Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art of Kamikihara (US Pub. No. 2011/0301691), see pages 9-11, filed 07/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 7, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as indicated in the rejection below. Office action is non-final to afford applicant the opportunity to respond to new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view of Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353).
Regarding claim 1, Mingot discloses: a method (Figures 8 and 10 and see also paragraph 0106) comprising:
injecting a first material (element 13 and see also paragraph 0027) into a cavity of a workpiece (see paragraph 0114 where the prior art discloses element 13 (first material) as “a treatment composition”, see paragraph 0115 where the prior art discloses element 11 (workpiece) has “an inner cavity” formed by the surface (element S) to be polished, thus as best shown in figure 10 annotated below the first material is injected into a cavity (Detail A) of the workpiece (element 11)), wherein the workpiece comprises one or more interior walls (see figure 10 annotated below Detail B) that form the cavity;
sealing an openings of the cavity of the workpiece after injecting the first material so that the workpiece holds the first material inside the cavity (see figure 10 annotated below showing the workpiece (element 11) having a lower opening sealed via element 14 when the workpiece is placed inside, an upper opening of the cavity (Detail A) which the cavity is already filled with the first material (element 13) and see also element 201 (see paragraph 0102 where the prior art discloses element 201 as a lid that has a lowered closed and raised open positions) being open (phantom lines) in order for the first material to be injected inside the workpiece, thus the bottom opening of the cavity would necessarily be sealed via element 14 and the bottom opening would necessarily be operably sealed from the outside environment via element 201);
encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 14); and
transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity such that the first material abrades the one or more interior walls of the workpiece (see paragraphs 0043/0056/0064).
Furthermore, the prior art of Mingot only shows sealing one opening (i.e. bottom opening) of the cavity (see figure 10 annotated above Detail A) of the workpiece. However, Mingot appears to be silent wherein the method comprises sealing openings of the cavity of the workpiece.
Azami is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-6 and see also paragraph 0042) comprising injecting a first material (element 114 and see also paragraph 0045) into a cavity (see figure 4 annotated below Detail A) of a workpiece (element 101), wherein the workpiece comprises one or more interior walls (element 101a) that form the cavity. The prior art of Azami further teaches wherein the method comprises sealing openings of the cavity of the workpiece (see figure 4 annotated below showing an upper opening of the cavity (Detail A) being sealed via element 108 (i.e. cap) and a lower opening of the cavity (Detail A) being sealed via element 108’ (i.e. cap), thus sealing openings of the cavity of the workpiece).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Azami to provide wherein the method comprises sealing openings of the cavity of the workpiece. The resultant combination would have the cap that sealing the upper opening of the cavity of the workpiece of Azami now placed and covering the upper opening of the cavity of the workpiece of Mingot. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that sealing both the openings including also the top opening of the cavity of the workpiece via a cap would necessarily retain the medium inside the workpiece space, thus saving the amount of required medium and its cost as disclosed by Azami (see paragraph 0051). Therefore, Mingot as modified would necessarily have the method comprise of sealing openings of the cavity of the workpiece after injecting the first material so that the workpiece holds the first material inside the cavity, as recited.
Regarding claim 6, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more interior walls of the workpiece form a tube (see figure 8 and 10 element 11) with a diameter (see figure 10 annotated below Detail A), and wherein the tube includes one or more bends (see figure 10 annotated below showing portions of the tube (element 11) having one or more bends), non-circular flow areas, or variable flow areas.
However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the tube’s diameter is less than 13 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tube’s diameter of Mingot et al. to be less than 13mm, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed method and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the method of Mingot modified would not operate differently with the claimed cleaning head thickness. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the following claim limitations solves any stated problem, the applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed diameter of the tube provides any unexpected result, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be 13mm and additionally offers other acceptable diameters (see paragraph 0036 of the speciation).
Regarding claim 10, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1,
wherein the abrading the one or more interior walls comprises uniformly texturizing a surface of the one or more interior walls of the workpiece (see figure 10 and see also paragraphs 0115/0117/0120), and
wherein the uniformly texturizing comprises one of restoring a pre-existing texture on the surface, creating a new texture on the surface, or polishing the surface (see paragraphs 0115/0120).
