Response to Amendment
The amendments filed October 13, 2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-13, 18, and 20-23 are currently pending and have been examined. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments of claims 1-11, 18, and 20. Claims 14-17 and 19 are cancelled by applicant. Claims 21-23 are newly presented. The previous claim objections and 112 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments. The previous 102/103 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendments. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made due to applicant’s amendments. For the reason(s) set forth below, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive. The action is Final.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9, 11, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2 “the protuberance” should be “the distally-extending protuberance”
In claim 6, line 3 “the protuberance” should be “the distally-extending protuberance”
In claim 7, line 4 “the range of 50-90%” should be “[[the]] a range of 50-90%”
In claim 8, line 4 “the range of 35-70%” should be “[[the]] a range of 35-70%”
In claim 9, line 3 “the device” should be “the oral hygiene device”
In claim 11, line 3 “the device” should be “the oral hygiene device”
In claim 23, line 8 “the protuberance” should be “the distally-extending protuberance”
In claim 23, line 9 “the device” should be “the oral hygiene device”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the protuberance extending distally beyond the distal end of the cleaning head" in lines 7-8. It is unclear how the protuberance can extend distally beyond the distal end of the cleaning head since in claim 1, lines 6-7 “the distal end of the cleaning head including a distally-extending protuberance” (how can the protuberance that is already included in the distal end extend beyond itself (i.e. the distal end)?), thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring that the a portion of the protuberance extend is extending distally beyond a portion of the cleaning head.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the central axis of the proximal portion (CA-PP)” in lines 3-4. It is unclear with the addition of the limitation “(CA-PP)” if the applicant is referring to the central axis of the proximal portion as introduced in claim 1, line 2 or if the applicant is referring to multiple/different central axis of the proximal portion, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring to a single central axis of a single proximal portion of the oral hygiene device.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP)” in line 4. It is unclear if applicant is referring to multiple distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP) or if the applicant is referring back to the distal portion central axis (CA-DP) as introduced in claim 1, line 8, thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring to the distal portion having a single central axis (CA-DP).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the distal direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the oral cavity” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8, 11-13, 18, and 20-23 depends on claim 1 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devlin (US Patent No. 6,389,634).
Regarding claim 1, Devlin discloses: an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-2, 4, and 4A and see also col. 3, ll. 39-48) for use in an oral cavity of a pet (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), the device comprising a proximal portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) comprising a handle (element 14) to be held by a user (Giving that the prior art discloses the handle (element 14) and there is no structural difference or any additional structure provided, thus the prior art would be capable of having the handle be held by a user, as recited.), the handle being along a central axis (see figure 1 annotated below X-X axis) of the proximal portion, and a distal portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B), the distal portion including bristles (see figure 1 annotated below showing the distal portion including element 18 and see also col. 3, ll. 42-44 where the prior art discloses element 18 receives “tufts of bristles”),
the distal portion of the device including a cleaning head (element 16), the cleaning head including the bristles (see figure 1) and having distal and proximal ends (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C and Detail D), the distal end of the cleaning head including a distally-extending protuberance (element 20), the protuberance extending distally beyond the distal end of the cleaning head (see figure 1A annotated below showing a portion of the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) extending distally beyond a portion of the distal end (Detail D) of the cleaning head (element 16)), wherein the distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP) (see figure 1A annotated below X2-X2 axis) and the cleaning head and at least a portion of the protuberance are along the CA-DP (see figure 1A annotated below).
Regarding claim 2, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 1 the distally-extending protuberance tapers from wider to narrower as it extends distally (see figure 1A and see also col. 3, ll. 51-52 where the prior art discloses a portion (element 26) of the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) “tapers” from element 28 to element 30) and wherein the distally-extending protuberance is angled away from the cleaning head (see figure 1A showing multiple portions of element 26 of the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) that are angled away from the cleaning head (element 16)) and has a tongue shape (see figure 1A showing multiple portions of element 26 of the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) having a tongue shape).
