Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 and 09/26/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.\
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the groove shaped flow path " in page 1, line 27. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term "groove shaped flow path" used in claim 1 is vague and unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers, thereby rendering the definition of the subject-matter of said claim unclear.
In fact, a flow path being "groove shaped" does not have to be a groove, it could as well be a hole.
and as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
- the rotating shaft 66 includes an inner shaft 68, and a hollow tubular shaped outer shaft 70 and both ends of the outer shaft 70 are open ends (§[0037]);
- said outer shaft 70 includes a first shaft portion 70a to a fifth shaft portion 70e along a direction from the first end toward the second end and the outer diameter becomes larger in a stepwise manner from the first shaft portion 70a until a fourth shaft portion 70d (§[0058]);
- the (first) bearing 400 is provided diametrically/radially outward of the second shaft portion 70b (§[0060]);
- a plurality of groove shaped flow paths 230 are formed along the circumferential direction of the second shaft portion 70b (§[0060]);
- annular shaped flow through spaces 252 are formed respectively in the screw cap 220, between the groove shaped flow paths 230 of the second shaft portion 70b and the first inner ring 402 of the first bearing 400, between the third shaft portion 70c and the inner ring stopper 460, and between the third shaft portion 70c and the magnet holder 280, such that the rotor internal flow path 250 is formed by these flow through spaces 252 (§[0065]);
Claim 5 in page 2, line 23 said: The term "bearing holder includes a flow-through hole at a position facing toward an outer circumferential surface of the bearing" is vague and unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers, thereby rendering the definition of the subject-matter of said claim unclear.
and as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted element is:
-"ring holder member 426 being a part of the bearing holder 420 in which the flow-through holes 438 are made" (§[0149], §[0092])
Claim 8 in page 3, line 11, and said the term "a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the bearing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant flow path through which the gaseous coolant flows, and a gaseous coolant discharge passage through which the gaseous coolant is discharged to an exterior of the housing, and the oil supplying device recovers the gaseous coolant that has flowed through the gaseous coolant discharge passage and the oil that has flowed through the oil discharge passage" is vague and unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers, thereby rendering the definition of the subject-matter of said claim unclear.
and as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
"gaseous coolant discharge passage/air distribution pathway 702" (§[0126], §[0154], §[0239]),
- "coolant outlet (for compressed air AR) 708" (§[0133], §[0154], §[0230]), - "second drain passage/oil discharge passage740" (§[0143], [0158], §[0164], §[0166], [0186], §[0190], §[0200], §[0204], §[0288], §[0290]),
- "second drain passage 40 in which the compressed air AR and the cooling oil CO or the lubricating oil LO recirculated towards the gas-liquid separation device 900" (§[0143], §[0158], §[0159], §[0164], §[0166], §[0167], §[0169], §[0172], §[0186], §[0199], §[0204], §[0286]-$[0290]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (DE102019207312) in view of Davydov (EP3154158).
As to independent claim 1, Lang teaches a rotating electric machine system that is equipped with a rotating electric machine (1) provided with a rotor (9) including a rotating shaft (2,11) and implicitly a permanent magnet (fig.1), and is equipped with a housing (6) in which the rotating shaft is rotatably supported, the rotating electric machine system comprising: a bearing (8b,8a) interposed between the housing (6) and the rotating shaft (2,11); a liquid coolant supplying device (26,33) configured to supply a liquid coolant (§[0035] §[0067] a liquid coolant to the rotor; and a rotor internal flow path (14) formed in an interior of the rotor (9), extending along an axial direction of the rotating shaft (2,11), and through which the liquid coolant flows, wherein the rotating shaft includes a smaller diameter portion and a larger diameter portion (see fig.1-4) having a larger diameter than the smaller diameter portion, and the larger diameter portion is adjacent to the smaller diameter portion downstream in a flow direction of the liquid coolant that flows through the rotor internal flow path (fig.2,4), the rotating shaft includes a "groove shaped" flow path (15,37) that is recessed from an outer surface (5,13) of the smaller diameter portion inwardly in a diametrical direction of the smaller diameter portion (fig.1,3), and extends along the axial direction of the rotating shaft (2,11), and the bearing (8b,8a) is provided outward of the smaller diameter portion in the diametrical direction.
However Lang teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an inner circumferential surface of the bearing covers the groove shaped flow path, and the bearing thereby constitutes one portion of the rotor internal flow path.