Regarding claim 25, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the injecting the first material comprises injecting the first material so as to not completely fill the cavity of the workpiece (see figure 10 annotated above on page 4 showing a top portion of the cavity (Detail A) of the workpiece (element 11) not filled with the first material (element 13)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Musschoot (US Patent No. 4,709,507).
Regarding claim 2, Mingot modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses utilizing element 30 (vibration motor) for vibrating the vessel (see paragraphs 0056/0063-0064). However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the transferring energy comprises: powering a linear motor; or powering a rotary motor.
Musschoot is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-8 and see also col. 2, ll. 26-47) comprising a first material (element 188 and see also col. 4, ll. 38) interacting with a workpiece (element 190), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 112), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity such that the first material abrades the one or more interior walls of the workpiece (see col. 3, ll. 48-54 where the prior art discloses utilizing “a vibration generator” (element 114) in order to produce “vibratory forces” (element 182) (i.e. transferring energy) onto the vessel (element 112) in order to polish the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 44-47). Musschoot further teaches wherein the transferring energy comprises: powering a linear motor (see col. 3, ll. 29-32 where the prior art discloses element 114 (vibration generator) that transfers energy to the vessel, comprising a motor (element 172) that operably produces a linear force (see col. 3, ll. 55-60 and col. 4, ll. 18-22), thus powering a linear motor); or powering a rotary motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Musschoot to provide wherein the transferring energy comprises: powering a linear motor; or powering a rotary motor. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known linear motor in order to vibrate the vessel and provide an additional motion to the workpiece relative to the finishing material would necessarily increase the speed and effectiveness of polishing of the parts as disclosed by Musschoot (see col. 4, ll. 43-47).
Claims 3-4, 9, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view of Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US Patent No. 6,227,942).
Regarding claim 3, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprising: at least partially filling the vessel with a second material (see figure 10 element 15 and see also paragraph 0122).
However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the first material comprises an abrasive grit or an abrasive slurry and wherein the second material is less abrasive than the first material.
Hoffman is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-3 and see also col. 4, ll. 23-34) comprising having a first material (element 10) into a workpiece (element 15), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 13), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material such that the first material abrades the one or more walls of the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 35-53). The prior art of Hoffman further teaches wherein the first material comprises an abrasive grit (see col. 4, ll. 5-16) or an abrasive slurry.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Hoffman to provide wherein the first material comprises an abrasive grit or an abrasive slurry. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the first material in the form of an abrasive grit which well known in the art to optimize material removal, thus allowing the user to achieve professional surface finishes of the workpiece. Therefore, as modified, the first material comprises an abrasive girt and the second material comprises water (see paragraph 0122 of prior art Mignot) which is well known in the art to have extremely low abrasion, thus Mingot as modified discloses wherein the second material is less abrasive than the first material.
Regarding claim 4, Mingot modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the first material comprises a ferrofluid material, and wherein the ferrofluid material comprises: a ferrofluid mixed with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide; or a ferrofluid mixed with iron particles coated with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide.
Hoffman is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-3 and see also col. 4, ll. 23-34) comprising having a first material (element 10) into a workpiece (element 15), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 13), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material such that the first material abrades the one or more walls of the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 35-53). The prior art of Hoffman further teaches wherein the first material comprises a ferrofluid material (see col. 4, ll. 25-26), and wherein the ferrofluid material comprises: a ferrofluid (element 17 and see also col. 4, ll. 27) mixed with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide (see col. 4, ll. 25-29 where the prior art discloses element 10 (ferrofluid material) includes element 17 (ferrofluid) and an abrasive media (element 19) and see col. 4, ll. 5-11 where the prior art discloses the abrasive media can include a suitable abrasives including “garnet; emery; zirconium and titanium nitrides; zirconia; alumina; beryllium, boron, silicon, tantalum, titanium, tungsten and zirconium carbides; aluminum, tantalum, titanium and zirconium borides; boron and diamond”); or a ferrofluid mixed with iron particles coated with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide (Giving the limitation requires a ferrofluid material and defines the limitation of “or”, and since the prior art meets at least one of the following limitations, thus the prior art meets claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Hoffman to provide wherein the first material comprises a ferrofluid material, and wherein the ferrofluid material comprises: a ferrofluid mixed with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide; or a ferrofluid mixed with iron particles coated with one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the first material in the form of a ferrofluid material which is well known in the art to suspend abrasive particles in a magnetic field would necessarily allow the polishing pressure and shear stress to be dynamically controlled using an external magnetic field in order to treat multiple different locations of workpiece simultaneously.