Regarding claim 3, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 1 the distally-extending protuberance has surfaces comprising a top surface (see figure 4A annotated below Detail A), a bottom surface (see figure 4A annotated below Detail B), a first curved side surface (see figure 4A annotated below Detail D), and a second curved side surface (see figure 4A annotated below Detail E), wherein the first curved side surface meets the second curved side surface at the distal end of the device and forms a rounded tip (element 52).
Regarding claim 4, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 3 wherein the first curved side surface of the protuberance extends from a first curved side wall (see figure 1A annotated figure below showing the entire protuberance (element 20) which includes the first curved side surface operably extending from the a first curved side wall (Detail A)) of the cleaning head, and the second curved side surface of the protuberance extends from a second curved side wall (see figure 1A annotated figure below showing the entire protuberance (element 20) which includes the second curved side surface operably extending from the a second curved side wall (Detail A)) of the cleaning head.
Regarding claim 5, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 1 wherein the cleaning head has a top surface (see figure 1A annotated below Detail A) and bottom surface (see figure 1A annotated below Detail B) defining a cleaning head thickness (see figure 1A annotated below Detail C), and the protuberance has a top surface and bottom surface (see figure 4A annotated below Detail C/D) defining a protuberance thickness (element T), and the cleaning head thickness is greater than the protuberance thickness (see figures 1A/4A annotated below showing the cleaning head thickness (Detail C) being greater than the protuberance thickness (element T)).
Regarding claim 6, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 1 wherein the distally-extending protuberance has surfaces (see figure 4A showing the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) having a plurality of surfaces (elements 30/36/50/52/44) and none of the surfaces of the protuberance comprise bristles (see figure 4A showing none of the indicated surfaces of the distally-extending protuberance (element 20) having bristles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 11-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devlin (US Patent No. 6,389,634) in view of Shipp (US Patent No. 4,738,001).
Regarding claim 7, Devlin discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the cleaning head comprises a cleaning head bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end of the cleaning head, and the cleaning head has a width at its narrowest part that is in the range of 50-90% of a width of the cleaning head at its widest part.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a cleaning head (element 14), the cleaning head having distal and proximal ends (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C and Detail D). The prior art of Shipp further teaches wherein the cleaning head comprises a cleaning head bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end of the cleaning head (see figure 2 annotated below showing a cleaning head bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end (see Detail W1) as compared to the distal end (see Detail W2), and the cleaning head has a width (Detail W2) at its narrowest part and a width (Detail W1) of the cleaning head at its widest part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide wherein the cleaning head comprises a cleaning head bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end of the cleaning head, and the cleaning head has a width at its narrowest part and a width of the cleaning head at its widest part. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the cleaning head with the claimed cleaning head bristle pattern would necessarily provide trapezoidal or tapered configuration which has been found to be particularly beneficial in preventing the brush from slipping off the animal's molars and premolars and striking the gums as disclosed by Shipp (see col. 4, ll. 37-44).
However, Devlin modified appears to be silent wherein the cleaning head has the width at its narrowest part that is in the range of 50-90% of the width of the cleaning head at its widest part.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oral hygiene device of Devlin et al. to have the cleaning head width at its narrowest part be in the range of 50-90% of the width of the cleaning head at its widest part, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of West would not operate differently with the claimed range width. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating simply that the range “can be” within the claimed range (see page 011, ll. 4-6 of the specification), therefore there is no criticality placed on the cleaning head has the width at its narrowest part that is in the range of 50-90% of the width of the cleaning head at its widest part such that it produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 8, Devlin discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the cleaning head has long bristles towards the proximal end and short bristles towards the distal end of the cleaning head, wherein the short bristles have a length in the range of 35-70%, or 40-60% of a length of the long bristles.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a cleaning head (element 14), the cleaning head having distal and proximal ends (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C and Detail D). The prior art of Shipp further teaches wherein the cleaning head has long bristle towards the proximal end and short bristles towards the distal end of the cleaning head (see col. 4, ll. 15-18 and see figure 2 annotated below showing the distal end (Detail D) bristles at element 34 being shorter than the longer bristles towards the proximal end (Detail C)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide wherein the cleaning head has long bristle towards the proximal end and short bristles towards the distal end of the cleaning head. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the cleaning head with the claimed bristle lengths would necessarily have the tufts are arranged in columns increasing in length toward the handle to form a trapezoidal or tapered bristle surface which aids in preventing slippage from the pet's teeth into the gums, as well as fit the shape of the animal mouth as disclosed by Shipp (see Abstract).