Davydov teaches an inner circumferential surface of the bearing covers the groove shaped flow path, and the bearing thereby constitutes one portion of the rotor internal flow path (the rotating shaft (173) includes a "groove shaped" flow path (174) that is recessed from an outer surface of the smaller diameter portion inwardly in a diametrical direction of the smaller diameter portion, and extends along the axial direction of the rotating shaft (173), and the bearing (178a,178b) is provided outward of the smaller diameter portion in the diametrical direction) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving cooling capacity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang by using an inner circumferential surface of the bearing covers the groove shaped flow path, and the bearing thereby constitutes one portion of the rotor internal flow path, as taught by Davydov, to improve cooling capacity.
As to claim 2/1, Lang teaches the rotor internal flow path (14) is formed at an end part of the large diameter portion that faces toward the small diameter portion, and includes a guide flow path that is continuous (see figure 2, 4) with the groove shaped flow path (15,37) as shown in figures 2 and 4,
However Lang in view of Davydov teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except a bottom surface of the guide flow path is an inclined surface that is inclined from an inner side in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft toward an outer surface of the large diameter portion, as the bottom surface separates away from the small diameter portion.
However Davydov teaches a bottom surface of the guide flow path (174) is an inclined (see figure 2) surface that is inclined from an inner side in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft toward an outer surface of the large diameter portion, as the bottom surface separates away from the small diameter portion as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving cooling capacity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang in view of Davydov by using a bottom surface of the guide flow path is an inclined surface that is inclined from an inner side in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft toward an outer surface of the large diameter portion, as the bottom surface separates away from the small diameter portion, as taught by Davydov, to improve cooling capacity.
.
As to claim 3/1, Lang in view of Davydov teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the rotor includes a tubular member interposed between the rotating shaft and the permanent magnet in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft, and at least one portion of the rotor internal flow path is formed between an outer surface of the rotating shaft and an inner circumferential wall of the tubular member.
However Davydov teaches the rotor (17a) includes a tubular member interposed between the rotating shaft (173) and the permanent magnet (172a) in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft (173), and at least one portion of the rotor internal flow path (174) is formed between an outer surface of the rotating shaft (173) and an inner circumferential wall of the tubular member as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving cooling capacity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang in view of Davydov by using the rotor includes a tubular member interposed between the rotating shaft and the permanent magnet in the diametrical direction of the rotating shaft, and at least one portion of the rotor internal flow path is formed between an outer surface of the rotating shaft and an inner circumferential wall of the tubular member, as taught by Davydov, to improve cooling capacity.
Claim(s) 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (JDE102019207312) and Davydov (EP3154158) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohashi (WO2011132784).
As to claim 4/1, Lang in view of Davydov teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the liquid coolant supplying device is an oil supplying device configured to supply oil as the liquid coolant, and the housing includes an oil supply passage in order to supply the oil as a lubricant to the bearing.
Ohashi teaches the liquid coolant supplying device (oil pump not shown see paragraph [0021]) is an oil supplying device configured to supply oil as the liquid coolant, and the housing (1) includes an oil supply passage (39) in order to supply the oil as a lubricant to the bearing (21) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling efficiently.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang in view of Davydov by using the liquid coolant supplying device is an oil supplying device configured to supply oil as the liquid coolant, and the housing includes an oil supply passage in order to supply the oil as a lubricant to the bearing, as taught by Ohashi, to provide cooling efficiently.
As to claim 6/4, Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the housing includes an oil discharge passage through which the oil that has passed through the rotor internal flow path and the oil supply passage is discharged to the oil supplying device.
However Ohashi teaches the housing (1) includes an oil discharge passage (23b) through which the oil that has passed through the rotor internal flow path (28) and the oil supply passage (9) is discharged to the oil supplying device (oil pump not shown, see paragraph [0021]), as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling efficiently.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang in view of Davydov by using the housing includes an oil discharge passage through which the oil that has passed through the rotor internal flow path and the oil supply passage is discharged to the oil supplying device, as taught by Ohashi, to provide cooling efficiently.
As to claim 7/6, Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the oil supplying device resupplies the oil discharged from the oil discharge passage to the rotor internal flow path and the oil supply passage.