Regarding claim 9, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the transferring energy comprises applying an electromagnetic field to the workpiece (see paragraph 0046) and wherein the first material comprises an abrasive (see paragraphs 0027/0029).
However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the transferring energy comprises simultaneously applying the electromagnetic field to the workpiece and rotating the vessel, wherein the first material comprises ferrous particles coated with an abrasive coating, and wherein the electromagnetic field causes the first material to abrade the one or more interior walls of the workpiece with the abrasive coating of the ferrous particles.
Hoffman is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-3 and see also col. 4, ll. 23-34) comprising having a first material (element 10) into a workpiece (element 15), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 13), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material such that the first material abrades the one or more walls of the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 35-53). The prior art of Hoffman further teaches wherein the first material comprises an abrasive (element 19) and wherein the electromagnetic field causes the first material to abrade the one or more interior walls of the workpiece with the abrasive (see col. 4, ll. 35-53)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Hoffman to provide wherein the electromagnetic field causes the first material to abrade the one or more interior walls of the workpiece with the abrasive. One of ordinary skill in the art that having a known means of abrading a workpiece via an electromagnetic field would necessarily allow the user to abrade a plurality of different surfaces in order to obtain a desired finish.
Furthermore, Mingot as modified discloses the first material (element 10 of prior art Hoffman) as a ferrofluid material having a ferrofluid mixture of a ferro fluid (element 17 of prior art Hoffman) and an abrasive (element 19 and also see col. 4, ll. 26-27 of prior art Hoffman) in order to abrade the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 46-53 of prior art Hoffman). However, Hoffman modified appears to be silent wherein the first material comprises ferrous particles coated with the abrasive coating and the wherein the electromagnetic field causes the first material to abrade the one or more interior walls of the workpiece with the abrasive the ferrous particles.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to provide wherein the first material comprises ferrous particles coated with the abrasive coating, since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for can intended use involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art providing a known media for abrading a workpiece including the claimed ferrous particles coated with the abrasive coating would necessarily provide the predictable result of abrading a surface of the workpiece at multiple different locations in order to obtain a desired finish (See MPEP 2144.07). Thus, the prior art of Hoffman modified would necessarily be capable of having the electromagnetic field causes the first material to abrade the one or more interior walls of the workpiece with the abrasive the ferrous particles, as recited. Lastly, the applicant has placed no criticality on the claimed first material being a ferrous particles coated with an abrasive coating provides any unexpected result, indicating simply that the abrasive material “may comprise” Al2O3 and/or SiC coatings of ferrous particles and additionally offers other acceptable forms of the first material (see paragraph 0024 of the speciation).
Regarding claim 26, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 3, wherein the at least partially filling the vessel with the second material comprises at least partially filling the vessel with the second material such that the second material is not introduced into the cavity of the workpiece (see paragraph 0115 where the prior art discloses element 11 (workpiece) as being in the form of a “mould” having an inner cavity, see also figure 10 annotated above on page 4 showing element 11 (workpiece) having a cavity (Detail A) filled with only the first material (element 13) and the second material (element 15) least partially filling the vessel (element 14) disposed outside cavity, thus the second material is not introduced into the cavity of the workpiece).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US Patent No. 6,227,942) and Bianco (US Patent No. 4,641,463), as evidence by Compomat (NPL article, found at https://web.archive.org/web/20141111163554/https://compomat.com/nylon-pellets/).