However, Devlin modified appears to be silent wherein the short bristles have a length in the range of 35-70%, or 40-60% of the length of the long bristles.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the oral hygiene device of Devlin et al. to have wherein the short bristles have a length in the range of 35-70%, or 40-60% of the length of the long bristles, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of West would not operate differently with the claimed length. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, indicating simply that the length of the bristles “can optionally” be within the claimed range (see page 012, ll. 12-14 of the specification), therefore there is no criticality placed on the short bristles have a length in the range of 35-70%, or 40-60% of the length of the long bristles such that it produces an unexpected result.
Regarding claim 9, Devlin discloses: the oral hygiene device of claim 1 comprising a neck portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that is proximal to the cleaning head (see figure 1 annotated below), the neck portion extending from a distal end (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) of the proximal portion of the device.
However, Devlin appears to be silent wherein the neck portion is angled away from the central axis of the proximal portion (CA-PP) and the distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP), and the angle of lines CA-PP and CA-DP at their intersection is in the range of 5° to 40°, 10° to 35°, 12° to 20°, or 13° to 19°.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a proximal portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) having a handle (element 12) with a central axis (element 20) of the proximal portion, and distal portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B) including a cleaning head (element 14) and a neck portion (element 22). The prior art of Shipp further teaches wherein the neck portion is angled away from the central axis of the proximal portion (CA-PP) (see figure 1 annotated below Detail C) and the distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP) (see figure 1 annotated below Detail D), and the angle of lines CA-PP and CA-DP at their intersection is in the range of 5° to 40°, 10° to 35°, 12° to 20°, or 13° to 19° (see col. 4, ll. 1-3 where the prior art discloses the angle (element A) that of lines CA-PP (Detail A) and CA-DP (Detail B) being “15°”, thus being in the range of 5° to 40°, 10° to °, 12° to 20°, or 13° to 19°).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide wherein the neck portion is angled away from the central axis of the proximal portion (CA-PP) and the distal portion has a central axis (CA-DP), and the angle of lines CA-PP and CA-DP at their intersection is in the range of 5° to 40°, 10° to 35°, 12° to 20°, or 13° to 19°. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an angled oral hygiene device with the claimed angle range would necessarily provide the easiest access to the entirety of the animal's teeth by the user while providing efficient cleaning as disclosed by Shipp (see col. 4, ll. 4-6).
Regarding claim 11, Devlin discloses: a method for providing oral hygiene (Figures 1-2, 4, and 4A and see also col. 3, ll. 39-48), comprising introducing the oral hygiene device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above on pages 5-7) into the oral cavity (see col. 1, ll. 38-40 where the prior art discloses utilizing the device “for insertion into the oral cavity”) and contacting gums or teeth with at least a portion of the device (see figure 2 showing a portion (element 20) of the oral hygiene device contacting gums (element 38) and a teeth (element 32)).
However, Devlin does not explicitly disclose wherein the method for providing oral hygiene is to a pet that is an animal, introducing the oral hygiene device into the oral cavity of the animal, and contacting gums or teeth of the animal with at least a portion of the device.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a handle (element 12) and a cleaning head (element 14). The prior art of Shipp further teaches a method for providing oral hygiene is to a pet that is an animal (see Abstract), introducing the oral hygiene device into the oral cavity of the animal and contacting gums or teeth of the animal with at least a portion of the device (see figures 4-6, see also col. 4, ll. 58-68 and col. 5, ll. 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide the method for providing oral hygiene is to a pet that is an animal, introducing the oral hygiene device into the oral cavity of the animal, and contacting gums or teeth of the animal with at least a portion of the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the method for providing oral hygiene to a pet that is an animal would necessarily enable pet owners a means of offering oral hygiene which will aid in the prevention of periodontal and related diseases and the reduction of halitosis as disclosed by Shipp (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Devlin modified discloses: the method of claim 11 wherein the animal is a cat (see col. 5, ll. 9-12 of prior art Shipp).
