DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 and 01/29/2025 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
3. Claims 1-19 canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
5. Claims 20, 24, 29, 32-33 and 35-38 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai (U.S. PUB. 2020/0244082) in view of Gardella et al. (U.S. PAT. 11,451,673 hereinafter, “Gardella”).
Consider claim 20, Chai teaches a method, comprising: obtaining, by a first charging trigger device, first roaming charging configuration parameter management information (Fig. 3, pages 5-6 [0066]), wherein the first charging trigger device is configured to request a first charging processing device to perform charging processing on a roaming data connection session (page 6 [0067]), the roaming data connection session is between roaming user equipment and a data network, and the roaming user equipment is roaming from a home network to a visited network (pages 4-5 [0054]), wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information comprises a first roaming charging configuration parameter group that is activated after the roaming data connection session is established (page 11 [0122]), the first roaming charging configuration parameter group comprises at least one roaming charging configuration parameter, and the at least one roaming charging configuration parameter is related to a collection operation or a reporting operation of roaming charging information of the roaming data connection session (pages 8-9 [0092]).
Chai does not explicitly show that activating, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established.
In the same field of endeavor, Gardella teaches activating, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established (col. 10, lines 9-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use, activating, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established, as taught by Gardella, in order to provide a method of a charging entity of a first mobile network in a roaming charging related scenario between said first mobile network and a second mobile network.
Consider claim 24, Gardella further teaches wherein obtaining, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information comprises: receiving, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established (col. 10, lines 9-19).
Consider claim 29, the subject-matter of independent claim 29 relates to a method, comprising: generating, by a charging processing device, first roaming charging configuration parameter management information with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 20. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 20 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 29.
Consider claim 32, Gardella further teaches wherein sending, by the charging processing device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information to the charging trigger device comprises: sending, by the charging processing device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information to the charging trigger device after the roaming data connection session is established (col. 10, lines 9-19).
Consider claim 33, Chai further teaches wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information further comprises an active condition corresponding to the first roaming charging configuration parameter group (page 11 [0122]).
Consider claim 35, Gardella further teaches generating, by the charging processing device, a roaming charging data record (CDR) of the roaming data connection session, wherein the roaming charging CDR comprises roaming charging information sent by the charging trigger device; and generating, by the charging processing device, the roaming charging CDR of the roaming data connection session, wherein the roaming charging CDR comprises the roaming charging information sent by the charging trigger device (col. 11, lines 24-46).
Consider claim 36, Gardella further teaches generating, by the charging processing device based on the roaming charging CDR, a detailed data record (DDR) for a user corresponding to the roaming user equipment, wherein the roaming charging information and the DDR comprise an entity identifier, and the entity identifier identifies a device that generates a charging identifier of the roaming data connection session (col. 11, lines 24-46).
Consider claim 37, the subject-matter of independent claim 37 relates to an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory, configured to store at least one program with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 20. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 20 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 37.
Consider claim 38, the subject-matter of independent claim 38 relates to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores at least one computer program comprising instructions with features fully corresponding to the characteristics of claim 20. Therefore, the same argumentation presented in relation to claim 20 is, mutatis mutandis, of application to claim 38.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 21-23, 25-28, 30-31 and 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 21, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein obtaining, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information comprises: receiving, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information in a process of establishing the roaming data connection session, wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information further comprises an active condition corresponding to the first roaming charging configuration parameter group, and wherein activating , by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: applying, by the first charging trigger device after the roaming data connection session is established and when the active condition is met, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group to the roaming data connection session, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 20, and further limitations of their respective dependent claims 22-23.
Consider claim 25, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein activating, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: applying, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group to the roaming data connection session immediately when receiving the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information; or wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information further comprises an active condition corresponding to the first roaming charging configuration parameter group, and wherein activating, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: applying, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group to the roaming data connection session when the active condition is met, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the claims 20 and 24.
Consider claim 26, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein obtaining, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information comprises: receiving, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information in a process of establishing the roaming data connection session, wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information further comprises an active condition corresponding to the first roaming charging configuration parameter group, and wherein activating , by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group based on the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: applying, by the first charging trigger device after the roaming data connection session is established and when the active condition is met, the first roaming charging configuration parameter group to the roaming data connection session, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the claims 20 and 24, and further limitations of it respective dependent claim 27.
Consider claim 28, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein the first charging trigger device and the first charging processing device are in the home network, and receiving, by the first charging trigger device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: receiving, by the first charging trigger device, a data connection session update request message from a second charging trigger device, wherein the data connection session update request message comprises the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information; sending, by the first charging trigger device, a charging resource management request message to the first charging processing device, wherein the charging resource management request message comprises the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information; receiving, by the first charging trigger device, a charging resource management response message from the first charging processing device; and determining, by the first charging trigger device based on the charging resource management response message, to use the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information, wherein the second charging trigger device is configured to request a second charging processing device to perform charging processing on the roaming data connection session, and the second charging trigger device and the second charging processing device are in the visited network, wherein: the charging resource management request message is a charging resource create request message, and the charging resource management response message comprises a charging resource create response message, or the charging resource management request message is a charging resource update request message, and the charging resource management response message comprises a charging resource update response message, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the claims 20 and 24.
Consider claim 30, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein sending, by the charging processing device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information to the charging trigger device comprises: sending, by the charging processing device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information to the charging trigger device in a process of establishing the roaming data connection session, wherein the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information further comprises an active condition corresponding to the first roaming charging configuration parameter group, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the independent claim 29, and further limitations of it respective dependent claim 31.
Consider claim 34, the prior arts made of record, alone or in combination, fail to clearly teach or fairly suggest wherein sending, by the charging processing device, the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information to the charging trigger device after the roaming data connection session is established comprises: sending, by the charging processing device, a charging resource management message to the charging trigger device, wherein the charging resource management message comprises the first roaming charging configuration parameter management information, and wherein the charging resource management message comprises a charging resource update response message or a charging resource update notification message, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the claims 29 and 32.
Conclusion
7. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop_________ (Explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/TUAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649