DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 March 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The “Supplementary Note[s]” (¶[0319]-¶[0332]) are not proper specification sections as provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b),
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mongeau (US 9,803,691).
Regarding claim 1, Mongeau generally teaches the invention of a rotating electric machine system equipped with a rotating electric machine (generator) 18 including a rotating shaft 48 and a permanent magnet (c.7:4-5), and a housing 34 in which the rotating electric machine is accommodated (Fig.3), the rotating electric machine system comprising:
a bearing 54/84 interposed between the housing and the rotating shaft (Fig.3/Fig.7);
an oil supplying device (lubricator) 104 configured to supply a lubricating oil to the bearing; and
a bearing holder (end shield) 46 provided in the housing and having a hollow tubular shape, the bearing holder being configured to retain the bearing ,
wherein the bearing holder includes a cover member (intermediate shield) 76 configured to cover the bearing 84 from an outer side in a diametrical direction of the rotating shaft (Fig.7),
an insulating element (O-ring seal) 162 interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing 84 and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 76 (Figs.7-8),
and a circumferential wall portion of the bearing holder 46 includes a flow-through hole (bore) 156 through which the lubricating oil flows (c.10:50-c.11:29; Fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida et al. (US 6,943,468) in view of Shimogai et al. (US Pat.Pub.2023/0085414).
Iida generally teaches the invention of a rotating electric machine system (turbocharger) equipped with a rotating electric machine 14 including a rotating shaft 22 and a permanent magnet (c.2:36-37), and a housing (not numbered) in which the rotating electric machine is accommodated (Fig.1), the rotating electric machine system comprising:
a bearing 26/30 interposed between the housing and the rotating shaft 22;
an oil supplying device configured to supply a lubricating oil to the bearing (via oil passages 38/42; c.3:48-52);
and a bearing holder (not numbered; Fig.1) provided in the housing and having a “hollow tubular shape” [sic] (Fig.1), the bearing holder being configured to retain the bearing,
wherein the bearing holder includes a cover member (not numbered; Fig.1) configured to cover the bearing 26/30 from an outer side in a diametrical direction of the rotating shaft 22…,
a circumferential wall portion of the bearing holder includes a flow-through hole (not numbered) through which the lubricating oil flows (c.3:47-52; Fig.1).
Iida does not teach the rotating electric machine system further comprises “an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member”.
But, Shimogai teaches a drive apparatus including an insulating element 70 interposed between an outer circumferential surface of bearing 16 and an inner circumferential surface of a cover member (bearing holding portion) 65 (Fig.5). The insulating element suppresses electrolytic corrosion by cutting off the closed circuit formed by current generated in the motor shaft, bearings and housing and providing electrical discharge (c.6:21-38).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Iida with an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member since Shimogai teaches the insulating element would have suppressed electrolytic corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Shimogai teaches the insulating element 70 is an insulating (aluminum oxide) film formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cover member 65 (i.e., insulating member subjected to alumite treatment, thus providing insulating film adjacent inner circumferential surface of cover member 65; c.10:41-52; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, Shimogai teaches the insulating element 70 is an insulating (aluminum oxide) film formed on the outer circumferential surface of bearing 16 (i.e., insulating member 70 subjected to alumite treatment, thus providing insulating film adjacent outer circumferential surface of bearing 16; c.10:41-52; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 4, Shimogai implicitly teaches the bearing is made of a metal material, and the bearing holder is made of a metal material, since the insulation prevents electrolytic corrosion by cutting off the closed circuit formed by current generated in the motor shaft, bearings and housing and providing electrical discharge (c.6:21-38).
Regarding claim 5, Shimogai further teaches the cover member (bearing holding portion) 65 includes an oil supply hole (penetrating portion/groove) 66a/67b at a position facing toward the outer circumferential surface of the bearing, and the oil supply hole places the inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface of the cover member 65 in communication with each other (i.e., by providing passage of oil; c.9:4-22 & c.10:29-40; Figs.4-5).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Mizutani et al. (US 5,375,933).