Regarding claim 5, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising injecting a second material (see figure 10 element 15 and see also paragraph 0122) into the vessel (see figure 10).
However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the first material comprises one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide; the first material is more abrasive than the second material; and the second material comprises one of a synthetic fluoropolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, nylon, or polyethylene.
Hoffman is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-3 and see also col. 4, ll. 23-34) comprising having a first material (element 10) into a workpiece (element 15), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 13), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material such that the first material abrades the one or more walls of the workpiece (see col. 4, ll. 35-53). The prior art of Hoffman further teaches wherein the first material comprises one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide (see col. 4, ll. 25-29 where the prior art discloses element 10 (first material) includes element 17 (ferrofluid) and an abrasive media (element 19) and see col. 4, ll. 5-11 where the prior art discloses the abrasive media can include a suitable abrasives including “garnet; emery; zirconium and titanium nitrides; zirconia; alumina; beryllium, boron, silicon, tantalum, titanium, tungsten and zirconium carbides; aluminum, tantalum, titanium and zirconium borides; boron and diamond”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Hoffman to provide wherein the first material comprises one of alumina, zirconia, silicon carbide, or silicon oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the first material in the form of a known abrasive material which is well known in the art to optimize material removal, thus allowing the user to achieve professional surface finishes of the workpiece.
However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the first material is more abrasive than the second material and the second material comprises one of a synthetic fluoropolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, nylon, or polyethylene.
Bianco is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-8 and see also col. 3, ll. 27-30) comprising encasing a workpiece (element B) with a vessel (see figure 8 showing portions of the workpiece (element B) being encased by element 25 (vessel) and injecting a second material into the vessel (see col. 4, ll. 40-45 where the prior art discloses filling the vessel (element 25) with element 30 ( second material)). The prior art of Bianco further teaches wherein the second material comprises one of a synthetic fluoropolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, nylon (see col. 4, ll. 41-42 and 50-51 where the prior art discloses element 30 (second material) as “a plurality of sized abrasive pellets” and specifically being “nylon pellets”), or polyethylene.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hoffman to incorporate the teachings of Bianco to provide injecting a second material into the vessel, the first material is more abrasive than the second material and the second material comprises one of a synthetic fluoropolymer of tetrafluoroethylene, nylon, or polyethylene. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating an additional second material within the vessel would necessarily provide additional means of treating a surface of the workpiece in the form of nylon pellets which are known to remove burrs and to polish the surface of the workpiece without the extensive removal of metal or change in the finish as disclosed by Bianco (see col. 1, ll. 36-42).
Lastly, with respect to wherein the first material is more abrasive than the second material. The prior art of Bianco discloses the second material as “nylon pellets” (see col. 4, ll. 52-65) which is well known in the art to have extremely low abrasion, as evidence by Compomat, and further discloses that more abrasive materials can be used with “stronger abrasive materials such as aluminum oxide pellets”. The prior art of Hoffman further discloses the first material (element 10) in the form of ferrofluid finishing material (see col. 4, ll. 25-26) which includes an abrasive media (element 19) which can be any suitable abrasives (see col. 4, ll. 5-9) including “alumina” (i.e. aluminum oxide). Thus, Hoffman as further modified, would necessarily have the first material (aluminum oxide) is more abrasive than the second material (nylon), as recited.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maekawa (US Patent No. 7,238,086).
Regarding claim 8, Mingot modified discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the transferring energy comprises vibrating the vessel (see paragraphs 0042-0044 and 0056).
However, Mingo modified appears to be silent wherein the method comprises periodically alternating clockwise rotations and counter-clockwise rotations of the vessel.
