compound (3) is specifically butanediol diglycidyl ether (example 2), which meets the claimed binary epoxy compound cited in claim 6, wherein a1=2, and if the molecular weight is up to 5,000 would approximately be ~25 repeating units or below and meet the claimed range.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0152468 A1 to Corley et al. (hereinafter Corley).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 18, Corley teaches a reaction product from an epoxy resin component and a curing agent (para 8), wherein the epoxy component specifically contains a bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (EPON 828, Example 1, para 51), and the curing agent is a monoamine of N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine (See Table 1, para 51), and the components are mixed and reacted/cured (para 51-53), which meets the claimed polymer of claims 1, 4, and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101646531 B1 to Lim et al. (hereinafter Lim).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 18, Lim teaches a curing agent obtained by first obtaining n amine adduct from a reaction of a first epoxy compound and an amine, and then further reacting with a second epoxy compound (See abstract), wherein examples of suitable amines include N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine or N-(3-aminopropyl)pyrrolidone (page 3) and examples of suitable first epoxy compounds include polyglycidyl ethers of butylene glycol (page 3-4). The above amine adduct meets the claimed polymer of claims 1, 4-6, 8, 18.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention for form the amine adduct by reacting N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine or N-(3-aminopropyl)pyrrolidone with a polyglycidyl ether of butylene glycol because Lim teaches that examples of suitable amines include N-(3-aminopropyl)morpholine or N-(3-aminopropyl)pyrrolidone (page 3) and examples of suitable first epoxy compounds include polyglycidyl ethers of butylene glycol (page 3-4). (“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 18, and 19, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766