As noted in the preceding paragraph, Iida teaches all the elements of claim 1 except for “an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member”.
But, Mizutani teaches a bearing 1 accommodated in a cover member (housing) 11 and an insulating element (insulating film) 7 interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing (i.e., outer circumferential surface of bearing outer ring 3) and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member 11 (Fig.1). The insulating element protects the bearing against electrolytic corrosion (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Iida with an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member since Mizutani teaches this would have protected the bearing against electrolytic corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Mizutani teaches the insulating element (insulating film) 7 is an insulating film formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cover member 11 (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Mizutani teaches the insulating element (insulating film) 7 is an insulating film formed on the outer circumferential surface of bearing (i.e., outer circumferential surface of bearing outer ring 3; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Mizutani implicitly teaches the bearing is made of a metal material, and the bearing holder is made of a metal material, since the insulation prevents electrolytic corrosion due to current from flowing to the rings from the outside (c.1:10-16).
Claims 1 & 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida in view of Watanabe et al. (US 5,059,041).
As noted in the preceding paragraphs, Iida teaches all the elements of claim 1 except for “an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member”.
But, Watanabe teaches an electrical insulating bearing 1 including an insulating element (insulating thin film) 12 interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of a housing 2 (abstract; Figs.1-2). The insulating film reduces shaft currents by electrically insulating the outer ring body 11 from the housing 2 (c.1:57-60; c.3:67-c.4:3).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Iida with an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member since Watanabe teaches the insulating film would have reduced shaft currents.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches the insulating element is an insulating film 12 formed on the outer circumferential surface of the bearing (i.e., outer circumferential surface of bearing outer ring 11; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe implicitly teaches the bearing is made of a metal material, and the bearing holder is made of a metal material, since the insulation film 12 prevents shaft current from flowing between the motor frame and the shaft through the bearing (c.1:57-64).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannai et al. (US 5,855,112) in view of Shimogai et al. (US Pat.Pub.2023/0085414).
Regarding claim 1, Bannai generally teaches the invention of a rotating electric machine system (gas turbine engine) E equipped with a rotating electric machine 2 including a rotating shaft 8 and a permanent magnet 99, and a housing 43/68 in which the rotating electric machine is accommodated (Figs.4&7), the rotating electric machine system comprising:
a bearing 7 interposed between the housing and the rotating shaft (Fig.7);
an oil supplying device configured to supply a lubricating oil to the bearing (via oil passages 681 and 871 in rear bearing housing 68);
and a bearing holder 87 provided in the housing 68 and having a “hollow tubular shape” [sic], the bearing holder being configured to retain the bearing (Fig.7),
wherein the bearing holder 87 includes a cover member (not numbered) configured to cover the bearing 7 from an outer side in a diametrical direction of the rotating shaft 8 (Fig.7)…,
a circumferential wall portion of the bearing holder includes 87 a flow-through hole 873 through which the lubricating oil flows (c.7:8-18; Fig.7).
Bannai does not teach the rotating electric machine system further comprises “an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing [7] and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member ”.
But, Shimogai teaches a drive apparatus including an insulating element 70 interposed between an outer circumferential surface of bearing 16 and an inner circumferential surface of a cover member (bearing holding portion) 65 (Fig.5). The insulating element suppresses electrolytic corrosion by cutting off the closed circuit formed by current generated in the motor shaft, bearings and housing and providing electrical discharge (c.6:21-38).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Bannai with an insulating element interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the bearing and an inner circumferential surface of the cover member since Shimogai teaches the insulating element would have suppressed electrolytic corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Shimogai teaches the insulating element 70 is an insulating (aluminum oxide) film formed on the inner circumferential surface of the cover member 65 (i.e., insulating member subjected to alumite treatment, thus providing insulating film adjacent inner circumferential surface of cover member 65; c.10:41-52; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, Shimogai teaches the insulating element 70 is an insulating (aluminum oxide) film formed on the outer circumferential surface of bearing 16 (i.e., insulating member 70 subjected to alumite treatment, thus providing insulating film adjacent outer circumferential surface of bearing 16; c.10:41-52; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 4, Shimogai implicitly teaches the bearing is made of a metal material, and the bearing holder is made of a metal material, since the insulation prevents electrolytic corrosion by cutting off the closed circuit formed by current generated in the motor shaft, bearings and housing and providing electrical discharge (c.6:21-38).