Maekawa is also concerned in providing a method (Figures 1-5 and see also col. 3, ll. 9-25) comprising treating a wall of a workpiece (element 2) with a first material (see col 3, ll. 38-49) and the workpiece encased in a vessel (element 6). Maekawa further teaches periodically alternating clockwise rotations and counter-clockwise rotations of the vessel (see col. 1, ll. 57-62 where the prior art discloses the barrel pot (element 6 i.e. vessel) “is rotated” and in col. 2, ll. 15-16 where the prior art discloses is “rotated in different (forward and reverse) directions” (i.e. clockwise rotations and counter-clockwise rotations)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingo to incorporate the teachings of Maekawa to provide periodically alternating clockwise rotations and counter-clockwise rotations of the vessel. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that allowing the vessel to rotate at different directions would necessarily allow the surfaces of the workpiece in the vessel be polished by the agitating water, compound, and medium inside as disclosed by Maekawa (see col. 3, ll. 54-58).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Henry (US Pub. No. 2022/0389277).
Regarding claim 11, Mingot modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent the method further comprising: determining a coarseness degree, of a desired texture, on a surface of the one or more interior walls of the workpiece; and based on the determining, adjusting at least one of an abrasiveness degree of the first material, a duration of the transferring energy, a movement pattern of the vessel, or a degree of the transferred energy.
Henry is also concern in providing a method (Figures 1-11 and see also paragraph 0023/0026) comprising injecting a first material (element 230 and see also paragraph 0026-0027 where the prior art discloses element 230 includes “an abrasive fluid which contains abrasive particles” and also “magnetic particles”) into a workpiece (element 210), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 202), and transferring energy (via combination of a magnet (element 240) with the vessel) in order to abrade the workpiece (see paragraph 0028-0029). Henry further teaches determining a coarseness degree, of a desired texture, on a surface of the one or more walls of the workpiece (see figure 9 and see also paragraphs 0062/0063 where the prior art discloses a method (element 900) for finishing including step 920 of which includes “a roughness level of the part surface is identified” (i.e. determining a coarseness degree, of a desired texture, on a surface of the workpiece)); and based on the determining, adjusting at least one of an abrasiveness degree of the first material (see paragraph 0063 where the prior art discloses after identifying a surface roughness, implementing “a finish routine” which is determined based on an identified part and detected surface roughness, further disclosing that the finish routine includes “consideration of the composition of an abrasive finishing solution” which additionally includes “a type, size and amount of abrasive particles will affect how quickly a part surface is abraded” and in paragraph 0067 the prior art discloses a step of applying the finishing sequence (i.e. finish routine) which can include steps of “changing an abrasive fluid” (i.e. adjusting at least one abrasive degree of the first material), a duration of the transferring energy, a movement pattern of the vessel, or a degree of the transferred energy.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Mingot to incorporate the teachings of Maekawa to provide the steps of determining a coarseness degree, of a desired texture, on a surface of the one or more interior walls of the workpiece; and based on the determining, adjusting at least one of an abrasiveness degree of the first material, a duration of the transferring energy, a movement pattern of the vessel, or a degree of the transferred energy. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a step of determine a desired texture of a surface of the workpiece including roughness degree would necessarily allow the user to adjust parameters of the device including the abrasiveness degree in order to control surface treatment of an area of the workpiece in order to accomplish a desired finish.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mingot (US Pub. No. 2014/0235146) in view Azami (US Pub. No. 2019/0168353) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sidhu (WO 2015091615).
Regarding claim 27, Mingot modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses a different means of transferring energy via the vessel in the form of utilizing of applying vibration (see paragraphs 0056/0063-0064). However, Mingot modified appears to be silent wherein the transferring energy comprises transferring acoustical energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity.