However Oashi teaches the oil supplying device (oil pump not shown, see paragraph [0021]) resupplies the oil discharged from the oil discharge passage (23b) to the rotor internal flow path (28) and the oil supply passage (9) as shown in figure 1, as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling efficiently.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang in view of Davydov by using the oil supplying device resupplies the oil discharged from the oil discharge passage to the rotor internal flow path and the oil supply passage, as taught by Ohashi, to provide cooling efficiently.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (JDE102019207312), Davydov (EP3154158) and Ohashi (WO2011132784)as applied in claim 4 above, and further in view of Ohashi (WO2011132784) and Katsuki (US PG Pub 2018/0278117).
As to claim 5/4, Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a bearing holder provided in the housing and configured to retain the bearing, wherein the bearing holder includes a flow-through hole at a position facing toward an outer circumferential surface of the bearing, and the flow-through hole places an inner circumferential surface of the bearing holder and an outer circumferential surface of the bearing holder in communication with each other, the oil flowing through the flow-through hole.
However Davydov teaches oil as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling efficiently.
Katsuki teaches a bearing holder (32b) provided in the housing (32) and configured to retain the bearing (20), wherein the bearing holder (32b) includes a flow-through hole (44) at a position facing toward an outer circumferential surface of the bearing (20) , and the flow-through hole (44) places an inner circumferential surface of the bearing holder (32b) and an outer circumferential surface of the bearing holder (32b) in communication with each other, the liquid flowing through the flow-through hole (44) as shown in figure 2, for the advantageous benefit of securing rotational balance of an inner race of a bearing while the bearing is stably supported.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi by using a bearing holder provided in the housing and configured to retain the bearing, wherein the bearing holder includes a flow-through hole at a position facing toward an outer circumferential surface of the bearing, and the flow-through hole places an inner circumferential surface of the bearing holder and an outer circumferential surface of the bearing holder in communication with each other, the oil flowing through the flow-through hole, as taught by Ohashi and Katsuki, to provide cooling efficiently and secure rotational balance of an inner race of a bearing while the bearing is stably supported.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (JDE102019207312), Davydov (EP3154158) and Ohashi (WO2011132784)as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Yazaki et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0255393).
As to claim 8/7, Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except further comprising a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the bearing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant flow path through which the gaseous coolant flows, and a gaseous coolant discharge passage through which the gaseous coolant is discharged to an exterior of the housing, and the oil supplying device recovers the gaseous coolant that has flowed through the gaseous coolant discharge passage and the oil that has flowed through the oil discharge passage, and resupplies the oil to the oil supply passage.
However Yazaki et al. teaches a gaseous coolant supplying device (160) configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the bearing (92), wherein the housing (14) includes a gaseous coolant flow path through which the gaseous coolant flows, and a gaseous coolant discharge passage through which the gaseous coolant is discharged to an exterior of the housing, and the oil supplying device recovers the gaseous coolant that has flowed through the gaseous coolant discharge passage and the oil s(ee paragraph [0064]) that has flowed through the oil discharge passage, and resupplies the oil to the oil supply passage (see paragraph [0068] as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing the rotary electric machine system excels in durability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang, Davydov in view of Ohashi by using a gaseous coolant supplying device configured to supply a gaseous coolant to the bearing, wherein the housing includes a gaseous coolant flow path through which the gaseous coolant flows, and a gaseous coolant discharge passage through which the gaseous coolant is discharged to an exterior of the housing, and the oil supplying device recovers the gaseous coolant that has flowed through the gaseous coolant discharge passage and the oil that has flowed through the oil discharge passage, and resupplies the oil to the oil supply passage, as taught by Yazaki et al, to provide cooling efficiently and secure rotational balance of an inner race of a bearing while the bearing is stably supported.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (JDE102019207312), Davydov (EP3154158) , Ohashi (WO2011132784 ) and Yazaki et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0255393) as applied in claim 8 above, and further in view of Iwai (CN107407282).
As to claim 9/8, Lang, Davydov and Ohashi in view of Yazaki et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the oil supplying device includes a gas-liquid separation device configured to separate the gaseous coolant and the oil.
However Iwai teaches a gas-liquid separation (12) device configured to separate the gaseous coolant and the oil as shown in figure 1, restraining oil increased to more than needed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Lang, Davydov and Ohashi in view of Yazaki et al. by using a gas-liquid separation device configured to separate the gaseous coolant and the oil, as taught by Iwai, to restrain oil increased to more than needed.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 March 5, 2026