DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to reply filed on 11/25/25 regarding application 18/620617 that was initially filed on 3/28/24. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 2, 9 - 11, and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saeedi et al., US 2020/0296393 A1 (hereinafter Saeedi).
As for claim 1, Saeedi discloses a method comprising: modifying an initial quantization parameter ([0030], e.g., “target” quantization parameter (“QP”)) for a video block ([0030], e.g., macroblocks) by an adjustment ([0035], e.g., override) to obtain a final quantization parameter ([0035], e.g., setting quantization parameters), wherein the adjustment is a rate control adjustment ([0035], e.g., rate control) modified by a rate control strength parameter ([0035], e.g., aggressiveness of the rate control), and wherein the initial quantization parameter is based on content ([0030], e.g., content) of the video block and not on rate control; and encoding ([0033], e.g., encode) the block based on the rate control strength adjusted quantization parameter.
As for claim 2, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Saeedi further discloses the rate control strength parameter is received from an application ([0035], e.g., aggressiveness of the rate control) or a device driver.
As for claim 9, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Saeedi further discloses repeating the encoding for each block ([0030], e.g., macroblocks) of a frame ([0035], e.g., frame).
As for claim 10, the claim recites a system of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 11, the claim recites a system of the method of claim 2, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 18, the claim recites a system of the method of claim 9, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 19, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 20, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions of the method of claim 2, and is similarly analyzed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeedi in view of Clatworthy et al., US 2007/0147654 A1 (hereinafter Clatworthy).
As for claim 3, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 2.
Saeedi does not explicitly disclose, but Clatworthy teaches accepting the rate control strength parameter via a user interface of the application ([0039], e.g., user interface) or device driver.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Saeedi and Clatworthy before him/her to modify the macroblock coding type prediction of Saeedi with the teaching of system and method for translating text to images of Clatworthy with a motivation to allow the user input parameters to control the operation of the system by using the graphic user interface.
As for claim 12, the claim recites a system of the method of claim 3, and is similarly analyzed.
3. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeedi in view of Chang, US 2005/0008075 A1 (hereinafter Chang).
As for claim 8, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1.
Saeedi does not explicitly disclose, but Chang teaches the rate control comprises adjusting a quantization parameter for the block of the video based on a difference between an estimated amount of data consumed by previous blocks of a frame of the block and an amount of data actually consumed by the previous blocks ([0032], e.g., difference between the actually used bits and the target bit budget and feedback and [0033], e.g., quantizer).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Saeedi and Chang before him/her to modify the macroblock coding type prediction of Saeedi with the teaching of rate control method with region of interesting support of Chang with a motivation to encode each block with a suitable quantizer scale so as to control the actually used bits closed to the target bit budget and control the quality of each block as taught by Chang ([0026]) by using the feedback mechanism.
As for claim 17, the claim recites a system of the method of claim 8, and is similarly analyzed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 11/25/25, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the citations being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2003/0108099 discloses picture encoding method and apparatus, picture decoding method and apparatus and furnishing medium.
2. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
3. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
Applicant 's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485