Regarding claim 5, Shimogai further teaches the cover member (bearing holding portion) 65 includes an oil supply hole (penetrating portion/groove) 66a/67b at a position facing toward the outer circumferential surface of the bearing, and the oil supply hole places the inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface of the cover member 65 in communication with each other (i.e., by providing passage of oil; c.9:4-22 & c.10:29-40; Figs.4-5).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongeau as applied to claim 1, further in view of Huynh (US 8,395,288).
Regarding claim 6, Mongeau does not further teach “a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage through which the gaseous coolant flows, and the flow-through hole formed in the bearing holder communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage.”
But, Huynh teaches an electric machine 10 in a housing 20 and a gaseous coolant supplying device (including centrifugal impeller 110) configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing (c.2:35-37; c.5:31-46), wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage (pipe) 180 through which the gaseous coolant flows, and bearing holders (end bells/ plates) 50 for bearings 45 that communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage (Fig.1). Huynh’s gaseous coolant supplying device provide first and second flows 200, 210 in the electrical machine that absorb heat and cool the machine (c.5:44-46).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Mongeau with a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage through which the gaseous coolant flows since Huynh teaches this would have absorb heat and cooled the electric machine. Further, the flow-through hole formed in the bearing holder of Mongeau communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage of Huynh.
Regarding claim 7, Mongeau teaches the housing includes a bearing chamber (i.e., in end shield 46) in which the bearing holder is arranged, and when a direction from the bearing chamber toward the permanent magnet along an axial direction of the rotating shaft is defined as a first direction, and a direction opposite to the first direction is defined as a second direction, the lubricating oil is supplied to the bearing holder along the first direction (i.e., note direction of flow-through hole (bore) 156, towards magnet; Fig.7), and the gaseous coolant of Huynh is supplied to the bearing holder along the second direction (i.e., note direction of second flows 200, 210 of gaseous coolant; Fig.1).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bannai & Shimogai as applied to claim 1, further in view of Huynh.
Regarding claim 6, Bannai & Shimogai do not further teach “a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage through which the gaseous coolant flows, and the flow-through hole formed in the bearing holder communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage.”
But, Huynh teaches an electric machine 10 in a housing 20 and a gaseous coolant supplying device (including centrifugal impeller 110) configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing (c.2:35-37; c.5:31-46), wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage (pipe) 180 through which the gaseous coolant flows, and bearing holders (end bells/ plates) 50 for bearings 45 that communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage (Fig.1). Huynh’s gaseous coolant supplying device provide first and second flows 200, 210 in the electrical machine that absorb heat and cool the machine (c.5:44-46).\
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Bannai & Shimogai with a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the housing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant guidance passage through which the gaseous coolant flows since Huynh teaches this would have absorb heat and cooled the electric machine. Further, the flow-through hole formed in the bearing holder of Bannai & Shimogai communicates with the gaseous coolant guidance passage of Huynh.
Regarding claim 7, Bannai & Shimogai teach the housing includes a bearing chamber (i.e., in bearing holder 87; Bannai, Fig.7) in which the bearing holder is arranged, and when a direction from the bearing chamber toward the permanent magnet along an axial direction of the rotating shaft is defined as a first direction, and a direction opposite to the first direction is defined as a second direction, the lubricating oil is supplied to the bearing holder along the first direction (i.e., note direction of flow-through hole in Bannai, towards magnet; Fig.7), and the gaseous coolant of Huynh is supplied to the bearing holder along the second direction (i.e., note direction of second flows 200, 210 of gaseous coolant; Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834