DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This is in response to the amendment filed 05/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US Pub # 2021/0385805 A1) in view of GUO et al (US 2023/0097664 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses “A method for wireless communication, wherein the method is performed by a terminal device” (see Lee figure 2 and ¶ 0015; wireless terminal device and wireless communication system); “the terminal device is a remote terminal or a relay terminal” (see Lee ¶ 0012); and the method comprises “reporting first sidelink UE information corresponding to at least one relay service to a network device” (see Lee fig. 12 and ¶ 0159; when UE1 is in RRC_CONNECTED, UE1 transmits, to the network (e.g., eNB and/or gNB) a first Sidelink UE Information message to request allowance of relaying sidelink control information); and “wherein the first sidelink UE information is configured to obtain at least one of a configuration of a Radio Bear (RB) or a transmission resource of the at least one relay service” (Pan ¶s 0159 - 0160; Upon receiving the first Sidelink UE Information message, the gNB indicates to the UE1 that relaying sidelink control information is allowed via, for example, RRC reconfiguration ).
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first sidelink UE information comprises a relay type of each of the at least one relay service, wherein the relay type of each of the at least one relay service is a layer 2 relay type or a layer 3 relay type. However, GUO discloses wherein the first sidelink UE information comprises a relay type of each of the at least one relay service, wherein the relay type of each of the at least one relay service is a layer 2 relay type or a layer 3 relay type; (See Guo Fig. 5 and ¶ 0076; the relay UE send information to include a relay type indication, a relay type information element indicate whether the relay UE 108 is an L2 relay or an L3 relaye; ¶ 0085 disclose that the indication indicate that the implementing UE is to operate as an L2 relay or an L3 relay in order to provide the UE-to-network relay connection; ¶ 0125; discloses that generating and sending a sidelink direct discovery message to announce that the UE is capable of operating as a UE-to-network relay, the sidelink direct discovery message to include relay related information that has an indication of whether the UE is to operate as a layer-2 relay or a layer-3 relay). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee and Guo before him or her, to modify the invention of Lee to include information, in the first sidelink UE information message, such as relay type including whether the UE is performing Layer 2 relay or Layer 3 layer for the service to be performed. The suggestion for doing so would have because Depending on the capabilities of the relay UE, L2 and L3 relays may include different protocol stacks and security mechanisms. For example, an L3 relay may include an application layer security mechanism, while an L2 relay may not provide such a high-layer security mechanism and thus, When discovering a relay, the remote UE may first determine a type of the relay (for example, L2 or L3 relay) before determining whether to connect with the relay (¶s 0034 and ¶ 0035).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Lee further discloses “wherein reporting the first sidelink UE information corresponding to the at least one relay service to the network device comprises: in a case that a third condition is met, reporting the first sidelink UE information to the network device, wherein the third condition comprises any one of following: a sidelink between the terminal device and a peer terminal being established successfully; a sidelink between the terminal device and a peer terminal being resumed; an interest of the terminal device being changed; information of a Quality of Service (QoS) flow corresponding to a relay service in the at least one relay service being changed; capability information of a peer terminal being received from the peer terminal; a Radio Link Control (RLC) mode of a peer terminal being changed; or a System Information Block (SIB) used for providing a sidelink configuration being changed”; (see Lee ¶ 0124; A UE capable of sidelink communication that is in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate sidelink UE information transmission procedure to indicate that the UE is (interested in) receiving sidelink communication in several cases including upon successful connection establishment, upon change of interest, upon change to a PCell broadcasting SystemInformationBlockType18 or SystemInformationBlockType19 or SystemInformationBlockType21 including sl-V2X-ConfigCommon).
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Lee further discloses “reporting second sidelink UE information corresponding to at least one sidelink service to the network device, wherein the second sidelink UE information is configured to obtain at least one of a configuration of a RB or a transmission resource of the at least one sidelink service.”; (Pan fig. 12 and ¶ 0166; transmitting or reporting third sidelink UE information messages message to the gNB ).