Sidhu is also concern in providing a method (Figure 1 and see also page 003, lines 18-26) comprising injecting a first material (element 2 and see also page 003, line 19) into a cavity (element 8 and see also page 003, line 23) of a workpiece (element 6), encasing the workpiece in a vessel (element 1), and transferring energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity such that the first material abrades the one or more interior walls of the workpiece (see page 004, lines 13-17). The prior art of Sidhu further teaches the transferring energy comprises transferring acoustical energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity (elements 3/4 and see also page 004, lines 13-17 where the prior art discloses utilizing “acoustic transducers” to transmit “acoustic waves” in order to polish the workpiece) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vibrating transfer of energy of Mingot modified with the acoustic transfer of energy of Sidhu in order to provided the transferring energy comprises transferring acoustical energy, via the vessel, to the first material in the cavity, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known transferring of energy in the form of acoustical energy would necessarily agitate the particles of the slurry (first material) in order surface finish the workpiece as disclosed by Sidhu (see page 003, ll. 12-14), thus treating multiple surfaces in a controlled automated manner (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 and 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 recites limitations related to the method, specifically “determining an axis of a portion of the workpiece, wherein the workpiece comprises a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion and simultaneously, for at least one portion of the plurality of portions: vibrating the vessel in a direction perpendicular to an inside wall of the at least one portion of the plurality of portions; and rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the at least one portion, wherein a duration of simultaneously vibrating the vessel and rotating the vessel is proportional to a volume of the at least one portion”
Claim 13 recites limitations related to the method, specifically “determining an axis of a portion of the workpiece, wherein the workpiece comprises a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion; applying an electromagnetic field in a direction perpendicular to one or more inside walls of a portion of the plurality of portions, wherein the first material in the cavity of the workpiece comprises a ferrofluid material; rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the portion at the same time as the applying; and after a period, processing a next portion of the plurality of portions by repeating the determining, applying, and rotating until all portions of the plurality of portions are processed, wherein the period is proportional to a volume of a corresponding portion”
Claim 21 recites limitations related to the method, specifically “wherein the workpiece comprises a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion, and wherein the transferring energy comprises: simultaneously, for at least one portion of the plurality of portions: vibrating the vessel in a direction perpendicular to an inside wall of the at least one portion of the plurality of portions; and rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the at least one portion”.
Claim 22 (claims 23-24 depend on claim 22) recites limitations related to the method, specifically “wherein the workpiece comprises a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion, and wherein the transferring energy comprises: applying an electromagnetic field in a direction perpendicular to one or more inside walls of a portion of the plurality of portions, wherein the first material in the cavity of the workpiece comprises a ferrofluid material; rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the portion at the same time as the applying; and after a period, processing a next portion of the plurality of portions by repeating the applying and rotating”.
The prior art of Mingot discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses the vessel vibrating (see paragraphs 0056/0063-0064) in relation with the workpiece. However, the prior art does not disclose the step of determining an axis of a portion of the workpiece wherein the workpiece comprises a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape (claims 12 and 13), “simultaneously, for at least one portion of the plurality of portions: vibrating the vessel in a direction perpendicular to an inside wall of the at least one portion of the plurality of portions; and rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the at least one portion, wherein a duration of simultaneously vibrating the vessel and rotating the vessel is proportional to a volume of the at least one portion” (claim 12), “applying an electromagnetic field in a direction perpendicular to one or more inside walls of a portion of the plurality of portions, wherein the first material in the cavity of the workpiece comprises a ferrofluid material; rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the portion at the same time as the applying; and after a period, processing a next portion of the plurality of portions by repeating the determining, applying, and rotating until all portions of the plurality of portions are processed, wherein the period is proportional to a volume of a corresponding portion” (claim 13), “each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion, and wherein the transferring energy comprises: simultaneously, for at least one portion of the plurality of portions: vibrating the vessel in a direction perpendicular to an inside wall of the at least one portion of the plurality of portions; and rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the at least one portion” (claim 21) and “a plurality of portions, each portion having a right cylindrical shape, joined together to form an irregular shape, each portion having an axis that is a line segment joining two centers of two parallel circular bases of each right cylindrical-shaped portion, and wherein the transferring energy comprises: applying an electromagnetic field in a direction perpendicular to one or more inside walls of a portion of the plurality of portions, wherein the first material in the cavity of the workpiece comprises a ferrofluid material; rotating the vessel such that the workpiece rotates about the axis of the portion at the same time as the applying; and after a period, processing a next portion of the plurality of portions by repeating the applying and rotating” (claim 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723