Regarding claim 21, Devlin discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the cleaning head has a bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a cleaning head (element 14), the cleaning head having distal and proximal ends (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C and Detail D). The prior art of Shipp further teaches wherein the cleaning head comprises a bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end of the cleaning head (see figure 2 annotated below showing a cleaning head bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end (see Detail W1) as compared to the distal end (see Detail W2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide wherein the cleaning head has a bristle pattern that is wider towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the cleaning head with the claimed bristle pattern would necessarily provide trapezoidal or tapered configuration which has been found to be particularly beneficial in preventing the brush from slipping off the animal's molars and premolars and striking the gums as disclosed by Shipp (see col. 4, ll. 37-44).
Regarding claim 22, Devlin discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the bristles on the cleaning head are longer towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end.
Shipp is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also col. 3, ll. 61-62) for use in the oral cavity of a pet (see col. 1, ll. 5-12), wherein the oral hygiene device comprises a cleaning head (element 14), the cleaning head having distal and proximal ends (see figure 2 annotated below Detail C and Detail D). The prior art of Shipp further teaches wherein the bristles on the cleaning head are longer towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end (see col. 4, ll. 15-18 and see figure 2 annotated below showing the bristles being longer towards the proximal end (Detail C) as compared to the distal end (Detail D)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Shipp to provide wherein the bristles on the cleaning head are longer towards the proximal end as compared to the distal end. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the cleaning head with the claimed bristle lengths would necessarily have the tufts are arranged in columns increasing in length toward the handle to form a trapezoidal or tapered bristle surface which aids in preventing slippage from the pet's teeth into the gums, as well as fit the shape of the animal mouth as disclosed by Shipp (see Abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devlin (US Patent No. 6,389,634) in view of Matsuo (JP 2013118944).
Regarding claim 10, Devlin discloses: comprising a neck portion (see figure 1 annotated below Detail A) that is proximal to the cleaning head (see figure 1 annotated below), the neck portion extending from a distal end (see figure 1 annotated below Detail B)of the proximal portion of the device.
However, Devlin appears to be silent wherein the neck portion, in the distal direction, has a diameter or a cross-sectional area that gradually becomes smaller in the distal direction, and also has a cross-sectional shape that changes in the distal direction.
Matsuo is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-2 and see also paragraph 0011) comprising a handle (element 6), a cleaning head (element 2) having bristles (see paragraph 0015), and a neck portion (element 4). Matsuo further teaches wherein the neck portion, in the distal direction (starting at element P1 and heading towards element P2), has a diameter or a cross-sectional area that gradually becomes smaller in the distal direction, and also has a cross-sectional shape that changes in the distal direction (see figure 2 and see also paragraph 0031 where the prior art discloses the neck portion (element 4) “moves from the tip P1 to the rear end P2, its cross-sectional contour changes from a roughly circular shape to a roughly square shape” and “tapers from the rear end P2 of the neck portion towards the front end P1 of the neck portion”, thus the neck portion in the distal direction has a diameter that gradually becomes smaller (i.e. taper) in the distal direction, cross-sectional shape that changes in a distal direction (see figures 2a-2b), and also has a cross-sectional shape that changes in the distal direction (i.e. from square to circular)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Matsuo to provide wherein the neck portion, in the distal direction, has a diameter or a cross-sectional area that gradually becomes smaller in the distal direction, and also has a cross-sectional shape that changes in the distal direction. One of ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that having a desired neck portion being different in diameter/area/shape would necessarily allow the neck portion to be flex more effectively relieving the pressure applied to the area to be cleaned and making the brushing pressure more appropriate as disclosed by Matsuo (see paragraph 0031).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devlin (US Patent No. 6,389,634) in view of Lai (US Pub. No. 2019/0099249).