Most of the limitations of claim 6 have been noted in the rejection of claim 1. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1 above. Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first sidelink UE information comprises at least one of following: an identity (ID) of destination address corresponding to the first sidelink UE information; a type of the terminal device; an interested frequency point list of the destination address corresponding to the first sidelink UE information; or a list of synchronization reference information of various frequency points in the frequency point list. However, Lee discloses the third sidelink UE information comprises at least one of following: an identity (ID) of destination address corresponding to the first sidelink UE information; a relay type of each of the at least one relay service; a type of the terminal device; an interested frequency point list of the destination address corresponding to the first sidelink UE information; or a list of synchronization reference information of various frequency points in the frequency point list; (See Lee ¶ 0167; the third Sidelink UE information message may comprise SL-TxResourceReqList listing one or more SL-TxResourceReqs. Each SL-TxResourceReq may comprise destinationInfoList, carrierFreqCommTx, v2x-TypeTxSync, v2x-destinationInfoList, and/or Sidelink-UE-ID. The destinationInfoList indicates the destination(s) for relay or non-relay related one-to-one or one-to-many sidelink communication. The carrierFreqCommTx indicates the index of the frequency on which the UE is interested to transmit sidelink communication and/or V2X sidelink communication. The v2x-TypeTxSync indicates the synchronization reference used by the UE. The v2x-DestinationInfoList indicates the destinations for V2X sidelink communication. The Sidelink-UE-ID indicates ID of UE related to the SL-TxResourceRe ). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee before him or her, to modify the invention of Lee to include information, in the first sidelink UE information message, such as ID of the UE, frequency, destination list, synchronization reference. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve transmission in a sidelink and allow the UE to transmit a resource request to a peer UE performing a sidelink communication with the UE, and receive a resource allocation from the network via the peer UE (¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 7, claim 6 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, Lee further discloses “wherein the ID of the destination address is an ID of a peer terminal, and the type of the terminal device is a remote terminal or a relay terminal”; (see Lee ¶ 0166, ¶ 0167)
Claim 8 is the terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
in addition, Lee discloses “A terminal device, wherein the terminal device is a remote terminal or a relay terminal, and the terminal device comprises a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs” (see Lee figs 1, 2).
Claim 9 is the terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 2 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 2. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 10 is the terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 3 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claim 13 is the terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim .
Claim 14 is the terminal device claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim .
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses “A network device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs” (see Lee figure 1); A network device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer programs stored in the memory to control the network device to “receive first sidelink UE information corresponding to at least one relay service transmitted by a terminal device” (see Lee Col 33 , lines 50-60; The UE1 send a sidelink UE information message to the gNB, the sidelink UE information includes at least UE2’s L2ID in destination list); and “obtain at least one of a configuration of a Radio Bear (RB) or a transmission resource of the at least one relay service according to the first sidelink UE information” (Pan Col 33 , lines 50-65; after receiving the sidelink UE information message, the gNB will configure the UE1 sidelink (SL) Data Radio Bearer (DRB) configuration or SL RLC configuration).
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first sidelink UE information comprises a relay type of each of the at least one relay service, wherein the relay type of each of the at least one relay service is a layer 2 relay type or a layer 3 relay type. However, GUO discloses wherein the first sidelink UE information comprises a relay type of each of the at least one relay service, wherein the relay type of each of the at least one relay service is a layer 2 relay type or a layer 3 relay type; (See Guo Fig. 5 and ¶ 0076; the relay UE send information to include a relay type indication, a relay type information element indicate whether the relay UE 108 is an L2 relay or an L3 relaye; ¶ 0085 disclose that the indication indicate that the implementing UE is to operate as an L2 relay or an L3 relay in order to provide the UE-to-network relay connection; ¶ 0125; discloses that generating and sending a sidelink direct discovery message to announce that the UE is capable of operating as a UE-to-network relay, the sidelink direct discovery message to include relay related information that has an indication of whether the UE is to operate as a layer-2 relay or a layer-3 relay). ”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee and Guo before him or her, to modify the invention of Lee to include information, in the first sidelink UE information message, such as relay type including whether the UE is performing Layer 2 relay or Layer 3 layer for the service to be performed. The suggestion for doing so would have because Depending on the capabilities of the relay UE, L2 and L3 relays may include different protocol stacks and security mechanisms. For example, an L3 relay may include an application layer security mechanism, while an L2 relay may not provide such a high-layer security mechanism and thus, When discovering a relay, the remote UE may first determine a type of the relay (for example, L2 or L3 relay) before determining whether to connect with the relay (¶s 0034 and ¶ 0035).
Claim 16 is the network device claim corresponding to the method claim 3 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claim 19 is the network device claim corresponding to the method claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claim 20 is the network device claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475