Regarding claim 18, Devlin discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the distal portion is detachable from the proximal portion, wherein the proximal portion includes a protrusion on its distal end, and the distal portion includes a recession on its proximal end, wherein the protrusion and recession can mate to lock the distal and proximal portions together, wherein locking occurs by twisting the proximal and distal portions relative to each other when the protrusion and recession are mated.
Lai is also concern in providing an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0020) comprising a proximal portion configured as a handle (element 10 and see also paragraph 0020) and a distal portion comprising a cleaning head with bristles (element 25 and see also paragraph 0024). The prior art of Lai further teaches wherein the distal portion is detachable from the proximal portion (see figure 3), wherein the proximal portion includes a protrusion (element 11) on its distal end (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A), and the distal portion includes a recession (element 21) on its proximal end (see figure 3 annotated below Detail B), wherein the protrusion and recession can mate to lock the distal and proximal portions together (see paragraph 0020), wherein locking occurs by twisting the proximal and distal portions relative to each other when the protrusion and recession are mated (see figure 3 and see also paragraph 0024 where the prior art discloses the connection being “a screw type”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Devlin to incorporate the teachings of Lai to provide wherein the distal portion is detachable from the proximal portion, wherein the proximal portion includes a protrusion on its distal end, and the distal portion includes a recession on its proximal end, wherein the protrusion and recession can mate to lock the distal and proximal portions together, wherein locking occurs by twisting the proximal and distal portions relative to each other when the protrusion and recession are mated. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the cleaning head detachable from the handle would necessarily allow the user to easily replace the cleaning head or handle in the event it is damaged without having to replace the entire oral hygiene device, thus reducing cost and extending the life of the device.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagstaff (US Pub. No. 2013/0255590) in view of Devlin (US Patent No. 6,389,634).
Regarding claim 20, Wagstaff discloses: a kit (Figure 22 element 2260 and see also paragraph 0046 where the prior art discloses element 2260 as “a kit”) for providing oral hygiene to an animal (see paragraph 0174), comprising an oral treatment composition (element 2262 and see also paragraph 0174).
Furthermore, Wagstaff discloses utilizing the kit with an oral hygiene device (element 2200) and provides various different embodiments of the oral hygiene device (Figures 1A-20). However, Wagstaff appears to be silent wherein kit comprises the oral hygiene device of claim 1.
Devlin teaches it was known in the art to have an oral hygiene device (Figures 1-2, 4, and 4A and see also col. 3, ll. 39-48) and further teaches the oral hygiene device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above on pages 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wagstaff to incorporate the teachings of Devlin to provide the device of claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing the kit with the particular structure of the oral hygiene device of claim 1 would necessarily provide the predictable result of utilizing both the device in combination with the oral treatment composition in order to thoroughly clean the teeth of the of the animal which would necessarily prevent cavities and other known mouth diseases.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 13 recites limitation related to the method, specifically the steps of “contacting and then moving a lip of the animal with the protuberance of the distal end of the device, and then contacting the pet's teeth and/or gums of the animal with the bristles of the cleaning head”.
Claim 23 recites limitation related to the method, specifically the steps of “contacting and then moving a lip of the animal with the protuberance of the distal end of the device, and then contacting the pet's teeth and/or gums of the animal with the bristles of the cleaning head.”
The prior art of Devlin discloses the limitations of claim 1 including the device including a cleaning head (element 16) having a distally-extending protuberance (element 20) which is configured to engage gums and teeth at the gum line of a user (see col. 1, ll. 38-40 and see also figure 2). However, the prior art does not disclose the method for providing oral hygiene to a pet that is an animal and the steps of contacting and then moving a lip of the animal with the protuberance of the distal end of the device, and then contacting the pet's teeth and/or gums of the animal with the bristles of the cleaning head
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/13/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723